Overture

Overture

by Skye Warren

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Overture 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Overture is a forbidden story of Samantha and her guardian, Liam. She is a musical child prodigy when Liam took her in when her father mysteriously died. Samantha has questions that only Liam can answer. The story is sexy, emotional and so good. I love the little musical tidbits before each chapter. Another brilliant story from Skye Warren. Review copy was received for a honest opinion.
Carriey36 25 days ago
Skye Warren does it again! I can't wait for Concerto to see what happens next! I loved the push and pull between Liam and Samantha. No matter how much Liam desires Samantha he swears that he still protect her and that he is her guardian and he will not go there or ruin her life. Samantha loves Liam and wants to be with him but she also longs to remember what happened the night she lost her father. The more Samantha longs to be with Liam and the closer she gets the more Liams secrets are at risk of being found out. Will Samantha leave once she finds out what Liam is hiding or will she stay and fight for him? I loved this book I can't wait to see what happens next! Im so excited that skye has given us another sexy suspense book!
CrystalsBookWorld 27 days ago
3.5 Stars Overture definitely pushed all my buttons. It gets you out of your comfort zone reading with this taboo forbidden romance. So many risky situations that you are not sure what will happen next. Did I think I would end up liking this story, at first I was uncertain. I love Skye Warren's writing. I was trying my hardest to get past about some circumstances that were part of the "forbidden romance" part. As the end neared, you start to uncover some truths. The why's and how's blend together with this forbidden melody. I enjoyed all the musical quotes/facts with the beginning of each chapter. It brings you closer for the love of music. I was intrigued enough at the end to see what will be coming with the second book. I really love Liam and Samantha. I just need to love them as a couple. I think that is where I will get to with the second book as they grow into different rolls.
Jeanette Oglesby 27 days ago
A forbidden love story that is so damn HOT and so damn GOOD. Not only is it beautifully written, but it is tastefully done. Liam and Samantha's story is so steamy, so explosive and so addicting all in one. The secrets, sexual tension, and the suspense was down right torturous. I couldn't turn those pages fast enough. That cliffhanger though...WOW!!! This is a can't miss read. Happy Reading Everyone!!!
LeighKramer 27 days ago
When it comes to dark romance, I trust Skye Warren. Even under the most concerning of circumstances, she somehow makes me care deeply for her characters and understand the choices they make, even if I'd be running away from them in real life. So I was a little worried about how this age-gap romance between a ward and her guardian would be handled but I trusted Skye would see me through and she certainly did. One of my favorite parts of this story was the undercurrent of music. Skye is especially gifted at weaving symbolism into her plots and I loved how this played out. Pun intended. Samantha is a violin prodigy. Her talent has saved her in some very real ways and now it's about to take her away from her guardian Liam as she leaves to go on tour after graduating high school. She's ready to spread her wings and fly but leaving means the end of a relationship with Liam. He's been her guardian for the past six years since her neglectful father died and she doesn't believe he'll want any contact once she turns 18. Liam, on the other hand, is fighting his feelings for Samantha as much as she's fighting hers for him. But of course, they eventually succumb. While I would have liked a little more discussion about their power dynamics—turning 18 isn't enough to mitigate that—I really liked what they meant to one another. Liam is in awe of Samantha and her talent and while he believes she deserves better than him, he has a hard time resisting her. And Samantha is so clear about what she wants! They had palpable chemistry and this made for some sexy scenes. But of course, this is a Skye Warren novel so there are some dark forces at work against Liam and Samantha. The twists and turns had me on the edge of my seat and I cannot wait to see where she takes the story in the second book. CW: references to pedophilia by a coach, car crash, violence, references to death of a parent, parental neglect Disclosure: I received an advanced copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.
BookReview4you 27 days ago
Overture by Skye Warren is the story of Liam North and Samantha Brooks. Liam took in Samantha when she was around 12 years and became her legal guardian. Now Samantha is turning 18 years old and will be off on tour for her music. Samantha has feelings that go beyond a guardian for Liam and is torn between them. Liam knows it is wrong to feel the way he does for Samantha especially with the secrets he keeps. For me this was a page turner...I am such a fan of Ms. Warren's writing. I just loved this book and looking for more book by this author.
AvidReaderTD 27 days ago
Overture is sweet and steamy and frustrating and breath-taking!! If you like slightly taboo and older man/younger woman books then you will love this one! You are drawn into the story and it's there where you want to stay. I could almost hear the music Samantha lives and breathes when she plays her violin. I definitely recommend this book and I whole-heartedly look forward to the next book. You don't need me to tell you what the blurb just told you, so I think you should take my advice and one-click this captivating book! Enjoy!!
DarGee 27 days ago
Liam and Samantha, they are, well, they are both broken. Not a little, but more than they should be. Because of their fathers. Because of their childhoods. Because life just isn’t giving them any breaks along the way. Even as fate put them together, they continue the damage. To each other. Not maliciously, not with intent t harm. With intent to protect. To protect themselves, from the other. To protect the other, from themselves. And then it all becomes clear. The truth doesn’t always set you free. Sometimes the truth makes you lose everything you want. Everything you hold dear, need to live. Sometimes, the truth hurts, and makes you a target. Luckily, the truth is being held back by Liam, even when Samantha thinks she has it all figured out Thrilling, yet quiet. Sweet, yet shrouded. Soothing, yet heart pound. This story weaves, twists, and turns, but it stays in one spot. Loved it, and the end came too quickly, was too surprising, and sucked the air out of the room when it was revealed. It has left me in high anxiety wanting the next book, and the conclusion!
StarStacy 27 days ago
Enjoyed this overture! Overture is just that - an introduction to the of the world & characters of Liam & Samantha. Theirs is a forbidden love as they are guardian/ward with an age difference, so if that does not appeal to you then you might not like this book. But I love a good forbidden relationship! The author created Liam & Samantha with a rich history & sizzling chemistry that made me root for them & feel for them both. The author weaved a tale of espionage, secrets, love with a twist ending that left me wanting to have the next book now!
Ana94 27 days ago
When I started reading I couldn't put it down.Skye Warren is magnifysent and amazing writer.I cannot wait to read more of there books.Keep up the great work.You should definitely read this book.Can't wait for the next book.
Joyffree 28 days ago
Nope! Not like this! Overture is the first book in the new series North Securities and what a way to begin what looks to be a very intense and at times taboo series Liam and Samantha - I am a bit speechless when it comes to these two. Taboo takes on a whole new meaning He is her guardian - She is his temptation - The forbidden flower that has blossomed What happens when the universe allows for a brief taste of the forbidden? When for a moment in time there is No right, No wrong, only the chance to indulge your cravings without shame? An Overture is created - One that will rival the greatest compositions ever composed Be warned this may cause a sense of unease followed by moments of apprehension and bursts of angst - Oh and let us not forget the taboo romance that will melt the coldest of hearts This does end on a cliffy - No tantrums
Prell67 8 days ago
The story of a beautiful young girl who is in love with the man who took her in as a child, when she lost her Dad. Her brother did not want her. So Liam took her at 11 years old and took better care of her than her father ever did. She grows to love Liam but not in a fatherly way. Her name is Samantha and she is a child prodigy who plays the violin like it's a part of her. Liam has his office near her and enjoys her music. We meet her when she is seventeen about to become a woman at 18 very soon. Liam is 16 years her senior but is in love with her also but he has is own demons to contend with. He believes that he can not return the love that she so desperately wants from him. She is about to go on tour but she would give it all up if Liam would say he wanted her to stay. This book put me through a roller coaster of emotions and was very, very difficult to put down. A lot of late night reading ;) If you read Escort you will find out that she is Bea's friend from that novel. This is one amazing but heartwrenching read. Skye Warren makes you feel the emotions of every character. She places you in the moments. I highly recommend this novel and any other novel she has written. By the way you can read this without reading Escort but if you do you will be wanting to read Escort too!!
Jane Bulaong 21 days ago
ugh where do I start. how could I possibly assume this was some forbidden romance between a young violinist and her guardian? of course there would be a back story of something crazy serious and dangerous. of course there would be a plot that wont let me stop reading it and a twist that leaves me wanting more. hehe and OF COURSE theres ties to characters' from another one of her books. I love how Bea was in here by the way. ending leaves you in suspense but I wouldn't call this a cliffhanger as it does give you an end to that storyline. book two! ready and waiting!
Klipari81 21 days ago
Samantha and Liam had crazy hot chemistry between the two. I loved the dynamic. A bit of mystery and suspense with a lot of hotness thrown in was fantastic! I definitely wanted more and look forward to the next book!!
RoxsReads 24 days ago
Skye Warren’s books always hit me so hard and Overture gets a 5-star rating. Her words dance across the pages, luring you in, enticing you to become part of the story. A relationship between Liam and Samantha is forbidden and taboo but also so perfectly natural. Not only has Skye given us an age gap romance, but she has also thrown in a little ‘daddy issue’ into the mix. The classical music references throughout the story add a poetic symphony into the relationship. Liam North is the perfect alpha, protective and possessive and full of self-control. Like all good alphas, he knows what he wants is so wrong but loving Samantha feels so right. Their journey is a dance of sexual tension that made my heartstrings sing. The emotional torture that Liam endures made me love him even more. Samantha is young but she has lived more than most her age. She has grown into her womanhood after experiencing how cruel the world really can be. Liam saved her, protected her, and now she wants him to love her. Her music draws him to her, but will it keep him mesmerized enough to stay. I also need to mention how wonderful her side characters are. They all brought the story together, made it more than just Liam and Samantha's, they made it whole. Samantha's friends Laney and Cody provided the reminder of Samantha's age. Their high-school antics while they stick together for the better good, made me smile while I shook my head. The North brothers are also fiercely loyal but hold nothing back when it comes to expressing their opinions. All of these characters brought a true sense of reality to the story. I loved Josh's sense of humor and Elijah's protectiveness of Samantha. Skye has a writing style that I adore. She puts my mind to work while she feeds my soul with a beautifully written romance. Nothing is ever served up on a platter for her characters. They always have to ride an emotional roller coaster to get to their happy ending and that journey is what makes me love her books so much. Overture is another example of the amazing things Skye can do to a book and to your heart. She sets the stage for part two with shocking surprises in the final pages, leaving the reader wanting and needing more of the story that is Liam and Samantha’s. I loved this book and I will be first in line to read Concerto. It can’t come soon enough.
BookAddictLive 27 days ago