Nightmares! (Nightmares! Series #1)

Nightmares! (Nightmares! Series #1)

Paperback

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 26

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Nightmares! 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was quite imaginative! I gave it four stars, however, for having at least one word I wouldn't want to read aloud. I think kids will like this series though. I disagree with the other reviewers that said it was slow to start. It's actually the opposite-- you get placed in the action right away! Charlie can't sleep because he's convinced his nightmares are deadly, and he thinks his stepmother's a witch, that's the very beginning! And it gets scarier and scarier as it goes along, with more and more people in danger. I love the message that we can learn from our nightmares.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just started reading this but so far I'm loving it! Must Read!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought it was a really fun read. It's more for kids that are a little older I would assume. But being an adult, and reading it, I thought it was very entertaining and was written very well. Looking forward to the next installment!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is really good. Hope they come out with asecond
TheLiteraryPhoenix 8 months ago
I decided to give Nightmares! a try even though I wasn't a fan of Otherworld. I'm still not the biggest fan of Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller's writing. Several characters are flat and/or stereotypes, and the plot is predictable. But I also fully acknowledge that this one is a middle grade novel and at any rate, I thought there were fewer plot holes and better developed characters. This is a book I can see middle graders enjoying. There's a good mixture of adventure and as soon as we reach Nightmare, there's plenty of quirky characters. Charlie has a good core group of friends that middle grade readers will enjoy. All that said, I still think we need to caution against stereotypes - we have a nerd with glasses who is failing gym, the immediate perception that the stepmother is a witch, and an athletic friend who is failing his academic classes. These stereotypes need to change and characters need more depth. They're not offensive, but they are disappointing. While this book wasn't for me, it wasn't the worst either. As I said, I do think the intended audience would really enjoy it. Additionally, there's a decent message woven in that it's easy to become self-absorbed and it hurts the people around you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Padded out from the shadows. She sat down and watched them silently.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An amazing and fun way to pass time Charlie Lairds’ life was normal until his mom died and his dad remarried and they had to move away from their old home. Charlie starts to have nightmares ever since his dad remarried. There is a witch that is trying to eat him and other people. Now charlie has to fight his way through sleepless nights to save the day. I found this book fun to read and I couldn’t stop turning the pages to read more. In my opinion anyone can read this book and not get tired of it. This book all in all was one of the best books I have ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Laine-librariancanreadtoo More than 1 year ago
Nightmares is something everyone has had. Whether you are young or old, you once had a nightmare that you just couldn't shake off. Sometimes it's just the one nightmare, sometimes it's a trilogy. Sometimes, however, it stays with you for days, weeks, even months. You are either falling into a dark abyss; a clown is chasing you; failing a test that is coming up. But the main thing to remember is that these are just nightmares.....they only occur during the night, during sleep. Once you wake up, those nightmares are gone. Or so Charlie Laird believed so. Charlie believed like everyone else, that nightmares aren't real, and that they only occur during sleep time. That is until he started having the same dream over and over again ever since moving into the purple mansion which he believes have caused the nightmares to escalate. Of course everyone assures him that the nightmares aren't real. That is until a nightmare started walking around town....in broad daylight!!!! Charlie and his friends found something very unusual in the Purple Mansion.....a gateway into the Netherworld....a gateway into Nightmares. Every nightmare Charlie's town has ever had or has now, Charlie and his friends are walking in them. Trying to figure out how a Nightmare got through the gateway and into Reality while also trying to figure out how to get out of the nightmares that seem to have plagued the town. How can you get out of your nightmare when your nightmare won't let go of you? How do you win in a Nightmare? Jason Segel shows you how with the help of Charlie and his friends. A wonderful, helpful story for kids and yes even adults who have terrible Nightmare that they just can't shake off.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Aaa
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Characteristics: •weird •afriad 24/7 (I don'blame him) •determined (to get out of his nightmare) •[he's a] creepazoid •interesting *Weirdest part of the book: when Charlie is AWAKE, and gets caught in his and other children's nightmares
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So unless into children fiction skip and just read blurb
JMTJTC More than 1 year ago
"That’s how fear grows. When you keep it locked inside and never let it out, it starts to eat you alive.” Genre: Children’s Paranormal Mystery Number of Pages: 368 Perspective: Third Nightmares! is the story of Charlie, a boy who thinks his new stepmother is a witch. He is tormented by nightmares and soon his brother gets kidnapped and dragged into the nightmare world. Charlie and his friends rush to try to bring him back before it’s too late. I got this book from an old professor about a year back. I added it to my pile without really thinking about it. Then a few months ago I saw an advertisement for Jason Segel’s new book—yes, the actor who shows his junk in the movie Forgetting Sarah Marshall and starred in How I Met Your Mother. So imagine my surprise when I found out he wrote a children’s book. And I already had the book. So I made it a priority to actually read this book. It actually wasn’t bad—but I have to note that he did have a co-writer, as many actors-turned-writers do. I do really appreciate that this has a boy main character and is aimed towards middle aged kids. By that point, unfortunately, many boys are no longer interested in reading, and there doesn’t seem to be many books out there that both boys and girls can enjoy equally. So, this is a really great contribution to children’s literature. It’s not the best children’s book I’ve ever read, but I think a lot of kids/pre-teens would really enjoy it. To read the rest of my review, go here: http://judgingmorethanjustthecover.blogspot.com/2015/10/nightmares-jason-segel.html
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Purchased this for my son and ended up reading it myself. Truly felt for the character Charlie and cheered when he overcame his true fear. Will be purchasing the second book, can't wait to read it as well!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is soooooooooooooooooooooooooo good :)
DebDavis More than 1 year ago
My grandson shared this book with me and I must say I truly enjoyed it. It is well written and entertaining even for this Nana!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A young wolf pads in and shifts to a young human female with bright blue eyes and blond hair
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Everyone has a fear, mine is giant tarantulas ,five nights at freddy's and the dark one ...what is your fear? Post below P.s The dark one is from a awesome book called chosen by ted dekker read the book it is awesome dudes. WE WILL MEET AGAIN READER KEEP READING SO YOU CA BE A HERO ...see you soon
Ronrose More than 1 year ago
Charlie Laird’s mom passed away a few years ago. He thought he was managing to deal with the sorrow. Until recently, when a woman named Charlotte DeChant, moved into town. She took possession of the the hideous purple mansion on top of the hill overlooking the town of Cypress Creek. Within a few days she filled the old house to overflowing with a jungle of creepy plants and opened an herbalist shop in town. There Charlie and his friends spied her dispensing all sorts of weird concoctions to the local townsfolk. In less than a year, much to Charlie’s chagrin, Charlotte and Charlie’s dad, Andrew, were married. To make matters worse, Andrew, Charlie, and Charlie’s younger brother, Jack all moved into the creepy mansion with Charlotte, leaving all of Charlie’s fond memories behind in his old house. Charlie thought everything Charlotte did was very weird. In fact, he thought she was a witch, a real witch. He even started calling her his stepmonster. As things continued to get weirder, Charlie started having nightmares about being carried off by a witch. A witch, who in fact looked very much like Charlotte. The nightmares were so real that Charlie tried staying awake night after night to avoid them. This only succeeded in making him cranky and tired both at home and at school. His new principal at school, Mr. Stearns, was mean enough to give any student nightmares. It seemed to Charlie that Mr. Stearns was especially picking on him. Charlie soon found that he was unable to get along with anyone, his friends at school, his parents, even his brother, Jack. He refused to tell anyone what was bothering him and why he couldn’t sleep. The witch in his dreams had told him, if she couldn’t have him, she would take his brother back to the land of nightmares instead of him. Will Charlie be brave enough to face up to his fears and follow the witch and his brother into the land of nightmares? Will he be able to battle his worst nightmares and save Jack? Will he succumb to his fears and loose Jack? Will they find their way out of the land of nightmares or be trapped there forever? I liked this book. It took a while to really get interesting, but then took off and delivered a good story. The book was provided for review by Random House Children’s Books.
lulabell67 More than 1 year ago
I hate to admit it, but I was disappointed in this book. I volunteer at my kids' library and thought this might be a good addition to our selections as the kids (grades K-6) are always looking for (age-appropriate) "scary" stories. The premise of the book is one they would all enjoy but I feel that the story is slow to take-off and continues on way too long before resolving. It's got a bit of an Alice-in-Wonderland and Tim Burton feel to it which I think, although it's not among my favorite fare, kids would enjoy. As an adult, the main character in the book annoyed me into skipping pages along the course of the story. If the action of the story began sooner and ended sooner, I would put it on our shelves. However, I'm afraid that I'll have to donate it to our "Book Sale" since I don't believe I can justify using what precious little Library bookshelf space we have doubting as I do that the kids will successfully wade through it in its entirety.