Princeps' Fury (Codex Alera Series #5)

Princeps' Fury (Codex Alera Series #5)

by Jim Butcher

Paperback(Tall Rack Paperback - Reprint)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, May 29

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Princeps' Fury (Codex Alera Series #5) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 350 reviews.
Jay_D_Christopher More than 1 year ago
Princeps¿ Fury is a continuation of the book series The Codex Alera written by Jim Butcher. In the next saga of the life of the Tavi or Gaius Octavian, Jim Butcher continues to expand upon the lives of not only this unlikely hero but also shows how his family and friends have grown to support and respect the young man that would be Emperor of Alera. Throughout this new installment of Tavi¿s life Jim Butcher shows of his exceptional skills of intrigue and deception that keep the reader on the edge of their set though out the book. Introducing new character and developing old ones showing how each of these people has changed through their interaction with Tavi and his allies. As any one who has read these books has come to expect there is more to the story than first appears. Jim Butcher continues to inspire the reader with rich descriptions of the scenes, political power plays and an excellent grasp of the human psyche by the decisions and reasoning that each character have to deal with throughout the series. If you liked the first four books you will love this fifth chapter of The Codex Alera series. Jim Butcher leaves nothing to the imagination with his excellent telling of life in Alera the rest of the world around her.
MegaReader_Jakk More than 1 year ago
When i heard the new installment of the series was comming out soon, I had high hopes and let me say, my expectations were not just met they were exceeded in the upmost of ways. This book has it all: action, adventure, intruge, the whole nine yards, it keeps you attention so well you will wonder where the time has gone.

Like in all of his books, Butcher uses the same underling storyline that has been constant in the series mixed with new struggles confrontations that keep the story line fresh after so many novels. With these new problems there are resolutions that add to the building of the story underneath which gives the reader a sense of completion at the end of the book while making him beg for more.

Overall a great story and something that should be included in aany reader's collection.
Have a Merry Christmas
C4RO on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Book 5 of the codex Alera series. I like the canim characters a lot so it made for a fun read. Quite a lot of politicking/ succession pieces seemed occasionally to pad it out so a few of the storyline pieces felt unusually sparse (Iceman storyline felt quickly over with). It looks like the last book will have an almighty fight with the Vord that I'm looking forward to loads. It felt a little like the "Empire Strikes Back" with the Vord finishing with very solidly ahead. Quite a lot of major story still to clear up in the next ones though so I hope I can wait out for book 6 to get into paperback.
willowcove on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a GREAT series with a new 'power' twist.
krau0098 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the fifth book in the Codex Alera series by Jim Butcher. The series is 6 books in length, the last book is "First Lord's Fury". It was not as good as the previous book, but still a very good read.Tavi is heading off to the Canim's homeland with the First Aleran. There he hopes to return the Canim to their homeland without incident, unfortunately a big sea storm devastates the fleets of ships and plans change. What Tavi and the Canim find upon reaching the shore is horrible and unexpected. Back in Alera the First Lord (Gauis) is dealing with a crisis of his own. As Gauis's health continues to deteriorate he is left dealing with an attack from the Vord. The Vord are an insect-like race that was fought in the first few books in this series. The First Lord calls on Amara and Bernard to, once again, take on a dangerous mission to figure out how the Vord have learned Fury-craft. The last storyline deals with Isana, now the First Lady. Gauis sends Isana to the north in an effort to make peace with the Ice-men there; in hopes that the Aleran forces in the North can leave the fighting on the northern Shieldwall and lend their assistance to fighting the Vord in the south.As you can tell from above there is a lot of fighting in this book. There is less character development than in previous books, but still a lot of great action scenes. This book was more about Butcher moving the characters around to where they need to be for the final book than anything else. It is very much a transition novel.That is not to say that a lot of things don't happen, a lot of things do happen. The characters' situation is worse than ever before and there are no great victories in this book. Our heroes continue to pull off feats of imaginable strength and daring; the enemies continue to horrify us. The Vord are definitely a horrible enemy,Like in the last book, Tavi pulls off one crazy scheme after another and makes it through unscathed...this is a bit unrealistic and irritating. The other down point of this book is that Butcher uses too many words to describe everything. There was just a lot of description that we didn't need to know and at times this slowed down the relentless pace of the story a bit too much.Nothing is resolved in this book, but all the players are moved into position for a powerful and awesome conclusion in the next book. I would recommend buying the last book with this one so that you don't have to wait to read it. Also you do need to read the previous books in this series to follow what is going on in this book.All in all it is a great story, with a complicated plot, great action scenes, and wonderful characters. It is just not as great of a story as the last book. I have high hopes for the concluding novel though and am excited to read the next book.
EowynA on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
No sooner does Tavi leave Alera with the Canem invasion force, to travel the sea back to Cane, but the Vord are discovered to have taken hold in Alera. And in the north, the Icemen have redoubled their forces to try to breach the Shieldwall. The First Lord summons all the Lords of the land to a special Senate meeting to explain just how bad the situation is. From there, each of our protagonists have their own tasks to defend the realm. But the Vord have mutated, become more human-seeming. Tavi finds that the Cane come from a continent with several nations of Canim. And the Vord are there, as well. Political machinations abound, as well as fierce action. A rousing continuation of the action started in the first books of the series.
Wova4 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As the book-before-the-last-book, it's inevitable that there is a bunch of table clearing and then table setting for the final volume. Princep's Fury is filled with lots of action that provides little actual consequence. Tavi takes a holiday in scenic Cain, where he learns animal husbandry and kills a vord queen. Isana becomes a diplomat, where she works for peace with the poorly-realized Icemen. Amara and Bernard are set on another mission impossible in which this reader would have rather seen one, or possibly both, not return. And then there's Gaius.It's not really a spoiler, since every half-alert reader knows that Butcher has been telling us that Gaius will die for the previous four volumes. Without it, Tavi cannot ascend to power. Despite the fireworks, Gaius's death actually fails to affect anything important to the story. He apparently didn't even take down a Vord queen. Oh yeah, and his wife was poisoning him, another spoiler that doesn't really mean anything.My disappointment with this book starts and ends primarily with Invidia. By all rights, she should be dead at the end of the Captain's Fury. Instead, like a poor parody of a Monty Python sketch, she pops up again (with a chest hugger). "I'm not dead. I think I'll go for a walk."
bell7 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Only a few months after the story left off in Captain's Fury, Tavi sails to Canim lands to work out a treaty between his people and the Canes. Back in Alera, the Vord is still a very real threat and Gaius Sextus suddenly announces to all that they are at war.If you've enjoyed the Codex Alera series so far, this one will not disappoint. Great characters and excellent pacing make it a fast read. I can't wait for the next one to come out!
Nikkles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another fantastic book in the Codex Alera. I can't wait for the next. At this point it is hard to see how everything can work out, but I have faith that the world will not be completely destroyed in the end. As always Butcher's writing is fast paced and interesting. I read his books for the characters, which are always delightful!
sooziebeaker on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In Butcher's latest installment of the Codex Alera series he manages to surpass other best selling series (The Dresden Files) and makes this fantasy series truly epic, in the same league as "The Lord of the Rings".
heatherlove on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've read the previous four books and now we come to The Princep's Fury, Book 5 in the Codex Alera by Jim Butcher . And this one, while it isn't my favorite of the five, certainly moves the story along. We get to see a little bit more about the Canim when Tavi heads there with his troops to their land to satisfy a promise he is honor-bound to uphold. Unfortunately, the dreaded Vord are there already and between the threat of the Canim and the Vord's destruction, he has to act decisively to save his new friends. Meanwhile, back in Alera, his family is having trouble helping King Gaius Sextus- Tavi's grandfather. As always, Tavi can't do it alone. He needs the help of his girlfriend, and some of his best friends and advisors to get the job done and save what remains of the Canim people.These books are a great read, a good adventure and I love reading them. I'll have other books that I want to be reading but will always pick up one of this series before others just for the pure entertainment value and escapism of a fun epic fantasy. I suppose if this genre is not your thing then you won't care for it much. Otherwise, great read. Have fun with them. I don't read the Dresden books, though I will say that I was sad when the Television Series, The Dresden Files, was cancelled.
TadAD on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is another outstanding episode in the Codex Alera series. The author kept three distinct story lines going and, each time he switched between them, I was so engrossed I wanted to yell, "No, I need to know what happens next!" Very different than his Dresden books (a single story arc, not set in our world, etc.), this story feels very fresh and the quality is consistent across the volumes.I¿m really looking forward to the next installment. Butcher continues to be one of the most consistent fantasy writers going for me.
Alera on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This fantasy series is still one of my absolute favorites and with each additional book I grow to love it more. I read this is one sitting, which involved staying up to an ungodly hour, but I simply couldn't stop. The characters were so engaging I was literally shouting in glee for their victories, crying for their losses. It's beautifully crafted.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
velvetjk More than 1 year ago
Great plots, adventure and story line. Enjoyed the entire series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago