Servant: The Awakening

Servant: The Awakening

by L.L. Foster

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Servant: The Awakening (Servant Series #1) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
TheBooknerd on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book launches a new series for L.L. Foster, also known as Lori Foster, romance writer. I was quite intrigued when buying the book, but I found the reality to have fallen short of the expectations. I had not read any of her books, but I recognized her name and was hopeful. Though I can't give any concrete criticisms, I'm sorry to report that this book failed to pull me in. Perhaps it was the protagonist, Gabrielle Cody, that I didn't care for. An orphan able to see the demons walking among us, Gaby is God's warrior against evil. Part ingenue, part Amazon, Gaby is a mass of contradictions that drives Detective Luther Cross crazy with frustrated desire. To me, though, she's mostly a ragamuffin with an attitude. And I like attitude, don't get me wrong, but something was lacking from this story, something that will keep me from picking up the sequel, Servant: the Acceptance (released this September). In the end, all I've really got to say is, "meh."
cherrymischievous on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've read this book sometime ago so this review is retrospective. This book was recommended to me by a Facebook friend and so I went and bought it. After I've read it, I told my Facebook friend that I would not read any of his recommendations ever again. He then told me that LL Foster is his sister!! Of course I backpedalled furiously! I told Artie that the story telling quality was superb. Which it was! The story telling quality is a 5 out of 5. I must have said something sufficiently pacifying because he is still talking to me. If you plan on getting me a Christmas gift, buy me a duct tape for my mouth please. The reason I gave this book a one out of five is that this book has a cliffhanger ending. I don't like cliffhanger endings! This was the first and the last LL Foster aka Lori Foster book I've read and avoided LFoster since then.
noneofthis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The blurb on the back cover proclaims:"One of the most intriguing heroines since J.D. Robb's early Eve Dallas books." ¿Elizabeth LowellMyself a fan of the Eve Dallas books, I can tell you for sure: Nope, this is wrong. For one thing, Dallas is written as a believable character with such novel character elements as background history and a driving personality. And was given a place in an interesting plot set within a fabulously-built storyworld... a storyworld that, you know, had rules and made logical sense and didn't contradict itself. But I digress.Gaby Cody, on the other hand, is written as Eve Dallas-lite as done by Laurell K. Hamilton for the niche purposes of teen-aged literature. Presumably as away to appeal to the Buffy-fan demographic? Except Buffy was a really smart and interesting show? And that doesn't take into account that a lot of young-adult work is really good.I do not know or, frankly, care. Neither this series nor this author is recommended.
Kace on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Got this in the cheap section at Wal-Mart, having spent way too much on books lately.I was suprised how much I liked this book....it wasn't outstanding, but for a light (in a twisted way), supernatural read, it was definitely good.I'll read the next one anyway.
Scoshie More than 1 year ago
Gaby Cody is a Paladin. The only problem is she is a Paladin now. Raised in foster homes and then taken in by a kindly priest who recognized her for what she is, Gaby has had an unsusual upbringing. She is a combination of warrior and innocent. Det Luther Cross is intrigued by Gaby who doesn't want him to get to close because she is sure he won't believe that the people she has killed are really demons in disguise and that she is working under God's commands. Follow Gaby in her adventure with her landlord/friend Mort, who knows what she is, as they try to stay one step ahead of Det Cross while fighting the evil that crawls through the city.
DreamsScream More than 1 year ago
Love this whole series. could not stop reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Arec More than 1 year ago
I had to force myself past the first few pages due to their confusing descriptions and use of wording. Once I passed those, however, the novel went by fairly quickly. First off, I would like to say that you can tell Fantasy/Sci-fi are not Ms. Foster's usual territory. It seemed that she was so focused on developing the romance part of the novel that she completely forgot that there was suppose to be plot development, too. She did bother to come up with a plot but it was neither creative nor original. A doctor abusing patients for their own purposes? A female heroin with special powers trying to stop an evil while a man who is her exact opposite is somehow attracted to her and demands that she do as he says to keep her safe? Nope, not original at all. I was also annoyed by the complete lack of character history. I felt that Ms. Foster purposely made Gaby an abused victim to foster home with a lack of education. It worked out for Foster seeing as that Gaby as an educational unintelligent person who lack major social skill fit into the story rather well. I just wished that Foster had come up with a better background than that. It just seemed to like a lazy way out. Not to mention that she barely mention's Mort's history, and Luther's is just non-existent. All in all, the story didn't seem original or well developed but I couldn't stop myself from reading it. I admit it's not a great novel, or even good for that matter. I still must also admit that I liked it and couldn't put it down. I bought the book for the paranormal aspect but ended up reading it for the romance. I just had to see if Luther and Gaby hooked up. However, Gaby's personality and mouth made it hard. I understand that they way she talked and acted was part of the character that was Gabrielle Cody, yet all her foul language and agreeableness made the novel unpleasant to read. I am not offending by cursing, but Gaby's was excessive to the point of annoying. Growing up where I have, it was unbelievable, however. An interesting book if not taken seriously.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Consuelo72 More than 1 year ago
This series if develop further has the potential of being just fascinating. For a first book it has some kinks to it but it kept me wanting to know more and still interested in a follow up book. It is not everyday I come across a one character book, specially in the paranormal genre, that makes me want to read more. I get turn off by heroines who just keep going from hunk to another hunk and can't make up their mind as to whom they want, so to see this really tough lady fall for a really cool, tough and dare I say sensitive guy, was refreshing to read. There were some strange scenes that left me a litle confused at times, but nothing that can't be overcome with a little more attention to detail in the future by the author or maybe the editor who probably cut too much off the book. I have never read a book by this author before so I feel I need to be fair and give her another try, who knows it was probably not even her fault. So if you are looking to try something new and never read from this author, hey give a try..it not a bad book and it has promise. Happy reading as always!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mrsluver More than 1 year ago
i thought this book was fun to read. =)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kitkat3ny More than 1 year ago
This encouraging start to a new urban fantasy series was unique and intriguing but at the same time the story felt incomplete and sometimes corny. Gaby a young demon slayer, a loner, living life in isolation even though she's in the middle of a crowd, has her life and mission interrupted when a nosy cop, Luther, suspects her of murdering and mutilating a poor soul. To the normal human eye, this unfortunate person looks like a regular human but to Gaby, she sees the demons hiding within. She is a paladin, a warrior of god, doing his bidding. Blessed with strength, speed and agility she carries out gods justice with no mercy. Gaby has a bad attitude and an even more unpleasant disposition but she was also innocent and vulnerable. Forced to let the cop into her life, Gaby experiences and allows little rays of joy in her seclusion. The story was dark, gritty, extremely predictable and sometimes disturbing but nonetheless interesting and entertaining. However, the author didn't exactly explain where Gaby came from, are there any other paladins around. Where, how and why do these demons take over these susceptible humans? I'm still confused if Gaby was actually killing demons or ugly sick people? Sometimes I thought she was a deranged young girl, seeing "dead people". In contrary to all the inconsistencies in the story, I see a potential for a really great series. I have therefore decided to give this series a chance and read the next book The Acceptance. I recommend this book for those with patience.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
cm_shackleford More than 1 year ago
This book was fun to read. It had a great flow in the writing. Was verry hard to put down. It had a touch of a romantic theme. I enjoyed this book alot. I'm sure you will as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago