Secrets in the Shallows (Book 1: The Monastery Murders)

Secrets in the Shallows (Book 1: The Monastery Murders)

by Karen Vance Hammond, Kimberly Brouillette

Paperback

$17.95
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Secrets in the Shallows 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
barbieLA More than 1 year ago
Loved reading this book. Read it before work in the mornings. Came home at lunch and read and in the evening off and on while doing my regular routine. When it comes to reading a brand new writer you never know what to expect. I was very impressed! Can't wait for the next one! Great story line that moved along and you are right there in the middle getting to know everyone. When I had to put the book down I couldn't wait to get back in there. Didn't want it to end. Very good job!!! I grabbing the next one and hope it comes out soon!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
These authors truly  have created a fantastically developed story. The storyline will catch your imagination and you will find yourself a part of the drama, even if you do not usually read  this type of murder mystery. By the end of the book, you will be waiting anxiously for the next installment to be ready, soon, for reading!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Secrets in the Shallows is FANTASTIC! It is hard to find books that are so intricately woven by its characters, events and storylines. BRAVO KAREN & KIMBERLY!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Karen & Kimberly have written a winner! Secrets in the Shallows is a hard book to put down and will keep you on the edge of your seat page after page! Congratulations on a great book ladies! Bill Bean  Author/Lecturer/Media Personality
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you love a thrilling murder mystery that will keep you guessing and provide many great characters, then this is book you should read. Don't miss it.
micheal_Rivers More than 1 year ago
For those who love a good mystery this is the book for you. Well written; it keeps the reader turning the pages for the answer to who is responsible for the murders in this sleepy little village. With vivid descriptions and crisp dialogue you won’t be disappointed. Enhanced with romance, murder, madness, ghosts, and an insight to the mind of a serial killer keep you wanting more. 
R_K_Wigal More than 1 year ago
The prologue grabbed my immediate attention and from there on, I couldn't put the book down! This gripping murder mystery is a cleverly woven tapestry with all the right threads: ghosts, suspense, intrigue, romance, small-town characters that could have come straight out of a Norman Rockewll painting, and twists and turns that will keep you guessing and leave you wanting more! I absolutely cannot wait for Book 2 and you won't be able to either!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once you read the prologue you will be hooked! A story that keeps you guessing and wanting to read the next book.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Anne-Marie Reynolds for Readers' Favorite Secrets in the Shallows by Kimberly Brouillette is Book 1 of The Monastery Murders series. Wattsville, Maine is about to bear the brunt of a huge storm. A young boy disappears on his way home in a snowstorm, murdered and thrown in the monastery pond. It bears a striking resemblance to an earlier murder of another teenager and the entire community is shaken to the core. Mother Superior has served for years but her life is about to change forever. Ghosts wander the monastery, more victims and witnesses to what has happened. Can detectives find the killer before another body is left? DA John Smith and his fiancée, Katy, are embroiled in the crime up to their necks as they battle to bring about justice, but the story is just beginning. Secrets in the Shallows: The Monastery Murders Book 1 by Kimberly Brouillette is a fascinating tale of murder, mystery and the paranormal. It is gripping stuff, a story that hooks you right from the start and drags you deep into a traditional murder mystery but with a paranormal twist. This is a real page-turner and, although there are several stories going on, I promise you that they all have something to do with the main plot, even when they seem to be totally unrelated. This is very clever writing as Ms. Brouillette leads you through a haunting and horrific tale, gradually spilling clues and building suspense as the novel reaches its cliffhanger of an ending, landing you with a crash into book 2. I felt every emotion throughout this book. I felt as though I were there every step of the way. This is an eerie story with fantastic characters and I guarantee you will not have a clue who the murderer is. I made a few guesses but was wrong every step of the way.