Scandal in Spades

Scandal in Spades

by Wendy LaCapra

Paperback

$16.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 26

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Scandal in Spades 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous 11 months ago
a+great+story++own+I+need+the+other+thre%C3%A8
Anonymous 11 months ago
I appreciate a good romance without dark intrigue. This was just that. and enjoyable. I will be looking for more from this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
good+book+to+read
Splashesintobooks1 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this brilliant historical romance with its great characters, plenty of intrigue and well developed story line. It is one of those stories that I really didn’t want anyone or anything to interrupt me reading. With a hero determined to ensure the rightful heir to the properties he inherited has them, the Marquess of Bromton tries to manipulate things, only to discover that he’s the one being manipulated! Lady Katherine is a delightful heroine, someone wrongly maligned by the Ton as the least marriageable lady in all of England. She’s wary of the Marquess and his attentions but the attraction between them just keeps on growing! Can they resist each other? What will happen when she discovers his motivations? With family secrets, manipulating siblings, surprises and so much more this is an engaging and highly entertaining read which I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending to anyone who enjoys this genre. I’ll definitely jump at any chance to read any future works by this exceptionally talented author! I requested and was lucky enough to be given a copy of this novel, via NetGalley, with no obligation. This is my honest review of the book after choosing to read it.
Suze-Lavender More than 1 year ago
Giles, the Marquess of Bromton, has discovered he's actually a bastard. He feels he has no right to carry the title and wants his estate to go to the rightful heir. He's come up with a plan, he will lose everything he owns in a card game to the earl of Markham, the man with the right bloodline, so his debt will be paid. However, the earl has a different plan. He doesn't accept Giles's loss because he cheated. Instead the earl has something to offer, his sister. Lady Katherine is the least marriageable lady in England. If they marry Giles will have a rightful heir and he can keep his position and possessions. Will this plan actually work? Katherine has retreated from society because of her reputation. Scandal is attached to her name and she's being ridiculed because of it. When her brother brings home a friend Katherine's suspicious. However, when she meets Giles there's a strong attraction. Giles doesn't hide his intentions, but why would the Marquess want to marry Katherine after everything that's been said about her? They have a connection and seem to be a perfect match, but what will happen once the truth about the card game comes to light? Scandal in Spades is a wonderful romantic story. Katherine has a fiery personality. She's intelligent, outspoken and brave. I loved that she doesn't let anyone mess with her. She doesn't trust Giles and the clever way she tries to discover what he's really like made me smile quite a few times. She doesn't know about Giles's feelings of inadequacy, his struggle with his honor and his constant heartache caused by his childhood. Giles has quite a few secrets, which isn't a good way to start a relationship, but makes fascinating reading. I couldn't turn the pages quickly enough to find out how the story would progress and read Scandal in Spades in one sitting. Wendy LaCapra has a warm and welcoming writing style. Her main characters have plenty of flaws and that was exactly what I liked about them. Their adventures are all entertaining and there are plenty of fabulous fascinating misunderstandings and quarrels. I liked the constant tension between the main characters, they certainly don't give in easily. There's so much that hasn't been said and it was interesting to see what would happen when it would all come to the surface. Scandal in Spades is a terrific charming, sparkling and amusing story.
Lillian Maddocks-Cummings More than 1 year ago
Will you find the happiness that you deserve? Katherine knows that she will never be anyone's wife she has already been so close twice but it has always been out of her reach. And so when her brother Markham brings a friend home she just knows what is going to happen. It will turn out like every other time she will be looked down at because of her past and she knows that this time she will make sure that her to be suitor is sent packing as soon as possible. Bromton knows that he has no choice but to find a bride from the Langley lineage as that is the only way to say his line so he will go along with Markham and see what happens with his sister. He is taken with Katherine from the beginning and he tries to put all his fears away but he knows that he can't be honest with her about his parentage. Katherine can't believe that he wants to marry her and that he doesn't care about her past. But will they get their chance or will secrets tear them apart? Can Bromton put his pride aside and just accept that he is the right man for her and that nothing matters except being a good husband? Will Katherine be able to forgive him? A good read. They make the perfect couple they are were they both belong. I was lucky enough to receive a copy via Netgalley & the publishing house in exchange for my honest review.
DebDiem More than 1 year ago
Scandal in Spades by Wendy LaCapra is an outstanding historical romance. Ms. LaCapra has given us a book that is well-written and packed with amazing, lovable characters. I especially enjoyed the characters in this book. This is a fairly short read, perfect for those with limited reading time. Giles has a trifecta of titles behind his name, but they don't mean much when you've learned you're a bastard. Katherine was the key to his dilemma. Their story is packed with drama, humor, sizzle and a dash of angst. I loved this story from cover to cover and look forward to reading more from Wendy LaCapra in the future. Scandal in Spades is part of the Lords of Chance Series but can be read as a standalone. This is a complete book, not a cliff-hanger. I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
georgia1 More than 1 year ago
Spellbinding, Heart pounding, Entrancing. There are so many great thoughts I want to say about this book. It gripped my heart from the beginning and did not let go until the end. LaCapra's well drawn characters came to life to the point I could feel their emotions. This is one of my favorite tropes of the emotionally wounded hero and heroine who become healed by love. Giles, the Marquess of Bromton, finds out he is a bastard after his "fathers" death, but all his life had been harshly groomed for his position. He and his mother are estranged after she tells him the truth and he feels he does not deserve to be the heir. He and three of his friends have named themselves after the cards of Spades, Hearts, Diamonds and Clubs and have formed a bond. Giles finds One of his friends Markam aka Hearts is a distant relative, and he devises a scheme to lose his property to him, a rightful heir. But as life does not always go as planned, Giles ends up agreeing to court and hopefully marry Markam's spinster sister Katherine, who is deemed "the most unmarriageable maiden in England". This is where the story begins to have many twist and turns and very strong emotions. As they meet, Katherine feels she is not worthy of anyone and will never find true happiness in a marriage. But fate has a possibly different plan. This story made my romantic heart beat faster as the story unfolded and I became invested in Giles and Katherine. Great secondary characters, that I cannot wait to see in future stories blended with suspense and closely held secrets held me captive to the end. Well done Wendy LaCapra!! Lori Dykes
KriisGaia More than 1 year ago
The Marquess of Bromton, Giles “Spades” Langley, is living a lie. In Scandal In Spadeshe discovers his father, the late Marquess, is not really his father and sets out to make things right. Discovering that his friend Lord Markham would have actually inherited had Giles not been born, he arranges a card game and cheats to lose. He figures that he can give all of the unentailed properties to Markham, and in this way maybe it will assuage his guilt. Markham seems to know that the card game was fixed and convinces Giles to marry his sister. Realizing that any offspring from a union between himself and Markham’s sister would then make the Langley line legitimate again, Bromton agrees. Lady Katherine was deemed “the most unmarriageable lady in the kingdom” by none other than Beau Brummel himself. She lost her first fiancé to illness, and her second fiancé to his mistress, when he fled to the Indies following a duel over the mistress’ honor. That attempt at wit from Brummel cost her everything. Following the quip and the lurid speculation surrounding her second fiancé’s scandal, she has now removed herself entirely from society. When Giles comes to court her, she does not understand why the Marquess is interested. She is afraid that he is there to make fun at her expense. But once he starts turning on the charm she quickly realizes she has lost. Excellent Characters Enjoyably Written In the Regency era, a reputation could be lost with a quip which is exactly what happens to Lady Katherine. I enjoyed how the author portrayed her character as someone strong enough to move on from such a devastating blow. Even though his secret is not publicly known, I could feel the shame Giles felt. I feel the author did an excellent job in truly bringing these characters to life. If you like a good steamy romance then this is definitely a book for you. I will be on the lookout for more from Wendy LaCapra. Reviewed for LnkToMi iRead in response to a complimentary copy of the book provided by the publisher in hopes of an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Emotional+rollercoaster+at+times%2C+this+novel+offers+all+you+look+for+in+a+Regency+Romance+with+the+possible+exception+of+frequent+balls.+A+tangled+web+of+suspicion%2C++love+and+anger+that+keeps+you+turning+the+pages.++Giles%2FSpade%2C+the+Marquess+realises+he+is+a+bastard+technically+and+seeks+to+restore+the+true+bloodline+to+his+holding.+The+sister+of+the+Earl+of+Markham%2F+Hearts%2C+Katherine+is+distantly+related+and+therefore+a+child+of+their+union+would+bear+the+true+bloodline+and+restore+the++Marquesset.+So+Giles+reasons+but+without+revealing+his+motives+or+others+feelings+%2Che+puts+his+plan+in+action.+++Katherine+has+been+labeled+%22+the+least+marriageable+maiden+in+England%22+and+has+become+reclusive+due+to+the+scandal+but+Markham+wagers+on+her+hand+without+her+knowledge.+The+reader+knows+all+will+come+out+eventually+but+how+will+it+be+resolved%3F