Pawprints & Predicaments (Lucky Paws Petsitting Series #3)

Pawprints & Predicaments (Lucky Paws Petsitting Series #3)

by Bethany Blake

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Pawprints & Predicaments 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the characters. A page turner. Kept me enticed the entire time .
Anonymous 3 months ago
VERY+GOOD+READING
lynnsreadingcorner More than 1 year ago
Once again, another entertaining, fun filled, dog-gone good, who-dun-it! I took awhile to finish this story because I just wasn't ready to end my visit to Sylvan Creek or my visit with Socrates, Artie, and Detective Black... and of course our protagonist, Daphne and family! I love the interactions between the characters and and the fun traditions of their town. When a visiting film crew member shows up dead at the local polar plunge, the story begins! The mystery is right under your nose the whole time and you will be kept guessing until the end, and then you'll wonder how you didn't catch the answer yourself (or maybe you did! - I was too involved with everything else to see what was under my own nose!). I can't wait until the next release in this series - it can't come soon enough!
GratefulGrandma More than 1 year ago
Pawprints & Predicaments by Bethany Blake was a fun story filled with animals, friends, and one of the most philosophical characters I have come across in a cozy series. Daphne Templeton holds a PHD in philosophy, but runs a pet-sitting business and is getting ready to open a pet bakery. She lives in the town of Sylvan Creek, known as one of the most pet loving towns. When a television crew descends on the town, their plan is to make a show that makes them look pet crazy, not pet loving. When the producer ends up dead, Daphne once again, gets involved in solving the crime. I love Daphne's character. She is not as ditzy as she was in previous outings, but still has her moments. She has a quote for every situation showing her upbeat nature. She is an allover nice person who I would love to meet. Of course she seems to stumble onto murder victims quite regularly. Luckily for her, her instincts are great and she is often able to solve the crimes herself. Of course my favorite characters are Socrates, the basset hound, who seems to be the reincarnation of Socrates himself, and Artie, the one-eared chihuahua, owned by Detective Jonathan Black. Their personalities are hilarious and they are able to assist in solving the crimes unintentionally. The mystery was a good one, and the murderer was not even on my radar before the big reveal. Each book in this series seems to get better. We get to know a bit more about Daphne and Jonathan in this book. I wonder if their friendship will ever become more? I am looking forward to the newest addition to this series due out in November 2018. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book to read. The rating and opinions are my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
love this series
SewWrite More than 1 year ago
I am always excited to read a book in this series. The town if full of unique, quirky people that still jump off the page like they are real. Daphne Templeton is one of the best new amateur sleuth to come along in a long time. Her lack of organization often leads her into trouble and stumbling over clues and dead bodies. I thoroughly enjoyed this newest book in this series and can't wait for the next one to show up so i can pre-order it and have it waiting for me on publication release day.
ethel55 More than 1 year ago
I would say this is the best yet in a quaint series set in the Poconos town of Sylvan Creek. Daphne's pet sitting business continues to flourish, and her pet-centric bakery is almost ready to open. Sylvan Creek is hosting the area's Winterfest, complete with a Polar Plunge and cardboard Iditarod parade. A New York cable channel is in town to cover this pet friendly town and its' quirky owners. Producer Lauren Templeton leaves a lot of bad feelings in her wake and when she is pulled from the cold water Plunge, she is dead. With a mysterious St. Bernard and Daphne's every present basset hound Socrates, Daphne sticks her nose where it doesn't belong (at least according to police detective Jonathan Black), to help solve the mystery. Blake's animals are some of the best described creatures around, their slightly human traits magnified slightly enough to be realistic. I passed along the treat recipe from the end of the book to a friend who makes her own dog food, will be waiting to hear if it is paws up after she tries it! I look forward a lot more stories in this engaging series.
MugsyMae More than 1 year ago
This is a great cozy mystery! Not one, but two murders, two possible love interests, close friend and family for support, and a cast of eccentric suspects to keep you guessing. All set in a small town that loves their pets, especially the canines. What's not to love? This is the first story I have read from this author, and is the third book in a series. I didn't notice anything missing and was able to follow the story without issue, so I would say it could be a stand alone read. I do plan to read the first two books of the series. Loved it!
Nancy0708 More than 1 year ago
I love this story. It has all the ingredients for a great cozy mystery. It is well written with relatable characters and a mystery that remains a mystery until the very end. Add to that an unique cast of animals and a touch of romance and it becomes a five star book. It is time for the Thirtieth Annual Sylvan Creek Tail Waggin' Winterfest. Pet sitter and soon-to-be pet bakery owner/operator Daphne Templeton is participating in the polar bear plunge to help a local charity. The plunge becomes chaotic and Daphne finds herself struggling to stay above water but an even bigger shock is what she discovers in the water. This book also includes some yummy recipes for pet treats. It is the third book in the Lucky Paws Petsitting Mystery series but could easily be read as a stand alone. Thanks to NetGalley and Kensington Books for an ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review.
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
Dollycas’s Thoughts Sylvan Creek is being touted as a pet-friendly destination and there is television crew in town to film their Tail Waggin’ Winterfest. Locals are hoping the exposure will bring more tourists to the town. Petsitter Daphne Templeton is trying to get her new pet bakery open and included in the production but contractors are hard to come by due to another huge home renovation. So right now she is concentrating on Winterfest and all it entails including a polar bear plunge. Turns out this part of the festival was a bit unorganized and with over 80 people rushing into the frigid water and trying to hurry back out was a little chaotic. Especially when Daphne takes a little fall and winds up underwater tangled with another body. Daphne is rescued by industrious St. Bernard but the other person, the television producer, Lauren Savidge, was not so lucky, Her body is ice cold and she is dead. Daphne knows Detective Jonathan Black isn’t going to like it but she and her sleuthing assistant basset hound, Socrates are plunging into their own investigation. I so enjoyed this story. Daphne has quickly become one of my favorite protagonists. I am excited about her new pet bakery even though she needed a little shove and a little push to set up her grand opening. Her mind was clearly on everything else happening that the store hit the backburner for awhile. Her friend Moxie always makes me smile, great attitude and her love for the great film actresses of yesterday. Daphne’s mother is quite a woman, pushy and demanding, but she truly loves her daughter and Daphne gets to know how to handle her better every day. The pets again add so much to the story. They are unique and mostly lovable. One new pet addition made me squirm, definitely not my idea for a pet, but to each his own Of course, basset hound Socrates is still my favorite. Laugh out loud funny and able to turn even the worst day around. The murder mystery is quite a tangled up mess when Detective Black’s ex-wife becomes a suspect and another detective takes over the investigation. There are plenty of suspects to weed through and eliminate as we follow each and every piece of the puzzle that gets locked into place. I love the way the author takes a reader right into the story. She makes it so easy to see everything like we are right on her character’s shoulders. Bethany Blake has written a fun story with engaging characters, human, and animal, that captivated this reader from beginning to end. Small town life converged with an excellent mystery was so entertaining. I can’t wait to visit Sylvan Creek again soon!
TeresaKander More than 1 year ago
This is my first experience with this series, but it most definitely won't be my last. I am a big fan of Daphne and all of the animals in her life. Her personality is appealing--she's very fun-loving and eager to help her friends, both human and animal. Winterfest is a big part of life in Sylvan Creek, especially this year with a television crew filming all the festivities. Unfortunately, the producer winds up dead, putting a damper on things, and re-igniting Daphne's enthusiasm for solving crimes. I most enjoyed the interactions between Daphne and her basset hound, Socrates. She holds conversations with him and is able to recognize what his different expressions and mannerisms mean. He makes for a great supporting character. The story is very well written, and the final reveal was a pretty big surprise, especially since I had fallen for some of the red herrings the author wrote into the plot.
MeezCarrie More than 1 year ago
Pawprints and Predicaments is full of humor, delightful pets (especially the dogs) and a great plot! You will find yourself chuckling often throughout this read. At the vivid personalities that Bethany Blake gives the animals (Artie the one-eared Chihuahua and Socrates the basset hound slay me). At Daphne’s eccentrically endearing personality (she was banned from Kenya & accidentally took Krav Maga classes in Israel). And just at the witty way in which the author weaves her words – wry & sometimes a little bit snarky. I gotta admit that I thought I had it figured out right from the beginning. Nope. Not even close. Blake constructs the mystery in such a way that you anticipate the predictability, are even fine with it because the story is so delightful… and then you’re pleasantly surprised by the actual unpredictability of the story when all is said and done. Bottom Line: If you have ever insisted your dog was laughing at you, tried to force his appalled self into a cute doggy sweater and/or talked to him like he was human, then Pawprints and Predicaments by Bethany Blake is right up your alley! A dash of romantic possibilities (#teamJonathan), loads of quirky humor, and a well-plotted murder mystery round out the tale. A great choice for fans of cozy mysteries, clean reads and dogs! (I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book.
BeagleGirl123 More than 1 year ago
In Pawprints & Predicaments, Daphne Templeton certainly has her hands full with the impending opening of her pet bakery, Flour Power, and running her pet sitting service, Lucky Paws. When a murder occurs during the Polar Bear Plunge that's kicking off the Annual Sylvan Creek Tail Waggin' Winterfest, she needs to solve it quickly so that she can get back to business. Enter a ghostly and legendary St. Bernard, mysterious Detective Jonathan Black, and all the excitement of the Winterfest, and author Bethany Blake has gifted the reader with another wonderful cozy mystery! I really like Daphne and her upbeat, positive attitude, and especially her very philosophical relationship with her canine partner in crime, basset hound Socrates. Love this series, and I hope there will be many more books. I highly recommend Pawprints & Predicaments! :-)
CozyOnUp More than 1 year ago
In the Pennsylvania Pocono Mountains, the pet-loving town of Sylvan Creek is celebrating Winterfest with visitors and furry friends from all over. This year a TV crew is in town to film the events and tell the story of Sylvan Creek and their love for animals. From bonfires, to booths selling goodies and pet items, to events that celebrate the pets, it's going to be a fun time. When the inaugural polar bear plunge takes place, the head of the TV crew filming the events turns up dead and Daphne Templeton found the body! Daphne, the owner of Lucky Paws Pet Sitting and the soon to open Flour Power Pet Baker, seems to have a knack for finding dead bodies and solving mysteries. Along with her Basset Hound Socrates, Cat Templeton, sisterPiper, BFF Maxie Bloom, Detective Jonathan Black, Town newspaper editor/photographer/writer Gabriel Graham, and a town of eclectic residents, Daphne helps to solve mystery. While this is the third book in the Lucky Paws Pet Sitting Mystery series, it is the first one I have read and it was a great stand alone story with no gaps from not having read the previous books. If you’re an animal lover, you’ll find yourself right at home in Sylvan Creek with Big Cats, house cats, Dogs, and even a mouse!
LolaReviews More than 1 year ago
this was a great read! I loved returning to the small town of Sylvan Creek where the winter festival was taking place. the mystery was a good one that kept me guessing and lots of secrets and backstories got unraveled along the way. I predicted the murder weapon correctly, but not the murderer. It was a nice twist, although I wouldn’t have minded a few more hints in that direction. Daphne is a fun main character to read about and I am still holding out hope that her relationship with Jonathan will eventually turn into a romance, they have some great banter going on. I never really fully warmed up to Gabriel, but I liked the new pets we meet in this book. And it’s great how with each book we learn more about the town and the characters. There also were parts about Daphne’s new business and the winter festival which was a nice touch and I like the continuity in this series. Another great read in this awesome cozy mystery series and I am already looking forward to the next book!
CozyMarie More than 1 year ago
Come and spend some time with the ladies of Sylvan Creek. Daphne, her sister Piper, and her best friend Maxie are all such fun and diverse personalities I love seeing what they are all up to. This book doesn’t disappoint and is a lot of fun. I highly recommend this series for cozy mystery fans. Sub Topics: Small town, pet loving; especially dogs, female small business owner Can You Start The Series in the Middle? You can, but each installment endears you to Daphne as a protagonist and I’d recommend starting at the beginning to get the best feel for the charm and full depth of each character. If You Like … Krista Davis’ Paws and Claws Mystery Series, you’ll enjoy this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While I love to read and read quite voraciously, certain stressful situations make it difficult for me to concentrate so I typically don’t even try to pick up a book… such as flights and having the flu with a fever. One year ago when Bethany Blake released her first book in the Lucky Paws Petsitting Mystery series, I just happened to start reading it shortly before I boarded a flight. Imagine my amazement when I continued reading throughout the entire five hour flight and barely noticed my discomfort! I experienced a similar situation earlier this month with Ms. Blake’s newest release, PAWPRINTS & PREDICAMENTS, the third book in the series. I came down with that dreadful flu making the rounds and took two trips to urgent care. Armed with PAWPRINTS & PREDICAMENTS on my iPad, I immersed myself in Sylvan Creek’s festivities and barely took notice of my surroundings or my achy, feverish body! I find the protagonist, Daphne Templeton, highly entertaining and Ms. Blake writes with a terrific sense of humor that had me chuckling out loud on several occasions. People might mistakenly think that Daphne is a ditzy blonde, but beneath her bohemian exterior is a highly intelligent young lady with a generous heart. The predicaments Daphne alludes to throughout the book about her trips that have gone awry during her previous nomadic life have me hoping the author expounds on them in future books… just her small mentions had me laughing at the scenes I envisioned. Not only are the human characters well-developed and entertaining, but the pet characters are equally so. I adore Daphne’s dog, Socrates and her trying cat, Tinkleston. They truly have their own personalities that greatly add to the story. A strong, smart, funny protagonist is great but the key to a terrific book is a strong plot and Ms. Blake delivers that as well. She ties an old local legend surrounding a Saint Bernard ghost, a recluse living deep in the woods, and a Polar Bear Plunge that ends in murder together into one cohesive story that had me turning pages and ignoring my illness. There are suspects galore but clues to point the vigilant reader in the right direction. I’ll admit I decided to just go along for the entertaining ride and didn’t try to figure it out, but I wasn’t in the least bit disappointed. In fact, I was glued to the book until the very last page was read and then started wondering how soon the next book will be available! In addition to pet sitting, Daphne is opening a pet bakery called Flour Power. She creates many delicious, healthy treats for her pets and the author has included several recipes at the back of the book. My grandpuppy will attest that these treat recipes rate 4-paws up! I was provided an advance copy with the hopes I would review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
CozyMysteryLover1 More than 1 year ago
Pawprints & Predicaments (Lucky Paws Petsitting Mystery #3) by Bethany Blake is just as fantastic as I hoped. Daphne is a great protagonist, she is fun, carefree and her willingness to help animals and friends is a plus. It's time for The Tail Waggin’ Winterfest in the famously pet-friendly Pocono Mountains town of Sylvan Creek. This event should be a blast, but TV producer Lauren Savidge is really putting a damper on the activities. She is rude and to critical in Daphne's opinion, but that won't stop Daphne from participating in the first-ever polar bear plunge in Lake Wallapawakee. It's not just the shock of the freezing cold water that takes Daphne's breath away, it's finding yet another dead body! Daphne swears she saw the ghost of the local town legend- A mysterious St. Bernard who is known to travel through their small town. Daphne knows what she saw and she won't rest until she discovers all the answers and unravels this intriguing mystery. The ending caught me by surprise and I was delighted that this was one mystery I couldn't solve. I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book provided by the publisher and NetGalley.