The Preacher's Daughter (Annie's People Series #1)

The Preacher's Daughter (Annie's People Series #1)

by Beverly Lewis

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.49 $14.99 Save 30% Current price is $10.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 30%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Preacher's Daughter (Annie's People Series #1) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 77 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an unchallenging, rather simplistic book, good enough to amuse but nothing more. The idea is there, the background is there, the knowledge is there and yet something rather bland comes out of it. It could've been better, more moving, more real. This story is okay if you don't expect much and don't care for layered characters.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was clearly the product of a fine and discplined mind...I would like to see more of this kind of writing, not to mention a motion picture made... A very rewarding experience indeed...
Guest More than 1 year ago
Once again, Beverly Lewis includes just enough of the big mystery to draw readers into book 2. WHEN WILL IT BE OUT? This book introduces the Zook family, Annie's own. For years now, Annie has had an outsider pen pal who, for reasons all her own, has now reached out to the simple life of the Amish. Louisa is a big part of this book, and gives advice to Annie that most readers may find out of character for an outsider. Both girls have a secret, Annie is drawn to a forbidden activity and Lou is running from an unbearable relationship. Spoiled and very rich, Lou's life is a complete opposite of Annie's, yet they become best of friends when finally they meet. Beverly has introduced several families who will no doubt play an important role in subsequent books, a family with an abusive Amish husband, and an outspoken relative's family who is Mennonite and seems to have tremendous influence on the community plus a new young man who I am just positive will be a huge part of book 2. I enjoyed this book and would have given it 5 stars had I not already consumed so many of Lewis' books and this one is just a tad bit less grabbing and consuming, still, I am going to be watching for book 2 in this series, Annie's People. Thank you Beverly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am heartened to know that someone tells of the horrible things that go on in the amish communities. People don't believe about the little girls who show up in the emergency rooms raped and the abuse of women and children. Thank you Mrs Lewis for bring this to the forefront. G.S. Pa.
iloveasunflower More than 1 year ago
Loved this book.  I like the idea of an American woman living among the Amish and to be able to experience there everyday living. I  see where it is a definite challenge. No running water or inside toilet.  But, Louisa got to experience there way of life and she loved the simplicity of it.  Not having to worry about the everyday stresses we go through in life. Beverly Lewis is a wonderful author and I plan to read more of her books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first 390 pages were interesting. The story line was a little different, which I am always looking for, but all of a sudden the story comes to a screeching halt with no closing for any of the sub plots in the story. I assume this is the first in an ongoing series, but I would have appreciated knowing that in the beginning. Had I known that, I would never have started it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like being strung along and made to buy another book then go ahead and read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hate cliff hangers, no matter how good they start. Do not like being forced to buy another book to see how the first one ends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this! Yelled out loud when I turned the page and found the dreaded chapter title...Epilogue. I was NOT ready for the story to be over, especially with that little surprise nestled in toward the end. Review by CherishD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It wad too slow - i didn't read it. I skipped ahead trying to get interested. Needless to say it didn't work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVED this book!!!! I thought it was really good it kept me on the edge of my seat!!!! I was so glad when i finished this one that i had the other from the library downstairs!!! I would recomend this to people who like amish books, mysterys and Beverly Lewis;)!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Topping (Abram's Daughters) series would seem the impossible. Somehow Beverly manages to leave you yearning for more of what's good and wholesome. The only problem I see with her new series, (Annie's People) is waiting for it's second installment. I have read everything this author has written. I only wish her to write faster!
Anonymous 9 months ago
Hard to put down. It was on my mind a lot between reading times. Excellent.
smallcoffey on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very realistic portrayal of the struggle Annie faces between pursuing art, and being accepted in her Amish family and community. Equally compelling his her "Englisher" friend Louisa's search for meaning as Annie's guest, her Amish friend Esther's pain at being shunned when she embraces Christian beliefs contrary to the Amish. An abusive husband is portrayed with realism and compassion. The mystery in the story keeps the pages turning. All three books in this series are excellent.
debs4jc on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Annie Zook has quite a dilemma. As the daughter of an old order Amish preacher, she is forbidden to pursue her talent in art. But she is driven to continue secretely, hiding her art studio and masterpieces at an art studio. The only one who knows this is Annie's worldly pen pal Louisa, who has problems of her own after breaking off her engagement with her materialistic boyfriend. Louisa feels that she needs a change of pace and asks to come visit Annie and her family. Louisa's designer jeans make quite a splash in Amish country, though she soon adapts to the native dress. Annie is thrilled to have a fellow artist (Annie is an art teacher) but soon her dilemma about choosing her art or the Amish church comes to a head. Style Characterisics: Pacing, clarity, structure, narrative devices, etc.Lewis does a wonderful job of creating realistic characters and drawing the reader into an empathy with their dilemmas. The contrast of Louisa's rich worldy background with Annie's created some good scenes, like when Louisa joins Annie at an Amish singing where couples usually pair up for courting. Subplots with an abused wife and a possible romance add even more tension to keep the reader turning the pages. How Good is it?Excellent
musicworks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A beautiful look into the life of the Amish people, their beliefs and their culture, written from one who grew up in that atmosphere. At times, their ways were almost not believable. The friendship between Annie and Louisa was very real and gives good opportunity to see differing lifestyles side-by-side. Each character had situations that were identifiable to the reader.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Real issues, serious questions in the life of a young Amish woman. Why is one kind of art “wrong” and another highly valued? The answer isn’t simple. But Annie is seeking with her whole heart to do what is right.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A definite page turner. The characters are exciting and the story line simply pulls you in. I lost lots of hours of sleep reading this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait yo read book 2
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book, as I have the others by this author. I am upset though, that in order to read the other two books of the series I will have to pay $10.49 for each of them. And, I just bought another one listed at $10.49 at Dollar General for only $4.00.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the book. Must read next book to see more adventures of Annie
Anonymous More than 1 year ago