Creative Correction

Creative Correction

by Lisa Whelchel

Paperback

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Creative Correction 2.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 52 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down. It was the most degradable book I have ever read. I cannot believe the abuse her children go through, and she calls it creative....there is no other word for it than abuse.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I cannot believe a publishing company actually printed this much less let this lady write a book on creative correction. She just opened up about her family life and I must say that it wouldnt surprise me if her children wound up hating her when they get older. I would never punish my children the way she does. I coulnt really stand her before and now I really dont like her. My, her poor children.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This sounds like a book on how to beat a child into submision, not raise him/her into a healthy adult.
Guest More than 1 year ago
God help any children who are treated like this. Alice Miller says that what is done to us as children is played out on the national and international tables. Every single leader of the Third Reich was an abused child. Hitler was one of the most abused children of all time. I can only wonder what atrocities on humankind the children raised by methods recommended in this book will do to us all - unless they spend years healing. Certainly the author is telling us to do to children what was done to her. Tragic on every level.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Frighteningly abusive teachings. Using God and Jesus as a front for harmful and outrageous parenting. She is delusional.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is very clear that Lisa has no true authority for writing a how to book. It's also apparant that she has one too many screws loose, needs psychiatric help, in addition to a possible visit from child protective services. This book full of garbage and isn't worth a penny.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think her kids will grow to hate her...crazy parent!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I felt like i needed to be arrested just for reading such horrrible things to do to a child.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Making children do useless tricks like dogs is only going to create an angry bitter child. And making them blindly obey is going to make them victims of bad adults, including abusive teachers, babysitters, bullies, and pedophiles. Pedophiles love children who are raised to obey blindly and without question.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Disrespect for children and bad advice are rampant in this book. Following Whelchel's advice will lead to more problems with your children, especially in the long run. Read _Parenting Effectiveness Training_ instead of this time-waster.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Creative Correction' is a parenting approach that is conducive to the development of poor-quality, even dyfunctional parent-child relationships. This represents only one of the risk factors involved with these authoritarian approaches toward child-rearing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Seriously, people treat their dogs better than Lisa treats her kids. I know she thinks she's doing this out of love but this is no way to love a child. If you wouldn't treat other people this way or your beloved pet this way, then why would you treat your children this way!? We are to love our children like Christ loves us. He would have never lifted a finger to hurt a child!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wow it has been a while since anyone has posted a review for this book. I recently borrowed it from my friend and like it. You have to be open minded about things and take out of the book what works for your family. She states in the beginning of the book that not everyone is going to agree with her. I think everyone should give it a shot and open up your hearts and minds to what God would like for your children.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I truly enjoyed this book and found a lot of useful information. I loved the practical tips from the author and have used many of her ideas.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The main literary portions of Creative Correction are designed to help parents develop character in their children so that as the child grows, he/she will be able to make wise and appropriate decisions on their own. The Toolbox portions of the book give multiple ideas for helping children to develop wisdom and generally follow the natural consequences of an action (i.e. a bike left in the driveway results in loss of use of the bicycle for a period of time). Natural consequences help children prepare for the consequences they will face when they make decisions as an adult. Many of the toolbox ideas also involve positive reinforcement for good choices or appropriate behavior.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is not just the kind of book you read through once and absorb - it is an amazing tool chest of ideas to refer to over and over again. I find the index of Scriptures and the alphabetical list of issues particularly helpful when one of my children is having a particular problem. She has so many simple practical ideas that we were able to implement right away - like the interrupt rule. Now my kids know it isn't polite to tug at me and say, 'Excuse me, excuse, me' over and over again while I'm on the phone. Now they quietly put on hand on my arm or shoulder, I acknowledge them by putting my hand on theirs, and then address their question as soon as I can. Thanks, Lisa!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The author says that humiliation, violence, and name calling are not allowed in her house. Yet at the same time, she herself humiliates her children, uses violence, and calls her own children hateful names: all for the sake of blind obediance. These are not the teachings of Christ! This is not only a hypocritical author, but this book gives horrible advice on how to raise children. The stories that are told in this book are similar to the horror stories which explain how serial killers and rapists turn out to be the way they are. Children are not here to make your life easier, they are born to live and be their own people, rather than blind followers. Future readers and parents: beware! You'll get more parenting advice from 'Supernanny' on television than from this book. If I could have rated it with zero stars, I would have.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I cannot tell you what an awful book this is. If you are into torturing your children..tying their legs together, feeding them bread for dinner, spanking for any offense, soaping their mouths, this is for you. If you believe in loving your children, this is the worst possible book in print. She really makes me sick.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a terrible example of how this type of discipline undermines and creates fearful, violent children. This author has no right to publish such hateful suggestions on parenting. Don't buy it, don't read it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book is well characterized on page 138, with Whelchel barking arbitrary and nonsensical commands suitable for gulags and Baghdad prisons. This sadistic author needs intensive and immediate therapy and the book recalled before she destroys more lives. - Norm Lee, author of 'Parenting Without Punishing'.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Reads like some sort of S&M manual. People who publish such hateful methods of 'correction' under the guise of being Christian make me sick. There is nothing of Jesus' love and tolerance in this book.
perrigoue on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Dude, it's written by Blair from the "Facts of Life". Now that's cool!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To believe that all the posts written on july 11, 16 and 17, 2006 are not written by the same person with the intent of bringing the rating of the book down would be ignorant. Get a life!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book does what it says- gives ideas of creative ways to redirect and instill discipline in your children.   While many parents are rating it low, I have had this book for 8 years, and continue to pull it out when I need new ideas. If you are looking to raise well-behaved children who listen to and obey their parents, then this is a great book for you. Too often parents are not willing be parents- they want to be their child's friend.  As a teacher, parents often tell me they are afraid of their child getting mad at them if they punish them.  And too many children these days have no respect for rules as is.  Her methods work, my children are well behaved, and we have a lot of love for each other. What I like best about this book is that the punishment fits the crime, which is important.
redcntry88 More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book. It's full of good tips, ideas & bible verses. I like how the Tool Box is broken down by subject and the bible verse or suggestion that goes along with it. It's easy to look up a subject ie: disrespect and see what you need without having to go thru the entire book. Most of the suggestions are pretty good. There are some that I thought were not good ie: putting hot sauce on a child's tougue. Other than that it's a very good discipline book for parents who are at their wits end.