Rebel Cowboy

Rebel Cowboy

by Nicole Helm

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Rebel Cowboy 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Boring
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good story
dsubsits More than 1 year ago
Rebel Cowboy (Big Sky Cowboys #1) by Nicole Helm Nicole Helm’s Rebel Cowboy is a genuine story with real-life issues. In order to get money to keep her ranch afloat, Mel Shaw takes on a job helping NHL Star Dan Sharpe getting his Montana ranch up and running. This contemporary western/sports romance is suitable for adult audiences. Rebel Cowboy was a realistic and heartfelt novel. At times, I felt it dragged a bit, but I found it an enjoyable read. The characters are likeable. Mel is doing everything she can to keep her family's ranch running. She is dedicated and hard working. Dan is considering his life after hockey and decides to restore his grandparents' Montana ranch. He is smart. I like that he is not flashy. I like the llama. I also appreciated that he does what he feels is right for him and not what others expect him to do. The two characters have an appealing chemistry. The story has some interesting twists. Complimentary copy provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
DebsIN More than 1 year ago
It took a bit to fully develop the characters, but it was well worth the wait. Dan, the NHL star licking his wounds in Montana and Mel, the gal that is so rigid, she could break concrete is an endearing story of strife, heartbreak and rebuilding. Mel is broken and Dan is finding another life, but can they heal each other? Mel's circumstances are tragic in the scheme of things, and Dan works hard to break through. A few laughs along the way with Mel and Dan keeps the story light. I really enjoyed the story of them finding themselves and each other. A HEA that left me smiling. I appreciate the gift of this book by NetGalley and Sourcebooks and only asked that I leave an honest review. 4 Stars!
TheSassyBookster More than 1 year ago
Mel Shaw has been the backbone of her family for so long and is at the end of her rope. With a ranch that needs a lot of work and money, an undependable brother and a father that has checked out, Mel is fighting an uphill battle to keep their ranch afloat and the fee being offered for consulting with a newbie rancher might just be what she needs to do so. The only thing Dan Sharpe has always been able to commit to is hockey and after two game losses and whispers of cheating, Dan retreats to his grandparents' ranch in Montana to regroup. Completely out of his element, he hires Mel Shaw as a ranch consultant to help him get the ranch back to life but Mel does not think that a wealthy professional athlete like Dan has it in him to stick it out and their differences of opinion form the core of their abrasive interactions. I love the cover and the premise of REBEL COWBOY but it started out really slow and took a while for me to get into the story. The constant sniping between Dan and Mel didn't really help, but the story picked up steam at some point and became very engaging. Mel was very rigid and no-nonsense and while I didn't like it, it fit her circumstances. She's given up her life for the ranch and her family and locked down her emotions so tight that it would take very little to break her. Dan on the other hand, runs when things get too hard but when he's committed to a course, he's unshakable. His grandparents' ranch is important to him and he's determined to make it a success not just for his grandparents but also for himself, especially as he realizes that he loves being in Montana, he enjoys the challenge the ranch provides him and he's ready to walk away from his hockey career. How can two people who want very different things find common ground? The characters snuck up on me and grabbed my heart. Mel was really softhearted but repeated emotional hits had formed a hard shell around her heart and made her distrusting; Dan's patience was just what she needed to open up and take a chance on love again. Dan really was sweet and saw Mel very clearly. I love that he was determined to stick it out when it came to Mel and the ranch. His change from the clueless and entitled athlete to committed rancher was heartwarming and sometimes funny. REBEL COWBOY was sometimes sad and very emotional but enjoyable; with a very sweet hero, a prickly heroine, and some very funny moments. Can anyone say Llama ranch? I think this is a great start to the series and I'm looking forward to the next book. Disclaimer: I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
Anlenhart1 More than 1 year ago
Dan at 35, is a professional hockey player who knows his time as a professional is about over. When he is accused of throwing games, he decides to take a break from it all and return to his grandparents ranch in Montana. He doesn't know a lot about ranching and decides to hire Mel Shaw to teach him how to ranch successfully. Dan can't believe that Mel is a girl, and their relationship gets off to a very rocky start. Mel, on the other hand, is desperate for the job so she can dig her family's ranch out of debt. Both Dan and Mel have trouble with their families and this complicates both their personal and working relationship. They slowly become friends and then more, but will this mean a happy ending for Mel? or will Dan break her heart to return to hockey? This was a good book with a little too much drama. I liked the main characters, but wish the story was less complicated. Overall I enjoyed reading it. I was given a free copy for an honest review by netgalley.com
Pure_Jonel More than 1 year ago
Although this novel did get off to a bit of a slow start for me, by the end I was quite enjoying it. Once Helm got into the story proper it was quite the enjoyable read. She took the standard boy meets girl & they fall in love & gave it a little bit of a twist. The plot was intriguing and held my attention. Helm’s descriptions definitely brought me to the ranch, making me able to visualise it alongside the characters. I found the main characters to be somewhat unapproachable for the first while until I really got to know them. Although their actions and reactions are understandable based on their pasts and their current paths in life, having two such characters lead up a story made it hard for me to connect with someone for the first while of the tale. Once I got to know them I quite enjoyed seeing their relationship blossom. The dialogue between the main characters was definitely fun, however. Not only was it real (& sassy) but it also gave me a peek into who these two really are beneath it all. But that ends with the vocal dialogue. The perpetual inner dialogue from our heroine started to sound whiny to me after a while and made it hard for me to like her. This was a sweet tale of love found in the most unlikeliest of places. It was an intriguing introduction into this series. Please note that I received a complimentary copy of this work in exchange for an honest review.
Lashea677 More than 1 year ago
Starting over and trying something new proved to be hard work for Dan. Hockey is all he has focused on most of his life. NOW WHAT? Mel is just the distraction Dan needs. Not afraid of a little hard work Mel needs money to finance her family ranch, Dan needs help getting his running. Who knew that a fresh outlook and a little sacrifice would prove the answer to both their problems. Rebel Cowboy could be anybody's life story. The moral is to never give up trying. Well thought out story.
Sailon More than 1 year ago
Mel Shaw needed to get money fast. When offered a position as a ranch consultant to a big NHL player, she thought her prayers were answered…until she laid eyes on the sex on a stick city slicker who doesn’t know the first thing about running a ranch. Hiding from bad press and a career destroying performance in a championship NHL game, Dan returns to his grandparent’s ranch. He wants to find a place where he belongs since hockey has been his life since his parent’s divorce when he was a teen. He never expected a sexy as sin cowgirl giving him the wakeup call of his life. Fun, exciting, sexy and sweet are just a few words that come to mind to describe Rebel Cowboy. It is a sports star meets ranch hand story with lots of sexual chemistry and a spirited llama or few. If you are looking for an easy, entertaining contemporary romance Rebel Cowboy would be the a great choice. 3.5 Stars I received this ARC copy of Rebel Cowboy from SOURCEBOOKS Casablanca in exchange for a honest review.
mamalovestoread22 More than 1 year ago
Mel Shaw has poured everything she has into making sure her family ranch stays afloat, and has no intention in letting everything that her family has worked so hard to maintain slip away. But the debt is piling up and she needs to find a way to pay it off soon or they will lose it all. When an opportunity to earn a large sum of money presents itself, Mel is all to eager to take on the job, that is until she meets her new boss. He is a handsome NHL star that is looking to restore life into his families old ranch, but doesn't have the slightest clue where to begin, which is where Mel is suppose to come in... but only after few days together Mel is unsure if she can handle the task. He tests her in ways no one else has and is tempting her to stray from the straight and narrow, which has this tough cowgirl wanting to admit defeat and run... Dan is nearing the time in his career when NHL players are expected to retire, and he is looking for something to move onto after he's played his final game. His grandfather encourages him to visit the old family ranch and see if it would be something that would fit into his future plans. Dan is a little apprehensive since it is something he knows very little about, but decides to take his grandfather up on his offer and make a visit to the Montana ranch. Once he is there his belief that he is in over his head is reaffirmed, so he sets out to find someone who can help him get the ranch back into working condition, and gets the surprise of his life when "Mel" turns out to be a hardworking cowgirl. She is beautiful, bossy, keeps him on his toes and has him reconsidering his return the ice... Mel and Dan's story captivated my attention right from the start, and it was evident from the beginning that they were perfect for each other, even if Mel was a little slow to admit it. It was refreshing to read a story where the heroine could hold her own against a touch alpha male, and I was impressed to see that she managed to keep him on his toes the whole way through. The heated banter between them was not only entertaining, but also help to create quite a spicy little reading treat for me! This was definitely a memorable first read for me, and I look forward to reading future installments in the series! Highly recommend you add this one to your reading lists, it's sure to satisfy all your reading needs!! ARC requested through NetGalley, and kindly provided by Sourcebooks Casablanca in exchange for a honest and unbiased review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There's a reason this book is only $1.99.....just could not connect with the characters or even the story. Seemed very disjointed.