Night Film

Night Film

by Marisha Pessl

Paperback

$16.69 $18.00 Save 7% Current price is $16.69, Original price is $18. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, December 13

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Night Film 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 174 reviews.
Jessica3751 More than 1 year ago
I was surprised to find an ARC of Night Film from Random House Reader's Circle in my mailbox this week. I began reading it yesterday and was instantly immersed in the complex story of Scott McGrath and his investigation into the suicide of Ashley Cordova. I read all 587 pages in just over 24-hours...I could not put it down. This book is AWESOME! Creepy, suspenseful, funny in parts, and tender too. It's definitely a book I will have to read again in the future. If you enjoy Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and other authors with amazing storytelling ability laced with dark undertones you will enjoy this book and I highly recommend it.
AuntMay More than 1 year ago
A riveting thriller. Very well written. Hard to put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What happened to me with this book has only happened with me once before.....I went to Barnes and noble store to look at some summer reads just before college starts and I picked up this book and started reading the first few chapters just to get a feel for it... But once I started reading I ended up staying there for 3.5 hours (thanks to the Starbucks in our B&N) and had read almost more than half of the book. I had no idea about the author, no expectations before I had picked up the book and I was getting my mind blown. I ended up buying the book It is definitely well written (a bit long in certain stretches but that's me nitpicking), and I especially like books where the reader is hunting for clues in the text as he continues to read. This book definitely gives you a joyride. The author seems definitely well read as a lot of quotes within the book refer to a number of classics. But that's again one thing that I did not like about the book was that some characters were given an unnecessary air of sophistication. The book is also thought provoking and on a second read when the mystery is already known, you can concentrate on the other social issues and darkness of basic human character it touches upon.  I definitely enjoyed reading it twice, though I don't know how many people do that with a mystery book. Hope my ramblings help other readers make a decision.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got a chance to read an ARC and I completely enjoyed it, it was so interesting in the way it's written and the story. It has a lot of really great suspense and it will satisfy anyone's need for a creepy read.
LemonZest More than 1 year ago
I really wanted to love this book, but I just couldn't quite get there.  It is worth reading, but it wasn't as fabulous as people seem to think it is.  I found the story not entirely engaging or thrilling/chilling.  I also thought the photos, web pages, and new stories that were put into the story were kind of corny and a bit lazy on the author's part; hose clues could have just been described in a more traditional way and left more to the reader's imagination.  After making my way through the book, I then felt there was not enough of a payoff at the end.  Again, it is worth a read, but I wish I would have had lower expectations because I probably would have enjoyed it more.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was excellent until the last 50 pages. The reader is left without the resolution the main character is seeking the entire book. If you like stories to have resolution...this book is not for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the most enjoyable book i read all summer. It is riveting, in depth, thrilling, and leaves you wanting more with every page turn. I love the character development and the way the characters and clues all intertwined. I loved the way the author chose to educate readers about the storyline by showing websites and webpages , and so many aspects of the story, horror films, film making, family, and other surprise topics that were described in wonderful detail. The authors skill of blurring fantasy and reality were phenomenal. Even after over 620 pages i still wanted to read more about this riveting story. Couldn't put it down !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thanks for the time and work on this book author. Unfortunately it will be for a very small demographic of people. The book is too disjointed, rambling, incoherent, long winded and ultimately unfullfilling. The characters, surroundings, relationships and settings I found fractured in most every scenario. If your thinking of spending the money on this book, know this. You never get even the slightest hint of resolution and your valuable time and money will be well spent elsewhere.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was like having your mom telling you to eat your vegetables or you couldn't leave the table ...I finished it just so I could move on to a better book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You might want to consider NOT using your reader for this book. Many news clippings, charts, etc. Very difficult to see on Nook
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While it is a good read, I found the overuse of italics to be distracting. Italics are meant for emphasis, but when too many words are emphasized they lose their impact.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I lost sleep because I did not want to put this one down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Let's put it this way. I just read it about two weeks ago and can't remember being excited, remembering any charactor, and hardly remember the plot. Boring.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A long, overly tiresome read which needs some definite changes in the Nook. Police reports, news stories, etc. which are given a full page in the print edition are squeezed to a half page in the NOOK making them exceptionally hard to read. The main character is an investigative reporter and goes about his job in a credible manner and I can appreciate him. Nora is pretty well described and has some very good ideas and performs well. Hopper, another secondary person, drags and drags as does the action in the book. If this is supposed to be a horror story there is only one section where the main character is crawling around in tunnels and coffins that is remotely frightening. Other than a draggy action line and my constantly asking myself "Why am I reading this?" The book was very put downable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was awesome!! Highly recommended!! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had no problem with format on my nook. What i loved most was the layering of the story elements - it felt crafted without being contrived. Would highly recommend to anyone searching for a book to explore
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book should not be offered in Nook format. The author uses actual press clippings to move the story along and they were unreadable to me. I was not able to enlarge the text so I finally gave up. It is still languishing on my Nook device!
aloha206 More than 1 year ago
This book verges on ridiculous.  I very much enjoyed the author's previous book, Special Topics in Calamity Physics, but Night Film was silly, boring and overall unsatisfying.  Pessl has some beautiful prose at times and then ruins the scene by inserting very trite dialog.  I would not have wasted my time with it except that I wanted to see how she tied up all of the many loose ends.  Pretty dissatisfying overall.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Had I read reviews I would not have bought this book. It wore me out reading on and on and on. In addition, after finally getting to the conclusion -- there was none or certainly not I would have liked to read. Sorry this book not on my best sellers list.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My favorite book of 2013 easily. Very original, amazing story. I can't recommend it enough!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am so happy this book exceeded my expectations! Just when I thought I had it all figured out, there was a giant twist and I Had To keep on reading. It kept me at the edge of my seat! But what I love about it most is that it is not just a thriller or murder mystery type of book...It really makes you think, and it challenges the way we feel and live our lives as ordinary human beings. The characters are filled with passion, and the story has so much depth and dimension it is difficult to categorize it as one thing only. Anybody that loves a good adventure will enjoy this, as well as people who have a true appreciation for art. Congratulations to the author. This book Is true, raw, unique art.