Provoked (Dark Protectors Series #5)

Provoked (Dark Protectors Series #5)

by Rebecca Zanetti

Paperback

$13.50 $15.00 Save 10% Current price is $13.5, Original price is $15. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, June 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Provoked 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 76 reviews.
DavinciKittie More than 1 year ago
A GraveTells Review: Smart, smokin' hot, & emotionally intense! Jase Kayrs, the youngest and most care-free brother of the vampire nation's ruling family, has been a captive of the demon army for four years now, and a pacifist, eco-loving Demon Destroyer is his only hope of rescue. Now there's a tough predicament for a vampire wanting to use her as a weapon... unless that vampire is Kane Kayrs, and the logical solution is a union that will result in Kane inheriting his mate's abilities. He'd be able to do the fighting himself and share his empathic abilities with a woman who can use every shred of help defending her brain from the demons hellbent on annihilating it. But marriage and life-long mates should be based in love and happily ever after, or so Amber says, and she is strong and stubborn enough to stand up for what she believes in against even the most brilliant Kayrs brother. The Kayrs men are large and in charge, domineering, and genius scientist Kane is no exception. Instead of using his brain as an excuse to be less involved in his romantic overtures, he taps that vast supply of knowledge & intuition and turns it into sheer, dominating pleasure... and I do mean DOMINATING! I thought Conn was hot in Hunted (and he was, don't get me wrong! *fans self*), but Kane is memorable enough that I am still thinking about him 2 weeks and half a dozen books later. Kane Kayrs is an incredibly dedicated lover, and his combination of meticulous attention to detail and raw force of personality makes for some smokin' scenes between him and Amber. I absolutely loved Hunted (#3 in the series - it won our Book of the Month award in May 2012), but I think what sets Provoked above even that high standard is the integration of Jase Kayrs' storyline. Jase has a rough time in this book. Four years of mental and physical torture in demon captivity have stolen nearly all his strength and fighting spirit. Even if he does survive, who will he become? The scenes where the Kayrs brothers are dealing with Jase's situation are emotionally powerful, and exactly what the series needed to amp up the intensity as it moves into the final stages of the demon conflict. How Ms. Zanetti functions with all these uber sexy, domineering, hot hot HOT men in her head, I have no idea - I'd be a quivering mess of "yes, please, and thank you" just about all the time! Hah! If you haven't started reading the Dark Protectors series, what are you waiting for? Go go go!! PS - Amber names her pets after Star Trek characters. Who can resist a heroine like that?! Hunted was my first trip through the Dark Protectors universe (book #3 in the series) and I fell in love with Conn, Moira, and all the Kayrs brothers. Consumed was an excellent followup and gave us a glimpse into the leadership of the shifter nation, allies of the vampires. Now with Provoked, the storyline has moved from isolated conflicts and ground-building side plots to a full-on sprint into what is sure to be an explosive next few books. If you have never read a book in this series, now is the time to start, so you can get caught up in the release madness of Ms. Zanetti's brilliantly addicting storytelling and world-weaving! This is not a book or series to be missed and is a new GraveTells Fave!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
And then there is Kane Kayrs. HOTNESS!!!
ReaderLoverKV More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Absolutely spontaneously wonderful! A must read! Well written Rebecca Zanetti! Well Done!
MomRocks88 More than 1 year ago
Love the Dark Hunter Series! I loose a couple nights of sleep each time a new one comes out. Looking forward to Rebecca's next series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic!!! Can't wait for the next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed Amber and Kane's story but need the next book soon. The book had great action, love and hints of the future book. A great read and left me needing Jace and Zane's stories. Rebecca keep the books coming, I am hooked.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was pleasently surprised with Kane. He wasnt as emotionless as i presumed and im so glad he finally realized that himself. There is a ton of action going on with the war between the vampires, kurjans, and demons and so much passion it will ignite you on the spot! A definite must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am sooo in love with this series! I cant wait for the next book because there were so many unanswered questions about Jase, and the whole Janie, Kalin, and Zane triangle. I highly reccommend this series! You will not be disappointed
selly6767 More than 1 year ago
This book was great! I am looking forward to the next book!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVE this series!! I only wish we knew when the next book would be coming out... you get to the end of one and you don't want to stop! Something longer than about 260 pages would be wonderful - you just can't get enough of the Karys brothers or their group of "misfits"!
bfamily13 More than 1 year ago
love her series!
ldosch More than 1 year ago
Nail biting excitement. Dage Kayrs is the King, Talon is the strategist, Conn is the fighter and Kane Kayrs is the smart brother. So there is no one more upset than Kane that he hasn&rsquo;t been able to find a cure for the Virus-27 which is plaguing his people and his allies. And why are the inoculations for the shifters suddenly no longer effective? And why after four long years hasn&rsquo;t he been able to find his brother, Jase, who was captured by the Demons? Demons have the ability to torture and cause pain in the mind. Even if they find Jase and rescue him, after four years of physical and mental torture, will there be anything left of the fun-loving Jase that they all love? What they need is a Demon Detroyer who can counter the Demon&rsquo;s powers, but no Detroyer has been found in decades. The Demons have hunted them all down. When a Destroyer is finally located, Kane races to find her only to find out she&rsquo;s a vegan, pacifist who thinks Kane is absolutely crazy with this talk of demons, vampires, shape-shifters and kurjans. Not only does she think he&rsquo;s crazy, but she has no intentions in fighting anyone, ever, even if she had any idea what superpowers he is talking about. Although Amber is probably the most exasperating woman he has ever met, Kane is convinced that the sensible thing for them to do is mate, then he would share her physic ability and be able to use it as a weapon against the demons. That fact that she can&rsquo;t see the logic behind his offer is astounding. There is no time for poetry, sonnets or ridiculously <em>love</em> in a time of war. Kane can feel that he is running out of time and Kane needs Amber&rsquo;s cooperation or her power soon if he is going to save his brother. Kane isn&rsquo;t sure what is frustrating him more, his inability to solve all the problems that his people and his allies are facing, his inability to save his brother or the tiny slip of a woman who can&rsquo;t see the logic of doing things his way. But he is right about one thing&hellip;time is running out for Jase and if they don&rsquo;t hurry there may be nothing left of Jase to save&hellip; THOUGHTS: I think I ran out of fingernails halfway through the book and started chewing on my fingers. Oh my God, poor Jase!! When is the next book? When?? I need to know what happens!! I love how Amber twists up the stoic and logical Kane. To Kane the logical thing since Amber won&rsquo;t fight and doesn&rsquo;t know how to use her powers, would be to mate with him and he would then share her abilities. He could then go save his brother. Amber wants love, especially when you re talking mating forever&hellip;forever forever&hellip;since they are nearly immortal! Surprisingly the brilliant Kane is absolutely certain that love doesn&rsquo;t exist, and he can&rsquo;t seem to make the connection between the feelings he has for his family and how he begins to feel for Amber and label it love. I will say that I was so torn up about getting to Jase, that I was distracted by the romance. &ldquo;Yeah, yeah, yeah, tell her you love her and let&rsquo;s go!!!!&rdquo; With everything going on with Jase, and Kane and Amber, we see little of Janie. But what we do see is that Janie is growing up and already getting very powerful with her abilities, and in the dream realm where they meet, the tensions between Janie, Zane and Kalin are heating up, and Zane saying &ldquo;...get ready. I&rsquo;m coming for you, Janie Belle. Soon!&rdquo; left me giddy. *he,he,he*
Anonymous 19 days ago
Wonderful+read%2C+I+enjoyed+the+characters+and+the+family+history.+looking+forward+to+reading+the+next+book.
Anonymous 10 months ago
I loved every book in this series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
vampire+and+a+vegan%2C+who+would+have+thought+of+it%3F++Zanetti++makes+unusual+pairings+work+in+a+world+that+is+at+times+dark+and+uncertain.+The+concept+of+love+and+sunshine+combating++terror+and+pain+is+well+executed+in+this+story.+I+look+forward++to+more+from+this+author.+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
wow%2C+humor%2C+steam%2C+action+what+more+can+you+ask+for...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Grateful progression of the story line emphasis on Kalen this time and rescue of a Jase. Wicked good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good book in the series .
AVoraciousReadr More than 1 year ago
*Book source ~ NetGalley War is taking its toll and Jase Kayrs is enduring more than his fair share of the brunt of it. Kane Kayrs and his brothers have not given up hope that they’ll find their youngest brother, but it’s been years since his abduction by the enemy. When they learn of Amber Freebird and her rare ability to affect demons they send Kane to bring her in. The problem is, Amber has no clue that’s she’s other than human. They must convince the vegan pacifist to fight for them. For Jase. Before all is lost. I didn’t enjoy this story as much as the others in the series. Kane comes off as much more arrogant in his story than the stories that came before and, man, for a genius, he is certainly stupid when it comes to love. Lol There are content errors, mostly with timeline, but other than these issues the story is fast, hot and exciting. Prepare to have your heart wrenched out of your chest when it comes to Jase though. That poor man has really been put through hell.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The series is so damn good I don't want it to ever need.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
gaele More than 1 year ago
AudioBook Review Stars: Overall 5 Narration 5 Story 4.5 Kane is the ‘logical brother’, tightly controlling his emotions and edge to apply logic to situations to emerge with carefully laid plans that will aid the Realm in the war. With Jase still being held by the Demons, suffering unimaginable torture, Kane has been sent out to find the most elusive of them all, a Demon Destroyer. Not quite sure that any actually exist, he has been drawn by the power signatures to a honky tonk bar. Amber is the one sending off the signals – pushing at Kane with her power, although her control and knowledge of who he is, and what she is are limited. Kane finds her attractive and intriguing, if wholly frustrating, and the two butt heads almost instantly. Kane was the least ‘present’ of the Kayrs brothers throughout the earlier books: sure he popped in, but his scientific leanings, his solid belief in logic and the hoops he’d seen his brothers jump through because of their enhanced human women leave him delightfully perplexed and give us plenty of information about how his mind works and his personality. Amber was the first female in this series that I didn’t instantly like, and found her difficult. She’s a vegan, a preachy one, and her environmental stance would have been a better point of conflict / compromise in their story had she not taken every opportunity possible to give a lecture on veganism, the environment and her beliefs. All that aside, you could see how her illogical approach intrigues Kane, and how they work toward a relationship, with Amber finally learning the depth and scope of her powers… Mixed in with Amber and Kane are moments with Jase and the tortures the Demons are inflicting – it just brings the reader deeper into the urgency that the Kayrs brothers feel, and the stakes for this war become apparent with these scenes. Further along in the story, we have been waiting for Janie’s full story, and with some lovely insets her growth and the choices between Kalin and Zane become more muddled in her head and ours. There is a certainty in this storyline- the war won’t end until Janie has her story, but the events along the way are one hell of a ride. Narration in the entire series is provided by Karen White, and I don’t think I have anything new to say…her work is terrific. Characters from earlier books that pop in here are instantly recognizable with distinct voices, delivery patterns and tiny quirks. Amber and Kane have clearly been imbued with overriding personality traits (Kane’s struggle for a logical explanation with a touch of puzzlement is wonderfully done) and emotional moments made clearer and more impactful with pauses, hesitations and tone variations. The moments that build tension are vocally presented with rushed or hushed moments, forcing the listener to sit up and pay attention – something big is happening. The dictionary would take on new meaning if White were to narrate it – she adds greatly to the don’t miss this series statement. I received an AudioBook copy of the title via Audible Communications Team for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
trshmid927 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed Jase's story - not as good as the others in this series in my opinion but still sexy!