Romeo and Juliet

Romeo and Juliet

NOOK Book(eBook)

$5.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Romeo and Juliet (Folger Shakespeare Library Series) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 143 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My class at school just finished a quarter unit on this book/play. Like everyone in my class ended up loving it, although when I first saw it on the syllabus, I groaned and thought "Great, we have to read Romeo and Juliet." I liked it especially the quick, sarcastic and witty dialouge, and paraphrasing. You have to be good at that in order to read this, or NONE of it will make sense at ALL. We also watched the 1968 movie version (don't watch the new one-it's awful). My favorite character in the play was Mercutio!!! he was funny.
MMLovejoy More than 1 year ago
As an experienced high school English teacher, I always advise my students and their parents to purchase a Folger's edition of Shakespeare's plays. The notes, summaries, and other commentary serve the novice Shakespearean reader well and make the classical allusions and denotations of unfamiliar and common words and phrases from the Elizabethan age much easier for 21st Century readers to understand.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was asked to play Juliet in a movie for my friend's English project and my crush played Romeo! It was a dream come true. We got to hold hands and hug multiple times!!!
fufuakaspeechless on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Shakespeare has a nice writing style, but Romeo and Juliet were really stupid, so I'm feeling this was just okay. It wasn't true love as much as it was infatuation.
Literate.Ninja on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Easily one of my least favorite of The Bard's works. Reading this in high school very nearly put me off Shakespeare for good. One of the first books I ever remember reading that made me want to smack both main characters upside the head and ask them "What the heck are you thinking?!"
the_awesome_opossum on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It makes for a more interesting read if you choose to interpret it as a Trainwreck, instead of a love story against which all others should be measured. If ~anyone~ in the entire play had enough sense to tell them "Hey, slow down, you knew each other for under a day when you decided to get married, let's just be rational," things wouldn't have turned out as they did. Shakespeare's very very impressive in how lifelike his characters are, and how engaging his plays are (compared to many other dull dull plays of the time), but...Romeo and Juliet really pushes the boundaries of credibility for me
rinny on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Romeo and Juliet is a huge tragedy. It is a good romance novel though. I liked reading it because I was able to understand all of those classic lines used in the novel. like romeo oh romeo where for out thou romeo.
CynDaVaz on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I am not a Shakespeare fan. I have never gotten why people think his writing is so great. I'm just not cut out for this kind of reading. I hate it, I really do. Being forced to read him in high school had a lot to do with creating this extreme dislike I have for almost all of his work.
raphaelmatto on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fantastic how much can be lost at a young age when actions are driven by obsession.
MissLizzy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I read this fall semester of my freshman year of high school, and have loved it ever since--it remains one of my most favorite books/plays.
06nwingert on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Underage, star-crossed lovers, gangs and drugs. What more can you ask for? I read Romeo and Juliet as an 11-year-old and fell in love with the aforementioned themes.
paradox98 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I believed this play to be seriously overrated-- and then I read it. LOL. A beautiful piece of literature that truly encaptures what it is to be a "star-crossed lover."
es135 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is proof that Shakespeare plays should be experienced not read. As a piece of literature, this does not work. As a drama, this is exceptional. Conclusion...watch the movie.
Borg-mx5 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The classic play. Some of the finest dialogue in the English language. This is a student edition with additional materials and illustrations.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Do not buy the hard cover edition. I was shocked at the terrible quality of this book. It's very small, and feels weightless. It has a cheap cardboard cover, and the worst quality paper I've ever seen in a book sold in America. The high price makes this quality a disgrace. In terms of content, the contextual notes are not as helpful as other editions available. I returned this book in exchange for a much better edition from Penguin books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare is a romantic and tragic story. The story is very emotional and intriguing. It takes place in Verona, Italy where two families the Montague's and Capulet's have a big feud against each other. The story begins as one of the main character Romeo from the Montague family is sad because he loves a girl but she doesn’t love him. After a short time he quickly falls in love with Juliet from the Capulet family. Romeo and Juliet end up getting married secretly. The two families feud escalates as the story goes on. Romeo is banished from Verona due to him killing a Capulet. Juliet becomes very unhappy with her family and goes to friar Lawrence, the priest, for help. They devise a plan to get Juliet and romeo back together. Romeo was suppose to receive a letter from the Friar, but didn't receive it. This causes a tragic event to occur. In the end tragedy to both families end up breaking the feud.
Tallkid More than 1 year ago
The book “Romeo and Juliet” by Shakespeare is a romantic and tragic story, it is when two lovers fall in love in first sight. The only bad thing is that they can’t be together since their families the Capulets and Montagues are in a blood feud which states that they can’t be together. The boy Romeo is a Montague and the girl Juliet is a Capulet. So throughout the book Romeo wants to marry Juliet but bad things went out of hand after. A guy which is a Capulet named Paris wants to marry Juliet but she denies him but she has to. So her and a man that she knows made a plan she won’t marry Paris, and try to marry Romeo but things went completely wrong after. Reading this book will show some emotion to love and will lead to tears at the end. So I would recommend this book.
jc149 More than 1 year ago
“Romeo and Juliet” written by Shakespeare is a very romantic adventurous tragedy which will take you on an adventure and leave you with tears. The main characters Romeo and Juliet are lovers but their families have a big feud with each other and don’t get along. Romeo is a teen with a vibrant attitude but is very fragile when it comes to love. Juliet is a woman who is forced to get married to someone she doesn’t like but tries to find love and a husband in Romeo. The two families the Montagues were Romeo is from and the Capulets were Juliet is from are enemies and have had a long lasting feud for all the time they could remember. Romeo and his Juliet must find a way to keep their relationship a secret from their families so no punishment will come to them and they must find a way to bring peace to their families. Thus this is the plot of Romeo and Juliet. This book is very appealing if you’re in a relationship with someone your family doesn’t approve and this will also appeal to you if you have someone you loved taken away from you. This will give more emotion to your sad side and your peaceful side.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love it and am reading it in english. My english teacher gave us all parts and we are over doing it especially Dustin who got Mercutio.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
it was helpful to my assignment thank you very much and thank you for the information for the author of this article thank you also
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago