Off Campus

Off Campus

by Amy Jo Cousins

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Off Campus 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
carlosmock 4 days ago
Off Campus by Amy Jo Cousins Tom Worthington is broken. His father has been charged with a Ponzi scheme, ruining numerous lives in the process. Tom has had to quit school -- Carlisle College -- because of the shame. He's accosted by the paparazzi and has lost everything. From being super rich to not being able to afford a head over his head, he has reached a deal with the school dean, where he is housed off campus so that he can keep a low profile. Reese Anders is gay. He had a serious confrontation with some students and needs to stay away from intimacy. He was promised a private room off-campus so he can stay anonymous. As luck would have it, they are paired as roommates at Perkins Hall. They are both upset about it, but Tom can't afford to argue and Reese's quest to get rid of Tom is ineffectual. These two broken souls, with the help of Cash and Steph, must find redemption, even if it means that Tom must deal with his sexuality and they both must resolve their trust issues. Narrated from a dysfunctional third person point of view, the author has great difficulties dealing with the narrative. She flips from points of view at will, most of the time not letting the reader know. This creates confusion and mostly ruins the scenes. Too much drama ruins what could have been a wonderful love story. I was bored at times and ended up skimming the plot. A disappointing read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amy Jo Cousins hit this one out of the park! The characters are relatable and funny. Their chemistry is off the charts. I absolutely adored Tom and Reese! I’m very picky with English and grammatical mistakes. This book was nicely written and the heros are well developed. A MUST READ! Thank you Ms. Cousins! Looking forward to reading more...
2kasmom More than 1 year ago
Tom goes back to college only to find his roommate was promised he would live alone. They do not get along, but Tom could care less what Reese wants since he only needs a place to crash and get the much needed sleep he deprives himself of. Can they find common ground? Reese talks to Tom finally, and they make a truce of sorts. They live like hermits in just their room, never leaving except for food, classes, and to shower. Tom works himself to the bone to pay tuition on the weekends, but otherwise lives a closed off existence. Tom starts to notice his feelings for Reese and they end up friends. Reese is kind of a people person, so eventually they come out to the main room to study instead of just hiding away. Will the pasts that have scarred them ruin their future? Can Tom forge a live of his own and move past his fathers mistakes? I found this book so riveting! I could NOT put it down. I know this will be a book I read again and keep on my shelf. I loved it!
khulseman More than 1 year ago
"You have been approved for off-campus housing at the Frances Perkins House for returning student" Tom wasn't expecting a warm welcome returning back to college. And new roommate, Reese, definitely is not going to give him one. Two men, seemingly so different are now thrown into tight quarters. One doing whatever he can to get rid of the interloper. The other digging his heels in to stay where he can hide from his life. This was a first time read for me as recommended by a trusted friend. WOW!! I am hooked. Ms. Cousins characters leap off the page and into your heart - just sticking there. Although there is a lot of push/pull in the relationship, Amy Jo Cousins gives you realistic situations and outcomes of behaviors as Tom finds his way in a new relationship. I loved both characters. They each had their flaws but you could be completely sympathy to their actions. I don't feel like I can gush on the story without giving away. Ms. Cousins gives us awesome side kicks in Cash and Steph (when do I get to their book?). If you love two unlikely people actually finding love in m/m genre, I highly recommend this books!! Although the first book in the series, each one can standalone. As I write my reviews, I've read books 1-4. Book one - definite 5 star read. Series - 5 stars overall!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CrystalMarie218 More than 1 year ago
There’s not a lot I can say about this book. Except to say that it had to be the longest book on record…or at least it felt like it. I’m a fast reader and can rip through a book in no time. I received this book to review on Oct 26th, and it’s December and I finally managed to reach the end. It’s hard to pinpoint exactly what was wrong with it—besides the fact I had to stop after each chapter because I just couldn’t handle the drudgery, until I had a little time away and could come back to it—but I’ve decided it comes down to too much info. There was a lot of nothing happening, or at least it felt like it. Maybe it was the fact the story was from Tom’s POV and he really has no personality. Reese has some personality, though still I feel no emotional connection to him. Or maybe because it felt like much ado about nothing. As I was reading it, I described it to a friend as, “Oh, look, he went to drive a cab and nothing happened. And then he went back to school and nothing happened.” Things did happen, but they came across as so blah—with no emotional involvement between me the reader and the characters—that it felt like a chore getting through it. Usually I like it when the author takes it slow when one character has emotional issues (and in this story all the characters are fractured in some way or another), but this story felt like it was a day-in/day-out log of information that made me yawn. Was it written well? Well, there weren’t a lot of typos or grammatical errors that I saw – and that’s a good thing. But I just never became attached to Tom or Reese. I found Tom’s uncouth friend Cash the most endearing of the bunch. I gave it 3 stars because, as I mentioned, it was at least grammatical error free, but I cannot recommend it to anyone. Reviewed by a-nony-mouse for Crystal’s Many Reviewers *Copy provided for review*
n1ght0wl More than 1 year ago
I received this book in exchange for an honest review. The blurb perfectly describes the book without the emotional roll coaster this book sends the readers in. Tom's father was found guilty for his ponzi scheme and that caused some backlash for Tom. He had to leave school for a while but has found some footing in his life. He gets a chance to resume his education and is roomed with Reese (who is suppose to have his own single room dorm). Trying student housing doesn't work to fix the issue, so the two are stuck together with Reese trying everything in his power to get Tom to leave. Even bringing back guys to suck off in their shared room. It doesn't work out and Tom (who as it turns out is bi) can take anything Reese tries dish out since he's been through a lot with his father's criminal ways. Eventually the two end up getting close and both share a little of their past and why they need off campus housing. I admit I did get a bit emotional when reading about Tom's situation. Reese's back story also had my heart in a bit of vice grip. I may have shed a tear or two when Tom finally started getting help. I loved Reese and his father for coming to Tom's aid and cajoling him into accepting help. I also loved Tom for his care of Reese. The steps he took when they were being intimate, being upfront about his sexuality and coming out and the bargaining to go to therapy if Tom took up track running again. Cash and Steph were great friend's and I enjoyed seeming them all interact together. I did have a minor issue which was that it was said Tom lost all his worldly possessions. I'm just not sure how he managed to keep his expensive car?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Calila More than 1 year ago
*A copy of this book was provided for free by the author in exchange for an honest review.* Tom is trying to piece his life back together after having his entire world upended in the wake of his father's arrest. Reese is trying to stay strong and recover from an attack that leaves him traumatized. When forced to room together by their college, Reese is unhappy and tries to run Tom out, while Tom just wants to sleep after working so many hours to pay for his tuition. Gradually they come to a place of understanding that leads to love and healing for both of them. Characters: Tom: I loved Tom. My heart broke for him as he tried to make up for his father's failings and hold it together by his fingertips. We get the best sense of who he is because we're in his head for the book. He has a bit of a martyr complex stemming from his ill-placed guilt which got tiresome. I really wanted someone to knock some sense into him. He comes to some realization, but I wanted more for him. I just wanted him to have one friend who was wholly on his side. Reese: I struggled with liking Reese to be honest. He had something horrible happen to him, yes, but that's basically used as a "I can do no wrong" card by everyone around him. He really seemed to have ZERO respect for Tom and what Tom wanted, and I hated his continued bi-sexual erasure. I can understand that that probably stemmed from him wanting Tom to acknowledge him in a greater public way, but Tom was trying, and he was working to get to a place to do that. Reese was just impatient. Side characters: I LOVED THE SIDE CHARACTERS! Cash is amazing! I love him and his unintentional offensiveness. You can tell right away that it's never from a place of maliciousness. Steph was pretty great, I always love when I don't hate the lone female character. I can't wait to read their story! I'm sure it'll be great. Reese's dad was very lovable in the little we saw him. Plot: The plot was great, I really enjoyed, for the most part, seeing Tom pick up his boot straps and do what it took to get back to college. If only he would've TALKED to someone, his life would've been so much easier. But I can understand his reasoning even if I disagree. This book is really more of a high three star rating, mainly because of my, for lack of a better word, dislike of Reese. He wasn't horrible. I just had so many issues with him that it started to color my enjoyment. I think if we'd ever gotten a glimpse of what was going on in his head I would've been able to cut him more slack, but we don't. If any character had ever criticized him or called him out on his behavior I would've felt better. As it was the relationship just seemed imbalanced. Tom was all about Reese and doing whatever he could to move at Reese's pace and help Reese heal. But Reese never even really seemed to even LIKE Tom really. And clearly had no respect for Tom's issues, guilt and paranoia being the biggest two. Even if his fears were "ridiculous" they were REAL to Tom, and that deserves some respect. I just wish I could've liked him more. As for the "bullying" Tom receives from Jack. I don't know. It didn't seem that bad to me, yes he used horrible language at him for seemingly no reason, but just seemed minor. It was one lone person. Jack never had back up from his "friends". Jack didn't really have any power over Tom to do anything to make him suffer. Though I guess given Tom's issues that's enough to build up in his head. I guess I feel like it need more impact.
Maria-Rose More than 1 year ago
This emotional sexy read is the story of Tom and Reese. When Tom slinks back to college to try to finish his degree without the notoriety of his father's ponzi scheming hounding him, his openly gay roommate Reese does everything possible to get him to leave. But Tom finds himself intrigued by Reese in ways he never imagined, and when things between them heat up, he has to decide whether being with Reese and 'out' in the public eye will be worth the possible blowback to his carefully planned private future. I loved this story! Sexual tension abounds from the first time Reese and Tom are put in a compromising situation and it's only a matter of time for them to make some moves towards each other. The sex/love scenes between them are fraught with emotional tension and sticky desire and make one believe that the author has dived right into a young adult gay man's mind to experience what they would feel. Both Tom and Reese have emotional baggage to contend with that hampers their ability to relate to each other until confidences are shared and trust is established. Secondary characters play a key role in the plot adding humour and camaraderie as Tom and Reese navigate the minefields of their newly forming relationship. The portrayal of college life is accurate and well written and added a great backdrop for the story. I'm looking forward to what's coming next in this series! An entertaining read from beginning to end. 5 stars!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im al im a guy looking to be in a relationship with a guy. It can be long distance. Im 16. Respond above