Opposing the Cowboy

Opposing the Cowboy

by Margo Bond Collins

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Opposing the Cowboy (Entangled Bliss) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
eabreese More than 1 year ago
Opposing the Cowboy is a fun read with quirky characters. The characters, especially LeeAnn and Jonah, are what kept this book from being very predictable. The set-up of adversaries to lovers plays out well and has a happy ending as both realize that people matter most. It was definitely entertaining to watch LeeAnn and Jonah fight their growing feelings to each other and then see how it played out. I did have some issues with both Jonah and LeeAnn’s behavior after they finally gave in to their feelings. While, their actions served the story, they didn’t seem to be completely in character. I have to admit, the thing that kept me from giving this book a better review was the setting. Several references were made to the Fort Worth Stock yards and LeeAnn’s family ranch. The implication was that these two places were fairly close to each other. My experience with the Fort Worth area makes that seem improbable at best. If LeeAnn’s family had really managed to hold on to undeveloped land close to the Stockyards, she would have most likely been hounded daily by land developers never mind an oil company Landman. I know it’s not a big deal, but it’s something that bothered me because I just can’t picture the environment described with what I know. *Review copy provided by publisher via net galley*
Lori-Gonzo More than 1 year ago
Opposing the Cowboy is a very sweet read full of heart. LeeAnn is a quirky, yoga loving, veggie eating softie with a heart of gold. She was a delightful character. She is one you could see yourself being friends with. She makes others around her feel comfortable. Just a genuine person. I loved her character when she was at home, so relaxed and happy. Jonah was an honest to goodness awesome man. And when described as a Henry Cavill resembling man. nothing else needs to be said. That is how I pictured him throughout the book. His character was one I really liked too. I enjoyed the way he wanted to know and protect LeeAnn immediately. And the way he would jump into help her, with little thought. I appreciated the development of their relationship as well as the honesty of it. I loved the way it worked out in the end and the ending endeared Jonah to me more. I received this book in exchange for an honest review from the publisher.
PennySparkles More than 1 year ago
2.5 still a bit undecided Stars Opposing the Cowboy was a nice romance. It was entertaining enough if not a bit clichéd… I’m not sure if that is the right word, predictable comes to mind too, at the same time it had some elements that were a bit too unbelievable to it. LeeAnn is a yoga instructor in the making, with very bad luck lately, who lives at her grandmother’s ranch. And to top it all there’s an oil company trying to drill there. Jonah works for said oil company and is sent to town to find if LeeAnn owns the mineral rights or if they can find a way to go around her as she has been refusing them from day one. Without knowing who the other is, when LeeAnn bumps into Jonah (literally) at a dinner where she sees her cheating ex-boyfriend with his fiancée and asks the hot stranger for help, they kiss each other. At first they are appalled when they realize who they have kissed, but they just can’t deny their attraction. Jonah sets a plan in motion to help LeeAnn sift through all her grandmother’s hoarding to see if they can find the mineral rights, while getting to know one another. Unfortunately, a lot of things happening had a fake feel to it, or maybe I just couldn’t get into it. For example, Jonah had this aversion to “neo-hippies, tree huggers, yoga doers who are all unreliable pot smelling flakes”. Stereotyping much? And then there’s the whole stressed-unconscious-yoga-doing by LeeAnn… there’s no way you don’t realize you’re balancing on one foot and doing a pose, I mean, how unaware of yourself can you be? Then the whole thing with the papers was too convenient, and the angst-ish circumstances it produced felt too fabricated. What I’m trying to say is, I had a good time reading this story; it was engaging enough although I couldn’t get into it completely. They have some scorching encounters and they had good chemistry together. Maybe it is a me thing and has nothing to do with the book at all, and that’s why I can’t really put my finger on what my actual issue is. *I received a complimentary copy from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review*
Splashesintobooks1 More than 1 year ago
Superman to the rescue! This is a story which hooks the reader from the start. You feel you should really dislike the hero, Jonah, but despite his intentions you find him endearing, especially when he sticks up for LeeAnn. She seems something of a daydreamer, unworldly and naive but only trusts people to let her down not to support her, expecting to be hurt and too often it seems she’s right. Although this is the second book in the series, you really don't need to have read the first to enjoy this one. The story has a brilliant start, a great plot and superb epilogue, all in all a fantastic read that I highly recommend to anyone who is in the mood for a ranch based romance with a superman hero! LeeAnn Walker inherited her grandparent’s farm where she’s lived for most of her life after the death of both her parents. She’s really struggling to make ends meet and works in her friend’s store and as a yoga instructor to try to ensure she can keep the ranch intact and unmortgaged. Lately she’s been plagued by persistent calls from someone wanting to drill on her land. Her grandmother was a hoarder and LeeAnn is unsure who owns the mineral rights on the land and unless she can prove that she does, the company could come and ruin the landscape and her home. Not only that but her sleazy ex-boyfriend has been cheating and even got engaged to marry someone else. When she spots her ex in the diner she tries to get out quick but ends up falling over then kissing the handsome stranger who helps her up and boy do they have chemistry together! That’s just before she discovers he’s from the oil company who’re after her land. She needs her yoga techniques to help her cope will all the life is throwing at her. Is it true that all’s fair in love and war? Can she trust him? Can he really put his job and promotion first? You’ll have to read it to find out! Thanks to the author, publisher and NetGalley too, for letting me read an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
aprilrenee1976 More than 1 year ago
fun and good story ***A gifted copy was provided by the publisher for my honest review******. This is a nice story where a woman LeeAnn Walker, gets the ranch from her grandmother. She does not want to see that ranch damaged in any way and in her grandmother’s paperwork; she finds she has inherited the mineral rights to go along with the ranch. And to complicate matters, the new guy she kissed is the one who is in the middle of trying to take over her ranch to get to the mineral rights. So not cool. But he is way hot. Jonah Hamilton is only in town to get the mineral rights when he ran into LeeAnn and she kissed him in the diner. Things just went from there. He didn’t know she was the person he was supposed to get the mineral right from until later. But now they both now who each are and it’s a battle to see how they can keep their hands off each other. Jonah is only here to do this so he can earn his promotion but he sees there is more in life than this after meeting LeeAnn. LeeAnn and Jonah are a cute couple and their path to each paved with rocks but the end is what makes this a great story. I loved the setting and the MC are two great people; their chemistry was fantastic. My Rating: 4.0 stars ****
A_Hayes More than 1 year ago
This book was one of those books that held my attention for sure. I liked the story and all the characters. I could see things were going to be a roller coaster from the beginning and I wasn't wrong. It was so weird to me that LeeAnn did "nervous yoga" all the time. It made me laugh throughout the book. Jonah could come be my Superman any time. :) I will definitely be reading more from this author. I love the way the story flowed and the storyline.
TangledUpInBooks More than 1 year ago
Originally posted on my blog: Tangled Up In Books I received a copy of this book, from the publisher, in exchange for an honest review. In no way did this sway either my review or my rating! Cowboys are a huge weakness for me, to a point where if I even see the word in a book title I will gravitate towards it and want to read it not even seeing what it was about. Sometimes it works out for me and sometimes it doesn't. I can't seem to figure out exactly where Opposing the Cowboy fits in that situation though. There were just as many things that I liked as ones I didn't. It's just sort of steady there on the edge. My feelings seem to be split on everything. Like the characters for instance. LeeAnn was a really good character. She's passionate, has a huge heart and can be so sweet and quirky. One of her quirks though started to drive me crazy after a while. Her spontaneous nervous yoga habit. I think there were maybe 2 scenes tops that she was in where something didn't stress her out or make her nervous and she didn't start breaking into yoga poses. Since she's the main character I'm sure you can guess this book was full of yoga. Then on the other hand there's the cowboy, the reason I picked up this book to begin with. Jonah was the real deal, tight jeans, Stetson, boots and manners. Yep he had that southern gentleman thing down pat! There were times though his thoughts felt more like they'd be coming from a female as opposed to a rugged cowboy type. Like his thoughts drifted into "sweeping her into my arms" on more than one occasion and I don't know maybe it's just me but I can't see someone like him thinking things like that. "Pull her up against me" sure but no sweeping. But really that wasn't bad and I could live with that except I disliked how he would constantly think of LeeAnn as irresponsible and flaky. And I don't mean in this oh-it's-so-cute-how-flaky-she-can-be-sometimes type of flaky and irresponsible. It was always in a very negative capacity. It made me have a really hard time viewing any "romantic" feelings he had towards her as valid. One thing I really enjoyed without any mixed feelings was the bulk of the storyline in general. The big bad guy from the oil company going up against the yoga teaching vegetarian over drilling rights. That is what truly kept me plugging along. I was highly interested to find out how any of that would get resolved. And of course to figure out how people from two vastly different sides of such a serious type of a situation would be able to get past their differences and come together in the end. I was actually pretty pleased with how that whole thing turned out. Truthfully it came together better than I could have thought it was going to. So, yes. There were things that drove me bonkers and things that didn't. In the end I did enjoy parts of it. I'm tempted to go back and read the first book because, while I'm not sure how I totally feel about Kylie, Cole seemed like he would be a fun character to get to know. I guess we'll just have to see! I mean, I feel like this is definitely one to give a try, I'm sure some of the issues I took with the book were just my own silly pet peeve types of things that stopped me from fully embracing it. I'm sure lots of you would have better luck with it than I did. And hopefully you do! Thanks to Entangled Publishing for the opportunity to read and review this book!
DeleneY More than 1 year ago
What happens when a yoga loving vegetarian free spirit meets a sexy superman cowboy A great Love story! LeeAnn and Jonah could not be farther apart in thinking and life but from that first crazy in the Diner kiss you know that these two characters are going to be fun, sweet and definitely sexy. Doubt, trust issues and an undeniable attraction keep you turning the pages. I loved the way the author let us read and feel the struggles both characters were having in their heads.
mamalovestoread22 More than 1 year ago
LeeAnn Walker is working two jobs and still struggling to make ends meet, has been recently been dumped by her newly engaged ex boyfriend, and now on top of all of that she has to fight with an oil company over mineral rights on her land. After a rather rough morning, LeAnn heads to the local diner for a bite to eat, and ends up running into her ex boyfriend, and while trying to flee the diner without him spotting her, she ends up stumbling into the arms of her own personal superman Jonah Hamilton. To make the scene at the diner a little less awkward she convinces Jonah to play along with her and act as if they are dating, and plants a sizzling kiss on him, not realizing her new personal hero is the one person she should be trying to avoid. Soon after she finds out superman's true identity, a war over her lands mineral rights ensues and she left with some life altering decisions to make, and in dire need of hero...the question is will superman step in and save the day once again? This was my first time reading this authors work and I must admit that I really enjoyed it! This story had the perfect blend of everything you'd want in a romance story, it was heartwarming , funny, sweet and packed with sizzle! Highly recommend it! ARC requested through Netgalley, and kindly provided by Entangled Publishing, in exchange for a honest review.
taisheena More than 1 year ago
Margo is new to me but a delightful surprise. I am giddy at having another author on my list of those to read. LeeAnn was a quirky girl at least that’s what Jonah thinks. He is at a loss of what to do at first when he finds out Leeann uses “yoga as a nervous habit.” This romance is wonderfully played out and the ending was a surprise worth reading to get too. I was gifted this book in exchange for an honest review.
Bette313 More than 1 year ago
Loved this book! LeeAnn is hilarious and her inner dialogue had me chuckling throughout the book. She's working to be a full time yoga instructor, working in her friends gift shop, and trying with all she has to take care of the beloved ranch her grandmother left to her. Trying to show her no good cheating ex that she's moved on, she lays a big kiss on the sexy cowboy behind her in line. She's shocked the next day when she finds out that cowboy is none other than Jonah Hamilton, the other no good that works for the oil company who is trying to drill on her land. Too bad he was such a good kisser.... This is a very entertaining read and it's one I would highly recommend to everyone.
IreneC More than 1 year ago
4 stars Opposing the Cowboy was a fun, sweet romantic read. Loved LeeAnn and Superman oops I mean Jonah, they were both such fun and lovable characters. From their first meeting I knew these two would be perfect for each other. They both made this a fun, heartfelt and entertaining read, highly recommend this book.
Catherines_Reads More than 1 year ago
This was an amazing cowboy romance, but definitely not tour ordinary cowboy or your traditional Texas girl. I loved this quirky story and the trials they face to find love are realistic in the day and age. I truly enjoyed reading about Jonah and LeeAnne, and I hope you take a chance on them and love it too.
Lashea677 More than 1 year ago
Opposing the Cowboy was everything I wanted it to be. Every element that I look for in a romance. It was part of a series, funny, sexy and it had characters that were not push overs. Jonah and LeAnn were an ignitable pair from the start. They just had to work through the roadblocks that threw their burgeoning relationship off course. Ms. Collins did what she set out to do. She entertained and told a wonderful story. I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.
caroldh4 More than 1 year ago
Opposing the Cowboy is book two in the Hometown Heroes series by Margo Bond Collins. I was generously provided this book by the author for an honest review. There is so much I want to tell you about LeeAnn Walker. She is a yoga instructor, works part time for her best friend Kylie at Kylie’s shop, Cowbelles, and lives on the ranch she inherited from her Grandmother. She loves the ranch more than anything and the legacy she promised to protect. Especially to protect it from the sleazy man who keeps calling her house wanting her to sign over the mineral rights to her property so his company can drill on her land. No way will she allow that to happen! LeeAnn has just been dumped by her now ex-boyfriend, Darrell Jerkwit Cheater Vincent. So when she sees him in the diner with his new fiancé, her first instinct is to turn around and kiss the hot cowboy standing in line behind her. Jonah Hamilton is in town to secure the mineral rights to the property of LeeAnn Walker. His day started out quite surprising, though, when he was in line for breakfast and the beautiful woman in front of him turned around and kissed him like no one has ever kissed him before. Jonah and LeeAnn were in for an even bigger surprise when later they both realized that Jonah was the man who has been calling LeeAnn, and that LeeAnn was the owner of the ranch he was trying to get mineral rights to. LeeAnn’s Grandmother had been a bit of a hoarder. There were buildings on the property stuffed with boxes and boxes of papers. So in order to find any proof as to who really owns the mineral rights to the land, every one of those buildings will have to be searched. So Jonah and LeeAnn tackle the project. As they spend day after day working together, the chemistry between them grows, as does the friendship. But Jonah has to keep reminding himself, he is here for one reason only, to get the mineral rights to the land and get the promotion at work he wants. I can’t put into words how much I loved this book. LeeAnn and Jonah were perfect. You want to dislike Jonah, but you just can’t. I have previously read book one in this series, Taming the Country Star, and loved getting a little update on how Kylie and Cole are doing. The setting of the ranch in this book had me daydreaming of how wonderful it would be to live in a place like that. I loved LeeAnn and Jonah together. It was so obvious that they needed each other. This book made me smile a lot and sigh a lot. I love it when that happens. And the epilogue, well, it was perfect. You don’t have to read the first book in this series to enjoy this one but I highly recommend it just because I loved it as well. So, yes, read this book, read this series. I don’t think you will regret it.