Sacred Treason

Sacred Treason

by James Forrester

Paperback

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sacred Treason 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 207 reviews.
jrcrawdad More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this right from the start. I love a good book that gives you a look at what life was like in the past through the thoughts and actions of the characters. The suspense was constant and the characters very believable, no over the top heros, just normal people caught up in goverment intrigue. I would highly recommend this fun ride through ancient England.
TurningThePagesBlog More than 1 year ago
Sacred Treason was one of those novels that took me completely by surprise. I was blown away by how much I enjoyed this book and I really have to thank the publicist who contacted me offering me a spot on this books tour. This book had everything I wanted. I haven't read many historical mysteries especially not ones set in Tudor England so this one was a real treat for me. I can honestly say that I've never read a book like it and I'm super excited that I had the opportunity to read this. I really enjoyed the sense of adventure in this novel as Clarenceux solved the mystery behind the mysterious book that his friend Henry gave him. It was a non-stop ride for me and I found myself staying up late last night just to finish it because I couldn't help but want to see what would happen next. The writing was seemless and addictive each chapter left me wanting to find out more and more and I very much enjoyed the characters that James Forrester created in his fictional debut. I have to say that Clarenceux is one of my new favourite characters now because he himself was just as intriguing as the mystery surround the book in his possession. The way the book was set up was very much in the way of an adventure novel. I loved the historical details that were paid attention to and the descriptions of the times, the places and the people were wonderfully done. I loved the tension between Clareneux and his wicked counterparts who were up to no good it was thrilling to see how the whole novel played out and I'm glad I had a chance to read it. I really think that the author's historical background was a real asset to him in writing this novel. He's an author of non fiction titles under his real name Ian Mortimer which gives him that extra edge to pen this series. Like I said before I'm not really familiar with the historical mystery genre Sacred Treason has really sparked an interest in me to explore other books that are part of the genre and there's nothing I like more than to be introduced to a new genre so you can expect to see more reviews of books like this in the future. Since I am a fan of both historical fiction as well as mystery novels this bridge between both genres worked out well for me. I highly recommend this book to those who are fans of historical fiction and historical mysteries. If you love books set in Tudor England than I think this book might just be up your alley but if you're anything like me you may find yourself up to all hours of the night reading it. I for one am eagerly anticipating reading the other two books in this series and I'm hoping to do so soon. * I received a free copy of this book from the published via NetGalley in exchange for my free and honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own and I was not compensated in any way.
TudorTemper More than 1 year ago
As a fan of the CJ Sansom Shardlake series, I absolutely recommend this rip-roaring ride through Elizabethan England. Those familiar with Tudor history will recognize key players Cecil and Walsingham, and the sectarian strife that ruled 16th century England.  Forrester (Mortimer) does a masterful job showcasing the day-to-day life for every level of society in London of that time - what they ate, what they wore, how they lived. I can't wait for his "A Time Traveler's Guide to Elizabethan England" is published, as well, I believe in May. Really great new character and Forrester nails the era perfectly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A well written story. I liked that the author got to the point of things without a lot of unecessary language and detail. Also I was drawn into the story and the more I read the more I wanted to know how the story would end. Good strong characters and easy to read flowing sentences. Great imagination by this writer. Five stars, well deserved.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is worth reading. Dr. Ian Mortimer, writing as James Forrester, has written a well-researched thriller that holds the interest with personalities and locations from 1563. It has intrigue, swordplay, and strong men and women fighting for their cause. I am very impressed with his detailed descriptions of the writings, the manuscripts, and the London of those times. I am not an expert, but I read voraciously, and this has some of the best writing skills that I have seen lately. It was not too long, not too short, and complete in itself, even though I understand it to be first in a trilogy. Read the author's notes at the end for interesting historical background.
CheckRaise01 More than 1 year ago
It is a great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First let me say I am Catholic and I don't see why others would have a problem with this novel. I did not, perhaps because my Catholic University where I received my Bachelor's taught me to think for myself. I enjoyed this story immensely. It was intriguing and kept a good pace. I ended up reading it in two days as I HAD to find out how it ended. Anyone that enjoys novels dealing with the history of England's royals through the ages will delight in this tale set during the reign of Elizabeth the Virgin Queen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters are very well developed - even the ones that you want to hate. I loved the story line - following the clues reminded me a bit of the DaVinci Code, but the twists and turns of the story kept me interested!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this book which was a free Friday selection. It is well written and filled with interesting characters. There is good action. While the story does continue in his next book, I like the fact that the story is complete and you don't have to read the next book to get closure with book one. If you enjoy historical fiction, i would recommend this book. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because I don't have a burning desire to follow the story any further beyond book one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the bits of history and the fast pace
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I was finally able to get into the story, it was interesting. The final message I got from it is something I agree with. You'll have to read it to find out what the message is and if you agree with it or not. Enjoy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. I felt the author did a great job of mixing historical events with fiction. Im Catholic and I dont understand how this offensive to others to interfere with their assessment of the book. Leave the religion out of it...the time that the author wrote about was a very dangerous time spiritually and politically. He did a good job of portraying it. Well done and i enjoyed it more that it was free! Thanks B and N!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book...it kept me very interested and guessing. I love historical fictions and will look for more books by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Intrigue, honor, duty, characters to love and hate, a mystery chronicle, knights of the round table and so much more. Get this book, i was not disappointed.
Hypatia1 More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent book - I am looking forward to the sequel. It made me think and had vivid descriptions that made the history come to life. I dont understand how people think it is anti-catholic - some of the most sympathetic characters are catholic. The book depicts a time of turmoil without taking a clear side. I appreciate that.
Anonymous 15 days ago
This+historical+novel+shows+once+again+that+their+have+always+been+political+rivalries.+Fron+our+perspective%2C+it+seems+like+a+tempest+in+a+teapot%2C+but+it+was+no+joke+to+those+involved.+Good+portraya%3B+of+so+much+destruction+caused+by+baseless+suspicions.+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a book I could sink my eyes into from the start!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago