Note to Adam

Note to Adam

by Becky Kruse

Paperback

$12.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 1

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Note to Adam 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Everyone is touched by suicide in one way or another, and no one knows this better than Becky Kruse, whose son Adam died by suicide at age 22 in 2007. This book, written as a series of “notes” to Adam, provides a day-by-day account of how she struggles to cope in the immediate aftermath of the suicide of her youngest child. This is an excellent, well-written, courageous, and often heartbreaking book. It provides, perhaps better than any other book currently available, a window into the many complex feelings of grief, despair, anger, guilt, and confusion experienced by individuals who have lost a loved one to suicide. The author describes, in real time, how she is attempting to come to terms with Adam’s death, and how she becomes increasingly involved in suicide prevention efforts and helping others cope with this tragedy. This book is a valuable resource for anyone wanting to better understand what the experience is like for parents and families who lose a child to suicide. I had the pleasure of meeting the author at a conference on suicide prevention, and was immediately struck by her passion and commitment – qualities that shine through in this book. That commitment is exemplified by the fact that Becky does not personally profit from her book; all proceeds from it go to support suicide prevention groups, educational workshops on suicide prevention, and local libraries in the Tulsa, Oklahoma area.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WOW!!! Amazing that this mother had the guts to write this story through such a tragedy. Would love to hear how she is doing now that more time has passed. Hopeful that this book will serve as comfort and strength to other survivors. A special place in heaven surely exists for mothers of suicide victims.. God Bless the Kruse family.
SDF60 More than 1 year ago
This poignant story told in real time by a devastated mother dealing with the unthinkable gives hope of survival after loss as well as a realty check to anyone contemplating suicide.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book bares the soul of a mother who is in such agony after losing her precious son to suicide. It is such a painful experience. It really helps you understand how a mother and her family have to suffer in the aftermath and this shouldn't have to happen. We all need to learn much more about what we can do to prevent suicide. This book is amazing to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yes it is sad, its depressing , it hurts your heart but it needs to be read by everyone. Everyone who has a child or not should read this. It makes you value life and realize how short it is. It opens your eyes to suicide which is real. Suicide is a world wide issue . It needs to be talked about. Becky shares all her feelings and thoughts and you truly feel her pain and struggle. What an amazing book. Please read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is deeply depressing, but I couldn't put it down. As a mother, I feel Adam's mother's pain and want the best for her. I wish for a sequel to know how she is coping now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A beautifully written book by a grieving mother. It's all in there: sorrow, happiness, sadness, memories, guilt, anger, love, beauty. Read it slowly and thoughtfully.
DBay More than 1 year ago
I can only read a few pages at a time. This journal shows us the depth, craziness and sometimes so clearly sane range of emotions that a person goes through with loss (although could there be any loss as sorrowful as the suicide of your youngest child?). I am beginning to see her very, very slow seeds of healing - 2 steps forward 5 steps back. It is so well written that I feel I'm living those emotions with Becky. With the statistics of suicide so high, someone you know has thought, is thinking or will contemplate suicide. This will help.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Through "Note To Adam" Becky shares her pain, her questions, the frightening and then uplifting path that a survivor may follow. "Note To Adam" will touch your soul. If you are a survivor her words may help you find a way back.