Set the Night on Fire: A Cottonbloom Novel

Set the Night on Fire: A Cottonbloom Novel

by Laura Trentham

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, May 29

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Set the Night on Fire: A Cottonbloom Novel 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 42 reviews.
gaele More than 1 year ago
Cottonbloom is the place where the wounded come to heal and start over, I’ve only read the first in this series, but you can start her without any issue at all – the town and its magic reveal itself to you from the first page. As it did for Ella Boudreaux, who moved here after her divorce, needing a new start and to rebuild her shattered confidence and esteem thanks to her ex-husband. But Ella is no ordinary woman: she’s smart and investment savvy, and has managed to build quite a tidy nest egg, through her keen sense of business potential and investments. She has, in fact, offered the Abbott brothers (or one brother, Ford) some ready cash and a chance for something else by purchasing his shares. She now has a quarter of the business, and two hundred percent of the animosity coming off Mack Abbott in waves. Mack is furious that Ford would sell his shares to an outsider, and a woman at that. It is a garage – and having a woman, yet another woman show up unexpectedly is just not on. See, Mack’s mother has suddenly reappeared after years without contact when she vanished like new car smell, and he’s not particularly interested in hearing her reasons either. There’s too much on – and all he wants to do is make the garage support the family, ignore the new investor and do it HIS WAY. Adversaries to partners is the key here: Mack isn’t really as much of a heartless hothead as his hedgehog exterior would lead us to believe, and Ella isn’t a garage (or turning a business around) novice. All it takes is some serious sizzle and arguments, a never back down attitude from Ella, and some black in the balance sheet, and Mack’s resistance is wavering. Neither can deny the attraction that crackles between them. When his brothers Jackson and Wyatt start championing her cause, and Mack sees that he’s only steps away from repeating his father’s mistakes with his intractable stance, the two start to understand one another in ways that show the sweetness and ‘meant to be’ connection that has again found two people in Cottonbloom. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
Candace-LoveyDoveyBooks More than 1 year ago
I love small town romances so I knew my visit to Cottonbloom would be wonderful! Laura Trentham's sixth installment in the series, Set the Night on Fire, is filled with two headstrong characters. Ella and Mack butt heads from the beginning, but their working relationship turns into something more as they truly get to know each other and resolve their issues. I really loved that they had separate issues to work out with other people. For Ella it was her cheating ex-husband's new wife and for Mack it was his older brother. It made for a lively, compelling contemporary novel that sucked me in until the characters figured out their problems! I wish had made a visit to Cottonbloom sooner! *ARC provided in consideration for review*
LynnB888 More than 1 year ago
A delectable story of starting over and finding what you never knew you were looking for! Who knew middle brother Mack with all of his gruff surliness would turn out to be my favorite?? I've really loved this series and all of the Abbott brothers that we've had put before us so far, but Mack just stole my heart. I didn't expect to like him so much, but the way he took to Ella even though he didn't want to, it was just a touching story. Really enjoyed it, and hope we get Ford's story one day! Ella Boudreaux might have recently lost a cheating husband, but she's gained the means and freedom to do what she pleases. One of the happiest times in her life revolved around cars, so when she's handed the opportunity to buy into Abbott Brother's Garage, she jumps at the chance. She plans to use her marketing skills to aid the guys in building their classic car restoration persona. She wasn't counting on the negative attitude and downright hatred of the situation from one of the Abbotts though! Mack Abbott will do just about anything to make sure the garage his father started and spent his life tending to remains a success. He's been trying for months to get Ford to buckle under and be a help to him and his other brothers in the day to day running of the shop, but all Ford seemed to want to do was gallivant here and there until he up and betrayed them by selling his quarter of the business to some trophy wife has been. He's furious ... and he's going to get back that 25 percent ownership if it's the last thing he does!
MLH438 More than 1 year ago
In Mack Abbott's view, his brother, Ford, committed a cardinal sin. He sold his share in the family's Abbott Brother's Garage and Restoration, without telling his family, and to none other than Ella Boudreaux. When Ella arrives to claim her stake in the business, the fireworks begin. Mack knows Ella is an attractive, wealthy divorcee who has no place in his garage. Ella's is prepared to let him underestimate her, just as her ex-husband did. Beneath all this bravado is a simmering attraction that blooms into a passionate relationship. Ella shows you can't judge someone only by appearance. She stands up for herself, not only with Mack but also with her ex-husband. Mack's resentment turns to admiration and love as she proves an asset in his life as well as in business . Opening up to Ella helps Mack repair his relationship with Ford and also his estranged Mother. Laura Trentham's prose paints a vivid picture of small town life, the garage, and the developing relationship between Mack and Ella. You will love the description of Ella's first day at the garage and how she does an oil change! I received a free copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review.
Hfowler More than 1 year ago
I loved returning to Cottonbloom, such distinct and strong characters, and the plot was entertaining and passionate.  The love story was sweet with a bit of the emotional tension that always heightens the storyline.  Mack and Ella were perfect together, so strong they jumped off the page. The conflict of her having bought out Ford’s share of the Abbott garage, and how Mack wants the interloper gone as quickly as possible, was well executed and developed really well.  It made for such a great story. Ella hasn’t had it easy and she has made something out of her life and doesn’t want to hand over control to a man ever again.  Mack is such a take charge and manage everything kind of guy that Ella totally shakes up his well oiled life in a way he isn’t sure he wants.  I loved every second.  It was sweet.  It was beautiful.  It was romantic.  Such a great small town romance series.
sbart84 More than 1 year ago
Once again love blooms in Cottonbloom. Ella finally wants to prove herself after a disastrous marriage, so she decides to buy in part of the Abbott Garage. Mack Abbott the other part owner, is not happy about having a sexy divorcee in his garage. But soon they can not deny the sexual chemistry that they share. Loved these characters, both with personal baggage from their pasts but together they can succeed. This is part of a series but can be read as a stand alone. I highly recommend this book along with the rest of the series.
Virginiaw More than 1 year ago
I never get bored with this series. I loved how Ella and Mack work to get to know each other. They start out not caring too much for each other but they grow on each other. I hope there will be another book in the series so we can learn more about Ford. Remember that this book does have some sex scenes so be prepared. I had a hard time putting this book down. I received a copy of this book from the author for a fair and honest opinion that I gave of my own free will.
CoffeeGoddessTK More than 1 year ago
I came late to the Cottonbloom series by author Laura Trentam, but quickly fell in love with these books. The small-town feel, the Southern vibe, and characters that are easily relatable make for enjoyable reading every time. I've been waiting for Mack Abbott's book, and Laura absolutely delivered with SET THE NIGHT ON FIRE. Although not the eldest Abbott brother, Mack has carried the weight of responsibility for his family, being the glue that kept them together after the loss of their father. All that Mack really wants is the happiness of his family and the success of their family business, and he's willing to do just about anything to make that happen. Hoping to make a new start, Ella Boudreaux came to Cottonbloom to escape the pain of her past. Buying into the Abbott brothers' auto repair and restoration puts her at immediate odds with Mack. Not only does she need to prove herself as a savvy businesswoman, but sparks of a completely different nature are soon flying as well. I really love seeing Mack and Ella work through the darker parts of their past, the mistrust and need for control, and open up to each other. Their chemistry is off-the-charts hot, but it's not just physical. Their banter, their sparring, all of it works together to create one heck of a satisfyingly steamy read that manages to pull at the heartstrings at the same time. SET THE NIGHT ON FIRE is an easy 4.5 stars for me, and maybe my favorite book in the series so far. And, while each of these books are standalones, I highly recommend reading them all, because they're just that good. There's still plenty of love to be discovered in Cottonbloom, and I will continue to visit as long as Laura is writing her stories.
CathyGeha More than 1 year ago
Set the Night on Fire by Laura Trentham Cottonbloom #6 Ella Boudreaux and Mack Abbott should have nothing in common…I mean…she is wealthy, high society and into designer clothes while he is all about the cars, grease and keeping the family garage going. Their first meeting didn’t go well and the next one, when she comes to the garage, does either. He is a grouch and she is on the defensive. Little do they know that they have more in common and more to offer to one another than either might realize. Ella is a woman with a heart of gold. She ran into the wrong man to be her husband way too early in her life. The fact that she survived the marriage, managed to get away and then thrive afterward is amazing. Her back story, when it comes out, is an insight into even more of what makes her tick. Her ability to empathize and be there for others and see things through and…well…I found her an amazing woman and one I wouldn’t mind being like! Mack is a man who is complex. He is one of four brothers with a backstory that also is fraught with secrets and made him who he is. When he finally realizes a few home truths it is a bit of a wakeup call…the fact that Ella may have helped him see a way through the issues that are blocking him is a testament to her but also the fact that he is willing to make some changes is a testament to him. The chemistry, rapport and growing relationship between Ella and Mack was a joy to read. I have no idea who will star in book seven but can’t wait to find out! Thank you to NetGalley, St. Martin’s Press and the author for the ARC – This is my honest review. 5 Stars
Jolie More than 1 year ago
I am not going to get into my complaints about reading books out of sequence if they are in a series. I keep accepting them, so my complaints are void at this point. But, it does show talent if the author can take book 6 and make it completely stand alone. That is one of the things I enjoyed about Set the Night on Fire. The other hight points of this book were how it tugged on my heartstrings and how the main characters were completely relatable. Of course, there were aspects that I didn’t like but they didn’t affect my review in a huge way. Mack’s 180 change on how he felt about Ella, Ella’s ex-best friend and husband, and the whole mystery behind Mack’s mother leaving I didn’t care for. But, I enjoyed reading Set the Night on Fire. Set the Night on Fire is a cute, fast-moving romance set in the town of Cottonbloom, Louisiana. Ella moves to Cottonbloom to start over again. Recently divorced from an abusive excuse for a man, Ella has something to prove. Mack is the owner of a successful garage. He is furious that his brother sold his shares to a stranger. That anger grows when he realizes that the new part owner of the garage is a woman. An attractive women who match him step for step. He soon realizes that Ella is much more than she seems. Ella realizes that behind Mack’s gruff exterior is a kind, passionate man. Can Ella help Mack overcome traumas of his past? Can Mack help Ella realize that not all men are like her ex? When I started reading Set the Night on Fire, I was expecting some parts of the book not to make sense to me. I mean, this is book 6 the Cottonbloom series. So, I was surprised when the author explained Ella and Mack’s shared back story up front. There were some vague references made to other books but it wasn’t enough to make go scratch my head and go “How does this relate to the book“. I loved it. I was able to enjoy reading Set the Night on Fire without wondering what happened in the other book. It also made me want to read the other books in the series. I liked Ella. From the first scene, when she was parked outside the garage, I thought there was something about her that stood out to me. The more the author got into her back story, the more I liked her. She had a hellacious childhood that left her with a severe phobia of dogs. She also survived a marriage that was abusive. She wouldn’t allow herself to be backed into a corner. She also had one of the biggest hearts that I have seen in a book. She took in the woman who was her ex-husband’s mistress (now wife) when he started abusing her. She stood up to her ex when he showed up at her house, demanding where his wife was. She organized a charity drive for a couple that she barely knew but felt compelled to help. I 100% related to her.
JennieF More than 1 year ago
ARC for honest review with no compensation 4.5 stars Set the Night on Fire: A Cottonbloom Novel by Laura Trentham is my first book by this author and was given by St. Martin Press and NetGalley. While this is a standalone it is part of a series and I will be getting the other books in this series! Love the Abbott brothers! Mack Abbott and his three brothers are partners in the family garage and restoration business that is until his brother Ford sells his quarter share to wealthy divorcée, Ella Boudreaux who knows how to invest wisely, make money and build an empire. When she steps foot into the garage it takes her to a time and place with happy memories of working on cars with her brother especially when she sees the 240Z that Mack is in the process of restoring. She knows she can help make this business into a major success but she will have to butt heads with Mack every step of the way and try to keep the off the wall attraction between them to a minimum. Can these two learn to be a team, make the garage a major success and find what has been missing in both their lives...a HEA together or will Mack keep pushing Ella to throw in the towel, give up and move on??
MJHughes12 More than 1 year ago
I just love books where characters are so much more than they appear, and Set the Night On Fire delivers an enemies to lovers romance that proves that perception isn’t always reality, especially when the heart gets involved. There is so much truth that you shouldn’t judge someone until you get to know them, and this is just the case for both Ella and Mack. Ella has recently arrived in Cottonbloom and does nothing to dispel the rumors that she is living off the settlement from her divorce, even though that is far from the truth. She’s finally in a good place and has put the wreck of her marriage behind her, grown stronger from the scars it caused, and has learned to stand up for herself. Mack runs the Abbott Brothers Garage with his brothers and is seen as gruff and a bit rough around the edges. He’s felt the pressure of keeping the garage afloat since his father passed and has little time to enjoy life, especially when he feels the weight of his family’s world on his shoulders. When Ella buys a 25% stake in his family’s business Mack can’t wait to buy her out and get her out of his life –and watching these two square up against each other was a lot of fun, especially when it’s clear they are also fighting a very strong attraction to one another as well. One thing I really loved about both Ella and Mack was their giving, caring, and protective nature. They both showed that it didn’t matter who you were or how well they might have known you, they both would go out of their way to help. From the fundraiser that Ella plans to Mack’s protective nature when Ella’s ex shows up, these two were just genuinely nice people. This is the first I’ve read in this series and I have fallen in love with the quirky town of Cottonbloom. From the dual nature of the town to the colorful residents, this town won me over just as much as Ella and Mack did. There is a story behind everyone and everything in town and I can’t wait to read more in this series. I really enjoyed the author’s writing style – the book was easy to read and the plot flowed smoothly. There was great dialogue between the characters and there was a wonderful interplay between the characters, especially when it came to some of the more emotionally charged scenes. Even though this is part of a series this can be read as a standalone – one that I would highly recommend. I voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book I received from the publisher from NetGalley.
Lashea677 More than 1 year ago
Many have questioned her life choices. Even she has to admit to losing her way. After numerous disappointments and regrets Ella has come to a fork in the road that points her in a most unlikely direction. Set The Night on Fire, although set in a fictional town, gives some realistic advice. After veering off course Ella is searching out her dreams. Rediscovering who she is as a new business owner and a woman. Along the way she finds the courage to fight for what she wants. Even if that means risking her heart. Cottonbloom is the place to go to find the life and love that fate had waiting all along. Trentham never misses the mark when she takes aim at the heart. Copyright of Night Owl Reviews
BooksAndSpoons More than 1 year ago
I have been in love with the Abbott brothers from the first I met them. I knew Mack's book was going to be sizzling hot yet emotional just because who he is, and boy did the story deliver the goods. I am still swooning over Mack and Ella! Ella Boudreaux is a self-made woman, who knows what she wants and is not afraid to stand up for herself or go after what her heart desires. This was not always so, she had to learn it the hard and painful way, leaving scars to her mind and to her heart. But she knows now what to do when the doubts and insecurities start to rise in her mind. She has a big heart of gold, she is generous, kind, considerate, and sweet. Yet she can kick arse if needed, she is tough, resilient, patience, passionate, with a quick temper and stubbornness only to match Mack Abbott's. Mack has been holding everything together since his father passed away and the business was divided for the brothers. He is a loving and caring worrier, a protector of what he considers his. He has so many layers hidden under the gruff and tough exterior. His kindness, tenderness, sweetness, and happiness when around Ella just melted my heart. He is so supportive, encouraging, uplifting with her, it was beautiful, just amazingly adorable. The adoration and attraction between Ella and Mack is like a lightning bolt, the way they learned each other, their weaknesses, their strengths, their past pain and future hopes, along with the loving yet blazing hot physical connection and exploration, the depth of the emotion and feels from each scene with Ella and Mack just blew me away. Mack has had a lot to deal with since his parent's divorce. The way their father brought the brothers up built up walls that have to come down for their peace of mind. The troubles with Ford and their mother has to be solved for life to move on. Mack has to find the understanding and forgiveness and the courage in his heart to make peace for the whole family, to start building it up instead of tearing it down. I loved this story so much, it was hard to put down, even at the end. Mack and Ella have to go through a whirlwind of emotions, changes, and growth to find their fragile balance, and even then it could be blown away by careless situations. The story has such a smooth, effortless flow, it pulled me in from the first, and help me captivated throughout. A wonderful, passionate, emotional addition to the series that all romance readers will enjoy, adore, and swoon over ~ Five Spoons
Honolulubelle More than 1 year ago
Favorite Quotes: “… you and Sutton have a wedding to plan.” “All I have to do is show up, according to Sutton. Her mom is going a little crazy. She has mentioned a harp player and doves.” “Good Lord, one of the Abbott cousins might pull out a shotgun and shoot a dove if they’re in season.” … the aroma of fresh-brewed coffee drawing him in like a cartoon mouse to cheese. Mack led them out and around the garage to the parking lot where the Corvette was parked in a ray of sunlight like the Second Coming. A deep shuddery breath forewarned a rising tide of tears. She had to get home. A threesome in bed with Ben and Jerry was all she craved. Trevor’s smile was full of smug self-satisfaction. How had she ever thought he was handsome and sophisticated? He was a nasty little bug, and she wore the shoes to smush him. My Review: I have greatly enjoyed each of my three visits to Cottonbloom, an especially peculiar little town with an identity disorder as it falls within two different states with divisive social circles. Book six in the series was the third in a row to feature the hard-working, endearingly flawed, resilient, and devastatingly handsome classic car mechanics of the Abbott family. I could almost smell the motor oil as Ms. Trentham’s agile use of lush details cunningly employed all the senses and painted a complete, spectacular, and vivid picture for the mind's eye while also smoothly keying-in the emotional tone. The writing was well-balanced and expertly paced while evocative, amusing, steamy, and heart-squeezing with crisscrossing and engaging storylines. I enjoyed the verbal sparring and developing romance as well as the surprises from the unfolding secrets of family drama - all culminating into a highly satisfying HEA. I keep hoping for prequel scenes to chronicle the now elderly aunties hellion salad days, as I’m quite certain they had them.
Alisha24C More than 1 year ago
Absolutely loved this book!! When Ellie Boudreaux bought out Ford’s share of the Abbott’s garage, she did it for the memories of her brother. Mack Abbott isn’t happy to say the least and isn’t shy to show his displeasure at an outsider owning part of his family business. When the sparks fly it isn’t all business but quite a bit of the heat is coming off Ellie and Mack. Can they overcome their differences to run the garage together or will one of them lose out?
RachaelBrown More than 1 year ago
I have loved all three of the Abbott brothers' stories! Wyatt and Jackson are great, but Mack's gruffness combined with his softer, fun side makes him my favorite Abbott brother. I liked Ella and thought that she was the perfect match for Mack. I loved the bonus epilogue featuring Wyatt and Sutton's wedding! What a great way to end the story. I voluntarily read and reviewed a complimentary Advance Reader Copy from NetGalley.
Lorizen More than 1 year ago
Loved this story. Sparks and tempers ignite between Ella and Mack when Ella buys a quarter share of the Abbott Brothers garage business from the oldest brother who decided to sell and leave town. He had his reasons, which we see later in the story. Mack is the next in line and has always run the garage along with his twin brothers who are a few years younger. Their mother left them years ago and the father who passed away a few years ago made his life about the business. The garage is in the tiny town of Cottonbloom which is cut in two by a river. Ella buys the small piece of the business as an investment. She knew it would anger them but she was caught off guard by just how angry Mack was and could be. Having been through a physically and emotionally abusive marriage and now divorced, she's got her own investment business and she's doing well for herself. She's got a good head for business. She and Mack butt heads constantly while the twins and their respective wife and fiancé really like her. She's smart and doesn't take any crap from Mack which everyone else apparently has cowered before Mack. I liked the way the brothers ran the business, they vote. Nothing gets down without discussion. The one sticking point for them is their Mom which the twins have basically forgiven and Ford leaving because he needed to. Mack still can't get his head around that. When you through in their twin aunts, how pop in unexpectedly quite a bit, an upcoming wedding, Ella's ex who shows up and then the ex's current wife who had left him. Hysterical. Oh and the sparks that these two shoot every time they are around each other. After a couple aborted attempts, no fault of their own, these two make some page turning steam. They were a great couple I really liked them. I loved the story, the characters, the plot, the flow was a little slow for me but it still got there. Great read and yes, I'd recommend it for sure. Now I have to go back and read a couple of the previous books. It's a great story and well done. *arc from NetGalley and publisher for an honest review*
DebDiem More than 1 year ago
Set The Night On Fire by Laura Trentham is a fabulous, well-written book by Laura Trentham. Ms. Trentham has given us a book that is loaded with outstanding, lovable characters. Ella bought shares of the Abbott Brothers Garage and Restoration, against the wishes of three of the brothers. Mack is determined to buy back the shares and keep the business in the family. Ella and Mack's story is loaded with drama, humor, sizzle and a bit of suspense. I enjoyed reading Set The Night On Fire and look forward to reading more from Laura Trentham in the future. Set The Night On Fire is book 6 in the Cottonbloom Series but can easily be read as a standalone. This is a complete book, not a cliff-hanger. I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book that I received from NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
_NormaJean More than 1 year ago
Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for allowing me to return to Cottonbloom for another visit with the Abbott brothers. Set the Night on Fire is the sixth book in the series, but it can be read as a stand alone. But, you will miss out on some great books if you don’t read the rest of the series too. The Abbott brothers, Jackson, Wyatt and Mack own and operate the garage that was started by their deceased father. There are four brothers. Ford, the oldest brother, sold his share of the garage to Ella Boudreaux and left town with no explanation, leaving the other three brothers confused and angry. Ella is an intelligent, independent business woman. She divorced her worthless husband and built a successful career in investment. After investing in the Abbott garage, she is determined to help the business grow. She has good ideas, but Mack is not inclined to listen to anything she has to say. The sparks fly when Ella and Mack are together. In the beginning, they are sparks of anger, but as they spend more time together at the garage things begin to change and the sparks are an entirely different kind. Laura Trentham has once again written a book that is rich with small town charm. She makes her characters come alive. I highly recommend Set the Night on Fire and the whole Cottonbloom series. Laura Trentham never disappoints.
DJTP More than 1 year ago
A new to me author laura Trentham. A good book, Set The Night on Fire. Even though I liked the storyline and characters. I would have enjoyed the book more if I had read the other books in the series before hand to get more of the back story
gmcootie More than 1 year ago
Set the Night on Fire by Laura Trentham is Book 6 of 6 in the Cottonbloom series. The tagline says “Cottonbloom is the perfect place for starting over, finding your way back home--and falling head over heels. . .” This book is the first time I have visited Cottonbloom, and it stands alone just fine. But after finishing I want to go back to the first 5 books and learn the beginning of everyone else’s story, too. Set the Night on Fire is Ella and Mack’s story. Ella comes back to Cottonbloom to heal and start over. Mack is desperate to retain control of the family business. They each feel they have a lot to prove to family, friends, and foes - that they can do what they set out to do and that they haven’t made any mistakes that can’t be fixed. Ella and Mack are both determined and strong-willed, to put it mildly, and at cross-purposes from the beginning. But the attraction between them is undeniable. And what makes this such a delightful love story is the expert way author Laura Trentham mixes heat and fun. The heat is definitely there. Even though they are constantly clashing and wary of one another, they are also drawn seemingly beyond their control to each other. And just when you think you might explode from the heat something sweet or funny happens. Who could resist Ella’s description of Mack’s unexpectedly lovely, complicated eyes, with the swirl of blues and greens and browns. But who doesn’t smile when those eyes draw her like a bug to a zapper. Who wouldn’t laugh out loud when his glance toward her mouth was like handing her a roadmap with a giant X on Kissytown, and her imagination goes on a pleasurable jaunt down Inappropriateness Lane. And even the heat – you feel it slowly build as Mack checks out Ella’s body in the doorway of his office – but you smile again when he does a check, double check, and checkity-check. The book is full of these moments. As I said, it’s delightful. Full of characters you can’t help but root for, with a solid plotline and some suspense and surprises. I received a copy of Set the Night on Fire from the publisher via NetGalley. I thoroughly enjoyed it and do not hesitate to recommend it.
FromTheSouth More than 1 year ago
You might want to keep a fire extinguisher handy when you read Set the Night on Fire by Laura Trentham, my fellow romance book loving friends. The chemistry and steamy scenes between this enemies to lovers main couple just might cause your pages/ereader to self combust. But not to worry, folks, steam in no way replaces substance in this romantic tale. There is plenty of back and forth bickering to flirtatious banter and a genuine connection between Ella and Mack as they truly get to know each other. A great cast of subcharacters brings this small town themed storyline to life, as well. What surprised me the most was this sassy, feisty heroine was extremely compassionate, too. She took under her wing and gave protection to the last person on the planet you would expect. I couldn’t help but admire her even more for that. This author’s writing style is quickly becoming a favorite of mine. The writing flows and keeps me fully engaged. Though I’ve only read a couple of her books, you can bet I’ll be backtracking and keeping an eye out for more of her new releases. Title: Set the Night on Fire, Series: Cottonbloom (Book 6), Author: Laura Trentham, Pages: 336, stand-alone but part of a series, adversaries to lovers, beautiful, sassy, successful, compassionate heroine, knucklehead at first/good guy hero, very steamy scenes, small town setting, romance safe, no cheating, no love triangle, no OW/OM romantic drama. Book 1 - Kiss Me That Way Book 2 - Then He Kissed Me Book 3 - Till I Kissed You Book 3.5 - Candy Cane Christmas (novella) Book 3.75 - Light Up the Night (novella) Book 4 - Leave the Night On Book 5 - When the Stars Come Out Book 6 - Set the Night on Fire (I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book via NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions are my own. I was not given any payment or compensation for this review, nor is there any affiliation or relationship between this reviewer and the author/publisher/NetGalley.)
astroyic More than 1 year ago
Sexy & Entertaining! Sweet, sexy and entertaining with these likable characters. I had a hard time putting this down. Set the Night on Fire is a slow burn Romance, it is not rushed and the angst level is just how I like it, not too crazy high but just enough to leave the reader wanting more, waiting in anticipation for something, just anything to happen. 
Loved Ella and Mack, they were dramatic, stubborn, romantic and utterly lovely. Their sizzling attraction, as well as the animosity between them is enough to set the night on fire. Loved Mack’s deep love for his family and his passion for the family business. 
Well of course I’m not going to tell you the outcome, because you will have to read this book to find out what all happens. But I will say “Set The Night On Fire” is To Die For! 
I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
Terri_C More than 1 year ago
This series is just awesome! Trentham has a way of putting her characters at odds with each other that makes their falling for each other that much sweeter when it happens. Ella and Mack really, really don't like each other. Ella has bought a share of the garage that Mack's family owns from one of his brothers. She's determined to be a part of the everyday operation by doing the promoting and the books. Mack is determined to get her out of his garage as soon as possible. Ella tries hard to be a hard nose and stand up to him, but things keep happening to highlight the vulnerability she's trying hard not to show. That vulnerability may be the key to changes to come. As some aspects of their relationship start to thaw, others are hot enough to set the night on fire!