Pirates!

Pirates!

Audiobook(CD)

$55.00 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Pirates! 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 162 reviews.
CCR More than 1 year ago
Okay, so if you are a Pirates of the Carribean fan, read this book! Even if pirate stuff really isnt your thing, read this book! I loved it! The adventure was never ending, the characters captured my every intrest, and when I was done, I wanted more! There was romance, fighting, thrills, and all sorts of other things! Although the ending didn't turn out how I wanted, I understood that sometimes it's easy to wonder what happen than let the author tell you! This book also teaches you a lot about that time in history. It was beyond interesting, and the way it was written was wonderful. I hope this author writes more because the story was unforgettable and I want more! I recommend this to anyone who needs a good read with adventure and surprises around every corner!
Christine Jordan More than 1 year ago
Poor research (ex. cockatoos are not native to the americas to be darting through the trees) and basic grammer and spelling errors hold this fun and lighthearted novel down. Even still it is an enjoyable read that is perfect when you want a novel to just pass the time (plane/car trips ect.)
Isabella Pioli More than 1 year ago
Good plot but there are a lot of errors that should have been edited.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story, thought I could tell what the ending would be but got a surprise. I love this author's style. The main characters showed courage and perserverance. Inspiring. Great story for the female gender.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the few YA novels I found that I can teach without worry. Great themes, characters, plot, etc. Safe in terms of topic- no sex, language, drugs, incest, family death,- not your typical YA. My students love it- female pirates- what more could you ask for?!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Poor writing leads to lackluster action in this pirate tale. The plot has a lot of potential, but the writer uses a rather flat, passive voice in narrating it. Most of the action and romance scenes are told in a vague, offhand, emotionless way. For instance, after Nancy, the main character, becomes a pirate, we are not given much of an action scene. Just, 'We leaped the gap between the ships together, ready to fight and die for each other, but the fight was soon over. We had barely engaged, when the company surrendered to a man.' That's the big action scene. Much of the novel is written that way. When Nancy finally meets up with her lost love, the scene if flat and devoid of emotion. I found this pirate tale to be long, drawn out, and emotionally flat. The author needs to learn to write with an active voice, rather than a passive one.
booknerd213 More than 1 year ago
Ive read it before and i still love all the adventure,how its from a different time and the danger at times and how she always thinks of will!!!!!!! they are also just so brave!!!!
fieldsli on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Following the death of her merchant father, 14 year old Nancy Kington learns of his plans for her to leave England and take up residence on the family's Jamaican plantation. What she doesn't know until she arrives is that he also arranged a marriage with a rich, but cruel neighbor in order to save the family from financial ruin. Her older brother, Joel, intends to force the marriage for his own selfish gains. Unwilling to enter into a matrimonial relationship with a man she despises, Nancy flees with her house slave, Minerva, who has nightmares of her own to escape. In order to leave the island, the two girls join up with a band of pirates on board the ship Deliverance and live a life of nautical adventure and romance!
lovejoy_rat on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not that impressed with this book. Its ok as historical fiction goes, and does a good job of depicting what life was like for women and slaves in this era. However, I felt like the author went way too deep into descriptions sometimes, with too much fluff and not enough plot. Ok for a straight adventure story.
jnfalvey on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An action-packed, girl-power story of adventure on the high seas. Nancy, the daughter of a wealthy sugar-plantation owner, finds her comfortable world turned upside-down after her father dies. Sent to Jamaica and set to be traded in marriage to a cruel and devious landowner to profit her stepmother and brothers, Nancy looks for an escape--and finds it on the pirate ship Deliverance. What follows is a year of adventure, great fortune, a little romance, and a lot of danger.
chocolatechip on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
a rich young girl and her slave form a deep friendship when they are forced to go through hardship together
beckyhill on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Nancy and Minerva get swept into the piratical life by chance, and face adventure at sea. The characters are typical pirate personalities, and it is interesting to watch the girls grow and change as they adjust to their new environment. The setting and plot are quite accurate as to the whereabouts and activities of pirates during that time period. The theme is constantly repeated throughout the book, being that you shouldn't be afraid of the future but live for today, and this still is true today. The style is very descriptive of pirate life and uses all those words concerning ships that so many are not familiar with, but the storyline and events almost seem too stereotypical of a pirate story, like she got her ideas from "Pirates of the Caribbean". Overall, it is an interesting story, but not unique enough to be guaranteed a spot in my collection.
yalibzrule on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
What a great adventure story! One that's sure to appeal to both teen boys and girls. Nancy Kington, a young woman, disguises herself as a pirate and joins a band of pirates after escaping the sleazy Jamaican plantation owner who she was supposed to marry.
QueenAlyss on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I do enjoy this book quite a bit. It's very suspenseful and I love the detail at the manor, though quite gruesome. Satisfies a bit of the pirate in all of us!
goingmerry on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
5 stars! I think this book had alot of detail in it. Or at least enough so that I felt like I was aboard with them! It was really different than I expected it to be! I can't wait to read this book again!
iheartlit on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"I was of a roving frame of mind, even as a child, and for years my fancy had been to set sail on one of my father's ships. One grey summer morning, in 1722, my wish was granted, but not quite in the way that I would have wanted."So begins Pirates by Cecilia Rees. Though sixteen-year-old Nancy Kington is dressed up like a doll and drilled in the ladylike arts, her heart cries out for more adventure than an eligible match. When misfortune devastates the family fortune, Nancy¿s brothers attempt to use her as a bargaining chip. But, Nancy is no fool. She taught herself how to read and write, and she is determined to teach herself how to survive independently¿even if it means turning to a life of Piracy!This historical novel opens in 1722 coastal England. Nancy is horrified to discover that her family fortune is derived not just from a sugar plantation in Jamaica, but from slave trade. Consequently, freedom is explored through the perspective of multiple characters. Nancy and her fearless friend Minerva, are not content to live lives of luxury built on the broken backs of others. They risk everything to escape and make for the high seas. Beautifully worded descriptions and spicy dialogue practically allow readers to taste the salty tang in the air. Nancy and Minerva find adventure sailing from confederacy ports, to tropical climes, and through harrowing storms in the company of daring and dangerous characters. In pursuit of plunder, they quickly learn that the greatest treasures¿love and friendship-- come from the heart.
lilibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Nancy has been promised in marriage to a cruel older man in order to save the family business. It's 1820, and she runs away to become a pirate, but he has vowed to catch her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fvfhk
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first time I read this book I was 13. I am now 22 and still in love with it. Anytime I watch a pirate movie I am instantly drawn back to this novel. I highly suggest you read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My fav book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
Remembered reading the Blood Jack series and heard about this. Had read it and thought while good, was also okay or so I recall. Been a long time since I read this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of thoes books with a well worn spine. Some parts are a bit ummm rated pg13but besides that it is grear!