Pretending with the Greek Billionaire

Pretending with the Greek Billionaire

by Kira Archer

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Pretending with the Greek Billionaire 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was short but a feel good story all around
Musings_of_Madjy More than 1 year ago
What is there to not love about a sexy Greek billionaire with a quick wit and adorably cocky attitude? I loved Luca from the minute he woke up hungover all the way to the minute he became domesticated. Constance, the House Mother/foster mother of a group of girls on the island of Mykonos who finds herself "engaged", is a good match for him and I loved that she never backed down. She had an obvious need to take care of people that will endear her to the reader, though also a stubbornness that makes her extra relatable. Luca having to deal with paparazzi often, and how that affected his entire life, was an interesting angle and it made me sympathize that much more with celebrities who live in fishbowls. Despite the title and Luca's sizeable wealth, there wasn't a lot of money flashed around in the story, which I appreciated and felt made it just the right blend of indulgence (Hello Greek Billionaire and gorgeous beaches) and real life (Hello foster children and those who enjoy a simpler life). They went out to dinner, went to the beach... Not extravagant outings. The sapphire engagement ring was also a nice touch. The kids were also cute, though I didn't get a big connection with any of them but Elena. The girls are otherwise just a group ("6 girls") and not individuals. I understand why and don't feel that something is missing, per se, but it seems like having all of them forever is unnecessary. The heat is high with these two, despite their physical intimacy being limited to mostly steamy kisses for over half of the book. Once they cross that threshold, watch out! There are some HOT sexytimes that are fresh and fun, including sex on a motorcycle! This is one not to be missed! I received a digital ARC from the publisher for an honest, unbiased review. This in no way influenced my review. My opinion is my 100% own.
Lori-Gonzo More than 1 year ago
3.5**** This was a very light, sweet story between a wild playboy and a nice woman in charge of six girls. I liked Luca from the beginning with his flirtatious, yet funny banter. He was a but arrogant and demanding, but I think that added to his charm. By the end of the book, I really liked him. He grew as a person tremendously. Constance had a huge heart and wanted to take care of people. She wanted to right the wrongs of the world. But Luca brought her to life. They complemented one another perfectly. I only wish there was more familial interaction because what was there was heartwarming, but I would have lived more.
Maria-Rose More than 1 year ago
What a delightful story! The combination of committed playboy Luca, and caring and kindhearted Constance, mother to six orphans (that she's already practically adopted) on a picturesque Greek island sounded like a fun and unique premise (if rather fanciful) so I was excited to read this. Having to pose as an engaged couple to save Constance's reputation and improve Luca's due to an inopportune paparazzi photo sets them up to spend time together and discover they are more than just what's on the surface. Luca goes through quite the evolution in the story, from his carefree and somewhat arrogant attitude to a more responsible and considerate man. Plus he's a real sweetheart underneath (a guitar serenade on a moonlit beach - 'sigh'). Constance comes across as more proper for sure, not surprising since she's taken on the task of raising six young orphaned girls, a consequence of her own orphaned status and adoption early in life. But who wouldn't succumb to Luca's slow and steady seduction! It is a slow burn romance as Luca and Constance have to move from a pretend engagement to something more real, but the eventual love scenes are well written and pretty steamy! The presence of the six girls doesn't take over the story. For the most part they are in the background, other than one young girl, Elena who takes a liking to Luca and vice versa. Luca suddenly finds himself wanting the instant family that's taken over his life to be a real one. The press are the bad guys in this story, a constant in Luca's life but one Constance will have to adjust to if their relationship can ever move forward. Things get a little rocky for the couple at the end but they do get their happy ever after in some moving scenes and overall it's a very entertaining and fun story.
FizzaYounis More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing. I loved the story, and characters. I enjoyed reading it a lot. It's funny, romantic, and very entertaining. The best thing about it is Constance McMurty. I adored her character. She is my favorite kind of heroine. It's definitely a 5 Stars book, totally worth reading.
BookSnuggle More than 1 year ago
Another great read from Kira Archer that is funny, steamy, and entertaining. I loved this book. It was so much fun and enjoyable to read. "Pretending with the Greek Billionaire" by Kira Archer is Luca Vasilakis and Constance McMurty's story. Luca has a reputation for being a playboy and the life of the party. He needs to find a way to improve his reputation. Luca needs to prove that he is capable of running his father's billion dollar corporation. He just hasn't figured out how. Constance is a social worker who is raising six orphans. Luca and Constance end up in a paparazzi photo the doesn't put either one in a good light. To solve both of their problems they pretend that they were engaged. Somewhere along the way, the lines start to blur between what's pretend and what's real. Will Constance and Luca be able to ignore the chemistry between them? Constance and Luca's story had me laughing and crying at times. I loved the banter between them. Once I started this book couldn't put the book down. A fun read! FYI, includes mature content. I received a copy of this book from NetGalley/Entangled Publishing in exchange for an honest review.
Crystal_Yawn More than 1 year ago
A fun different type of fantasy. Could it happen? probably not, was it awesome to read? YES! Ms. Archer has woven a tale of Spoiled rich party boy meets his match, only up that with 6 KIDS! The change in Luca we see is amazing. He's a spoiled brat you just want to hate to start off with who starts to soften as the book goes on and you fall in love. Really well done and brings light to a great organization also that helps orphans. Book received in exchange of an honest review
Linda__ More than 1 year ago
LOVED this book! Constance finds herself in a compromising situation with a rich playboy. Unfortunately for her, the stakes are very high and could cost her the children that she fosters/is guardian of. The playboy has his own issues and an urgent need to appear grown up and over his partying days. He suggests an odd idea to Constance and she is desperate enough to accept it. What follows is an engaging romance that I just loved. If you enjoy the genre, you will love this book.
MoniqueD More than 1 year ago
This was a very painful review to write. I love Kira Archer for her originality in making old tropes sparkling new, as was the case with Totally, Sweetly, Irrevocably, which a adored, but I was hoping the author would be as brilliant with PRETENDING WITH THE GREEK BILLIONAIRE. Pretend engagement is a difficult trope to pull off in contemporary romance, and I wondered how Constance and Luca would maintain their charade and make it believable in my eyes. Well, as you can see with my rating, it wasn’t very successful. I loved how Ms. Archer could translate Luca’s slight accent on the page, and make Greece vivid, and how frightening the author made the paparazzi appear. Even though the premise was a bit shaky at the beginning – the reason as to how Constance and the children happened to be on Luca’s grounds – I was willing to gloss over it and go on. One of the problems I had was that I never felt anything beyond lust on either Constance’s and Luca’s parts; he came off as rather two-dimensional, and with Constance there was so much blushing, shivering and trembling, she would have put a medieval maiden to shame. Not to mention one particular condition of the terms Luca insisted on, which required a lot of suspension of disbelief. I was TOLD so many times so many things, and yet I didn’t feel any of these. I was TOLD they had unbelievable chemistry, I was TOLD that Luca was such a good man, but it never felt it was happening; I was being TOLD it was. I was hovering towards a 3-star rating, but towards the end, a revelation about who was leaking information to the paparazzi brought the whole thing down to 2 stars; that was one thing too many, utterly unnecessary, and let’s be honest, just plain silly. I so wanted to love this book, but I just couldn’t. However, I will be looking forward to Kira Archer’s next book on the force of what I had thought of the previous one I read and loved so much. Unfortunately, that is what is called an honest review; I could have lied, written just a few words about what I liked, but I have integrity, and so be it. I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
Bette313 More than 1 year ago
Awesome fun read! He's a fun loving carefree playboy, she's a serious house mother to six small children. Together they are they oddest of odd couples but they need each other. He needs to prove to his father that he has settle down and given up his playboy ways. She needs to prove to the mother superior at the orphanage that the pictures the paparazzi took were innocent and her reputation is safe. As they spend time together their relationship begins to change but can they really count on each other?? This was a great read and definitely a book I recommend to everyone.
Splashesintobooks1 More than 1 year ago
I loved escaping into this book! I’ve yet to find a book by this author that I haven’t thoroughly enjoyed – and I certainly enjoyed this one. It tells the story of Greek billionaire and heir Luca Vasilakis and the young lady he finds trespassing on his supposedly secure property, Constance McMurtry – and she had her six young girls with her! Constance is acting as house mother to the girls, all of whom are orphaned or fostered and only ventured onto his property to retrieve one of the children but when the paparazzi take incriminating photographs of them she’s in danger of having the children removed from her care! Luca offers to help her keep them because that will also help him, too. His father is adamant that Luca needs to change his playboy ways and find himself a decent young woman instead of bed hopping and partying his life away, and sees Constance as a brilliant way to improve his reputation and restore hers – by her agreeing to be his fake fiancee! The only problem is, they really are attracted to each other and, as the lines between fact and fiction become blurred, their attraction escalates. Can two such different people become a couple in reality? How will she cope with the intrusive paparazzi? When someone else meddles, seeking revenge, will it tear them apart? This is a fun read with a somewhat self centred, over indulged alpha male lead and a feisty, caring and determined young lady as his counterpart. During the story both of them are influenced by the other, growing in maturity, self confidence and love. I read it in a day and enjoyed doing so. It has many humorous events to bring a smile to your face as well as other dramatic episodes to keep you guessing. The television appearance near the end is brilliant (not saying any more about that, I don’t want to give spoilers, but I’m sure you’ll know what I mean if you read it). This is an engaging romance in every sense of the term and one that I have no hesitation in highly recommending if, like me, this is a genre you enjoy reading. I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
Lashea677 More than 1 year ago
Count on Kira Archer to take life's awkward moments and turn them into romance gold. A playboy billionaire makes a desperate bid for good publicity and ends up getting the family he never bargained for. Luca puts the word party in "party animal". Fun, women and booze are constant companions for this rich kid until an ultimatum leaves him trying to clean up his act. Constance is the total opposite. She takes her responsibilities seriously and cares about her charges like her own family members. When a serious situation rises due to a mischievous charge, against her better judgment she agrees to help Luca and herself by posing as a couple. Sparks fly, hearts are at risk and a world of possibilities open up. The little girls were an adorable touch. There is nothing sweeter than a man out of his league due to a handful of little girls.