Option B: Facing Adversity, Building Resilience, and Finding Joy

Option B: Facing Adversity, Building Resilience, and Finding Joy

by Sheryl Sandberg, Adam Grant

Paperback(Large Print)

$25.20 $28.00 Save 10% Current price is $25.2, Original price is $28. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Option B: Facing Adversity, Building Resilience, and Finding Joy 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I havent been much for reading others' opinions on how best to proceed down my road following my wife's death. Grief is personal, contextual and different for each of us. The best advice I had read was Stephen Colbert's wonderful interview about "accepting the bomb" - hating that the event had happened (be it death, illness, relationship/job loss) with every ounce of your being, but, eventually accepting that it had. But this book focuces on an equally important aspect, resilience. It is like a muscle. The more you use it, the stronger it becomes. Over my entire adult life I used it daily - at home, at work, in relationships. It helped both my wife and me raising a severely disabled daughter who showed us resiliency every day of her 26 years. It helped me over the course of a decade of chemo treatments that lead to the inevitable outcome of metasticized cancer. I was supportive, I was strong, I was.... resilient. But my world-class resiliency has gotten soft I realize. I'm doing fine in so many ways. My other daughter met a great guy, got married, and brought a beautiful grandson into this world. I am developing relationships and social networks. The only way (I now realize thanks to Grant and Sandberg) I can become the best possible version of 'me' is to rebuild my resiliency to where it once was. This book is a roadmap for doing that, and I'm already getting started!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A week ago my girlfriend broke-up wiith me. We were together for 5 years. This book really helped me move forward and understand that happinness is within us and life goes on.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome read, coming at a time in my life when I needed it most. Good not only for those who have lost a loved one but also for those who've suffered any type of grief.
nhr3bookcrazyNR More than 1 year ago
LOVED IT! A book on grief that is honest and yet doesn't pull you down into the depths of despair. It always makes you believe that a person suffering from grief WILL get through the pain and come out on the other side. And there are some wonderful ideas to practice to get you through. And lots of personal experiences shared. I really thought the book was GREAT.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A book worth reading especially when you are going through a traumatic event
Irene Olson More than 1 year ago
watched the Super Soul Sunday episode where Oprah Winfrey interviewed Sheryl Sandberg. That was all it took for me to immediately download Sheryl's book. Grief is a subject matter that few excel at experiencing, and even fewer at understanding others' grief. Ms. Sandberg and Adam Grant expertly and thoughtfully usher the aggrieved and those witnessing another's grief, through the learn-as-you-go devastating process. A must-read for anyone who will lose a loved one in their lifetime...that's all of us.
Sarah_UGA 9 months ago
Good book to get through or anticipate grief In her book, Sheryl Sandberg is not only telling the ordeal she faced but gives advice to get through personal grief or help relatives with that. This book is particularly sad, but this sorrow gives a sense to the whole story. It’s interesting how Sandberg gives details and overtakes the taboos. I would also recommend watching one of her TED talk before reading to be even more immersed by the autobiography. Suspense and emotion can be found all along the story, as well as advice given by the people who experienced or studied the grief. As a HR student, I think the suggestions can be used by managers and the HR department mainly within their support job. These managers want the best for their people at work, but it is sometimes forgotten that personal life impacts the professional world. This book offers advice for both problems at work and in personal life to reach a healthy balance. The author tells a lot of story about relatives to introduce each hardship and many data support the assumptions. Finally, the story is easy and interesting to read. That’s why I recommend this book!
Anonymous 9 months ago
I am a student at the University of Georgia studying Human Resource Management. I was assigned to read this book for my introduction to HR class. I found Option B to be a very personal and intimate book. Option B tells of Sandberg’s devastating loss, the grief she faced, and how she came out of it with a new view on life. Option B has advice for people who are grieving, but it is also a book for nearly everyone. For example, it helps people who may not know what to say to someone in the event of tragedy. Also, within Option B there are lessons for how to make business organizations more resilient. These lessons include knowing how to better help employees recover from a loss or crisis and creating a workplace environment that is prepared to deal with failure. Overall, Option B is a great book that is a guide to help those who have directly suffered loss or are close to someone who has. I cannot wait to apply what I have learned from this book not only to my own personal life, but to my professional life as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You have to read to take your own conclusions
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Burncoatgirl More than 1 year ago
This book is not appropriate for anyone in the early stages of grief, especially the loss of a spouse or a child. THe author's details are accurate and very powerful. Sit down in your B&N store and read the first ten pages. If you can get through that without falling apart, purchase the book and take it home. Read it in small doses, very small, maybe a chapter or less per sitting. If it is too powerful for you, save it on your list for another day. Seriously, there is great power in this book, maybe it will help you, maybe not. But the timing of your personal reading of it has to be right.
BMedvid More than 1 year ago
Interesting but incomplete read... I found Option B to be an informative read. I chose to read it because I am going through some life transitions at the moment that require facing adversity, building resilience, and hopefully finding joy. I was looking to her story in the hopes of finding some insight that I could use in mine. Sandberg's situation dealt with the sudden death of her husband and how she grieved, processed this, and dealt with the aftermath. She had some strong suggestions in terms of the 3 Ps that stunt one's recovery, how to achieve post-traumatic growth, and concrete suggestions on how others can be supportive and encouraging during a friend or family members time of adversity. I found many good takeaways from her perspective and experience. I also admired how Sandberg took her personal tragedy/what she learned from it and translated that into more understanding, flexible, and family-first policies in her workplace. I am sad that one has to experience such a tragedy personally to recognize how it impacts people and their work, but I am glad that employees of her company will benefit. I hope that she will be a trend-setting leader with this regard. I also hope her store will help build compassion and better understanding in those who have not had to face such a personal tragedy/adversity. One aspect of her story that I could not relate to was that all of this happened to her while she was in a very secure financial and supportive family/friend/employment situation. To her credit, she openly acknowledges this in her book as well as the ease/benefits it afforded her. She does note that adversity like this is harder on single parents, people with lower income, and less flexible work situations and she says we need to help them/change this but offers little in way of solutions. I would like for her to have explored/researched more about facing adversity, building resilience, and finding joy for people in less fortunate situations than hers. The other aspect of the book that did not resonate with me was that one of her 3 Ps is permanence. In order to face adversity successfully one needs to view it as not permanent. However, many types of adversity are permanent for people, chronic no-cure illness is one. I think it would have been a more thorough story if she had addressed facing adversity for people with permanent issues too. Aside from those two issues, Option B was an interesting and informative read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Waiting