Say Good Night to Insomnia: The Six-Week, Drug-Free Program Developed At Harvard Medical School

Say Good Night to Insomnia: The Six-Week, Drug-Free Program Developed At Harvard Medical School

Paperback(Revised)

$17.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, May 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Say Good Night to Insomnia 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
gramellie More than 1 year ago
The book Say Good Night to Insomnia has many excellent suggestions. It does not, however, work well as a Nook book. There are a number of diaries and worksheets that require filling out and this is not possible with the Nook. I have had to borrow a copy of the book from the library and either make copies on a copier or type them on my computer and run off multiple copies. It is very inconvenient.
barb-57 More than 1 year ago
I have been an insomniac for a very long time. I have been on Ambien for 8 years. I found the book to be life changing. I attend a sleep study service. I sleep with a c-pap machine,. does nothing for me. My internist wanted me to "try" to get off Ambien, and four months ago asked if I would start thinking about it. At my sleep study appointment this book was recommended by the nurse practioner. I use a nook so I declined buying the book from her for $13.99 and bought from BN for $9.99. The truth found in this book has brought this 64 year old woman to a drug free sleep. I found the book to be a bit redundent but maybe I needed to hear the details over & over. I am still working on the program but just the facts helped me get off the medicine I was afraid of with GOOD reason. I am not jumping into bed and fast a sleep but I am thinking different about sleep. It is ok to sleep 4 hours...my brain doesn't have to feel like its gone. I can smell clean air and walk a little. Ya gotta read it!!!! (and say no to sleep drugs)
jeanie195 More than 1 year ago
Was recommended by the sleep clinic intake nurse. Has a history of sleep studies and their data and then gives weekly lessons to follow. I wanted to get off sleeping pills and this helped me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ConservativeSocialWorker More than 1 year ago
The information presented is clear and to the point; each chapter builds upon information previously presented without being redundant. Tools for application are easy to use, with step-by-step instruction in how to apply concepts and use the recommended journaling for tracking of progress. Problem solving concepts are easily understood, research based and well referenced for both the casual and professional reader. Utilization is simple, and the book may be read in sections as the ideas are implemented, or in full before applying techniques. The book is useful for the professional looking for concepts to help with clients, as well as an easily used tool for use by the reader.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I know I can't say enough about this book. I have not finished it yet, but have gained so much insight from it already. This book is extremely informative, enjoyable to read, and very motivating. It is very easy to understand and to follow the program. I believe this book can & will help anyone who reads it, and puts it into practice. I know it has already helped me immensely!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The methods used in the book are all based on solid science and practices proved over a ten year period. The methods are holistic. You will not only sleep better, but you will be a healthier and happier person. I agree with the others that the tone of the book in the first few chapters can be improved, but the book is good enough that it is worth tolerating.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm a terrible insomniac who has slept well for three weeks since reading this book. If you have insomnia, this book is nothing short of a miracle. That said, brace yourself for the most annoying Self Help tone ever. Keep reminding yourself that the author is a serious researcher and that his methods do work, in spite of the 'quack' tone of the prose. It's a shame he put this slick gloss on otherwise creditable information. A February 2005 article in Slate explained the success of this method, in contrast to the new sleeping pills available. Read this article to remind yourself why you're reading the book, then read the book.
CriticalAnalysis1 More than 1 year ago
It's a dreadful book, full of acronyms with no key and no index.
DJ928 More than 1 year ago
I was extremely excited about reading this book after the reviews I read on this website. I agree with the critique that it is very repetitive. I had to skim several areas that were just repeating over and over again what had been previously stated. I took one reviewer's advice about skipping the chapter about sleeping pills, because I don't use them. The techniques sound like they would work, but a lot of what is suggested in this book seems to only apply to people who work normal hours and sleep at night. There is a very short section at the end about shift work, but there is nothing helpful there. The problem is that I (like many shift workers) have to switch to normal sleeping hours on my days off to spend time with my family. However, I did try the techniques in the book designed to reduce the stress of worrying about not getting sleep, getting out of bed when sleeping isn't happening, etc. They did not work for me. I tried to reach the author to see if he had any more recommendations for people with shift work, since such people have some of the highest numbers of insomniacs. I was directed to a program he founded called cbtforinsomnia. I contacted them for help with a detailed account of my insomnia problem, and the short response I got was "The book is for insomnia, not shift work, as is our website. Good luck." Considering the fact that this book and his program is not addressing people who have some of the highest rates of insomnia, and that this book did not help me with my insomnia, I gave a low rating. I would have given it one star, but I appreciate the effort that was put into this book, and if I was able to try to sleep at night every night, perhaps his plan would have worked better for me. For people who are forced to work shift work, I recommend looking at other options.