Protect the Prince (Crown of Shards Series #2)

Protect the Prince (Crown of Shards Series #2)

by Jennifer Estep

Paperback

$15.29 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.29, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, April 1

Customer Reviews

Protect the Prince 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oh my goodness, this book was awesome. Full of surprises, lots of action..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I+read+a+lot+of+fantasy+and+this+world+is+so+intriguing%21+People+who+morph+into+Ogres+and+Dragons++and+have+an+animated+tattoo+on+their+necks+of+what+they+morph+into%21+The+tattoos++grin%2C+shrug%2C+frown+etc...+Flying+stone+gargoyles+that+are+sentient+and+live+in+and+protect+one+kingdom.+Another+kingdom+the+majority+and+ruling+family+made+up+of+Ogre-Morphs.+The+author+has+brought+a+whole+fantasy+continent+to+life+of+strange+and+wondrous++places+and+beings+without+bogging+the+reader+down+with+endless+minute+detail.+Then+there+is+the+fantastic+plot+and+great+characters.+Keep+on+writing+please++Ms.+Estep%21+I+could+read+20+more+set+in+this+world.+Kudos+to+a+great+writer%21
Susan Frizzell 3 months ago
great book
Barbara Golde 8 months ago
Love the characters. The fight scenes are well written.
Anonymous 9 months ago
I think this book was well written. I like the way the book was divided into three parts. I think that the court politics was very intriguing and that the action was intense.
sufue 11 months ago
I got hooked into reading the first title in this series, Kill the Queen, by its first two sentences: “The day of the royal massacre started out like any other. With me doing something completely, utterly useless.” So you can imagine my amusement when I discovered that the second book, Protect the Prince, starts out: “The day of the first assassination attempt started out like any other. With me girding myself for battle.” So again, I was hooked, and again, I very much enjoyed reading this fantasy-style adventure. But this is supposed to be a review, so here goes… Where the first book was a riff on the classic minor-royal-gets-done-down-but-wins-in-the-end theme, this book is a riff on the classic adventure/quest theme. But just as with the first one, Estep does it so well that I didn’t mind the slightly trope-ish plot at all – I just settled in for what turned out to be a really fun ride. As Protect the Prince starts out, Lady Everleigh (Evie) Saffira Winter Blair, the former seemingly very minor Bellonan royal who has fought her way to being queen, is finding that staying queen can be as challenging as becoming queen. Even though she defeated the previous queen (the architect of the royal massacre) in the first book, it’s not that easy to actually govern a bunch of conniving nobles, to say nothing of cranky neighboring kingdoms and a few assassins and spies. And things get tougher when she heads for the next-door kingdom of Ardvari to try to negotiate an alliance. Her journey provides the context for a couple more assassination attempts, a particularly ingenious use of one more of her “completely, utterly useless” skills from the first book, and some misunderstood romantic angst that presumably is setting up the third book. I’m not sure there was a whole lot of deep new character development in this book, but there was a bit, and together with the adventures, Protect the Prince kept me awake reading until late in the night. Now I’m not so patiently waiting for the third book in the series, and not just to see what its first two sentences are!
PollyBennett More than 1 year ago
A great addition. Non-stop action. I can't wait for the third in the series.
BooksnKisses More than 1 year ago
REVIEW PROVIDED BY: Kelly NUMBER OF HEARTS: 4 3/4 Protect the Prince picks up shortly after the end of Kill the Queen with Queen Everleigh Blair becoming the Queen Bellona. Becoming Queen has not been fun so far but it is what Evie had expected. The next step in Evie’s journey is to make amends with the Andvari people. Once in Andvari Evie must face off with a whole new set of problems from the Andvari Royals, a King that asks too much, an assassin who doesn’t know when to give up, and a trader who wants to take everything. Protect the Prince is the second book in Jennifer Estep’s Crown of Shards series and this second book was just as good as the first. There were times while listening that I was not sure my heart would survive the journey. I truly love this series and can not wait for the third and final chapter in The Crown of Shards series. Once again I let the talented Lauren Fortgang read this book to me. Lauren did a wonderful job of bringing these characters to life for me. I look forward to listening to the next book in this series too. Disclaimer: I purchased this book from Audible.com and it is an honest review. This review is my own opinion and not a paid review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this new series! don't miss Kill the Queen, the first book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Devoured this book in a day and re-read it again the next day. I loooove how Evie has taken on her new role as Queen. I think this book did an amazing job showing her transition and her struggles. She ultimately wants the best for her people, but there are challenges at every corner. There was also FINALLY more development between her and Lucas. The second book definitely clears up why he wasn't as accepting to titles and Evie being part of the royal line in the first book. Estep is an amazing author and I love this new series as it takes us to a new world or magical creatures and kingdoms. Can't wait for the third book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
wishing+the+next+one+was+ready+now
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Warning this will contain spoilers for the first book in the series. At the end of the first book Everleigh Blair had fought and defeated her cousin Vasilia to become queen of Bellona, but just because she's queen doesn't make life any easier. The nobles are placing bets on how long she'll stay alive, Maeven and the Mortan's are trying to kill her, some of the nobles are plotting to marry her off (to their own sons of course), she is in love with Lucas Sullivan but he refuses to take their relationship further because he is only the illegitimate son of the king of Andvar. And of course everyone still believes that Evie is a mutt, with very little magical powers whereas we now know that she can neutralise other people's magic. In order to protect Bellona from invasion by Andvar Evie needs to forge an alliance with Andvar, but the King hasn't forgiven Bellona for the murder of his younger son and his attendants when Vasilia ascended the throne of Bellona by massacring her own mother and the Bellonian court with the assistance of Mortan spies. So Evie and her friends travel to Andvar to try to persuade the King but Mortan assassins and spies are everywhere and Evie's presence may be doing more harm than good. Can Evie follow her heart, protect Bellona and weed out the Mortan assassins while negotiating a deal? I love a traditional fantasy in which the poor downtrodden servant/belittled sibling turns out to have extraordinary powers, yet remains humble alongside lots of swords and sorcery type battles and this reminded very much of those, like the David Eddings series, heck even Harry Potter. Loved this, devoured it in one day reading until 3:30 am and I can not wait for the third installment.
Sandy-thereadingcafe More than 1 year ago
PROTECT THE PRINCE is the second instalment in Jennifer Estep’s epic fantasy CROWN OF SHARDS series focusing on the newly crowned Queen of Bellona Queen Everleigh Blair. a young woman whose ascension to the throne is predicated on a murderous coup against our heroine’s family. PROTECT THE PRINCE should not be read as a stand alone as it picks up shortly after the events of book one KILL THE QUEEN. The Crown of Shards series is the focus of elemental magic, magic of which our heroine is believed to have not been blessed but Everleigh’s ‘mutt magic’ is much more than anyone could have imagined. As the series progresses, Everleigh’s strengths and powers make her the target of a group of assassins hoping to destroy whomever wears the crown. With the power to ‘scent’ out emotions, as well as her ability to manipulate magic, Everleigh is a powerful Queen, indeed. With her own band of ‘gladiators’ and Lucas Sullivan, the man that she loves, Everleigh is a force unto herself, a force that is constantly tested by would-be assassins, and spurned kings and queens. Told from first person point of view (Everleigh) PROTECT THE PRINCE follows newly crowned Queen Everleigh as she struggles to make nice with the surrounding kingdoms including Andvari, the kingdom from where Lucas once resided. Hoping to broker a deal between Andvari and Bellona, Everleigh will have to face down two more assassination attempts in her battle to bring peace between the two domains but all is not well in the kingdom of Andvari, and Everleigh is determined to discover the truth. PROTECT THE PRINCE is a complex and detailed story line of magic, mayhem, power and control; a story of betrayal and revenge; of lost love and second chances. Jennifer Estep pulls the reader into a familiar world of elemental magic, with a strong, warrior heroine, and a band of misfit protectors who would die to protect the woman they love. Similarities to the author’s ‘Elemental Assassin’ series aside, PROTECT THE PRINCE is a captivating and spellbinding look at magic and the power of love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I+loved+this+book+so+much.+It+was+another+fun+filled+adventure.+I+can%27t+wait+for+the+next+one.+
yaratrv More than 1 year ago
Another fun read that moved at a fast clip throughout and left me satisfied. Evie is such an awesome Mc! She knows how to play the long game even if she hates it. She’ll do whatever it takes for the good of Bellona. My fave characters in this book though were Gemma and her gargoyle friend. Sully of course is a stud muffin and I can’t wait to get more of these characters. Looking forward to the next installment!