Our Year of Maybe

Our Year of Maybe

by Rachel Lynn Solomon

Hardcover

$18.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Our Year of Maybe 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Our Year of Maybe by Rachel Lynn Solomon is even better than her debut, You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone. There. I said it. Now, obviously this is my opinion, but I just related to Sophie and Peter, the two main characters and POVs, in OYOM better than I did to Adina and Tovah, the two main characters and POVs in YMMWIG. I understood the yearning, the unrequited love and crushes, the friend break-up, and the uncertainty of your place in the world/who you are. The story couldn’t feel more nostalgic to all the messy feelings of my high school life if I had written it in high school. As always, Solomon adds depth to her characters through their faith (the characters are Jewish and half-Jewish, as said by the characters themselves), their families and friends, and through their relationships to each other. Peter feels like he owes Sophie something for her giving him a kidney and Sophie feels like it wouldn’t be a terrible thing if Peter just happened to love her back now. Both characters are complex, imperfect, and, sometimes, selfish. But at no point did I feel like I disliked either of them. I understood where they were coming from, why they felt how they did, and I think Solomon really toed a fine line of creating these characters, creating appropriate tension, and deconstructing their friendship. I highly recommend this beautifully written, heartbreaking, and relatable story.
runnergirl83 6 months ago
Sophie and Peter are best friends. Peter has long been on the kidney transplant list, so when Sophie is found to be a match, they are excited. However, Sophie is secretly wishing that once Peter has her kidney, he will magically love her back. As a child, Peter had feelings for Sophie, that she didn't return at the time. Now the roles have been reversed, and Sophie is in love with him. The reviews on this one seemed fairly high, but I thought it was just mediocre. I wasn't really caring for either main character. A friend giving up a kidney for a friend, well, I thought that could be interesting. You are giving up a part of yourself, willingly going into surgery so that they can have a better life and live. It's a wonderful thing. This one just wasn't much for me.
The-Broke-Book-Bank 8 months ago
Once I started reading Our Year of Maybe, I couldn’t put it down. It starts with Sophie with her dance team at the last practice before summer break after junior year. She’s giving a kidney to her best friend and crush Peter. Her fam isn’t as happy about this as Peter’s and things are tense. Peter now has the health and energy to to back to public school, and stand up to his parents while Sophie’s feeling the pain in different ways. I totally get Sophie’s adaptation and camouflage around people. I connected with Sophie’s personality struggles more while Peter’s new life and romance were achingly adorable. Their families are dynamic and flawed and you’ll have no problem keeping them and all the friends straight. There’s dance team girls and a band. I like how unrequited love doesn’t get solved with another romance. It’s…tricky. MY FAVORITE SOPHIE QUOTES: Sophie Orenstein: perennial maybe. Now that he’s in school with me, he’ll know what I really am when he’s not around: a burnt-out light of a person. “I didn’t know you were capable of that, ” Corrie says. The truth is that neither did I. FAVORITE PETER QUOTES: I’m the miracle, but Sophie…Sophie is the hero. In the past, I always envied groups like this, who were loud in public and laughed too much. Now I’m too loud. I laugh too much. The terrible truth: Sophie is both a reminder of everything I went through and everything I can do now. These are all quotes from early on in the book to introduce you to them. My absolute favorites are towards the very end and would be spoilers. Their journey together and apart is amazing. I can’t really find the words to go into detail without giving away anything. It’s….AHHHHHHHHHHHHH. THINGS I LOVE ABOUT OUR YEAR OF MAYBE: Teen Mom Making it Work. YES! I love her sister Tabby, her niece Luna, and the baby daddy. Very honest and decent portrayal about how having a child while a teen changes everything and makes some things so much harder. Reality of chronic kidney disease, dialysis, and catheters. Sophie has dyslexia Girl masturbation with a vibrator Sophie and her dad connect ad introverts hanging out in silence. Sophie, Peter, Tabby and the girl’s dad all have passions for sound and music but in different ways, together similar but not. Picking quotes was so hard because I swear there’s a highlight every couple of pages. It explores toxicity in relationships with family, friends, and romance. For me, the best books keep me reading to through the acknowledgements. Teary eyed and clutching my chest, I read Solomon’s acknowledgements thankfully for everyone she mentioned. It moved me enough to clarify what I would be proud of as an accomplishment and what I want to do going forward. Which sounds simple and stupid, but I’ve been struggling with where to go in my life for awhile. I love this book. I think about it weeks after finishing and I have no doubt I’ll continue to do so. This book set my year off with the best kind of start.
LaynieBee-Blog 10 months ago
Solomon continues to write beautiful books which portray real-life in all its messy, sad, wonderful glory. Be prepared to keep a box of tissues with you for the end of the book, and if you’re like me and had a crush on your childhood best friend who never saw you that way, go ahead and get a second box because you are going to need it. The chapters from Sophie’s POV explore the crazy, almost obsessive, things we do for young love, even if it is unrequited and how it can become toxic to even a healthy friends. While the chapters from Peter’s POV shows how sometimes that unrequited love isn’t a choice as he falls for Chase and struggles to accept his own emotions because he doesn’t want to break Sophie’s heart and ruin the friendship.
Take_Me_AwayPH 10 months ago
Having missed out on her debut last year, I knew I had to get my hands on Solomon's sophomore novel. My teens at work kept telling me she's an author to watch, so I did listen to them this time. I just wish they had told me I needed to have some tissues for her books lol If nothing else, I learned one thing from this novel. I get wayyyyyy too attached to characters. And this one was no different. I got way too attached to both Peter and Sophie. While reading this I cringed through the entire thing. So many times I was upset for one of them doing something to the other. Even if it wasn't with ill intent. This entire situation was such a slippery slope and I hated that I knew both of them were going to end up broken at some point. I also really loved Solomon's writing style. Although it was a bit slow at some points, I really enjoyed it. I also liked that she chose to write this in dual POV because I don't think it would have been the same just from Sophie or just from Peter. At one point though, I do wish I could have gotten into Chase's head too, just to see exactly what he was thinking. Also, I knew I would fall for this after Part I. I was in tears at my desk (I finished that part at work) and I was not prepared for the emotional roller coaster it would take me on. Solomon definitely drew me in with this story and immediately made me want to read her debut. The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is the ending. I agree with what Dahila said in her review, I wanted more. *SPOILER* We spent so much time looking at the havoc this friendship caused, but we don't get to see much of the good for Sophie. I was happy to see that Peter was happy, but I wanted more of Sophie's "after Peter" life. *END SPOILER* ook was so special and different from everything I've read before. Even though I've never read her before, I'm glad I listened to my teens. I can't wait for them to read this one too! At least I can warn them about the tissues.
Cutiefulpink 10 months ago
Every once in a while, I get a book that makes me so glad that I have a book blog. Without my book blog, I would never have seen or known about Our Year of Maybe, and I would have missed out on a wonderful, contemporary novel. Sometimes, I am so thankful that I get to read these books and get to live in these stories for a time. In this coming of age story, we find best friends, Peter and Sophie, on the cusp of major life changes. Most obviously, Sophie is giving Peter a kidney. But beyond that, the pair are figuring out their relationship with a healthy Peter, who they are as adults instead of children, and what they want to do as high school comes to an end. The reason I loved this book is simple: I related to it so much. I’ve never experienced the pain and terror of a potentially life ending illness. I’ve also, thankfully, never been in need of an organ transplant, so you may wonder how I could relate to this story. For me, these issues were almost secondary to the characters and events taking place. Rachel Lynn Solomon so perfectly writes about the feelings of first love, unrequited love, and complicated friendships, with a deep understanding of being a teenager trying to figure out these complex emotions. There were moments from Sophie’s point of view that I literally felt in my chest how she was feeling, because I remember all to well what that was like. Later in the book, Sophie’s mom gives her some advice that I wish I had when I was younger. After recounting her own struggles with love, she says, “You are going to stop feeling this way. I can promise you that. I wish I could tell you when, but this kind of unrequited love doesn’t last forever, kiddo. It just can’t….Our hearts wouldn’t be able to take it.” Full stop. I could have saved myself so much heartache and time if only I figured out and believed that emotions are temporary, fleeting, and though their scars may linger, the acute pain will ease and change. They have to, otherwise, our hearts wouldn’t be able to take it. Go read this book. It’s easy to read, funny at times, and so freaking relatable that I am little worried Rachel Lynn Solomon read my high school diary. There’s a giveaway below and some links to buy Our Year of Maybe if you aren’t the very lucky winner. Can’t wait to hear some of your thoughts.
_magicbookdom_ 11 months ago
Our Year Of Maybe by Rachel Lynn Solomon 5⭐️ Thank you for Simon Pulse, Rachel Lynn Solomon and netgalley for an E-Arc in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. Beautiful, compelling, incredible story about friendship, love, heartbreak, forgiveness. Our main character: Sophie Orenstein, an Aspiring choreographer would do absolutely anything to help her best friend, Peter who has been sick his whole life with kidney disease. Sophie has to wait until she turns eighteen years old to make one of the biggest decisions of her life.... will she be a match for Peter, who has been on the transplant list for a new kidney. From there comes a beautiful story about friendship, whether the friendship will survive such a event. Love; in more ways then one heart can handle. Forgiveness; one way may not always be the correct way to life through ones life. Things I loved about this book: - The setting was in Seattle - Friendship/heartbreaking realistically - DIVERSITY/REPRESENTATION - Family coming together - Dual POV Rachel deserves a reward for this one, I hope everyone reads this book once it’s released until the world!
bayy245 11 months ago
This was an absolutely beautiful book that tackled so many important issues. This book didn't drag nor did you feel weighed down by all the heavy topics. Sophie and Peter have to navigate life after a transplant and what it really means to give and receive a kidney. There's a lot of talk on feeling guilty or indebted to someone because of what they've done for you. A kidney is a huge deal but there are everyday instances that could cause someone to feel this way too. Sophie and Peter are inseparable, but they have to navigate high school and what it means now that Peter is "healthy". How do you go from being each other's everything to just being a part of their life? How do you set aside your romantic feelings for someone when they're all you've ever wanted? Our MCs are messy and they make a lot of mistakes, but that's a part of being human. This whole situation is complicated and while Peter and Sophie hunt for the right answer they might just find there isn't one. Another big topic in this that I absolutely adored was toxic friendships and friend breakups. One of the most important lines in the book is about when romantic relationships end, you can always fall back to being friends. But when a friendship ends, that's just the end. Religion is a huge part of this book and I learned a lot about how Judaism works. I loved seeing it from so many characters perspective and watching our characters come to terms with religion and what being Jewish means to them. I think everyone has had a similar struggle in their lives and it was really refreshing and comforting to see similar struggles with religion in a YA novel. Also, I loved that Peter is unapologetically bi AND Jewish. I really want to see more of that. Being gay and religious is obviously a struggle but it isn't always THE struggle when it comes to questioning religion. Overall, this was a beautifully written book that tackles difficult issues while pulling you into its world. These characters will find a place in your heart and you'll laugh and cry along with them. *I received a complimentary copy of this book from Simon Pulse through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.*