Portrait of Vengeance (Gwen Marcey Series #4)

Portrait of Vengeance (Gwen Marcey Series #4)

by Carrie Stuart Parks

Paperback

$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, September 27?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Portrait of Vengeance 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Anonymous 10 days ago
Good series, love the main character and how real she is, she makes mistakes, wrestles with finding forgiveness, and finding grace
StephieJ More than 1 year ago
This the first book I have read by Carrie Stuart Parks. I really enjoyed book #4 in the Gwen Marcey series. I will have to go back and read the first three books. This book held my attention from the first few pages. There is lots of mystery and suspense in the book. The author uses her past experience of being a FBI trained certified forensic artist to write her books. She has a lot of experience since she worked at the FBI and it really shows in her detailed and very put together book. You will not want to put this book down once you start reading it! *I received a complimentary copy of this book. No positive review was required. My opinion is honest and is my own!
mrskbookstogo More than 1 year ago
A story within a story is always intriguing. As the story begins, Gwen is reminded of that fatal day in which the front door had been left opened. As an investigator, Gwen requests a missing child investigation in Idaho. Many aspects of this case will begin unlocking the truth about that day so long ago in 1994. The challenge for Gwen will be locating the missing girl in time. What will make Gwen's blood run cold will be those memories that overshadow her investigation. With the help of her best friend Beth, Gwen will face humility, disgrace, doubt, and her worst fears. For Gwen, every ounce of courage will need to be called up. Uncovering her past truths will cause a tilting of her reality, yet within her past will be the path that could lead to a little girl's freedom. An unnerving story with deep roots. The author has masterfully created a page turner that keeps you guessing with every turn, plot twist, and discovery. Red herrings are not blatant foreshadowed, you must discover with Gwen each step that must be taken. Enjoy this law enforcement mystery, it is a tangled web! MrsK
AngelaBycroftNZ More than 1 year ago
If you’re looking for a fast moving, edge of the seat, suck in a breath (it might be your last) thrill ride - then this book might just be for you. I haven’t had a chance to read the preceding titles in the Gwen Marcey series but this still worked just as well as a stand alone - although judging from the quality of this one, it won’t be long before I pick up the previous books. It was that good. Forensic artist (not a vocation you see in many books) Gwen Marcey volunteers to assist local law enforcement to apprehend a potential serial killer who murdered the parents of a small girl and then appears to have kidnaped her following the murders. Add to that the fact that he used an axe to do it and you can imagine the scene only too well. Journeying to the small town and seeing many similarities to her own history, Marcey immediately feels like the outsider that she is and unwelcome at that. But the dishy police chief may make it a little more tolerable. Portrait of Vengeance may at first glance look like a cozy mystery but it soon morphs into something much more dramatic and horrific without become macabre. There were several instances of “Oh my!!!” - wasn’t expecting that at all and did that JUST HAPPENED??? If you love to be surprised and to find a book that makes putting it down simply impossible then look no further. I received a copy of this book for free from the publisher as part of the Thomas Nelson/ Zondervan Fiction Guild. I was not required to post a positive review and the views and opinions expressed are my own.
JustCommonly More than 1 year ago
Portrait of Vengeance by Carrie Stuart Parks is the 4th novel of the Gwen Marcey series. Unfortunately, I have not read any of the previous installments, though the good thing is I don't feel like I've missed anything. The bad thing? I haven't read the rest of the series. Being my first book of this author's, I didn't know what to expect. I just know that I love that cover and it has a haunting feel to it that I can't let go. And boy, the story was just as haunting, or maybe more as the cover. With unmistakeable psychological personification within its characters' development, readers will be unsure what to expect next. However, I did pick the villain out quite early on, but it was with uncertainty. Characters were quite developed, at least the main characters, but many of the side / supporting characters felt unfinished. It is possible they played a bigger role in the previous installments. In all, Portrait of Vengeance is filled with rich characters and a suspense that haunts you through the night, wrapped in a pretty package of a cover and an equally spectacular title. Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author/publisher. I was not required to write a positive review, and have not been compensated for this. This is my honest opinion.
Glorysong2 More than 1 year ago
It is hard to not want to take revenge for something wrong done to you. Gwen Mercey discovers truths about her past while solving a current missing child case. This was an excellent book, full of mysterious event.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A riveting story. Gwen Marcey has kept her past in the past but now she must face it as she investigates the case of a missing child. As her past and present collide will she be able to figure out all the pieces and save a child's life as well as her own?
bookstoregal More than 1 year ago
Wow! Murder, crazy people, suspense, excitement, big furry animals... Forensic artist Gwen Marcey is at it again! In this 4th book of the series, we find out, along with Gwen, about her past. Since I got this book from the Fiction Guild in exchange for an honest review, and it is the 4th one in the series, I decided to start at the beginning, so I read the 1st 3 books before reading this one, and I'm glad I did! I love the main characters, and learning a little bit about the job of a forensic artist-very interesting. The reason I only gave it 4 stars is that there were a few parts that were pretty unbelievable... Like the whole mountain lion (cougar) incident. Overall, though, this series, and this book, makes you want to keep on reading to find out what is going to happen next!!
Ellen-oceanside More than 1 year ago
PORTRAIT OF VENGEANCE by Carrie Stuart Parks. Book 4 in "Gwen Marcy "series Thomas Nelson Publishers Gwen has a pass, to close in similarity to the case now, of memories she has buried. She is a forensic artist, and pushed to get this case A child missing, questions, but slow to get answers. The Nex Pierce people, aren't making it easier either, yet they are looking for the killer . Her ex wants custody of their daughter. Strings in her life are pulled tight, as she try's to bring the questions of her past and this case together. A good thriller that readers will enjoy. Given ARC copy from .Thomas Nelson for my voluntary review and my honest opinion.
Cynthia181 More than 1 year ago
Wow I received a copy of this book from The Fiction Guild. I was not required to give a favorable review. This book was wonderful. I now have to go back and read the first 3 books in this series. The writing in this book drew me into the characters and made me understand how each felt. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in a clean murder mystery because rings all the bells
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Carrie Stuart Parks is a new author to me, but not to others. She has been mentored by the likes of Frank Peretti, Colleen Coble and Ronie Kendig. She is also a forensic artist who brings that expertise into the character of Gwen Marcey. As Gwen investigates the case of a missing child near the Nez Perce reservation in Idaho, she is faced with similarities to traumatic memories from her childhood. Add to that the past of the Nez Perce people (think 1970s and the Pine Ridge case), and you have intricately woven scenarios that form a fantastic thriller. Take the psychological intrigue of Criminal Minds, add to that mistreated people who will not forget or forgive, stir in one woman determined to solve the mystery of the missing child and her own past, and you have a great read.
NanceeMarchinowski More than 1 year ago
That was another roller coaster ride, thanks to Carrie Stuart Parks! I have to stop reading Carrie's books late at night! This one kept me awake like the rest of the Gwen Marcey series. A master at developing original crime scenes and creative plots, Portrait of Vengeance was no disappointment. Descriptive, suspense filled and poignant, there is no guessing who Gwen can trust. With her best friend and her Great Pyrenees (a bear of a dog) along for the ride, there isn't a dull moment. I have been waiting for this newest novel by this author, and I can't wait for her next release! If you love a fast pace and suspense filled action you need to read not only Portrait of Vengeance, but the entire Gwen Marcey series!
BookReviewerTG More than 1 year ago
O.My.Stars! I wasn't quite sure about this book when I received it but I began reading it and I couldn't put it down. It's a fast paced read. There's mystery, then suspense, then more mystery and the suspense! I kept reading because I really couldn't figure out who was causing all this trauma. Plus, Gwen Marcey job as a forensic scientist just plain intrigues me. As the story continues it seems that someone knows all about Gwen's past. As Gwen investigates the case of this missing child it seems that many things from her past are identical to this child's. HOW? The big HOW question seems to haunt Gwen. But as Gwen seems to get closer to the truth the truth seems to become more elusive. At times I believe that I distinctly heard Gwen give a huge sigh. But with perseverance and a mighty wave of patience Gwen with the help of some great friends does come to the truth. A great keep you on the edge you seat read! *This book was provided by the Fiction Guild*
Blooming-with-Books More than 1 year ago
Interesting introduction to an author I'm not familiar with... Portrait of Vengeance A Gwen Marcey Novel #4 By Carrie Stuart Parks When the Interagency Major Crimes Unit that Gwen Marcey is currently working with is assigned a case that is too eerily like her past Gwen takes the case. The similarities to what she has hidden for years along with the proximity to where it happened is too coincidental to ignore. But confronting her past may be more than Gwen can take when the very people she trying to help take offense with her very presence and her ex-husband is demanding sole custody of their daughter. But when Gwen targeted she can't help wondering if the danger is from the past or the present. But with a young girl missing and the clock working against her Gwen has her work cut out for her. She is determined to bring Beatrice home and find the person responsible for what she believes is a string of serial killings. But is her determination to finally face her past making her see a pattern where none exists? First off this is most definitely a mystery so mystery fans take note of this one. Second, this is the fourth book in the series, which I will admit I did not know before getting this book in my hands. Yes, I could have done a bit of research and easily found out that this was part of a series. But had I done so I might not have picked this book to review. Having not previously read the previous books I was not at a disadvantage when I started reading this book. I was not familiar with some references to previous cases, situations, etc., but that had no bearing on my reading experience. I will admit there were a few scenes that were a tad gruesome for my normal reading fare but not to the point of where I felt a need to be done with the book. And her ex-husband is quite the "charmer" from the few scenes that he puts in an appearance. And in case you're wondering it is really hard to figure out just who the bad guy is in this one. After reading Portrait of Vengeance and the small excerpt of the first book I have to read the other books (Time to pull out the library card!) If you want some reading that will keep up at night don't pass on this book. And for those who might find this of note Gwen is a cancer survivor and there are (I think) some attempts at humor in regard to this that I'm afraid I did not find humorous. But that could be me. I was provided a review copy of this book by BookLook Bloggers /Fiction Guild with no expectations of a positive review. All opinions expressed are my own.
SusanSnodgrassBookworm More than 1 year ago
Previous to this book, I had never read anything from Carrie Stuart Parks. I will go back and read her other three books now. This was thrilling. I did, however, feel I was missing something, then realized that the main protagonist's back story had been told in the three previous books. I took off a star for that. The writing is well done, the plot is awesome. I look forward to reading the other books in this series. It is a bit gritty, but it is a crime story. It's not offensive, though, or vulgar. *I was given a copy of this book by the Fiction Guild. My review is my own honest opinion.
bookbloggerKB More than 1 year ago
Portrait of Vengeance by Carrie Stuart Parks Gwen Marcey finds herself in the middle of another suspenseful mystery, only this time it is her past intersecting with a present day murder and child abduction. As she tracks down the perpetrator, she narrowly escapes death by the villains who remain hidden until it is almost too late for her to escape. The plot had more twists and turns than a mountain road. Just when the conclusion seems to be in sight, another twist occurs, which makes reading the book very exciting. The ending had a satisfying conclusion, but left room and enough unanswered questions to necessitate another book. I enjoy the way Parks set her stories in unusual places and teaches the readers important background information that makes her stories even more interesting. In addition, I enjoyed finding out more about Gwen and her past. I really liked this book and plan on reading her next installment. Readers of suspense will enjoy it, too. I received this book at no cost in exchange for my honest review.
HelenM0 More than 1 year ago
Portrait of Vengeance is book 4 in A Gwen Marcey Novel series written by Carrie Stuart Parks. Gwen is a single mother of a teen age daughter and a cancer survivor. Her ex-husband is threatening to take their daughter from her. Her parents were killed when she was little and she was raised by a lady until she returned home to see the house filled with blood. She is on probation with her new job as a forensic artist with the Interagency Major Crime Unit when she finds out about a case of a missing girl after the murder of her parents in Lapwai, Idaho. The case takes place where she lived when she was little and sounds similar to her background so she insists on being put on the case. In Idaho she works with the Nez Perce Tribal Police and finds herself being treated as an outsider. Her car is stolen right away so she calls a friend, Beth, to come help her. As Gwen works on the case, she has Beth doing research. They quickly discover that someone is out to get Gwen and this case may be connected to the death of Gwen parents. Her boss from the crime unit calls to check on her and she ends up losing her job. But she continues working the case with Beth's help. This story is so awesome, it starts out running and never lets up. This story is so full of mystery and suspense that it was hard to put down. The author writes so clearly that it is easy to imagine what is happening and to feel the suspense. While this is a Christian book, the Christian theme is very mild. It is more so a good clean police novel with violence written in it. I think anyone who enjoys reading suspense, mysteries or police stories will enjoy this book. This is the first book I have read and it appears it would be best to read the series in order. The part in the story that stand out most for me is that there are different times and places in our lives that make us into who we are. Beth reminds Gwen that the hard times she goes through help to make her the person she is today. I received a copy of this book from BookLook Bloggers and this is my honest review.
Suzie_W More than 1 year ago
Unless you live or have lived in the Pacific Northwest, you probably haven’t head of or been to the small Idaho towns where Carrie Stuart Parks’ fourth Gwen Marcey novel is set. For those of us who do know or have been to towns such as Lapwai, Orofino, or Kamiah, it’s a pleasant surprise to run across them in a story. What was even more enjoyable about this story was the mystery around Gwen Marcey’s past. In Portrait of Vengeance, Gwen has a probationary position with a new task force and delves into a case of a double homicide with a missing four-year-old. The similarities to what happened to her was too much coincidence for her to leave alone. I love this character’s sense of humor, her relationship with her best friend, and the fact she doubts herself where her personal life is concerned. She’s usually got it together professionally but when the personal bleeds into her job, it’s hard for her to keep it together. The behind-the-investigation scenes are interesting and engaging, but it’s Gwen’s journey that made this book an emotional and enjoyable read. Disclosure statement: I receive complimentary books for review from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including NetGalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
DLKamstra More than 1 year ago
I always get a little nervous trying out “new to me” authors. Especially when I don’t know if I will be jumping into the middle of a series or not. I can honestly say, that I had no problem jumping into this 4th Gwen Marcey novel by Carrie Stuart Parks—in fact, I hope to eventually go back and catch up on the previous three. When I first started the book, I wasn’t sure if I would like it though. There was something about Gwen’s character that just didn’t quite jive with me. Going back, I cannot quite pinpoint what it was. But, a few chapters in, either her character just grew enough that I began to understand her more of the case she was trying to solve caught my interest. I will say that this is one of those books that I would not recognize as “Christian” novel typically, however it is a very clean book. There is very little mention of God or faith in the book. But, there is no language or sexual content. There is some violence and blood in the book but nothing beyond what I would expect of a suspense and mystery novel. Overall, I enjoyed this book and it is one that I am comfortable recommending. And like I mentioned at the beginning of this review, I hope to read the previous three Gwen Marcey books and will certainly be keeping an eye out for future novels by Carrie Stuart Parks. **I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**