The River Between

The River Between

by Jacquelyn Cook

Paperback

$10.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The River Between 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 51 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the story... quite a short novel though... Hopefully the second one is a bit longer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the fresh idea of a southern belle and riverboat captain overcoming society and familial prejudice (Lily's family thinking captain Wingate is "beneath" them on the social ladder ). However, the author draws out the description of places and events way too much. I found myself skipping many paragraphs because the architecture of 3 or more planations became tidious. Also, there were moments when the scenes weren't consise: Lily wails like a child, but is suppose to be an adult and comes across as a brat which makes it hard to engage with her character. Overall, I am glad I received this as a free book because I would not recommend buying it.
AAR More than 1 year ago
THE RIVER BETWEEN by Jacquelyn Cook is an Inspirational Historical Romance set in 1858 Eufaula, Alabama. It is the first in the four book The River Series. It is an updated editon of the anthology titled Magnolias. It is well written with depth and detail. It has romance, family,true love, christian values, and faith. It is set in the pre-civil war era. It is a wonderful sweet story about growing up with Christian values, honoring your parents and becoming true to yourself, believing in your faith. The characters are charming, easy to give your heart too their plight. The hero is honorable and has true Christian faith. The heroine is also honorable with Christian faith and tries to abide by her parents wishes, but realizes she should follow her heart and God's plan for her life. This is a wonderful, delightful story. It is fast paced with twists and turns and a page turner. It is a quick read. I would recommend this story if you enjoy a really sweet romance with a happy ending. This book was received for review and details can be found at Belle Books and My Book Addiction and More.
Anonymous 1 days ago
Nice story of a riverboat captain and a young girl, that fall in love , but a family member, and a jealous friend could lead to disaster!
Anonymous 9 months ago
So full of life and love. I enjoyed it so much.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Read it!
Anonymous 11 months ago
Loved the emphasis on faith & trust in our all knowing Heavenly Father. A very enjoyable story.
Anonymous 12 months ago
The storyline is superb. I love the early period and setting. it held myattention.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I truly enjoyed this book and look forward to the rest of the series.
zeah on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I received the ebook version of this story about a year ago and read it shortly after.Now, I like historical romance, preferably where the historical stuff is well-researched, interesting and relevant to the plot - think Diana Gabaldon. I enjoyed the book and would be interested to read the second one, but wouldn't go out of my way to find it.Overall, it is fairly standard historical romance: girl, slightly unsuitable man, disapproving family of girl etc. I did find the explorations of the faith of the main character interesting. The faith dimension - in particular the large part that church and religion played in people's lives - is often neglected, but this was well done.Three stars - passed the time nicely, some interesting parts, but it won't change the world.
sitnknitn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I found this to be a lovely read. The language is simply, but beautifully written. THE RIVER BETWEEN, a work of romantic historical fiction, takes place shortly before the Civil War, and tells the story of a young woman of marriageable age having to work through the dilemma of respecting the wishes of her parents or following her heart. Ms. Cook's descriptions are wonderfully drawn, bringing the reader fully into the period and the place. The book is a quick read, with some religious feeling, and very entertaining.
GrazianoRonca on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Uhmmmm! Uhmmmm! This is the sound between the banks, it¿s the steamboat¿s whistle. Restart the engine steam and the wheel turns: The River Between by Jacquelyn Cook describes Eufala, a port town in the East Alabama during the nineteenth century (1850). This book was first published in 1985, and the main themes are romance and history. Lily falls in love with a steamboat captain, but, as always in love affairs, she¿s facing a lot of rules such as parental authority and social rank.The River Between starts very slowly maybe the river¿s flow is contrary, and becomes more interesting around page 75 when Cook tells the duel of the two Lily¿s lovers. After that, the story and the characters become more interesting, so less plain. This book falls under the genre Historical Romance, after reading this book I understand that this is not my favourite one.
TizzzieLish on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Book 1 River series ¿ The River Between by Jacqueline Cook. The story is set in southern upper class society just pre-civil war. This is an era that usually does not appeal to me ¿ too much focus on clothes and seemingly petty society rules. But I did enjoy this book ¿ the history of the period has been well researched, and the book is well written. The heroine, Lily, shows interest in life beyond the balls and parties and dresses. She is faced with two suitors: Green and Harrison. Her family pushes her to marry Green, but they totally disapprove of Harrison, who is the one she is deeply attracted to. She must decide if she will obey her parent¿s dictates, or follow her own heart. If she decides not to marry Green, how can she do so in a way that honors her parents and does not create a rift with them. As the story progresses she grows in maturity and deepens in her spirituality.
Joylene on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The River Between tells the tale of a christian girl who is trying to both keep her parents happy, by marrying their choice of partner for her, and chosing her partner for herself while remaining true to her beliefs and values. A book that is admittedly not racy or raunchy but a reflection of a gentle love based on christian principles.
Shoosty on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A simple story about Lily falling in love with Harrison, although her parents want her to marry Greene.A historical story that has a predictable outcome.An easy read if one enjoys short Christian love stories.
afterthought on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An enjoyable read seeing that I am a fan of historical settings where a steamer boat was once considered modern luxury. Very detailed and thorough explanations on the era, the buildings, the clothing, the culture. Made me longed to see them with my own eyes and experience the life of walking amongst gardens of lovely blooms myself. The love story was nothing too exciting, pretty predictable in fact. Nonetheless wouldn't mind to read the rest of the River Series books.One funny thing though, the proofreader somehow missed out a typo in the acknowledgment section even though the book was published in 1985. I'm sure that unintended "word" would have been unspeakable during the era ;)
billyburgess on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The River BetweenBY: Jacquelyn CookPUBLISHED BY: Belle Bridge BooksPUBLISHED IN: 1985ISBN: 978-0-9843256-0-3Pages: 166Reviewed by Billy BurgessSet in Georgia in the year1859, Lily Edwards is awaiting the arrival of her cousin, Green Bethune. She will wed him through an arrange marriage. At least that is what her family has planned. Lily meets Harrison Wingate, a captain of a steamboat. Sparks fly between the two. When he leaves the shore for the river, he sends her letters. Now Lily must choose between her cousin and the captain.This is my first review through the LibraryThing Early Reviewers. ¿The River Between¿ is a simple love story with a Christian edge to it. The book is well-written, the historical scenes are great. I recommend this book to fans of romance novels.
VivianeoftheLake on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Unfortunately my first ever early reviewers book was a bit of a let down.The historical descriptions and accuracy were very good. They gave a fresh insight into a time and a subject that have been amply discussed in fiction.However the love story was a bit blah. Nothing very extraordinary between the characters. The character development could have been better.Though their spiritual journey was moving and believable.All in all it was a enjoyable book, but clearly for those who really like the genre.
historywitch on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An historical romance set in 1830's America. Extremely predictable with all problems resolved with little drama, challenge or tension. I sped through it and didnt feel engaged with any of the characters who were pretty but made of cardboard. The setting which could have made up for the lack of story was not interesting or well described and I found little to interest me. I am a regular reader of romances but this one was a little too clean and christian for me. I was very disappointed.
mutedtempest on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a light and fluffy romance in spite of what were intended to be several great personal conflicts for the characters, quite predictable plot-wise. While the author obviously researched the time period, going so far as to insert various trivia pieces late in the book, she seems to have spent less time developing her characters and the plotlines than she did researching the South in the mid-1800s.The story seemed to plod along, with not much happening from the characters. The protagonist is obviously conflicted by her feelings for Harrison and her attempts to like Green in order to please her parents, but she doesn't do much about it aside from sobbing and praying. While that may have been accurate for the time period, to a modern reader it seems a bit lacking, even for a historical romance novel.I wasn't fond of the overly heavy Christian messages in the book, but I suppose it might be quite appealing to the more religious readers. Not really my style of novel but it wasn't awful. Sadly it just wasn't really my thing. A good attempt by the author but the vastly predictable nature of the story left me feeling pretty unsatisfied.
bratlaw on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a sweet innocent story about an eighteen year old girl, Lily Edwards, forced to become an adult and marry a man of her parents choosing. I feel sorry for Lily because she wants to obey her parents but she is so desperately unhappy. This story is set before the Civil War and it reminds me of Gone With The Wind except it has more of a religious aspect. Lily has a very strong faith in God and when she's unhappy she turns to God for comfort.
foggidawn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Southern belle Lily Edwards is torn between her family's plans for her life and her love for a dashing steamboat captain. This fairly predictable plot would be fine for a romance novel if the writing and characterization were strong. Unfortunately, in this case, they are not. The author is overfond of adjectives and purple prose -- stripped down, this would have made a 50-page novella. The author has obviously done her homework researching the setting, but her skill at inserting those bits of trivia she has unearthed is lacking, and the trivia draws attention to itself and away from the story. The characterization is inconsistent, and readers are told, not shown, what the characters are thinking and feeling. The result is overblown reactions, with the female lead either laughing or weeping every few minutes (sometimes both within the space of a few sentences). Readers who do not care for inspirational romance will also be put off by the preachy tone of several sections of the book, especially when a sentiment embraced by the main character feels inconsistent with the period and setting of the novel. On the other hand, readers of inspirational romance who know their Bible stories may find themselves questioning some of the creative interpretations that the main character takes with her scriptures. All of these factors combined make me hesitant to recommend this book, even to hardcore fans of the genre.
RedBowlingBallRuth on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a book of many firsts for me: first ER-book, first e-book and first christian fiction book. Very exciting!Lily is quickly reaching the age when she should find herself a good husband and settle down. A wealthy husband from the same class as her (or higher!), naturally. Speaking of which, her family has found her the perfect beau: her cousin Green. However, Green is not the man Lily wants. The River Between is the classic tale of sensibilty versus love; obeying your parents versus following your heart; doing what you've been taught by your christian upbringing versus rebellion.The biggest issue I had with this novel was the main character, Lily. I couldn't relate to her and I didn't really like her. I thought she was really immature and childish; always flipping between being super whiney and an then suddenly deciding that she's an "adult". Naturally this took away from my enjoyment of the book. I also thought she was too meek and docile, not the strong female characters I like to read about.In addition I couldn't relate to her religious belief, especially statements such as that when looking for a husband to share her life with "Most of all he must share my faith in God". Also the view of marriage and love in this novel is not one that I, personally, feel totally comfortable with: "For love to last in a marriage, it should be based on both partner's love of God." The religious aspect of the book didn't really bother me; it wasn't the main focus and it wasn't preachy - it did however make it harder for me to relate and engrosse myself in the story told. Overall, a cute and fluffy piece of romantic historical-fiction, despite it being a tad too predictable. Nice for those days you're stressed or feeling a bit blue.
jsprenger on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a quick, light read. If you are a fan of historical novels, this book will leave you wanting more details of Alabama in the mid-1800's. The book got off to a slow start, and a lot of time was devoted to Lily's struggles in trying to please her parents, rather than following her heart. The plot is predictable, and has no surprises. Overall, this book was just O.K.
polarmath on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book. It was a nice quick read and gave insight to the social practices of the day. I was glad to see how some of the characters were able to see people for themselves instead of what they had.