Partner in Crime (Joanna Brady Series #10 / J. P. Beaumont Series #16)

Partner in Crime (Joanna Brady Series #10 / J. P. Beaumont Series #16)

by J. A. Jance

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$9.58 $9.99 Save 4% Current price is $9.58, Original price is $9.99. You Save 4%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Partner in Crime (Joanna Brady Series #10 / J. P. Beaumont Series #16) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 62 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Terrific fast paced novel. Haven't read either of the series brought together in this book, but I did not feel like I was in the dark about the characters at all. I enjoyed this so much, I intend to go back and read the full series. Love the convenience of Nook.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a great story. Here, in Partner In Crime by J.A. Jance, we meet J.P. Beaumont another of Jance' characters with a series of his own. The situations that had them cross paths were very entertaining and made me want to read the J.P. Beaumont series too! (More books! Yea!) Highly recommend the entire Joanna Brady series. I love Joanna!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read all of the Joanna Brady series and some of the J.P. Beaumont. This was a great read, went fast & left me thinking about the characters and the story afterwards. Even though I have never visited Cochise County, Arizona; after reading this series I can envision the locale and feel the richness of the area. J.P.'s locale is just a few hours North of us - the dreary Seattle weather is home!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Combine Tony Award winner Debra Monk with stage and film actor Cotter Smith and you have a powerful double-barreled reading of the latest adventure by ace crime writer J. A. Jance. Avid Jance fans (and there are many) will remember Seattle based J. P. Beaumont, Washington State Attorney General's Office, and Cochise County, Arizona, Sheriff Joanna Brady from previous tales. Pairing the two results in combat and combustion. When Washington State artist Rochelle Baxter is murdered in Arizona, Joanna is shocked to learn that the victim was slain while under government protection. Enter J.P., the newest member of the State's Investigation team. Joanna sees his arrival as interference, which she thoroughly resents. However, she's under orders to cooperate so she reluctantly does until she learns that he may be the only one she can trust. Do this unlikely duo become romantically involved? Are they a match for the deadly forces allied against them? The fun's in finding out through a crisply written narrative that's superbly read.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Bisbee, Arizona someone murders artist Rochelle Baxter just after her works go on display. The Cochise County Sheriff¿s Department led by Joanna Brady investigates the homicide only to learn that the victim¿s on record next of kin is the Washington State Attorney General's Office.

Seattle Homicide Detective J.P. Beaumont travels to Bisbee to learn if someone leaked Baxter¿s identity. Baxter was actually Latisha Wall, placed in the state¿s witness protection program for whistle blowing. Now the star witness is dead just before she was to testify at a trial. However, Brady does not welcome the intrusion from the northwest into her jurisdiction. Beaumont is also uncomfortable as Bisbee provides nightmarish memories for him. When a second murder occurs, the two investigators begin to cooperate as respect and romance surface leading to a pooling of their talents to ferret out a killer.

Readers of either J.A. Jance¿s two long running series will enjoy the partnering of the duet in a solid police procedural. The novel alternates chapters between the stars. Beaumont provides a first-person account that shows his disdain for the area yet brilliantly describes this part of Arizona. Brady's chapters are written in the third case narrating much of how the sheriff and her office work the case. The romance between the stars seems unnecessary and unreal, and the use of a seemingly available chemical as the murder weapon makes this reviewer uncomfortable. Still, series fans will enjoy the merging of the two fine law enforcement officials in an engaging police procedural.

Harriet Klausner

Guest More than 1 year ago
Oh my gosh...I loved this novel, especially and mostly because I was raised in Bisbee, AZ from the late 1940s to 1956 - where the author also lived. My brother and I can relate to most details mentioned in 'Partner in Crime'. He suggested the reading since I live in Australia and haven't come across JA Jance's books before now! Way to go!
cindil56 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In Partner in Crime J.A. Jance brings together the lead characters from two of her series - J.P. Beaumont and Joanna Brady. This book was a hand-me-down and the first Jance novel for me. It might not be the last, but I'm not ready to jump into either series headfirst.

Joanna Brady is a sheriff in the small city of Bisbee, AZ. She and her teenage daughter live with her second husband (an aspiring mystery-writer/househusband) on their ranch. Her mother is annoying and irritating but her former in-laws are there as a stabilizing influence for Joanna's daughter, Jenny. At work Joanna has a small, but dedicated and professionally talented staff - except for Ken Junior, the nephew of her predecessor, who decides to take her on for the next race for sheriff.

J.P. Beaumont is an experienced Seattle detective who's just been assigned to the unfortunately (aptly?) named Special Homicide Investigation Team.

When Latisha Wall, an up and coming artist in Bisbee, is murdered "Beau" is sent to Bisbee to assist with the investigation because Ms. Wall was also in the Washington State Witness Protection Program. Her death comes just before she was due to testify against UPPI, a company providing prison management services to different states.

Joanna Brady and J.P. Beaumont are established characters in their own series and by not being familiar with either series I think I missed some of the appeal this book might have for regular J.A. Jance readers. Though the plot moved along at a good pace the main story line wasn't particularly absorbing. The secondary plot lines weren't developed at all. The most interesting plot points that probably should have been the focus weren't introduced until the very end of the book and were wrapped up too neatly for my taste. Despite these flaws, the writing was not bad and I have read much worse. I think I would be more interested in the J.P. Beaumont series than Joanna Brady series if I should decide to read any more J.A. Jance novels.

Two and a half stars.
addunn3 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
OK mystery that brings Sheriff Brady and J. P. Beaumont together to solve a crime that involves the propellent for air bags.
JeanneMarkert on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Sheriff Joanna Brady gets help from thie Washington's State Attorney General office named detective Beaumont who has issues of his own.
sleahey on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Brady and Beaumont end up working together in spite of their beginning mistrust of each other, and solve the murder of an artist who was in the witness protection program. A frisson of romance between the two of them for future reference.
jlcampbell05 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Death of a whistle blower in the witness protection program brings together FBI and local police.
mobilemavericks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This latest novel features Sherriff Joanna Brady and Seattle detective J.P. Beaumont; bringing them together to investigate the Arizona homicide of a recent Washington State resident.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She raced in, in German Shephard form and barked so slowly turning human. She had blonde hair that was in a neat bun d also blue eyes. She was confused why he was in pain, for she did this, alot.
danne341 More than 1 year ago
Continues the very high standards Jance has established with both Joanna Brady & JPBeaumont: I LOVE them both; favorites of mine, & was unsure how she'd be able to pull this "partner" thing off: but she sure DID. I loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RenoReader More than 1 year ago
J. A. Jance has set her books in the west and its fun to read and identify areas. Her characters are well developed and plots are interesting. I especially enjoy the Brady series but the Beaumont series is good too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
red_lips412 More than 1 year ago
I really liked the crossover of Joanna Brady and JP Beaumont. Jance did a terrific job of inter-mingling the two and bringing the reader up to speed with their back grounds if a new reader did not know. This book is a must read if you like the Beaumont series and the Brady series