Servant: The Kindred

Servant: The Kindred

by L.L. Foster

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Servant: The Kindred 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Mojobass More than 1 year ago
An amazing ending to an enthralling trilogy. Gaby and Luther continue with their relationship, and find ways to work together in crime-fighting. A wannabe vampire is on the loose and under team Gaby's radar. Bliss has a vision that this blood-sucker wants to take the next step into straight cannibalism of a ripe child. Gaby fights her uncontrollable emotions with Luther's tender touch. And, it seems that the entire trilogy comes full circle to stamp this series as complete and excellent!
spitzlady More than 1 year ago
Gabrielle Cody is a paladin, Gods enforcer, she's duty bound to fight evil, where ever and when ever she sees it. Luther Cross is a detective and he loves Gabby, but he wants to keep her safe. Gabby is now living with Luther and learning to love. Will this hurt her instinct to fight evil? I loved this book, I'm sorry to see it end. I'm glad Gabby is finally learning to love instead of hate, and Luther is learning to accept Gabby's powers.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Paladin Gabrielle "Gabby" Cody and police detective Luther Cross are trying to find a common ground as they fall in love. She as God's warrior enforcer uses methods outside the law that he is obligated to enforce. However, her biggest concern is her desire for Luther interfering with her higher calling. As she struggles with love, an evil predator is devouring human bodies and souls. She knows the monster is coming for her, but that does not frighten her as she has dealt with malevolent beings for years; though her need for her beloved distracts her. However, the couple realizes the beast is targeting children playing in a playground to force Gabby into a confrontation on the creature's terms. The third Servant thriller is a super romantic urban fantasy. The lead couple struggle with a beast and with their attraction as their differing methods do not make for easy bed talk. The story line is fast-paced and filled with action as the vile creature controls the altercation. Fans will enjoy the latest entry while newcomers should read the previous novels (see THE ACCEPTANCE and THE AWAKENING) to better understand the fabulous world of L.L. Foster and the dysfunctional loving relationship between the lead sleuths. Harriet Klausner
pacey1927 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If you have read the first two Servant stories by L.L. Foster, you definitely don't want to miss this one, the last in the series. Gaby and Luther are trying to be a semi-normal couple and are attempting to live together. Gaby has given Bliss her old apartment over Mort's comic shop. As those who have read this series previously know, Gaby is special. She is a paladin of sorts, led by God to hunt down evil. She has above average speed and strength and can heal more quickly than normal humans. In an effort to trust each other more, Gaby and Luther more or less work together when a new case comes up. Gaby is drawn from the bedroom by her instinct (or whatever it is!) and Luther comes along for the first time. This begins her hunt to find a madman, maybe the greatest foe she has had to face. He drains victims of their blood like a vampire, but when he is done he feasts on the meat. Plenty gory enough. Foster does an excellent job here wrapping up all the relationships between the characters. The best moments of this book were those where Gaby is being 'super' Gaby hunting down the bad guys. While I liked seeing Gaby gain more control of her gift, I thought their was way more sex than this story needed. It was a shock coming from where the previous books really had no sex scenes per se. I was still satisfied by the ending of the book, but I am saddened that this is the end of the series. I will miss Gaby and her friends. Foster did a great thing here with a darker genre and I hope she ventures into this field again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nicole Jordan More than 1 year ago
Smart writing, interesting storyline....would recommend to anita blake fans!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Consuelo72 More than 1 year ago
I am not a fan of reading about one continous character, unless we are talking thriller or horror. When it comes to paranormal romance they really turn me off due to the fact that the heroine's relationships come and go with just about every other book, sometimes involving more that one man. I like to read about the development and yes the hot steamy scenes between the lady of the book and of course the hunk (only one, please.) It is for this reason I give this book a great rating. I like the fact that Gabrielle is such a tough lady and so complex, yet is able to find with Luther something she has never before experience, Love. Luther Cross is of course just perfect and he brings a much needed balance in Gaby's life, which is so dark and violent. He makes you fall in love with him and leaves you with a smile. I hope Ms. Foster continues writing about these two, because they are just so much fun to read about and with this book you really want to see them in action together. Gaby's is just a kick butt kind of girl and Luther is just perfect for her. The book plot is just as violent and full of action as gaby herself and really kicking scenes revolving aroud her are the kind that makes you go, "You go Girl". The other characters are as fun and you can help but like them. After all is not easy being Gaby's friends, but they do it with grace and attitude. I do, however, think this series should be read in chronological order in order to appreciate how all of these characters come together. Just the right book for a rainy day.
of-course More than 1 year ago
Engrossing, fast paced read. Some the vocabulary bothered me, it seemed like it was written with a Thesaurus close at hand.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kitkat3ny More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend you read the previous books in this series (The Awakening and the Acceptance) before reading this novel. This is the last installment of the Servant trilogy. I've had my ups and downs w/ this series, mainly the first book, the Awakening. Regardless of the first installment, each installment seems to get better and better. This book was excellent from start to finish. Gaby, a Paladin and vigilante has decided to let Luther into her heart, as well as her body. However, that proves difficult when her "calling" runs on its own schedule. On top of learning to trust Luther, accepting and appreciating her new friends, as well as new life; Gaby has to track down a sadistic killer who has a palate for human flesh and unquenchable thirst for human blood. In this last installment, Gaby meets the most formidable nemesis she will probably ever meet. There was great twisted humor, action, excitement, mystery and suspenseful twist and turns throughout. Gaby is my favorite and one of the best and bad-a$$ heroines you'll find in urban fantasy today. If you're looking for an urban fantasy series that doesn't cater to a whiny, pouty and too-stupid-to-live heroines, give this series a try. I'm sad to say that I'm sorry the series is ending and I will miss it tremendously (and after this novel, it has finally been proven to me, that Gaby hasn't been killing sick ugly people but actual malicious nefarious criminals). I highly recommend this book and series to dark urban fantasy readers. I also recommend these books below, as well as their entire series:
Anonymous More than 1 year ago