No Rest for the Wicked (Immortals after Dark Series #3)

No Rest for the Wicked (Immortals after Dark Series #3)

by Kresley Cole

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$5.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

No Rest for the Wicked (Immortals after Dark Series #2) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 842 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book; a fusion of Cole's first, sexy novel in the "Immortals After Dark" series and an almost Indiana Jones-esque journey circumnavigating the globe. I particularly enjoyed the characters in this one, somehow deeper than in the series' introduction.
Sebastian Wroth is our hero, whose muted passion is pitted against the icy Kaderin, an immortal Valkyrie cursed (or is it blessed), long before the setting of the modern-day setting of the book, with a total lack of emotion.
The main premise of the novel centers around a supernatural series of games, quests of a sort that could almost be termed the preternatural Olympics. Kaderin, the long-time winner, learns that this set of games offers a prize more priceless to her than any other, and before long, a kink is thrown into the midst as Wroth joins in on her behalf to win her favor.
The book sizzles within the early pages, and throughout the novel sparks run high. The attraction is immediate and definite, and kept my interest throughout the entire novel.
Again, I really enjoyed this one's characters, and I liked the book overall about as much as "A Hunger like No Other", albeit for different reasons. "No Rest" has less of the all-encompassing eroticism of the first novel, allowing Cole's ability to weave plots worthy of complementing her smut to shine through. The sex is definitely still there and still hot, but less prevalent. I'm tempted to say that it almost makes it betteR. anticipation is a wonderful thing. The scattered settings around the world lend more color, as well. My other favorite part of Cole's writing is her attention to the depth of side characters. I'll be curious to see how their tales unfold, as well.
Definitely worth a read, and a worthy successor to her first book. A REAL PAGE TURNER.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Kresley Cole takes you into the world of vampires and Valkyre in a way that no one else can. She makes you love the characters and long for something great to happen to them even though at times they are less than likeable! Sebastian Wroth is a vampire that has found his bride but his bride Kaderin the Cold Hearted is a Valkyre that does not wish to be found by her mortal enemy the vampire. She hunts these creatures of the night and slays them with such a vengeance her reputation her badge of pride. Both of these characters have suffered through centuries of pain and loss but each is trying to find a way to replace the pain and feel the comforts of life yet again. But Sebastian is not to be thwarted in his relentless pursuit of Kadja even during her participation in the HIE where the prize of time travel is the reward. Kadja sees this as a way to find and save her beloved sisters from the fate they were dealt. Sebastian uses his abilities to follow and assist Kaderin in her goal and convince her that she is his chosen mate and that they lives are destined to be together forever. There is a cast of additional characters in this book that never cease to amuse and delight and I wait for each of their stories to be told. Kresley Cole has a wit and sense of dry humor that is always pleasing to read. This book while a tad more action packed due to the HIE participation is an excellent read and most enjoyable at every level. Ms. Cole never fails to please her audience and when choosing a book one that is impossible to put down is always a first choice!
ReadingVixen67 More than 1 year ago
I'm sure Kresley Cole didn't mean for the book to be funny, but there were certain parts in the book where I cracked up! Especially during the Hie, an otherworldly version of the Great Race for the beings of Lore. Before the Great Race, Kaderin, a Valkyrie, encountered Sebastian, a Vampire, with the intent to kill him. Somehow, she can't, and what develops after that is a remarkable chase-within-a-chase for a special prize. Towards the end, 4 contestants are vying for the prize: a Lykae, a Siren, Kaderin, and Sebastian. How Sebastian deals with the Siren and the question and response with Kaderin had me laughing so much, tears were coming from my eyes! This was an excellent book, and I can't wait to read the rest of the series!
Daphsmomma More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing. How could you not like Sebastian and Kaderin?? Loved the characters in this book. Its really sad at some parts and I did totally cry like a little baby! But there are really great parts too. I laughed so hard sometimes my husband would look at me like I'd lost my mind. But I promise if you've read the first one then you must read this one too. I mean come on why would you not want to read about a freakin hot as hell vampire?? O please you just have too.. They just get better!!
VampressSJ More than 1 year ago
Kresley Cole's book are a definite MUST read for anyone who enjoys a really good vampire romance. I guess that I should say anyone who enjoys romance in general, but I collect vampire books so the vamps thrown in adds it to my collection. She is an excellent writer...great characters, plot, sex and good humor thrown in the mix. One of the most enjoyable series I have read. You rock Kresley! I would also recommend the books by Lara Adrian, J.R. Ward, Karen Chance and of course, Laurell Hamiltion and L.A. Banks. All very good writers.
lillY_R0SE More than 1 year ago
Kresley Cole once again delivers an amazing romance novel! In this installment of the Immortals After Dark series, you have Sebastian Wroth and Kaderin the Cold Hearted. Sebastian is a vampire who was forced into being one by his brother, Nikolai, when he was on the verge of dying. Kaderin is a Valkyrie who is known for killing vampires and stringing their teeth to show how many she has defected. The story begins when Kaderin was called by local villagers to kill Sebastian. A twist occurs when Sebastian realizes that Kaderin is his Bride and this starts the journey of Sebastian trying to win over her heart. He chases after her and is then involved in the Hie, where Kaderin has been the winner for the last century or so. Sebastian is determined to win the Hie for Kaderin while she is determined to win it herself. Will their journey to win the Hie pull them together or push them apart? Kresley Cole ingeniously plot out a wonderfully complicated and romantic novel that truly pulls you out of reality and allow you to escape into this magical world.
DComfort More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in the Immortals After Dark Series. It is the story of Sebastian Worth and Kaderin. Most of the action in this book centers on the Hie, which keeps the plot fast paced and adds much interest as Kaderin and Sebastian fight various mythical monsters and their competitors for the prize. Kaderin has the opinion that all vampires are evil and untrustworthy and that if a vampire hasn't turned evil and insane with bloodlust it's just a matter of time before it happens, even though the book points out that there are two types of vampires, those who are evil and turn to Bloodlust and those who survive without turning to that same lust. Although the physical relationship between Sebastian and Kaderin progresses quickly, Sebastian has a battle on his hands to win her trust and love. I think this book had great romantic conflict, passionate sex and quirky characters. I also enjoyed the additional characters that were introduced and mark this as a must read for anyone in the mood for a little bit of a sexy vampire.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Kaderin the Cold Hearted as a Valkyrie who is haunted by the loss of her two sisters and the reason behind their deaths. She now makes it a policy not to hesitate and to do what she must when faced with evil. So why when she is sent to kill a vampire does she not follow through? The answer is clear. Fate has plans for these natural enemies and it¿s going to make her life miserable. Sebastian is a Vampire that makes her feel emotions for the first time since the deaths of her sister. But this vampire is not just any vamp¿he claims that Kaderin is his bride and he will stop at nothing to make sure she eventually realizes it. This couldn¿t come at a worse time since Kaderin has a contest that she participates in every year and this year the grand prize is something she can¿t walk away from. Her future happiness is at stake¿er in the balance. Sebastian Wroth was turned hundreds of years ago by his brother¿a brother that he has never forgiven. He awaits death eagerly¿or at least he did until Kaderin arrived. How could this pint size bundle of anger and beauty be his bride? It doesn¿t matter¿all that matters is making her admit to the truth that they belong together. She won¿t come willingly and there are a great many things he doesn¿t understand about Kaderin¿it¿s a good thing he¿s patient and determined to not let his future get away from him. Now¿if fate will be so kind as to cooperate. I must admit I love Ms. Cole¿s writing. No matter the genre historical or paranormal she demonstrates her creative side with the stunning stories she manages to tell. Needless to say ¿No Rest for the Wicked¿ is no different. For readers that are looking for something new in the Paranormal/Fantasy genre¿look no further. Ms. Cole delivers on all counts. This story never lags and our main characters combined with the numerous secondary characters are highly entertaining. Sebastian and Kaderin are a dynamic pairing and the chemistry that burns between them is unbelievable. What is even better¿Ms. Cole never lets that tension weaken. In other words this is a romance that will enthrall, entertain and convince readers Ms. Cole is her for the long run. I am one pleased to realize this.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sebastian Wroth, a reluctant and lonely vampire, gets blooded by Kaderin the Coldhearted, a Valkyre warrior and discovers that she is his Bride much to her displeasure. In the first chapter Kresley Cole gets the action started fast, which is her trademark , no waiting for three chapters to be drawn into her story. From chapter one the action is on and let the games begin - literally with he Hie, a supernatural steroid version of the Amazing Race. There are sharks, sirens, minefields, a Columbian drug lord Kaderin needs to seduce and nympho nymphs hitting on the hunky Sebastian. Kaderin and Sebastian are both damaged, complicated but amazing characters . Can they overcome all this and win The Hie? Oh and did I mention Bowen, the ruthless Lykae we first meet in A Hunger Like No Other? He may have the most to win in the competition and he is determined to do just that no matter what or who gets in his way. Kresley Cole has created this amazing world with complicated , interesting characters combined with all the humor! She's the funniest author out there and you will find yourself laughing out loud. Don¿t miss the previous two stories in this series, The Warlord Wants Forever in the anthology Playing Easy to Get and A Hunger Like No Other. You won¿t be able to put it down and you won¿t want it to end.
Ltlmiss on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the story of Kaderin and Sebastian. I think the backdrop of the supernatural scavenger hunt, the Hie, provided an exciting plot. I'm enjoying getting to know the characters in the Immortals After Dark world that Cole has created. I enjoyed the first in the series, A Hunger Like No Other, but think in the characters had more depth in this story. I'm looking forward to reading the next in the series when the male isn't the aggressor, at least it seems that way in the sneak peek.
nramos on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An inventive and well-written series. The bedroom scenes were steamy, but the story was interesting, and watching the characters develop kept my attention.
MrsMich02 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Okay, yes it has another vampire chasing after yet another valkyrie. I tended to think about that as part of their background I guess. They both have huge regrets and a great deal of pain. Neither feels worthy of being loved. For years, neither one has to deal with any emotions until they meet. Lust at first sight...and love and pain and fear and you name it. They basically come "back to life" around each other, to their dismay at times. A paranormal "Amazing Race" with an ancient goddess as the sponsor/host throws twists and turns into their relationship. Was the ending 100% satisfying? No, but will I read the next book in the Immortals series? Definitely, yes. There's a Scottish werewolf and a young witch who I believe have destiny to cross paths again.
NiinaC on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Sebastian Wroth didn't want to be made a vampire, but his brothers made one of him anyway as he lay dying. He has hated his existence for 300 years and when a small woman with a wicked sharp sword comes to slay him he doesn't but up a fight.Kaderin the Cold Hearted, most ruthless vampire hunter of the Valkyries hasn't felt anything sense thousand years ago when she was granted her wish to be emotionless after her sisters were killed in the Valkyrie-Vampire War. But now as she's about to kill the vampire who doesn't lift a finger to stop her she halts, and hesitates.The unimaginable happens, Sebastian's heart begins to beat, he's found his Bride the only woman who can make his become alive again - and Kaderin feels for the first time in thousand years. Things get bit hot and heavy and Kaderin is freaked out beyond sense and flees Sebastian's Castle.Kaderin dashes off to compete in the Lore's most infamous scavenger hunt game 'The Hie' to loose Sebastian from her tail - but he finds her and is determent to help her and win her even though she swears she hates him and will get rid of him. But it's very hard to fight fated attraction and soon both of them feel their control slipping.No Rest For The Wicked is yet another Immortals After Dark novel that you can't but down!Sebastian is wonderful, slightly awkward having been bullied in his human years for being too big and clumsy by the women in his village, which now sets interesting chemistry between him and Kaderin as he sets to win her into his life.Kaderin is tough as friggin' nails, she wants to be emotionless and seeing her adjust to emotions again is so funny. I especially loved when Sebastian notices her further away as the games are about to start when she flips Bowen the werewolf off and then turns to gape at her own lifted finger in shock. She's likeable but not as fun to read as Sebastian.Yes, I am officially addicted to this series! No Rest definitely solidified that with fast pace, sizzlingly sensual thrill ride with dragons, serpents and hidden treasures not to mention to scorching hot sexual attraction between Kaderin and Sebastian!A PNR must read series!
talksupe.blogspot on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
What a fantastic follow-up to A Hunger Like No Other! Kresley Cole will bring you into an amazing story from start to finish. I've totally become enthralled with the world Cole has created with all of her mythical creatures from the main characters to all the curious secondary characters. From the start of the story I warmed up to Kaderin and Sebastian. With most novels I read it usually takes me a few chapters for to fully warm up to both the hero and heroine. With No Rest for the Wicked, I was instantly connected to Kaderin and Sebastian. The chemistry between these two is superbly intense and their sexy times were just as steamy. Throughout the whole book I was anxiously waiting for them to be together in mind, body and soul.
marys-scene on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Kresley Cole can WRITE!! I read this book from cover to cover last night. And She can PLOT!! This story was action packed. I love this world that she has created. Her story was plot rich. Little things carried through the story. I Loved her hero too!! I could gush all over this book... In fact, I was so excited when I woke up this morning that I went to her website with my first cup of coffee and emailed her and told her just how much I loved her book. I never email authors like this... but I did this time ;)I highly recommend this series... The Immortals After Dark!!
flemmily on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Reminded me a bit of Karen Chance's Death's Mistress, but definitely steamier. A very enjoyable book.
MisfitRhi on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
We briefly got a chance to know something of Kaderin the Cold in the first installment of this series. Her hero, Sebastian, we did not. We did meet his brother though. From the beginning of No Rest for the Wicked we find out that the brothers have not seen one another in years because Nikolai turned Sebastian against his will... and Sebastian is none-too-happy about this. When the emotionless Valkyrie, Kaderin, comes to kill him (as she has done with any vampire she can for centuries) they are both surprised that she holds back. Instantly attracted by some unseen force the two are thrust together by the cliched 'soul-mate' mentality of many a paranormal romance. That could have killed off the story pretty quickly but Cole cleverly plotted her story around a global treasure-hunt of mythological proportions compared to The Amazing Race. Add in a prize that both Kaderin and Sebastian would both be willing to risk their lives for and you have a pretty entertaining adventure. The romance itself was a little forced, and I personally did not like Sebastian's ways of trying to woo Kaderin. But his more beta-male personality was very refreshing and he was more gentlemanly than the Lykae we met in the first and second books. The plot was entertaining, the romance only a little dry and the ending will please most romance readers.
Jenson_AKA_DL on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Kaderin the Cold Hearted is a Valkyrie Warrior who was bestowed the gift (or curse) of having all emotion taken from her because of the strength of her grief when her twin sisters were killed in battle by a vampire of the Horde. Sebastian is a vampire unwillingly turned by his brother who refused to give him up to death. It is Kaderin's life's purpose to kill as many vampires as she can, but when she happens upon Sebastian who has long been imprisoned by his own hatred of himself she finds herself hesitating. When Sebastian follows Kaderin, determined to assist her in winning the Hie (a supernatural version of The Amazing Race) they find themselves irrisistably drawn together.No Rest for the Wicked was an exciting adventure story. The tasks which Kaderin undertakes to win the contest are myriad and interesting. After their explosive first meeting, the gradual building of the relationship and trust between Kaderin and Sebastian was satisfying and did not feel as rushed as some. If you like vampires, legends, excitement and romance this is definately a story you should try.
fayeflame on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In this scorching new series, Kresley Cole delivers "devilishly passionate sex and fascinating characters" (Romantic Times), leading readers into a new world of wicked sensuality! A vampire soldier weary of life... Centuries ago, Sebastian Wroth was turned into a vampire--a nightmare in his mind--against his will. Burdened with hatred and alone for ages, he sees little reason to live. Until an exquisite, fey creature comes to kill him, inadvertently saving him instead. A valkyrie assassin dispatched to destroy him... When Kaderin the Cold Hearted lost her two beloved sisters to a vampire attack long ago, a benevolent force deadened her sorrow--accidentally extinguishing all of her emotions. Yet whenever she encounters Sebastian, her feelings--particularly lust--emerge multiplied. For the first time, she's unable to complete a kill. Competitors in a legendary hunt... The course will take them through ancient tombs and catacombs, seeking relics around the world, and the prize for victory is powerful enough for Kaderin to change history and prevent her sisters' deaths. Sebastian competes as well, and begins winning--her. But when forced to choose between Sebastian and reuniting her family, how can Kaderin live without either?I really loved this book! I couldn't put it down. It was definitely a page turner. This one is definitely my favorite of the series.Story of Kaderin the Colhearted and Sebastian the scholar. Vampire slayer and vampire. They are opponents in life...and now they're opponents in "The Hie". Each trying to win the prize and change the single defining moment of their life. I love the main characters in the book, after i read the first page, i fell in love with Sebastien. Kaderin, the strong female heroine, who is also funny and kick ass.The love story isn't forced or rushed, it's perfect and believable.I loved the whole "Amazing Race-like" plot to the book. It was fast paced. And while the valkyries sometimes annoyed me in the previous books, this time I found them very funny.I love this series! And for all you J.R. Ward fans--if you like the BDB books, but haven't found anything that could compare, I urge you to give this book a try. It completely captivated me.
pacey1927 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I am not a huge fan of romance books. I find that after awhile they all are formulatic and all you need to do to read a different book is change the couple's names and the location of the story. I recently found that I do enjoy some of the paranormal romance stories out there, but they aren't as near and dear to me as their cousins, urban fantasy. After seeing the Immortals After Dark showing up on my recommendation list for ages I read "A Hunger Like No Other" awhile back and I was floored! The writing was so good, the characters so evolved...and the romance was actually romantic..and hot hot hot! After reading so many romances sometimes the love scenes feel more like you are reading an instruction manaul ie: "Phillip inserted tab A into Manuella's slot B. She moaned." Somehow Kresley makes her scenes unbelieveably erotic and unique. I actually don't skip ahead the sex scene pages and I do that far too often when I read. "No Rest For the Wicked" continued to be unique and exciting. This story was about Kaderin, a Valkyrie, who was 'gifted' with the inability to feel. This 'gift' helps Kaderin become a kick butt figter and force to be reckoned with. She unabashedly kills vampires from the Horde, evil and killing bloodsuckers. So when she meets Sabastian she wants his head. But soon she finds that he isn't an evil vampire, or an evil person. He recognizes that she is to be his Bride. But its going to take a lot of effor on Sabastian's part to convince her of that. When Kaderin signs up on to be in a Legendary Hunt, an otherworld version of the Amazing Race, Sabastian joins her...willing to offer help she doesn't want to accept. There is enough story here, enough action in their journey to more than keep my interest in the book. Cole never loses sight of the fact that romance or not, she has to keep the story flowing. The love scenes are plentiful but they don't overtake the story. And unlike other paranormal romances (some I enjoy), this book is nothing like its predecessor. Looking at this book as a romantic novel, there is no way this story could be less than five star. If if I were to look at it as a paranormal tale without the main focus on the romance I would still give it between 3 1/2 to 4 stars. I eagerly anticipate reading the next books in this series.
alesi1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
3Rd book in this series that I¿ve read. I¿m trying to read them in order since I came across this author through an anthology book shared with Gena Showalter called ¿A Deep Kiss of Winter¿I really like this story and I¿m starting to get hooked on the series since I want to know what is going on with the rest of the Valkyries, Vampires, Witches and Wares. This story is about Sebastian a Vampire and Kaderin a Valkyrie. Sebastian is a tired vampire who was turned against his wishes by his brother. Kaderin is a ruthless Valkyrie who has no emotions what so ever. A village has contacted her to exterminate Sebastian the Vampire. What they don¿t know is that thanks to the villagers they go through an adventure that changes their lives as they know it.
Ezinwanyi on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was set up very well from the beginning. The author quickly introduced you to the lead male and female, Sebastian and Kaderin.What I like about them is that their love was different from Lachlain and Emmaline's romance (Book 1: A hunger like no other) but it was just as engaging. In fact, I found this book to have a quicker pace as well as more better relationship development.Sebastian is just a gentleman. He worked very hard to win Kaderin's love. In fact, at times I wondered, what is Katja (his pet name for her) waiting...I mean people have given it up for far less effort on a man's part (LOL). In her defense, Kaderin is as fearless and competitive as any male counterpart I have read. She is so focused on her goals and what she wants. She is a fighter and will do everything in her power to be reunited with her sisters.I found myself wanting them to realize that they will heal each other if they let go of the past and focused on each other. But I guess that was part of their journey and discovery together. The author unwound this story very nicely. I couldn't wait to get to the end.I am excited that the second installment didn't disappoint me. I look forward to reading Book 3.
AngelLocke on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My second Kresley Cole and I didn't like it as much as the first one. I did like Sebastian but I tire of the women in these books that fight so hard against these men that only want to love them. All though they always come around in the end it's still annoying. I did not like the whole Amazing Race in this one. Maybe that's because I don't watch that show. Anyways, this one was o.k. for me.
hoosgracie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Good addition to the series.
EvaJoe on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Just like A Hunger Like No Other - I couldn't put this book down. It is very saucy - just like the other. Can't wait to read the rest.