The Pat Conroy Cookbook: Recipes and Stories of My Life

The Pat Conroy Cookbook: Recipes and Stories of My Life

by Pat Conroy

Paperback(Reprint)

$16.16 $17.95 Save 10% Current price is $16.16, Original price is $17.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Pat Conroy Cookbook: Recipes of My Life 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I groaned loudly when I turned to the last page--I wanted more! This is a great book filled with characters that provided rich seasoning for a collection of Pat's favorite life stories. Tears streamed down my face as I read aloud from the book to my husband and son as we were driving home from our vacation on the S. Carolina coast. I can't get enough of Pat's prose and look forward to exploring Beaufort, SC more on my next visit. As a bonus, there are some great recipies, too, but the publication comes across as more story-telling than cookbook. However, the recipies perfectly compliment the writings and promise to be great additions to any collection of regional fare. Bon appetite!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For Pat Conroy readers this book is a must -- funny, sweet, intelligent, irreverent -- the things that draw you to Conroy fill every page. A keeper and a great gift. Enjoy.
jmoore More than 1 year ago
I bought this book and left it at my vacation home for 2 years before reading it. What a loss for me. When I finally picked it up, I couldn't put it down. The recipes were tantalizing and not recipes that I am used to seeing. But the stories that went along with the recipes made me feel as if I knew Pat Conroy personally......a man, bigger than life with a true gift for writing and a real joy for living. I bought several copies for friends. It was such a treat to read.
ClarissaCA More than 1 year ago
Having read and admired Pat Conroy's many books, I was thrilled to see a cookbook too. The quality of writing is lyrical and autobiographical with recipes thrown in. To add to my pleasure, I spent part of my childhood in Beaufort, South Carolina, Mr. Conroy's be-loved hometown, and enjoyed reading about the town I remember well. I missed being a classmate of his by a few years. Good book for Pat Conroy readers as he eludes to his many books in his narration. Have only tried one recipe but hope to try many more!
JennyHLaguna More than 1 year ago
All I can say is I LOVE Pat Conroy. He writing speaks to my soul, and has taken me on wonderful journies with "Beach Music" (my favorite) and "South of Broad" (loved it). This cookbook really is a in-depth look at his life, his love of cooking, and the stories are written so beautifully that the recipes are a bonus!!!! The recipes are fantastic - they remind me of days gone past with the food that my mother made.
msfinnegan More than 1 year ago
I am a huge fan of Pat Conroy and his wonderful storytelling. His Irish humor hits very close to home. I wanted to own every one of his books. Therefore I bought the cookbook. I must say it was one of my favorite. I laughed until it hurt. Each chapter is a different recipe with an introduction story. The stories are about his own life experiences and his love of food. To anyone who truly enjoys cooking and entertaining this would be a wonderful gift. Gather around to share a meal and read the short introductions for the entertainment. It would be a perfect spring board to tell your own stories about cooking and sharing a meal. The conversation could be heart warming or humorous depending on each guests choice. The worst meal you made, the best guest you ever served, first holiday you entertained your in-laws or the picnic in the rain. How were the actual recipes? I don't know because I don't cook. They sounded wonderful and I hope to share the book with someone who does enjoy cooking. They can prepare the food and I'll bring Mr. Conroy alive for the entertainment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. The stories brought Conroy's world and characters to life and helped me understand how his experiences effected his writing. Being a southerner, I loved the recipes and will try them out. It also made me want to visit Beaufort which I am going to do next week.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The recipes make my mouth water, and the stories are just DELIGHTFUL! I really enjoyed the book and wish that I were having dinner on the Island with the Conroys.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pat has done me the tremendous favor of presenting the important underpinnings of cookery so that I can give them to my husband. I am a terrible teacher and Pat is a marvel. Clear, lucid and enthusiastic in presentation and entertaining as only he can be. Buy this, you will NOT regret doing so.
AikiPen More than 1 year ago
Part short stories part recipes all Conroy. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.
judithrs on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It may be the only cookbook other than White Trash Cooking I have read straight through. Conroy interweaves stories of his life as he provides delicious recipes and commentary on his books, his family, his travels, and his friends.
bogopea on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Never thought this was a book for me til I visited a friend in SC and she had this on her shelf. I do love Conroy but do not love cooking. However, this book is half memoir as each chapter opens with a personal reflection that leads into the recipes that follow. And many recipes have enjoyable comments as well. For someone who wants to know more about Conroy and what shaped him, this is a great read.
TigerLMS on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm a big fan of Conroy's fiction, and I'm also a compulsive cookbook buyer. Thus, this is the perfect pairing for me. As a midwestern boy, I have no real experience or first-hand knowledge of the South Carolina Pat Conroy describes so well in his novels. There are similarities between Conroy's life and mine outside of his novels, and one of those is cooking. A love of food comes through in his more recent novels, and now in this part- autobiography part-cookbook, Conroy shares life experiences that relate to food. Frankly, I may not try many of these recipes because I'm not a fan of seafood. But if they are anywhere near as flavorful as his writing in the book's essays, I'm sure the food will be unforgettable. Conroy's essays, many of which have been previously published elsewhere, include an explanation of how he started cooking with a chance purchase of Escoffier, the pleasures of reading cookbooks no one has ever heard of, and my personal favorite, a hometown in the low country. In addition to the four to six page essays, Conroy writes about memories tied to specific recipes. The story of the Shrimp Shack's shrimp burgers-- and why there is no recipe in the book-- is particularly funny. This is a must-read for Conroy fans, and highly recommended for cookbook buyers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago