A Rake's Vow (Cynster Series)

A Rake's Vow (Cynster Series)

by Stephanie Laurens

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Rake's Vow 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 140 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For 99 cents this book was a steal. Absolutely love the Cynster series. And this was one of the best in the series. Right in the beginning you knew it was going to be exciting and a great read. One of my favorites.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was hard to read. Very slow. I couldn't get past the second chapter. It never got any better. I like historical romance fiction, but this one was very boring.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so boring i found myself wishing it would end already. Not her best work. Lets just say i had to end my misery and move on to something else.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Just when you thought Stephanie Laurens couldn't get any better, she writes another stunning novel. Following Devil's Bride as the second book in the Bar Cynster series by Laurens, this book manages to top the first. Vane Cynster makes a mad run for it after his cousin Devil's wedding, as he refuses to be caught in the parson's mousetrap as well, but leave it to a thunderstorm to force him to take cover at his godmother's house, and introduce him to Miss Patience Debington. When Patience gets trapped in the intrigue surrounding a petty thief at the house party she's attending, things begin to look up for her and her brother Gerrard when Vane shows up and puts his investigating skills to good use. Though Patience hates the idea of getting tied to an 'elegant gentleman' for life, she finds herself falling in love with the handsome cynster. Laurens continues to amaze with her talent for writing. Hopefully she'll continue to pull off these wonderful romance novels for many years to come.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yes, that's a direct quote. The amount of disrespect the author shows to women is unbelievable. Not worth the 99¿ or the time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I should have read the reviews first then bought. It was only 99 cents so I went ahead and bought. It's long winded. I'm only half through it and find myself skipping ahead just to get somewhere. The love scenes are just to many on top of the whole mystery going on. I know its a romance novel but really.Not enough written to even begin to speculate on the who,what,where and why of the mystery at hand. I like to try to figure out who done it. It just not coming along well. I will try to finish it since i paid for it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is actually the second book in the series (Devil's Bride is the first), and I think it is better than the first. It has a better plot, both character and story-wise. I've only read the first two books in the Cynster series so far, but they both started slow, and were very hard to get interested in...then got better/interesting within the last 100-150 pages. If you don't mind this fact, then by all means - read the books. I prefer a book that is interesting and enjoyable all the way through - when I read for fun, I don't want to have to work to get into the book. But, like I said, this one is better than the first - hopefully the books get better as the series progresses.
tmommy4 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Though I liked this book, I did find Patience to be a bit annoying. On one hand she was a strong character, but on the other she was a whimp. Her constent refusal to look beneath Vane's out ward appreance just took too long to rectify. Though I did enjoy the mysteries of the thief and the Spectar, I felt it was just too drawn out. Lastly I felt the ending and the resolution of Pateience & Vane's relationship came out of the blue. I really thought I should have come alot sooner.
librarymeg on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book started out really strong for me. There's a strong male hero and a stubborn female heroine, some great tension between them, and a fun cast of secondary characters. Add in some great, steamy scenes between our couple, and you've got a really fun read. It lost a little momentum towards the end, and the happily-ever-after felt a little bit abrupt to me, but it didn't ruin my fun at all. I look forward to reading more from the Cynster series, and can recommend this one to anybody looking for a fun, romantic read. (Just don't get too invested in the background mysteries. You may be disappointed.)
itsamekatrina on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the love story, but not real crazy about the "Clue" like mystery involving the characters.
jeffersonsambrosia on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
You have to love the Cynster¿s on a purely girly level you have to. A group of strong virile males who love family and protect it at all cost? Not to mention just how handsome the whole lot of them are. But ah this all seems to play against one Vane Cynster (as in weather vane thank you very much) because right of the bat Patience labels him an ¿elegant gentleman¿ which of course he is. But in her terms this means a man who doesn¿t love and feels fit to sleep with anything he wants while keeping a wife and nursery at home. Ah but Miss Patience doesn¿t know the Cynster¿s very well now does she.The second book in the thrilling series by Stephanie Laurens A Rakes Vow kept my attention throughout. While it was not quite as exciting as the first book Devil¿s Bride, but not to worry it is wonderful. You get to follow Vane as he is leaving the dedication ceremony for the church he and his Cousins had to help re-roof thanks to Honoria. And true to his name while Vane has no plan at all to be leg shackled and seeks to get out of the storm at his Godmothers house, but fate has another idea in mind. And from the moment he seems Miss Patience Debbington, he knows fate had another idea in mind.We follow Vane as he isn¿t sure what to do about fates plan, and than his inevitable acceptance. And Patience having some issues of her own with the whole idea. All the while we have aback cast of characters, and someone who is stealing things. Now the plot with the thief and the scepter at times drama drags. But in the end it is curious and you do follow some sweeps and turns. Although I knew one person involved in it from the moment they mentioned a certain clue, (no I am not going to give it away.). Truly though bar a few small blips is fantastic. Huzzah to Stephanie Laurens and Huzzah to the Cynster men bring on the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the message of the importance of family.
Tangen More than 1 year ago
Originally published in 1998 as part of the Cynster series, but since it is set some time after the cousins served at Waterloo, and only one of them is titled, but all are filthy rich, it makes no difference. The Cynster men are all accomplished skirt chasers, elegant, well mannered, and well dressed, and are known by their nicknames rather than their given names. This one runs away after Devil's wedding, but winds up at the home of a favorite relative. There he meets the antagonistic woman who will become his undoing. She has an artistic younger brother, and they and the other houseguests become embroiled in a suspenseful hunt for a reckless thief. And the plot thickens. Don't think too hard about it all, just enjoy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A 310 page book and second of the 1800's family Cynster's series. Vane's unexpected stop at a manor because of bad weather embroils him in an attraction, thievery, ghostery, mystery, and a house of odd characters. An 1800's Clue game, anyone? Romance and several hot adult sex scenes.
camaibarb More than 1 year ago
I am not going into detail on this review as I read this entire series years ago. I saved all the books and even have them installed on my Nook. I loved the series and continue to read everything Stephanie Laurens writes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RRPNC More than 1 year ago
Great book and great series!!!  Recommend Very Highly!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BANGLEDANGLES More than 1 year ago
Vane is on his way home from his cousins,Devil,wedding when a storm causes him to stop at a childhood friends home. When he sees Patience in the garden searching for he knows not what, he knows fate has brought them together. He doesn't know how but he knows she belongs to him. All he has to do is convince patience. The second book in the Cynster series does not disapoint. Stephanie Laurens has a way with creating characters that will become a part of your favorite memories. It is enjoyable to live through the eyes of her characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once again a great read with hot romance and an intriguing mystery to keep you guessing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago