Paradise

Paradise

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - REV)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, July 2

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Paradise 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 158 reviews.
SNR07 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book from start to finish! I used to hate reading until I picked up one of Judith McNaughts books. I have not stopped reading since :-)
Angel68OH More than 1 year ago
Read this many years ago and it still stands out in my mind when I think of favorite books. The title is explanation enough. You never want it to end.
somedayauthor More than 1 year ago
When I basically decided to start reading romantic novels because my husband has forgotten the whole romance thing, I went onto a website ranking romances, and bought the first three ranked. This book was my second favorite- I'm not so into romances that I like the 'formula' - boy is gruff cowboy type, girl is beautiful, sexy but doesn't know it, and somehow they come together even though they hate each other. I tend to skip big sections of these books because they're so predictable. So, Paradise. It opens with Meredith, who is in a rich group, and Matt, who is somehow at a party with her. She feels badly for the way her friends are treating him, and on an act of impulse, goes home with him and loses her virginity with him. Not a real romantic first start; he leaves, and she feels embarrassed, etc. She ends up pregnant, finally tells him, and they get married, even though he has already committed to leaving the country for a couple years. Through a bunch of non-communicative misunderstandings, Meredith and Matt eventually divorce, but run into each other eleven years later, where Matt is an incredibly successful businessman. I really liked Matt most of all through the whole thing - Judith McNaught made him human. He made mistakes, but he was also kind, which was very attractive. There were some very steamy love scenes, but not too graphic - all in all, a great love story with some interruptions along the way. I think I'll probably read it again in a year or so, and I usually never re-read a book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I need a book to take me away from my daily life and stress and this book did JUST THAT!!! I couldn't but it down and wished it was a million pages so I could read it forever!!
simplystatedNY More than 1 year ago
This is one of the top 3 best romantic stories written in this generation. I re-read it every so often and I am blown away by its sheer perfection. Highly recommended and loved by all for many many years - it never disapoints. Wonderful,wonderful, wonderful..... it will become one of your all time favorites - treasured for years to come.
Yen More than 1 year ago
"Paradise" is a great book. I love all Judith Mcnaught's books and had read all of them but "Paradise" is my favorite. Start from the fist page, I could not stop and kept reading. I finished it in two days and sometimes I read it again and again. Shouldn't miss this amazing book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I have written by this author. She seems to have a roadway from her words to the hearts of her readers. I always feel as if I am part of the story, and have a role to play in the plot. . .A spendid way to escape reality is reading one of her books. ..She is to be praised for her work. . .
blingtastic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
excellently paced and emotionally involved love story; all the perfect elements of betrayal, family dynasty, class mobility and heartwrenching love. a great read
EmScape on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was one of my favorite books when I was younger; I read it multiple times between the ages of 14 and 19. Upon reading it again, more than a decade older and much more cynical, I expected to cringe at the forced poignancy and predictable plot. However, what happened is that I fell in love all over again. Yes, Paradise is syrupy and obvious. Yes, it features two rich and beautiful people living happily ever after. Everything works out and everything is wonderful. But, isn't that what this genre is all about? The fantasy and the escape from our own rather mediocre lives is just the point of a novel like this. Paradisecertainly delivers what it promises.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sweet story, very nice book to read and enjoy. I highly recomend this book! Enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Need to sell it in Nook format please....great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
oh my god!!!!!!!!!! BEST BOOK IVE EVER READ!
oferia More than 1 year ago
one of the best romantic and exciting, and wonderful romantic novel that i,ve ever read. almos ten time. maybe more. Love Matt, love Meredith. the perfect couple.
austinsmommy More than 1 year ago
I first read this book back in 1991 or 1992 in college. I bought the hardcover back then and still have it. I re-read it every so often and it never gets old. I have read hundreds of romance books over the years and this one remains my all time favorite. I just love all the characters (except Meredith's dad), the story, and the style of her writing. You won't regret reading this if you are a romance fan!
stunnagirl More than 1 year ago
This book was such an interesting and enjoyable read, why, I even fell in love with department stores like JcPenney's and Macy's!! It was that exciting to read it. It was also really, very funny! ;-) Thank you so much, Judith McNaught.
debs4jc on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Meredith Bancroft's life, from her practically loveless childhood to her adult struggle to gain the presidency of her family's company, the Bancroft department stores. She has to struggle against her father's sexist attitude, and against his displeasure after she becomes pregnant out of wedlock. That happens when, in an act of rebellion, she befriends Matt Farrell, a man from a lower class who is getting snubbed at their country club. They find they have a powerful attraction for each other, an attraction that finds many obstacles to thwart it but that keeps bringing them together.This long romance is a good read but be prepared to give it some time, or just skip over parts of it to the good stuff.
shandyqueen on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
this is an excellent book. not every romance book author can quite capture love between two people as judith mcnaught did with meredith and matt, most of the love stories end up feeling like infatuation that you just know will not stand the test of time.the book is a bit long but well worth it. no string was left loose. i really like when a book does that! i have read like thrice and i will not mind reading again.
TheBooknerd on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was one of my favorite books when I was a teenager -- it's a sweet love story with some very appealing characters. If you've never read one of McNaught's books, this is a good place to start. If you're already a fan, be sure you don't miss this one.
gwtw on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
good story, very wordy and a bit long
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my all-time favorite books.
Darla on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This felt like it was written a couple of decades before it was (1991)--the style was similar to a Jackie Collins or Jacqueline Susann novel from the 70s. There was a distance between the characters and the reader, so I was always aware I was Reading A Book rather than being involved in the characters' lives. I'd seen all the plot elements before--rich girl falls for bad but ambitious boy, pregnancy, rich girl's father tries to pay off the boy, boy leaves to make good, father prevents their letters from reaching each other, miscarriage that he's told is abortion, etc., etc. Right up until practically the very last page, the heroine is believing her father's lies about the hero, even though she's discovered he's lied over and over again. I wanted the hero to say the hell with her. I did like that the hero was proud of the heroine's business accomplishments. But all in all, I really couldn't see what the fuss was about for this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent light reading! A perfect feel good book for a snuggle up reading weekend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Still one of my favorites!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best novels I've ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She walks in "Jt you better have a good reason bringing me here" she says with a playful smile