On My Knees (Stark International Series #2)

On My Knees (Stark International Series #2)

by J. Kenner

Paperback

$16.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, May 29

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

On My Knees: A Novel 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
LynnLTX More than 1 year ago
Passion and Pain: Jackson Steele and Sylvia Brooks have an intense relationship that heats up in this second book of this trilogy in the Stark International series. Although they now seem to be in a committed relationship, both have secrets that threaten the stability and future for them continuing as a couple. Sylvia’s emotional scars and trauma at the hands of the photographer who abused her and the father who allowed the abuse still haunt her. Jackson has his own ghosts to deal with and because neither has learned to trust, they have real difficulty letting the barriers fall. After the big reveals at the end of Say My Name, quite a bit of fallout has to be dealt with concerning Jackson’s relationship with Damien and the movie producer who continues to cause trouble. Once some of his issues are handled, more turmoil, secrets, and lies keep cropping up for Sylvia and Jackson. And since Jackson and Damien are celebrity famous, much of the drama gets played out on the media stage. Jackson carries more of the burden of missteps and pain in the roller coaster ride of their developing relationship. He knows most of what are deal breakers for Sylvia and while he seems to truly get her and understand her needs, Jackson withholds important information that comes back to bite him in the usual place. Their connection intensifies both in and outside the bedroom, and as expected, there are lots of steamy, erotica scenes. The reader gets to spend some time in Jackson’s head with his POV leading off the book as he prepares himself to approach Damien about Jeremiah Stark. The emotional angst level remains quite high, but readers of the Stark series will not be surprised. Since both Sylvia and Jackson are absorbing and enticing characters, staying caught up in their story will provide lots of passionate highs and lows. So fasten your seat belts for a bumpy ride.
MichelleKemp More than 1 year ago
I am totally in love with Jackson, this series is so good. and we even get some Damian in there . with all the secrets that Jackson and Sylvia kept from each and it finally came out they are still together and i think they are prefect for each other 5 Star
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love all three books they should make a movie out of the book
Gina04 More than 1 year ago
J.Kenner reads keep me on my toes and in the edge of my seat! It just keeps getting better and better. There’s blackmail attempts, a murder, an arrest, secrets revealed,, and a lot...I mean ALOT of sexy scenes. You know that feeling you get when you are going up up up on a roller coaster ride and you are just teetering there? Thats whats happened to me with the last few chapters and then I was hit with the cliffhanger. I still love ya J. Kenner but DAMN!!!! I need the next book NOW!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tsmb02 More than 1 year ago
This story starts off with a bang. Jackson decides to go talk to Damien about their relationship and everything that has happened. WOW! Was not expecting what happened to actually happen. I felt so bad for Sylvia. Can anything ever go right for these two? I must say I was slightly happy with what Jackson did to Reed! ;) I also enjoyed the way Sylvia and Jackson are there for each other in the ways each of them need. Great chemistry! And the sex is just HOT!!!! Sylvia and Jackson reveal more secrets to each other in this book. Most of them were not very shocking. I enjoyed when Sylvia and Jackson went to her parents house with her brother who is back in US. I really enjoy when Jackson gets territorial over Sylvia and the confrontation with her dad was great. I loved the whole story with Ronnie. Seems like such a sweet girl. And the way this book ended with another cliffhanger....BOOM! I can't wait for the third book to finally get to Jackson and Sylvia's happy ending and see how everything plays out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a huge J Kenner fan.....This book however falls way below the standard she has set. First of all the lead female Sylvia.......very weak character, she has no depth and she is always running from something. Very predictable at this point in the trilogy and very boring. Also predictable....you can already tell that Trent is up to something with the other resort but Sylvia, always the damsel in distress, can't put it together.......Is it just me or is she just writing the same story from original stark trilogy......child abuse, lies, "mysterious" death....... I expected a lot more from this. Very sad that I already bought book three because I had faith in Kenner as a good writer. Now I have a book I will never read.
marincheto007 More than 1 year ago
And that's another winner by the amazing J. Kenner. I fell in love with Jackson and Sylvia in Say My Name and since then I so couldn't wait to find out what will happen next for them. And I have to say that I wasn't disappointed. The story was intriguing and captivating, full with romance and hotness, some danger and peppered with secrets and unexpected twists. For me the whole story was quite captivating. Jackson was still his delicious self and I can guarantee that he will put your panties on fire. The sexual chemistry between him and Sylvia is even more charged than in the first book. And I can guarantee that it will melt your panties. But what I enjoyed the most, was actually seeing another side of him. I have to say that I quite liked his vulnerable side. Seeing it in connection to his feelings for Sylvia was definitely something catching the eye. And there is actually a secret in the book that I am sure it will make you fall even harder for Jackson. It's just something no woman can resist in a man :) And I am not talking about his dominant streak, protectiveness or even his pantie melting looks :) But I will leave you guessing ;) You will have to just read the book and find out :D OnMyKneesTeaseAs for Sylvia, I have to say that I was somewhat surprised by her. I liked the additional depth that was added to her character. I didn't agree with all her decisions but I do admire her inner strength. And I actually kind of do understand where she comes from. Living through the nightmare she lived as a teenager could've destroyed her but she found a way to survive. I liked that I was given even more background information on her history. And that that she managed to survive pretty much intact is definitely admirable. It is true that he hasn't really dealt with the scars but with Jackson's help, she finally finds her way towards healing. He is her rock and the one person who manages to show her how strong she really is. They do have their bumps on the road but after each one they emerge stronger. As a whole, the book is great. It is interesting, entertaining and definitely sizzling hot. It is peppered with secrets and unexpected twists that will leave your head spinning. I think that you will love the book but keep in mind that it is not a standalone and you have to read Say My Name first. And be ready for some major cliffhanger. I can guarantee that you will be craving to get your hands on the third part as fast as possible :) So get your #oneclick finger ready and pick up the first two books in the Stark International Trilogy. It will be definitely worth it :) This review was originally posted at Living In Our Own Story Book Blog. I received an ARC of the book in exchange of an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book went very fast to me compared to the first book. There was constant turmoil and drama w Sylvie and Jackson. Plenty over the top sex and a feeling of excitment. Already preordered part #3 to see how everything is going to shake out for these characters. Be interesting to see if her father is going to man up to what he did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I totally loved book 2...can't wait for book 3!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
khulseman More than 1 year ago
It’s good for a ‘middle’ book “Sometimes families have secrets,” his father had said. Yes, it’s a serial. But the way J. Kenner makes the introduction in Chapter 1; you could read to catch up. I highly recommend you get book one though just so you can get more of Jackson Steele. I want to also write ahead: Yes, I did like the book. If you are a fan, get it. If you have read the Stark International serial, you’ll want to. Normally, I don’t start my reviews with the recommendation, but felt I needed to due to my comments that will follow. I loved both characters Jackson and Sylvia. They both have secrets, Jackson more so than Sylvia. The steamy scenes are very frequent and hot! I’m glad I finished the book. Confession: I hate reviews that tell me the story. Ugh hate spoilers. So I often avoid blogs for that reason. I accidentally went to one of my favorite blogs where they listed this on their DNF at 43%. I have to confess - I agreed with them up to this point. Lots of hot action but no real story to pull you in. But similar to Damien’s story, once you started peeling back the layers of Jackson’s secrets, the story pulled me in. This isn’t my favorite of Ms. Kenner’s books, but I feel it’s a necessary read for the next one. This ended perfectly to keep me interested in continuing the series. Stars would be a 3.25 for this book. 4.25 for the hot scenes!
Sandy-thereadingcafe More than 1 year ago
lots and lots of $ex: ON MY KNEES is the second installment in J. Kenner’s adult, contemporary Stark International Trilogy series focusing on design architect Jackson Steele, and personal assistant Sylvia Brooks. The Stark International Trilogy is a spin off from J. Kenner’s Stark Trilogy (Damien and Nikki Stark). ON MY KNEES should not be read as a stand alone as it is part 2 of a 3 part trilogy. Told from first person point of view (Sylvia Brooks) with some third person perspective (Jackson Steele) ON MY KNEES is the continuing story of the rekindling romance between our leading couple, as well as Jackson’s current architectural design work for Stark International. As Damien Stark continues to expand his empire, Jackson is hired by Sylvia Brooks to design Stark’s latest luxury hotel and island. ON MY KNEES follows Jackson and Sylvia as their relationship begins to crumble when too many secrets and lies of omission find our couple struggling with trust, betrayal and falling in love. Jackson has a past that is slowly revealing itself to the reader, and also to the woman who holds his heart, but his secrets continue to send our heroine running with every revelation and heartbreaking story. As Sylvia’s personal life begins to unravel, the demons from her past will threaten Sylvia’s hold on her emotional stability, and Jackson’s hold on his temper. The relationship between Sylvia and Jackson is sexually erotic. The $ex scenes are graphic, numerous, passionate and explorative. Jackson likes a little kink in the bedroom, but saying that Sylvia and Jackson use $ex as a way to cope with life and everything it has to offer. As our couple struggle with their personal demons, $ex becomes a necessary tool to survive: anytime, anywhere, anyhow. The majority of the novel finds Jackson and Sylvia in explicit sexual situations. If you are looking for an erotic storyline with plenty of $ex ON MY KNEES delivers. ON MY KNEES is a suspense-filled storyline where Jackson and Sylvia must overcome a number of obstacles, hidden demons, and secrets from the past. As each hurdle is surpassed, another hurdle surfaces forcing our couple into a downward spiral straddling the abyss into emotional h*ll. Jackson’s untold secrets find Sylvia at odds between hatred and love for the man of her heart. J. Kenner ON MY KNEES ends with another major cliff hanger, so beware when you begin your adventure into book two. The storyline is erotic and seductive; the characters charismatic, dynamic and complex; the cliff hanger is an emotional turn but not necessarily unexpected. You will definitely make comparisons with J. Kenner’s original Stark Trilogy with the similar emotional and personal fall out for both hero and heroine, alike.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Jackson Steele!! He loves hard and deep and despite making mistakes, his actions speak to how much he loves S and R. He makes my heart melt and makes me hot! A great read. Now the wait for the next in thevseries to see what happens next...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AmyBosica More than 1 year ago
Actual Rating: 4.5 Stars “It’s as if he needs to consume me, to prove to himself that I’m real and that I’m here and that no matter what, I’m not going anywhere.” Wow! What a great ride! On My Knees picks up right where Say My Name left off. And let me tell you there is never a dull moment. Just when you think you’ve got a handle on things and things are going to be smooth, a nice little curve ball gets thrown at you and all you can do is brace your self for the ride…… After the way things ended with Say My Name, I just had to know more, what would happen next for Jackson and Sylvia? And this book does not disappoint. I was pulled into the story from the very first page. I was completely captivated and unable to stop reading. I fell more in love with Sylvia and Jackson, if that was even possible. Sylvia and Jackson make such a great team. Their connection so deep, so real. They can calm each other with just one look and their ability to understand each other, without fear of judgement is just amazing. I loved watching their relationship move forward and seeing them trying to navigate all the obstacles that life kept throwing at them. And boy did life throw some curve balls at them. Jackson and Sylvia’s bond was really tested in On My Knees. Lies, Secrets, and Blackmail is enough to rock even the strongest of relationships. But, no matter what was thrown at the two of them, no matter how hurt they may have been in the moment, Jackson and Sylvia were both very determined. They weren’t going to give up on each other without one heck of a fight. To say I enjoyed On My Knees would be a total understatement. I was hooked on Jackson and Sylvia’s story and couldn’t wait to find out what would happen next. On My Knees is sexy, captivating, HOT, and full of some great twists. Twists that will surprise you and have you asking questions. And the end………You know me, I always have to warn you when there is a cliffhanger…..And this is a good one! I was totally having one of those, things are too good to be true moments and then BOOM! The carpet was pulled out from under me. I can not wait to get my hands on the final book and see how it will all play out! *I was provided an ARC copy of this book via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review*
jeanniezelos More than 1 year ago
On My Knees, A Stark Novel, J. Kenner Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews  Genre:  Romance,  This picks straight up where the last novel left off, and we’re plunged into the world once again. Heat, action, drama – once again this episode has all that. Its not five star from me though because...well, maybe its because for a romance to span three books takes a lot of solid plots, and I just felt here instead the plots were just dragged out to fill the space. I was pretty sure about the identity of a certain person early on – clues were in book one, and a multitude of them here, and yet Sylvia not once seems to see it or ask relevant questions that most people would by now. That smacks of unreality to me, and it wasn’t the only thing she failed to ask that was so so evident. Each time they had a hiccup it became major drama and all the secrets were hinted at so much that by the time they were revealed it was for me anti climatic. The identity if who’s leaking info – I’m pretty sure I know who that is, and possibly why, but Sylvia and Jackson – even Damien, don't seem to see what’s going on under their noses, and I just think why? For top business people they are amazingly oblivious of something incredibly important!The Jackson/Damien connection too became a story that devolved into little plots that just felt forced  I think for so many trilogies they’d be better as just two books, or as lots of us best enjoy – once long book! I find I enjoy these reads best once all parts are out, and I can read and enjoy the whole story without waiting months for the next part, just one long back to back session, and get really immersed in the story.  As before the characters are excellent and they feel very real. I like that there’s a variety, that the story doesn't just circle around three/four main people. Its more interesting when others are brought in, and leads to different views of events through their eyes and through conversations with them. We may think we know what a character is thinking, how they interpret a conversation or an action, but until they articulate it to someone really we’re just guessing. There’s lots of J Kenner trademark erotic sex scenes here, and as always they were well written and hot and sensual, but there were so many that I found myself skipping to get to the actual meat of the story. There comes a time in many trilogies I’ve noticed, when the sex begins to take over the story – for many readers that doesn’t matter but for me it does. Story first then sex backing it works best for me every time. Its these little niggles that’s stopped the book from being five stars for me, still a fantastic read but with some small irritations. Of course – arrghh – it ends on a massive cliffhanger..... Stars: Four, a great follow up, but not quite a five for me.  ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers    
bkgal57 More than 1 year ago
. J. Kenner has done it once again. If you haven't read Say My Name, please do so before you start this book. A lot of secrets were revealed in book one and On My Knees continues the story of Jackson and Sylvia. Twisting plot, emotional growth and amazing chemistry between the characters, hot burn up the sheets sex, then throw in Damien and Nikki, and you've got yourself a 5 star read. On My Knees is a fast paced, well written story. Anxiously awaiting the third book in the trilogy. ARC was provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.