On the Hunt

On the Hunt

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, June 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

On the Hunt 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
DiiMI More than 1 year ago
You know that feeling when a 12 ft long dessert table is standing before you and you can have a taste of everything on the table without guilt? Yeah, it’s like that, On the Hunt is four brief tales from four powerful authors and a feast for the imagination, best part, they are all calorie-free! Alexandra Ivy, Rebecca Zanetti, Dianne Duvall and Hannah Jayne each have concocted short stories in their creative mental kitchens and the results are simply amazing. Looking for some quick, entertaining and intriguing reading? This is the way to visit with both old authors and new. From healers to guardians, vampires to genius killing machines, there is never a dull moment! I received an ARC edition from Zebra in exchange for my honest review.
Maisie-D More than 1 year ago
On The Hunt by Alexandra Ivy Mika Tanner is a hunter Sentinel and a tracker. He’s the best. He’s been sent to find an acolyte that has disappeared from the monastery where the Sentinels are taught. In the meantime Bailey Morrell, who is a witch and a healer who has the rare talent of being able to sense an injured highblood in her vicinity find the badly injured acolyte that Mika is hunting. Now Mika and Bailey have a history, but Bailey left him 10 years ago. She felt trapped and wanted to be free. This is a second chance love story. The story of why the acolyte left the monastery is what brings Mika and Bailey back together. It’s a nice love story if a bit tame than what I’m used to. I give it four stars. Scorpius Rising by Rebecca Zanetti Now Rebecca is one of my favorite authors and this is potential apocalyptic story. A bacteria is let loose by college students who find a meteor and break it open. If they survive the fever, they become dangerous with extreme mental problems. Deacan is head of a secret branch of the military and directly reports to the president. Nora is the top microbiologist in her field. Deke has basically kidnapped Nora to work on finding a cure, and they need it fast! Deke and Nora used to be married but divorced. Deke loved the military and the excitement of a battle. Nora was going to college to become a microbiologist. She couldn’t handle the stress of Deke’s job, so she ran. Deke has changed and decided he wants Nora back and is going to get her. He seduces her quickly, and she lets herself be seduced. She still loves Deke. The story is exciting and the love scenes are steamy hot! The transformation of Nora’s assistant Zach, from a cute, mild mannered man into the psycho is exciting and enthralling. I give five plus stars!! Phantom Embrace by Dianne Duvall (SPOILERS) Again Dianne is another of my favorite authors. I have read all her Immortal Guardian series, and I love them. This is the story of Yuri. Yuri wasn’t a lead character in any of the books until Night Unbound. The ending was very sad, but with Phantom Embrace, I felt so much better about Yuri’s demise. Yuri has the same gift as Marcus. Cat is Bastien’s sister, so Seth and David leave her alone, and not banishing her from their house. Yuri falls in love with Cat, but she is a spirit and when she thinks Yuri is trying to die to be with her she gets very angry at him. This is just a very nice love story. Not steamy like I like, but when you’ve been following this series, who cares. I just love all the characters. It’s a nice addition to the series. I love knowing Yuri has a life beyond the Immortal Guardians. I give this five plus stars also! Stake Out by Hannah James This is a new author for me. I love vampire stories, but this one was really unusual than what I’m used to. The main character, Nina La Shay, is a fashion designer, and she loves her photographer, Pike, who is a bird shifter. She hates birds, so it’s really strange because she just drools over his human form. It’s told in the first person, which I am not really fond of. So it was hard for me to read. It was almost a DNF. Someone is murdering Nina’s models. Also someone has come out with a new fashion line to compete with Nina’s in New York’s Fashion Week. So Nina is not happy, especially when the first dead model is dumped in her apartment. So Nina, her nephew Vlad and Pike try to figure out who’s killing her models and why. This one is just 2 stars for me.
stanhope3234 More than 1 year ago
4* On the Hunt 3* Alexandra Ivy Just ok. I felt like I was dropped in the middle of a story and didn't understand what was happening. I needed more information to follow the story line. I did like the second chance romance. Scorpion Rising 5* Rebecca Zanetti I loved this book, story line and characters. I can not wait for the series to begin. I love Rebecca Zanetti's books and I've read everyone of them. She is on my must buy list. The story line is intriguing and new with a great twist and nail biting reality...this could happen in our world. Deacan McDougall was totally alpha male and so incredibly hot! Nora Medina is a strong heroine with a backbone of steal that is until it comes Deacan. Phantom Embrace 5* Dianne Duvall I've never read a ghost romance before. It just never interested me at all. BUT this was a wonderfully touching romance and Yuri and Catherine were great characters and I now have a new series to start reading. Stake Out 3.5* Hannah Jayne This is a totally new to me author. The story was laugh out loud funny and I'm looking forward to reading more by Ms. Jayne.
CathyGeha More than 1 year ago
1) On the Hunt by Alexandra Ivy tells (The Sentinels 2.5) This is a second chance at love story for Mika and Bailey. They separated 10 years before but never forgot one another and their chemistry is just as strong when they meet again as Mika, a Sentinel Hunter, is sent out to track another sentinel. Bailey is a healer and her talent draws her into trouble that Mika might be in time to save her from. 2) Scorpius Rising by Rebecca Zanetti (Scorpius Rising 0.5) The reason I was eager to get my hands on this anthology was that I had read Corpius Striking and wanted to read the backstory. This is mostly the story of Nora and Deke though there are a number of characters introduced that end up in Scorpius Striking. 3) Phantom Embrace by Dianne Duvall (Immortal Guardians 2.5) I have not read any of the other books in this series and found the introduction and mention of so many names a bit daunting. I kind of skipped most of them to get to the story of Yuri and Cat and did enjoy reading of their story – one of an immortal and a ghost. 4) Stake Out by Hannah Joyce (Underworld Detection Agency 6.5) I have not read any of this author’s books before. This story is about a fashion designer vampire, her vampire brother and her were-bird boyfriend. The mystery of who is one-upping Nina and who is killing/turning fashion models into vampires is the basic plot. The stories were varied and interesting but not seat of your chair grab you and not let you go stories. I enjoyed Scorpius Rising most and thank NetGalley and Kensington Books for the ARC to read and review. 3.5 Stars
Faerie-bookworm More than 1 year ago
What a great taste of each author. I have read 2 out of the 4 authors before so it was a nice to have something known and something unknown. I didn't feel lost reading the novellas without having read any of the series. I enjoyed the stories and the characters. I will definitely be reading more by all the authors. I received a copy from NetGalley for an honest review.
LiveLaughandLoveBooks More than 1 year ago
I initially picked this for Alexandra Ivy's Sentinels story, but I enjoyed all of the stories. I also found a new author to follow! Four truly talented authors come together to create a book that carries out one theme. Well written, fast paced, with alpha males, action and adventure.There’s a little something for everyone, just keep in mind that these are all part of series. *I received a complimentary copy of the book from Netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.*
AMANDA_BRAT69 More than 1 year ago
I loved all the books the compilation! It's so hard to find a compilation that has all great books and this is one! I would recommend them all
KimP65 More than 1 year ago
This is a tough one to review. There are 4 stories here and one was good, one was great and two were not so good. The first story, On The Hunt, was really good. I liked this story so much better than the first book in the series for some reason. It brings the story out into a world that is relatable, the characters are terrific and exciting to read. That this long love is finally coming to fruition just really rounds out the whole story and brings the reader no only closure but a piece of their happiness. Scorpius Rising is fantastic. I loved how the story unfolds, how the characters move through the story and the plot changes as the story evolves. The characters were unbelievably awesome, the action was so fast-paced that you are really on the edge of your seat all the way through. Phantom Embrace was not so great. Part of the reason is because it's so connected to the other books in the series that you really feel like you are dumped into the middle of the action. There is so much action and backstory that if you haven't read the series you just can't get attached to the story or the characters. Stake Out was really not so great. Not only is there too much backstory that someone who hasn't read the series just can't get a grip on it, but the story is just so campy and over the top that if you don't have a history with this series it just makes it silly.
ReadingInPajamas More than 1 year ago
✦Review: On the Hunt by Alexandra Ivy, Rebecca Zanetti, Dianne Duvall, Hannah Jayne http://wp.me/p3d0RZ-2YU Genre: Paranormal Romance/ Romantic Suspense Publication Date: August 25, 2015 Reviewed by: Reading in Pajamas/ Donna Rated: 5 Stars REVIEW: ON THE HUNT by Alexandra Ivy revolves around a hot alpha Sentinel and a gentle healer, both polar opposites but you just feel their deep connection. The High Bloods encompass all kinds of paranormals but luckily it does not bog down the story but adds just enough to the exciting and sexy romance. Even if you haven’t read the Sentinel series, you will have no trouble following but will no doubt go out and buy the series. SCORPIUS RISING by Rebecca Zanetti is a scorching hot romantic suspense story and I just love the medical thriller angle. The drama is fast paced and pulse-pumping edgy, then you add the hot sex to keep you flipping the pages. I can’t wait to read more of Nora and Deke’s story and how they combat this disease. PHANTOM EMBRACE by Dianne Duvall not only revisits the Immortal Guardians and their ongoing battles but it revolves around an impossible romance. This story manages to pack it all into a heartbreakingly beautiful love story. If you haven’t yet read this series, you might have a small problem with the basic storyline but don’t let that deter you as this is more about the romance. STAKE OUT by Hannah Jayne was a fun vampiric who-done-it. I enjoyed Nina’s snarky humor and comments during their search for the vampire with a mission. It may have been light on the romance but made up for it with the rollicking good story. This was a very fun read. Overall, if you’re a fan of these authors, this is a good snack to hold you over until their next novel. If you haven’t read them yet then it’s a great introduction. *Review copy provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
cntrygirlzroc More than 1 year ago
ON THE HUNT by Alexandra Ivy 5 out of 5 stars Mika is a Sentinel who's looking for a missing young Sentinel. Bailey is a healer and a free spirit. When he comes across Bailey, they both realize they still love each other. When she's kidnapped, he will do anything to get her back. ________________________________________________ SCORPIUS RISING by Rebecca Zanetti 5 out of 5 stars Deacan and Nora were married eight years ago. Now a dangerous bacteria has been discovered and Deacan has Nora kidnapped from her vacation to work on a cure. The bacteria came from a meteorite and it either kills or drives the infected crazy. Now that he has her back, he will not let her go. The story scared me a little. Makes you think. Loved the characters and a real page turner. --------------------------------------------------------------------- PHANTOM EMBRACE 3 out of 5 Cat is a ghost. Yuri is a five hundred year old immortal. He is part of an organization that hunts and kills vampires. Only a few people can see ghosts and Yuri is one. They find a way to be together in his dreams and fall in love. The first of the story was very confusing. But it does have a happy ending. __________________________________________ STAKEOUT by HANNAH JAYNE Could not finish. Am not a fan of first person stories. I just can't get into them.
Romance_Readers_Bookshelf More than 1 year ago
If you like a little excitement with your paranormal romance On The Hunt is the book for you. It's packed with exciting plots, great paranormal (dead and undead) characters and drama and suspense to appeal to just about all types of readers. With talented, well known authors like Alexandra Ivy, raecca Zanetti, Dianne Duvall and Hannah Jane these stories are some of the best reading there is around. The stories are all introductions to a series of books by each author, so you are able to experience some new saga's that may lead you to fall in love with the characters, and the series. With so much into one book, this collection is a must have in your library. I received the book as arc in exchange for a fair and honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sailon More than 1 year ago
What do you get when you take 4 renowned paranormal authors in one book? A wonderful anthology, 4 great novella length stories and a fabulous way to feed that craving for the next book in that series you love. Packed full of supernatural, immortals, paranormal and things that go bump in the night, On the Hunt brings us just enough of Ivy, Zanetti, Duvall and Jayne storytelling to whet our appetites. I received this ARC copy of On the Hunt from Kensington Books - Zebra in exchange for a honest review.
weluvdopey More than 1 year ago
Awesome! This is awesome; this is a collection of four paranormal books by four great paranormal authors. I was excited to read this since two of my favorite paranormal authors have books in here. Each book is a different paranormal story, but will leave you with some cliff hangers since each author has a series coming out with these characters. I am looking forward to reading more books in these series and by these authors. A Review copy was provided to me in exchange for a fair and honest review. The free book held no determination on my personal review.
BooksnKisses More than 1 year ago
REVIEW PROVIDED BY: Kelly NUMBER OF HEARTS: 4 ON THE HUNT by Alexandra Ivy- This was a great story in Ms. Ivy’s Sentinels series. In “On the Hunt” we get to see in to the mind of Mika. One of the scariest Sentinels on staff. But in On the Hunt we not only get to see his softer side, but we get to meet the woman who has won and broke his heart. I enjoyed this quick novella and hope that we will get to see these two again in future books. SCORPIUS RISING by Rebecca Zanetti- Scorpius Rising is the start of Ms. Zanetti’s The Scorpius Syndrome series. The novella is not stop from the from paragraph one. We get to meet Deacan McDougall and Nora Mendina. Both are brought in to help fight a new enemy. An enemy that kills almost everyone one it comes into contact with. I am very much looking forward to this series. I can’t wait to see all the trials and tribulations that the world will go through in the fight against Scorpius. PHANTOM EMBRACE by Dianne Duvall-Oh my gosh Yuri’s story. If you are a fan of Ms. Duvall’s series you have an insight to Yuri’s life already. If not, never fear this novella will not ruin the series. I don’t want to say too much, but it was so great to read Yuri’s story and learn more about the Russian Immortal and his best friend Stanislav. STAKE OUT by Hannah Jayne- I had a hard time with this story. It just didn’t click for me. Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Netgalley & Kensington Books in exchange for an honest review. This review is my own opinion and not a paid review.
Sandy-thereadingcafe More than 1 year ago
I have a difficult time reviewing anthologies especially if some of the novellas or short stories offered are from series I have not previously read. So why, you ask, do I read and review anthologies? Well, the easy answer is that many novellas included in the anthologies are part of existing series that I read and enjoy, or are introductory storylines to new authors and series. The problem surfaces when some of the entries are from series that I have not read and therefore I feel I am out of my element because of missing information-the cohesiveness and familiarity with the characters or backstory is absent and I don’t or can’t feel a connection to the story. Saying that, ON THE HUNT is an anthology with four paranormal storylines: three from existing series and one from Rebecca Zanetti’s new Scorpius Syndrome. Each of the author’s style of writing differs in ‘feel’ and ‘emotion’; two of the novellas look at a second chance romance while one offers up the possibility for love in the afterlife. ON THE HUNT by Alexandra Ivy ON THE HUNT is the latest entry into Alexandra Ivy’s paranormal romance THE SENTINEL series focusing on a rare supernatural species known as high bloods –blessed (and cursed) with powers and magical abilities. To protect the high bloods from themselves and discrimination from the outside world, the ‘freaks’ and ‘mutations’ are secluded in the domed city of Valhalla organized with a social infrastructure and hierarchy of Sentinels. This is Sentinel Hunter Mika Tanner and Healer Bailey Morrell’s second chance storyline. Told from third person point of view the focus of the story is the hunt for Jacob Benson-a runaway acolyte whose mysterious disappearance will find Mika and Bailey reconnecting with one another after a ten year separation, giving the couple a second chance at happiness and love. While Mika searches for Jacob, Bailey will become the target of a cult-like group determined to eradicate the supernatural powers. ON THE HUNT is a story of conflict: Bailey and her need to run from Mika; and a new enemy bent on destroying anyone considered a ‘freak’ and ‘mutation’. The premise is engaging and entertaining; the characters are animated and confident; the romance is a reconnection between two lost souls. If you are a fan of THE SENTINEL series by Alexandra Ivy-you don’t want to miss out on this installment. •••• SCORPIUS RISING by Rebecca Zanetti SCORPIUS RISING is the first installment in Rebecca Zanetti’s contemporary, adult The Scorpius Syndrome cross genre (sci-fi/UF/Dystopian) romance series focusing on a biological pandemic that is about to sweep the world. This is Agent and Presidential advisor Deacon McDougall, and microbiologist Dr. Nora Medina’s second chance story that introduces the background information and the resulting fall out from exposure to an unknown bacteria- from space. Told from third person point of view SCORPIUS RISING reveals the transmission process, resulting side effects, and potential future ramifications of a bacteria that could very well be the next big thing in biological warfare. Deacon McDougall goes on the hunt for the woman he left behind eight years before, in the hopes his ex-wife has the capability of finding a way to stop the virulent strain of bacteria now known as the Scorpius. SCORPIUS RISING looks at the possibility of a catastrophic disaster if an unknown biological organism makes its’ way to Earth, and the resulting death toll in a very short time. The p
bouncyberthaCR More than 1 year ago
3.5 - Places came and went, even people. But her books always travelled with her. Stars! On the Hunt was definitely a book of two halves for me, in that I have read books by two of the authors (Rebecca Zanetti & Alexandra Ivy) and have no previous reading knowledge of the other two (Dianne Duvall and Hannah Jayne). Weirdly, or maybe it’s just coincidence, I actually enjoyed the two novellas by the authors I was already aware of more than the two I wasn’t. Alexandra’s was full of myth and magic, and although book 2.5 in a series, it was easy to read and nothing was confusing in relation to the characters or the storyline. Whereas I struggled with both Hannah Jayne’s and Dianne Duvall’s offerings because of that reason, they felt like they were very much part of a series, and I felt like I was missing something with both of them. ”I’ve changed.” ”I haven’t.” “Good.” Rebecca’s offering Scorpious Rising is the prequel novella to her new Scorpious Syndrome series. As you would expect she gives the reader an uber alpha male and a sassy, feisty female character along with a fast paced storyline to keep you interested. ”Your mind may not be clear or your heart. But your body knows who owns it.” My only bug bear is once again her use of odd dialect in relation to her characters accent, I have never heard a Scotsman in today’s times use the words Mayhaps or Garna, I may be wrong, and it was only a small niggle. This was an interesting start to the series, I am interested to see where she takes it in the first full length book Mercury Rising, due for release January 2016. All in all a great little selection for the PNR reader, I think with mixed collections such as this you are always going to enjoy some of the offerings more than others, but on this occasion they were all pretty entertaining. ARC generously provided via Netgalley, and it was my pleasure to provide the above honest review.