North to Nara

North to Nara

by Amanda Marin

NOOK Book(eBook)

$0.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

North to Nara 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
NPelham More than 1 year ago
A well-written love story that was a pleasure to read! The characters, Neve and Micah, are perfect together! They work as a great team as they face a harrowing adventure! This is a book that was difficult to put down. It truly made me value my freedom! A must read book!
Bernie-123_ More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Very imaginative and a real page turner!
Lisah01 More than 1 year ago
North to Nara (Crimson Sash #1) By Amanda Marin Rated 5 stars This story enthralled me. I couldnt put it down nor stop thinking about it. It has a dystopian setting and forbidden love. A good combination. I seriously read faster and faster just waiting for the ax to fall. Assuming it would but never really knowing. All I want Is these two star crossed lovers to have a happy ending but it’s so impossible. Arg!!! Frustration!! My thoughts and emotions ran a gambit while reading. Hope, irritation, scared, love/hate, frustration, and elation and anger are just to name a few. They were for the characters, the world and the situation. Speaking of characters they were all wonderful. Using terms like “lion” to describe the Sufferer really helped me to get a quick idea of his looks and disposition. The friendship between the girls was fun as well as her lovely family. Even the far off secondary characters added some insight and helpfulness. I need to mention them because even though they had little parts the author made their impact large. This is a wonderful start for a debut book. The author created a world that makes you want to know about it. She invites you in and then dazzles you with characters you can hope for, dialogue you can *sigh* at an intricate society that engages your brain. I highly recommend this to anyone who likes dystopian stories with characters you can love. I eagerly look forward to the next but sad it’s so far away….
JanetElliot More than 1 year ago
Life is full of choices! Hopefully, you will make the right one and read this wonderful book! What a book! Couldn’t put it down! Great characters! A tale of forbidden love, North to Narnia will not disappoint! Neve and Micah’s love seems doomed from the start. In the Nation, Micah, a highly trained empath, called a Sufferer, is not allowed to be in a loving relationship or to marry. It is against the law and considered a traitorous act to do so. Sufferers have a very short life span due to the wear and tear on their minds and bodies their job puts upon them at the Center of Compassion - which utilizes machinery to connect all qualifying Nationalists with Sufferers - ridding the Nationalist of unpleasant experiences, and mental sufferings by transference to the Sufferer. For these reasons, and the sacrifices the Sufferer must bear, his role is the most esteemed, by the Nationalists. When Micah takes on this commitment for life he is resigned to the sacrifices he must make. But how could he know that in time he would accidentally meet someone who would take his breath away and make him question his future? His attraction to Nieve is great. She means the world to Micah, and their love is so strong that they both take tremendous risks to meet when and where they can. The ramifications for being caught together are unthinkable and involve charges of treason, but they cannot help themselves! In time they are apprehended, and what happens next will test their inner resources, convictions, and strength of character. North to Nara is written beautifully; its characters are believable and highly principled. Loved the book!
Lmv2 More than 1 year ago
North to Nara was beautifully written. Truly a refreshing take on adventure and love! What stood out most to me was the amazing descriptive language used throughout the novel. Neve & Micah had me drawn in from the very beginning! A must read- looking forward to the next novel!
Debi-Kircher More than 1 year ago
North to Nara (Crimson Sash Book 1) by Amanda Marin 5 Stars Oh My Goodness..I loved this story, I kept trying to slow myself down so that it would not end quite so fast. Neve and Micah’s story was heartbreaking...their crime? Love and holy moly following them and their story was completely addictive. I want more like right now! LOL This is a dystopian novel and is told in a way that's a bit different then Im used to. Everything in some parts felt so normal and real then theres the other parts that reminded me there was nothing normal about it. I've only recently started choosing dystopian themed stories and this one went far and beyond my expectations. The cover is absolutely gorgeous and the story was no different. I loved the family aspect of this story (especially Rafe’s part in it) and the friendship between Neve and Tali which I hope is in future books of this series. Oh I wish I could go on and on about the storyline but I'm not going to, I just can't wait for the next and to see what lies ahead for these two people. The writing in this story is absolutely beautiful and the smooth flow will have me watching for anything and everything this author brings us! LOVED LOVED LOVED IT!!!!!
Pennyl More than 1 year ago
The love story between Nieve and Micah is captivating. A charming story that I did not want to end!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
From start to finish I was drawn into this book and the characters' lives. Lots of drama! Great story line...couldn't put it down!
E_A_Walsh More than 1 year ago
North to Nara (Crimson Sash, #1) by Amanda Marin was a hooking, original read that, was full of passion, and told the tale of two star crossed lovers and their fight against the odds. This debut novel was truly something, as a lover of dystopian type books, I always love how each author develops the world and how they see it, if something were to happen to our way of life. This one wasn't as loud, you could say, as some other dystopian books. The world that this is book is set in seems pretty comfortable, and at peace. So this story isn't about one girl toppling an empire, no, it's about a forbidden love, and the their choice to put love before Nation. The only thing that bothered me about this book, was the pockets of info dumping, and I hate to say it cause I really enjoyed this book, but it did fall into this trend of the first book being a "setup book". A complex world like this should have been present at the beginning, with some back story, or a prologue, to help with the worldbuilding. Especially when this world is not at war and is in a pretty tame and civil state. Now the two MC's, love them to bits. Micah really stole the show. Yes Neve is the main MC, but hell, Micah was written so well, and so full of emotions that I couldn't help but fall for him. I would have like to see the world from his POV, I think that would have added that extra layer to not only help with the characters development, but with world building. That middle to ending though, for a book that started out all sweet and heart melty, it sure kicked up into high gear. I was on the edge of my seat, and flipping the pages like a mad person. Man oh man, talk about going from 0-60. And that sneak peek at the end.. way to tease a girl.. I need the next book now! Overall this book gets my super high recommendation and my stamp of approval. Happy Reading -E.A. Walsh
Iamlisa More than 1 year ago
What can I say! A beautiful love story that is written by someone who knows how!