Pet Sematary

Pet Sematary

by Stephen King

Hardcover(Reissue)

$28.00 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Pet Sematary 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 301 reviews.
KVSallis More than 1 year ago
This is the novel that made me love the horror genre, despite not loving most of the horror books I have read. It remains in my top ten, and possibly top five. It has made life difficult, as every horror-type book I have read in the twenty-some years since reading Pet Sematary has left me still thirsting. The depth of story is amazing. Characters build into flesh and play off each other's idiosyncrasies, and the pacing of action and suspense - particularly the long, strange walks to the place where the ground is sour - are painted with such realism that you cannot read this without feeling the stickiness of mud beneath your shoes, or feeling the movement of shadows behind you. What can I say? Do not worry about the movie. I've seen it - I love Herman Munster and the guy who played Louis, but it had to be a disappointment in trying to follow the raw energy of that book. It had no choice. But no matter... the book will tear you away from familiarity or comfort, and you'll forget any other perspective. INTENSE.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is by far the scariest King book i've read. the entire book is totally worth reading just to get to the last 50 or 60 pages. it starts out slow, but so does every Stephen King book, when you get 200 pages it starts to get scarier and scarier until it gets to the startling (and very disturbing) end.
pagebender More than 1 year ago
Pet Semetary is a very thrilling and suspenseful book. The author, Stephen King tells very good descriptions in all of his books. As soon as you are relaxed, he starts again. The evil is not even what you think it will be, or is it? Louis Creed just moved to maine and now has a perfect job at the University's hostpital, a perfect house, a perfect daughter and son, a perfect wife, and a perfect cat. The road seperating his house and new friend Jud Crandell's house is unmerciful. You can here the huge semi-trucks speeding and raging all day and all night. It has taken so many children's pets' lives. Will Louis Creed listen to what he needs to, or what he wants to??????
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book contains twists and turns that the reader wouldn't ever expect. It is scary, brilliant, and a good horror story for anyone who loves being scared!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really love Stephen King's work, but I don't understand why a lot of his earlier books like "Carrie" and " The Shining" are available as Nookbooks and "Pet Sematary" amd "Christine" aren't. I think all of these books are really good, but I was disappointed to find out that those two books weren't available as Nookbooks, which is one of the reasons I bought my Nook. Please put them in e-book format soon. I really would like to add them to my growing e-book library.
kalebm More than 1 year ago
Pet Sematary by Stephen King is a novel about a doctor, Louis Creed, who moves to a small town in Maine with his family. On his first day at the college hospital a student named Pascow is brought in after being hit by a car. He dies but his spirit haunts Creed throughout the book. After a couple of months of living in the house his wife and son leave to go visit their grandparents and while they are gone the cat is run over on the highway. Creed's neighbor tell him about a mysterious pet sematary that brings anything there back to life. The cat returns the next day after Creed buries it.All is fine until a couple of weeks later his son is killed by an 18-wheeler on the highway in front of their house. Creed makes the gruesome decision to bury his son in the sematary and this leads to a gory filled ending to the novel. When I picked this novel up for the first time I never wanted to put it down. I finished it in about a week of just reading it during my free time. It has an interesting story line and plot that keeps you wanting to read more. I chose this book because Stephen King is my favorite author and I love the far out horror that he writes. The only thing i have against this book would be the strong language throughout the book. It would be a book for a mature reader but I would highly recommend it!
TheBookWizard More than 1 year ago
One of King's best works.  Scary from start to finish, with a monster climax.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A Horror story success! In this novel every moment was filled with suspense and chilling detail of the horrifying events created chills throughout my body. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. This is Stephen King's BEST book. Louis Creed had just moved with his family to the perfect house. Not far away from their lawn is a freeway for semi-trucks that zoom by. many pets have not had such a good fate. when louis is confronted by fear will he follow what he knows is right or what he thinks is right?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is by far the most scariest, yet best, book I have ever read. It's full of twists and turns, and you can't put it down. Stephen King has amazed me with this book, and he is my favorite author. I HIGHLY recommend this book to horror fans.
GeorgeIsNumberOne More than 1 year ago
This book is just amazing. It is King's best writing yet. This was my third King book I read, and it is my favorite book ever (except The Shining). It is creepy from around page 100 to the end. Yeah, it is a little slow at the beginning, but it is interesting and a quick read. I highly, highly recommend this book!:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is very good, but it's not for those with a weak stomach. You'll feel like you red a great book, by one of the better writers of this generation, but you'll also fill like you have a hole in your spirit. Tread lightly. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is great. It keeps you interested and at parts I felt like I was actually there in the scene with the characters. Some parts of it are sad, but that only adds to the novel's greatness. Personally, I'm not a fan of fantasies like this, but this read kept me going.
Suvaka More than 1 year ago
...it holds a special place in my heart. very creepy and the ending has stuck with me for many years now.
hoodreader More than 1 year ago
This is the scariest Stephen King book I have ever read. At first it is kind of hard to figure out the characters but it clears up quickly. This is a very violent book and is sad at parts, but overall is a very awesome. The only thing is there was loose ends mentioned through out the book that are never tied up. If you are looking for a book that will leave you in suspense every time you put it down you will love this one.
SteelpenLS More than 1 year ago
Your going to read this thinking about your pets you have or did and want would you do, this is one you will keep you into the book thinking what if?
StefanYates More than 1 year ago
After a bit of a lull in his writing with Christine and Cycle of the Werewolf, King is back to top form with Pet Sematary. Much shorter in length than Christine, King seems to have used a more discerning editorial eye on this novel and it really paid off. Pet Sematary really packs a punch especially in its conclusion. Once again, King takes his time building things up and developing his characters and setting, but there are a few tense moments along the way that keep the plot moving up to the big bang at the end. I really, really enjoyed this one. The suspense is great, there's lots of good ole' gore and it's the usual toss-up as to who might come out of this mess alive, although you pretty much know that nobody will come out unscathed. A couple of nice twists and turns at the end complete the wild ride of the climax and put a perfect end cap on this; one of King's best works
xxProfLxx11 More than 1 year ago
I love Pet Sematary!! It is such an amazing book just as it is a movie. If you do not like how the movie skips out on some of the main parts of the book, do not watch the movie. If you love books that deal with romance, drama, comedy, and horror, this is the book to buy!!!!!
songcatchers More than 1 year ago
Pet Sematary is a very grim book and not one of King's more action packed stories either. I really enjoyed it though. That's the thing about King; even when his story is on the slow side, his writing and his characters keep me interested. When Louis and his family move into an old house right off a trucking highway, terrible things are in their future. Between that highway in front of their house and the old Indian burying ground behind their house, they are caught in the midst of some unearthly mayhem. Whether it's a family pet getting run down in the highway, grave digging, or tales of the dead brought back to 'life', Pet Sematary has it's share of morbid moments. Like I said before, it's a grim tale. Pet Sematary gets you thinking about death and what you would do with the power to bring back the dead. Louis makes that decision several times in this book with results that are less than perfect. This is a spooky story definitely worth a read....as long as you don't mind a touch of the macabre.
Anonymous 17 days ago
Pet Sematary is a book that is truly frightening. As a horror fan myself, I can proudly say that this book lived up to my expectations. The way the words were spun together made the visualizations come to life. The plot of the book can be mostly frightening in the eyes of parents. The idea of losing a child is beyond imaginable. A parent would do whatever needed to get their child back. I would almost say it is relatable in a sense that the desperation to bring their beloved child back can be felt by anyone.
Anonymous 26 days ago
Stephen+King+never+ceases+to+amaze+me.+This+book+makes+you+feel+every+emotion+to+it%27s+depths%2C+you+will+cry%2C+feel+pain%2C++grieve+with+the+characters%2C+and+fear+will+creep+inside+you%3B+refusing+you+of+any+comfort.+++%0A
Anonymous 3 months ago
This book was amazing! And I love horror. This might as well be my favorite Stephan King book/movie! I think its really well written. Very nice. If you are interested in this title, like if you watched the movie, you should probaly read this.
Anonymous 4 months ago
It is so far a good story
t1bnotown on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
So in eighth grade I decided that I was going to try reading adult books. I was really into ghost stories still at the time, so this one made sense. I was terribly disappointed when I read it, however: it was less scary even than the cheesy R. L. Stines I did so much reading of. I suppose that it's meant to get into your brain and you're supposed to ask, "When will the death stop? Will the 'pet sematary' claim everyone in town and eventually the world?" and similar philosophical questions. Boring. I wanted some ghosts, not some devil kid back from the dead.
krystalsbooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
such a scary concept. i was frightened and horrified by the concept.
stipe168 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
first king i've read.. it was really just OK. shining, IT, firestarter, carrie.. i liked all those better.