The Outsiders

The Outsiders

by S. E. Hinton

Paperback(Tall Rack Paperback - Reprint)

$7.99 $9.99 Save 20% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $9.99. You Save 20%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Outsiders 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2988 reviews.
lion_and_lamb28 More than 1 year ago
Great book!! I read it in class and if i hadnt i would have missed out on alot. I couldnt put it down. The realism of it is incredible. I highly recomend is for a project or just for fun!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
S.E. Hinton's The Outsiders had to be one of the most moving teen reads ever written. This book can be read 100 times, and you'll still cry at parts and smile at other parts, even when you know what is going to happen. My good friend had first told me about this book and she started explaining how much she loved it and how it was about gangs, and I did a double take. At the moment, I thought she was crazy for obsessing over a book about gangs. Now, I see why she loves it so much. No one would ever think a book about Greasers and Socs would ever be this incredible. But it is, and the fact that Hinton had started writing this at the age of fifteen is amazing. Incredible author and an incredible heart warming book that will live on forever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had heard of The Outsiders before, and finally decided to read it on my own. I was absolutely stunned by how much it affected me. It is honestly the best book I have ever read, and this is coming from a die-hard Harry Potter fan. If you are going to read this, however, I would recommend reading the end in a private place, considering I literally sobbed for about twenty minutes, something no book has ever made me do. It's amazing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ponyboy Curtis, the main character in The Outsiders, lives with his older brothers, Darrel (Darry) and Sodapop. Pony and his friends (Darry, Soda, Johnny, Dally, Two-Bit, and Steve) are 'greasers'. Greasers are like hoods who have a rough relationship with the 'Socs'. Socs are the rich kids who like to jump greasers for fun, and once in a while greasers and Socs get into a rumble. But one night, while Pony and Johnny are at the park, things go too far and Pony and Johnny must run away... Lots of way more exciting things happen after that and the book only gets better. Only that I dont want to spoil all the fun! Im sorry if you wanted to know more... **By the way: The second you are done reading the last paragraph in the book, READ THE FIRST PARAGRAPH IN CHAPTER 1. Trust me. ;) REVIEW: I promise you that you will enjoy reading every single word in the book (I know I did)! This is one of my TOP FAVORITES BOOKS and always will be! BUY THIS BOOK!!! You wont regret it. Five stars.
Cougar_H More than 1 year ago
The reason why I choose book is because I really recommend everyone to read this book. The reason why I say that is because this book can make you get really excited and make you not wanting to stop reading the book. Then characters in the story make the book live because actions gets better and better. The author writing makes the story very thrilling and all the action in it grasp my attention really fast when I first looked at the book I thought I was going to be disappointed but when I started to reading I told myself that was a lie but I was very surprise on how amazingly this book was. And after I read this book I recommended story.all my friends to read it and they told me no this book is going to be lame and I told them they need to try it out and they did. After one of my friends read the book he told me dude I don't like reading but this book is the best book I have ever read. But my friend told my other friend then he thought it was going to be corny but when he read it he was surprised. But out of the whole book my favorite part of the book is the part when the greaser and sacs fight that part has allot of action in it that part gets you really attracted me to the story and when I got to that part I didn't put the book down. So it was great telling you about my opinion and I really recommend you to read this
dyslexicmom More than 1 year ago
I thought this was a great book because it could be any time period by just changing the gangs names. My daughter had to read it for seventh grade, she also has is dyslexic so I read it in order be able to help her if necessary. But I enjoyed the plot and twists of the story. So it is a good read and I would say take the time to read it.
BUMPERFOX More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK WAS AWESOME!!!! I LOVED THE CHARACTERS AND HOW U CAN'T REALLY TELL WATS GOING 2 HAPPEN IN THE BEGINNING. IT IS MY ALL TIME FAVORITE BOOK!!!!
kaylee_combs_4 More than 1 year ago
The Outsiders By: S.E. Hinton The Outsiders is a book about two social groups that go back and forth about who is better. The main characters are Ponyboy, Johnny, Dally, Sodapop, Two-bit, and Darry. Other characters are Cherry, Randy, Marcia, Steve, and Bob. The story takes place in Oklahoma. One group is the “greasers.” They are the poor east-side kids. The “Socs” are the west-side rich kids. The characters, Ponyboy and Johnny, get themselves caught up in running away, a murder, and a church fire. They find a little help on the way from Dally Winston. Ponyboy and his oldest brother, Darry, have problems of their own as well. I think that one of the themes for this book is family. The whole gang is like one big family. They stick together no matter what. When someone is in trouble, they are all there to help. I think that the other theme for the story is don’t judge a person unless you know their story. It’s important to understand a person before you form an opinion of them. I think that The Outsiders is a great book and I enjoyed reading it. I recommend it to everyone who loves a good, suspenseful book. I think Hinton developed her characters very well. Teenagers can really relate to all the social class drama. She definitely reached her target audience. The whole idea for the story, in my opinion, was executed very nicely. I think that everyone should read The Outsiders. I give the book two thumbs up!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to read this book for school. So I thought this book will be boring but it is not boring at all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book this year in my reading class and loved it<3 i also reccomend that was then this is now and rumble fish
lubnikki More than 1 year ago
I read this book last year in 7th grade and i LOVE this book i read it like 5 times since them and it never gets old!! YOU HAVE TO READ IT!!! but if your to lazy to read it then watch the movie i LOVE the movie to! and maybe you will change your mind and read it...yup thats all i have to say
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a novel based on the 1960's about 2 groups in Oklahoma. There were the greasers, hoods who lived on the bad side of town, and then there were the Socs. Rich kids who greasers thought had it made. The narrator, Ponyboy, a 14 year old kid who is part of a greaser gang, lives with his 2 older brothers because his parents died in a car crash. One night, when Ponyboy and his friend, Johnny, get jumped by some Socs, everything goes wrong. The 2 boys have to run away before they get caught. So they ask their tough friend, Dallas Winston, to help them get out of town. Dally gives them some money, a gun, and a plan to help them escape. Then Ponyboy and Johnny hop on a train to the country. There the find an abandoned church. They think everything will be fine then. Well of course they are wrong. When Dally arrives to see how the boys are doing, they go to Dairy Queen. When they return to the church they&rsquo;re staying in, it&rsquo;s on fire. To make matters worse, some kids were trapped inside of it because a school was having a picnic around the lot. Ponyboy goes running off into the church to save the kids. Johnny follows after him. After they get most of the kids out, Ponyboy starts to come out. But before Johnny can, the church collapses on him. Both boys are rushed to the hospital right away. What happens next? It&rsquo;s not my job to tell you! I really enjoyed this book because it made you fall in love with the characters. With each chapter you got to know something more about them and more complex. S. E. Hinton did a wonderful job slowly unraveling the plot. I know this is a story a bunch of people can relate to, whether they&rsquo;ve been judged, have a bad home, or have had trouble with not knowing what to do. This story shows us that we all are in common and no one is better than another person.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AAAAAAWWWWWWWEEEEEEEESSSSSSOOOOOMMMMMMMEEEEEEE!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Outsiders is seriously my favorite book! It is such an amazing, compelling story. The main character is Ponyboy Curtis. He is considered a "greaser" because of his looks and his income. He is a smart, sensitive 14 year old who ends up accidentaly getting in a lot of trouble. Most of the book is about the struggles he faces with his best friend Johnny Cade, and accepting who he is and his family. Overall this is an incredibly well written, articulate book that any young adult should read. Believe me, once you have read it you wont be sorry you spent the money. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good, had to read it for school and i loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this story is the kind of story that when you finish, you can flip right back to the beginning and read again. and youll still feel the same emotions, youll still think about whats really going on, you still want to keep reading even though you know the end. the way the author writes it is sort of blunt which somehow makes it more real. it really displays the strong bonds of a gang it brings out true characters it shows how things are rough all over how things will always be ok with the help of the guys you grew up with and are like your brothers. have never read another book like this. never will. and i love the cocked eyebrow, twobit. and its ok dally. youre with johnny now.
Isabella Valant 3 months ago
The novel starts with Ponyboy walking home from the movies. Pony ends up getting jumped by the socs but he is able to save himself by calling out for the gang. A few nights later Dally, Two-Bit, Johnny and Pony all go out to a movie. There they meet two soc girls Cherry Valance and her friend Marcia. After the movie Ponyboy and Johnny are walking home, and Pony ends up chatting with Johnny in the empty lot and they both fall asleep. A few hours they both wake up and Pony goes back home only to find Darry and Soda awake waiting for him. As i was reading this book it gave me a pleasure of suspension. In this book you will find Several important themes are discussed in the novel the outsiders, the theme in the novel that stood out to me the most was “don’t judge a book by its cover” and that class doesn’t define you. S.E Hinton made it clear that one of the vital themes the the novel was don’t judge a book by it's cover, he made this obvious by placing the socs in warm colours and prissy outfits that they were the “good guys”. While doing so the author also placed the Greasers, the stereotypical “bad guys, hoods or villains” in dark colours such as back and navy blue to point out that they were the thought to be “bad guys of their generation. In reality it as the socs that were the villains that were jumping and ganging up on the Greasers for just plain pleasure. Although the roles are not totally reversed because the Greasers aren't actually as saint like on the inside as the socs seem on the outside. Another theme in the novel was that classes don’t define you, a good example of this was that although Ponyboy was a hood he didn’t go around jumping people like Steve Randle and his gang. In the novel S.E Hinton really did an amazing job at crushing stereotypes from that era and we can all say that the most vital theme or themes in the book are never judge someone based on stereotypes and your class doesn't define who you are or the way you must or must not act. In my opinion I would totally recommend this book because of all the suspense it gave the reader, and the thrill of what is going to happen next !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book so much. As we see the struggles of both the greasers and the socs we take a great journey threw ponyboys life. I hope everyone has enjoyed this book as much as I have.
Trevor Smyth More than 1 year ago
Amazing, I could not believe a book like the outsiders was going to be good, but not surprisingly, I was wrong. I had to read this for my adv. English class the first few pages were a bit boring and I thought It was going to be a book with no action, again, I was wrong. Within the first chapter there was already action. Being a boy 8th grader in 2015 it’s interesting to see something that was similar to stuff that went on in real life decades ago. Being a boy in 8th grade I think fights are awesome, that’s what lit the spark for me to care about the rest of the book. Spoiler alert: I thought the gang wars were the main part of the book, the back of the book wasn’t clear on what was happing most of the book so it was quite a surprise when Johnny, the character that in the book, he was described as fragile, or that’s what I saw in the kicked dog quote, killed one of the socials! That part of the book seemed to be calming down and Pony boy seemed to be recovering from Darry hitting him Johnny murders someone! Then they go and do the whole thing with the church that was existing. The only thing that wasn’t as good as I wanted it to be was the rumble. So I think it was a good book, it had some flaws but the author was 16 when she wrote the book so it’s going to have some flaws. This was an amazing book and it is one of the most surprising books I’ve read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Everybody i recommend to read the outsiders its awesome,its about two different gangs,greasers and socs(socials). Greasers are poor socs are rich. Probably on chapter 4 or 5,i dont remember, but johnny was scared of socs and he accually killed one of the socs,Bob,I was really surprised how one scared guy can kill a soc.Im reading this book at shool(McLean Middle School) at 7th grade mrs.sidman.Right now the police are hunting them,good thing dally told pony and johnny to go to windrex ville and that he lied tha they were still in texas.:D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pony boy and his friends go to a movie. He can rely on them when harm comes his way. One night a group of socs (SO-SHEZ) came his way. He was with Johnny (one of his friends). The socs tried drown pony boy but Johnny killed one of the socs. Towards the end Johnny saves little kids from a fire. One of the strengths of this book is that it had an unexpected ending. It starts all over in the end. Sometimes it gets you confused but then you understand what it means. Normally you can follow what they&rsquo;re saying so that is why I like it. I also like how it confuses you because you can&rsquo;t predict what happens next. One weakness in this book is that it goes back and forth between the past and the present and never the future. For example, the novel states, &ldquo;&hellip; I had only two things on my mind: Paul Newman and a ride home. It says this at the end too. For example, the passage states, &ldquo;&hellip; I had only two things on my mind: Paul Newman and a ride home&hellip;&rdquo; My personal response is that I loved this book. If I had to I would give it a five star rating. Also on a scale of one to ten it would be an eleven. This book was really great. I think you would cry if you're tender hearted because I know I did. It makes you have mixed emotions.
kolbyr123 More than 1 year ago
Book Review Title: The Outsiders Author: S. E. Hinton Ponyboy relies on his brothers and his friend Johnny. Even the trouble with the Socs, a gang of wealthy teenagers who beat up Greasers like Ponyboy. Until one night, the Socs cross the line. Ponyboy and Johnny were at the &ldquo;lot&rdquo;. That was when the Socs showed up and began to beat them up. Johnny, out of self-defense, stabbed and killed one of the Socs. Ponyboy and Johnny got a hideout in order to avoid the police. One day, Johnny and Ponyboy returned to their hideout. It was on fire. That wasn&rsquo;t the problem though; the problem was that there were children in the burning hideout! Ponyboy and Johnny had to do something. They manage to save the kids, but Johnny was in the building when it finally collapsed. He was badly injured. Will Johnny survive this horrible incident? Read &ldquo;The Outsiders&rdquo; to find out! The book &ldquo;The Outsiders&rdquo; is a very well-worded book. In fact, if you read the book, you&rsquo;d feel like you were there with Ponyboy the whole time! In addition, the author uses a very suspenseful tone. Which best reflects the book. However, the book does have some foul language in it, so only mature people should read it. In my opinion, &ldquo;The Outsiders&rdquo; is a fantastic book. It really is a great book to read! Youth would probably have the best time reading it because the book is about youth. On the contrary, for young children, this wouldn&rsquo;t be a proper book to read. In the book, there are a few curse words. In my opinion, a book with foul language is not appropriate for children. Other than that, the book reveals a very suspenseful tone! For example, the book says, &ldquo;&hellip;you&rsquo;d have had to know him to see the panic in his eyes.&rdquo; This quote from the boom demonstrates suspense. If you&rsquo;re the kind of person that likes suspenseful books, this is the book for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I remember having to read this book in class. I thought it was going to be bad... I read the first 3 pages and I didnt want to stop reading. I recommened this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite book by far. It has action, drama, and anything else youd want in a book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book when i was at meridian junior high school i loved it and it was so awesome and the movie wasn't all that grate