Pretend You're Safe

Pretend You're Safe

by Alexandra Ivy

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Pretend You're Safe 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great suspense and stellar storytelling.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book from author i had not read before!
Anonymous 10 months ago
Love+it.+Great+storytelling.+Can+not+wait+to+read+the+book.%0A%0A%0A%0A%0A
Momma_Becky More than 1 year ago
Pretend Your Safe is what a good mystery should be. It held my interest and dangled carrots throughout, making me second guess myself about the killer's identity. While I liked Rylan's perseverance with winning Jaci over, the romance side of this tale could've done with a bit more depth. That aside, the suspense was good and at the conclusion, I found myself thinking back through the tale and realizing that while it isn't glaringly obvious, there are some clues. It's more investigation than action until the end, but the story is interesting and engaging throughout, and the suspense builds as the book progresses. With suspense, some romance, and bits of levity thrown in, this is one that I can easily recommend and I'll be looking forward to the next book in the series. Overall, a solid start to a promising series.
Candace-LoveyDoveyBooks More than 1 year ago
Pretend You're Safe is romantic suspense at it's finest. Alexandra Ivy gives readers a story that's creepy and thrilling in one go. Jaci Patterson enjoys the close bonds of her small town community. But when gruesome gifts from her past begin to resurface everyone becomes a suspect. Her childhood crush Rylan Cooper steps back into her life under the guise of providing her with high tech security, but he would rather escape to California and take her away from danger. Readers are first engaged in the story when bodies are discovered by Jaci's neighbor. This scene sets the tone for the novel: dark and ominous. Ivy leads readers through a story rife with tension and worry. Jaci is the last person you'd expect to be on the receiving end of this kind of attention. She's a hard working, independent woman raised by her grandparents after her father died and her mother abandoned her to start a new family. Somehow she's grabbed the attention of a serial killer. The person sending her lockets is hiding in plain sight and the local sheriff is having a hard time tracking him down. Thankfully, Rylan is determined to protect Jaci throughout the ordeal. The two of them put the romance in this suspense and warm you after the chilling conclusion. Alexandra Ivy does romantic suspense well and she even adds a little family drama on the side. I thought there was going to be a bit of a love triangle thrown in for good measure, but it didn't really pan out by the end of the story. It hardly mattered because the need to know who's behind the sordid lockets is intense. Pretend You're Safe is a hot start to The Agency series, perfect for fans of Kat Martin or Cynthia Eden. *ARC provided in consideration for an honest review*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an interesting book to read, it has everything: floods, kidnapping, romance, murder, a psychotic serial killer…a fast action, paced story and yet does have a happy ending! It’s well written, and well plotted – and makes you wonder are any of us safe?
tsinclr More than 1 year ago
Loved it. The story kept you guessing right to the end. Jaci is strong and independent but is also smart enough to know when she needs help. Mike and Rylan are both alphas and knock heads occasionally but they both want what's best for Jaci. Suspenseful and romantic.
Sandy-thereadingcafe More than 1 year ago
3.75 stars--PRETEND YOUR SAFE is the first installment in Alexandra Ivy’s contemporary, adult THE AGENCY romantic, suspsense series. This is security and IT specialist Rylan Cooper, and twenty seven year old pastry chef Jaci Patterson’s story line. Told from several third person perspectives including Rylan and Jaci PRETEND YOU’RE SAFE follows the hunt for a serial killer. With the recent deluge of rain, the rapidly rising waters of the Mississippi gave up her secrets with the missing and the dead. When a bloated body and a severed skull are discovered floating in a farmer’s flooded field Laci Patterson’s mind begins to wander to the past to a time when s number of local women went missing, and several golden lockets with a few strands of hair would appear on her door step. Fast forward to present day, and the terror begins anew when her estranged mother’s housekeeper goes missing, and a new locket appears from out of the blue. Enter Rylan Cooper- back home from sunny California, visiting his aging father- and the man with whom Jaci will fall in love. What ensues is the rekindling friendship and relationship between Rylan and Jaci, and the search for a killer as Jaci is once again targeted by a unknown man. PRETEND YOU’RE SAFE is a slow building story of intrigue, romance and suspense. Rylan is a protector; a man who is desperate to protect the woman he loves but also a man who knows he must atone for sins of the past. Years earlier, a then arrogant deputy sheriff, Rylan ignored the panic and emotional fall out of the innocuous threats against Laci’s life but with the uptick and resurgence of a similar MO, Rylan knows that to ignore Laci could be fatal in more ways than one. The $ex scenes are limited but seductive although the attraction between our leading couple is low key and felt somewhat awkward. Laci struggles with her attraction to the man who ignored her earlier fears and warnings. There is a large ensemble cast of secondary and supporting characters including Sheriff Mike O’Brien, his office assistant Carol, local artist Nelson Bradley; Jaci’s estranged family including half-sister Payton, half-brother Christopher, step-father Blake Hamilton, and mother Loreen Hamilton. We are also introduced to Rylan’s father Elmer Cooper , as well as a number of townsfolk, neighbors and nosy busybodies. PRETEND YOU’RE SAFE is a thrilling and passionate story line. The premise is intriguing and keeps you guessing until the very end.
Rainn2978 More than 1 year ago
New book in a new series for Alexandra Ivy and I absolutely loved it! There has never been a book by this author that I haven't enjoyed, although I prefer her paranormal's. This book follows Jaci Patterson and Rylan Cooper. When Jaci was a teenager she kept receiving lockets with hair wrapped in bloody ribbon inside. She tried to get the police to investigate but they thought it was just a teenage prank being played on her (or at least that is what Rylan told her). Fast forward to Jaci as an adult. She is back in Heron and making a life for herself when there is a flood that brings in a couple of bodies. She is worried that these could be women from the lockets but the police still don't want to think it has anything to do with that. Until she receives a new locket. Rylan has returned to Heron to help his dad out. He is slowly realizing that Jaci wasn't kidding about what happened or is currently happening. He is also realizing just how much he cared not only then but now. I loved Jaci and Rylan together. They were not only sweet but once they stopped thinking about the past in terms of their relationship-they were beautiful together! This book had some definite twists and turns that I never once saw coming! And I can tell you, I never saw who the bad guy was at all! I had my head set on someone completely different! I absolutely loved every second of this book. My hope now is that we will get to see maybe a second book about Griff. And another about Jaci's sister and the sheriff!
CathyGeha More than 1 year ago
Pretend You’re Safe by Alexandra Ivy The Agency #1 Jaci Patterson KNEW she had a stalker when she was sixteen…a creepy person leaving lockets filled with a locket of hair tied by a ribbon and…blood. Nobody believed her at the time when she shared and tried to find out who was leaving the morbid gifts. She was away from home for college and returned only to have the lockets start showing up again. Who is the stalker and what is behind the gifts? How will the story proceed and…END? There are murdered women, some red herrings, a bit of romance and some sleuthing by Sheriff Mike O’Brien and a computer guru named Rylan Cooper as they try to protect Jaci – all three are natives of the small town the dead are being found in. The story is well written but I did figure out who the killer was before Rylan and Mike did. I read the trailer for the next book in the series and it sounds like it will be a humdinger – one I won’t want to miss. Thank you to NetGalley and Kensington-Zebra for the ARC – This is my honest review. 3-4 Stars