The Shadow of Your Smile

The Shadow of Your Smile

by Mary Higgins Clark

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$8.89 $8.99 Save 1% Current price is $8.89, Original price is $8.99. You Save 1%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Shadow of Your Smile 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 438 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Thirtyish Greenwich Village Hospital pediatrician Dr. Monica Farrell feels for her late dad, as he tried but was never able to trace who his biological parents were. Only one person living knows that, Olivia Morrow, an elderly woman who is dying. Monica is Olivia's only blood relative and the octogenarian debates whether to tell her the truth or keep silent as the board of Gannon Enterprise demands as the founder of the firm was Monica's great grandfather. Feeling the right thing to do is tell the truth to her third distant cousin Monica; Olivia informs her physician and confidant Dr. Clay Hadley, a Gannon board member, of her decision. Clay has orders to kill her if she even hints at talking to Monica. Hit men are also sent to kill Dr. Farrell who might prove troublesome eventually as the heir to her grandfather's enormous largesse. Board member Greg Gannon is being investigated for insider trading; his brother Peter is arrested for killing a blackmailer. Hadley and another board member Douglas Langdon are lining their pockets by skimming investment money of their clients. Monica knows none of these people are related to her, but someone wants her dead before she learns the whole sordid truth. This series of events occur two generations earlier when a family member Catherine the nun became pregnant and gave her child up for adoption. Now her granddaughter is caught in the crosshairs of some malevolent people. Monica cares about her others as did Catherine while the Gannon board cares only about money and power at any cost to others. Fascinating and fast-paced, fans of Mary Higgins Clark fans will enjoy her latest suspense thriller. Harriet Klausner
BLUEEYEBE More than 1 year ago
This story focuses on the mysteries surrounding pediatrician, Dr. Monica Farrell, and elderly Olivia Morrow. Olivia is told some bad news by her cardiologist. Olivia realizes she is the only one who knows the family secret about Monica. This is an exciting read!
IHeart2Read More than 1 year ago
The story opens with Olivia Morrow learning she has weeks to live. Olivia is in her 80s and knows she has lived a good life. Knowing the end is near, there is a secret that she has been harboring for most of her adult life. Olivia is torn on whether to keep her family's secret or reveal the truth and the consequences that will inevitably follow. Monica Farrell is a successful pediatrician. Her current case centers around Sally, a sweet girl who has seen the inside of a hospital too many times in her short life. Dr. Farrell is at odds with the girl's mother, who casually leaves her daughter and doesn't show concern for her physical health. Monica is surprised when she receives a phone call from Olivia Morrow claiming to know her grandparents. Monica's father was adopted as a young boy and she doesn't know anything about his biological parents. Olivia asks her to meet with her so she can explain everything. Monica immediately agrees. When Monica shows up at Olivia's home the following evening, the unexpected happens. True to the author's style, The Shadow of Your Smile if full of characters. There's another storyline that runs parallel to Olivia and Monica that will collide with theirs by the end of the book. Greg and Peter Gannon are nephews of the infamous doctor Alex Gannon. Greg is on the board of directors of the Gannon Foundation and is heavily involved in insider trading. Peter is a Broadway producer who hasn't had much success. The two men are a disgrace to the Gannon name and all that Alex has stood for. When Peter is accused of a crime, the media frenzy puts an unwelcoming spotlight on the Gannon family. As Monica tries to figure out why Olivia called her, there's a hit man following her trying to stop her from finding out Olivia's secret. The plot moves quickly as the reader discovers the true identity of Monica's grandparents.
bobkat More than 1 year ago
I am a big fan of Mary Higgins Clark. I have most of her books and always enjoyed them. I buy her books as soon as they are available, knowing that I am in store for a good read. "The Shadow of Your Smile" was disappointing for me. It was just boring. I had to force myself to stay with it. I still love her and will continue to buy her books though I may wait to read some reviews in the future.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I read the title I wasn't sure what to expect in the book. I was very glad that I had purchased this book. There were many twists to this book which kept me wanting to find out what will happen next. This book had some very powerful characters and was very enjoyable to read. Mary Higgins Clark completed another great book.
troubled2 More than 1 year ago
This was one of Mary Higgins Clark's best books. The story kept you on your toes until the end. How the whole story came to a head really kept me waiting for the next scene. I wasn't sure she was going to get the answers to her questions about her Dad's real parents. I really enjoyed this book.
suzeque65 More than 1 year ago
I really like Mary Higgins Clark style of writing as much as the content of her books. This one did not disappoint. She continues to blend current events/ideas into her writing. Her plots are always different and interesting. She does a good job of mixing mystery with light romance. For me a truly good book leaves me wishing for more and this is the feeling I have with her books; I can never really "put the book down" once I start reading. Perfect for a Sunday afternoon or day at the beach. I always look forward to the next and sincerely hope there will be many, many more in the future.
JRNM More than 1 year ago
There isn't one bad thing about the latest book from Mary Higgins Clark that I can think of. The twists and turns in her stories keep me turning the pages until the book is finished. Another great mystery, questionable characters with questionable motives and, for the most part, a happy ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend this book. It is a typical Mary Higgins Clark. It is very hard to put down and keeps you on the edge of your seat. The characters are well defined. It has some suprises with it, and will keep you guessing until the end.
EGHunter01 More than 1 year ago
A favorable review: An enjoyable pleasure. In this work of fiction you will find a fascinating and intriguing storyline along with well-developed characters, and subplots to make for entertaining reading. You'll be so taken in that you should be able to read this novel over a weekend. Plenty of suspense to keep your attention from start to finish is in The Shadow of Your Smile by Mary Higgins Clark. Another great suspense and mystery novel for you to enjoy is between the covers of this wonderful book.
mistybraintree More than 1 year ago
I was very disappointed in MHC's newest offering. The writing seems very stilted and, at times, disjointed. Her characters aren't entirely fleshed out so some of them (even the main ones) are simple cardboard cutouts. There was very little suspense because you knew all along who was behind everything. The surprise ending was superfluous to the plot. While it made sense, what was the point? I have long been a fan of Ms. Clark's and automatically reserve her books at the library. I would suggest you get it from a library rather than investing in this one. Actually, almost the entire plot is on the book jacket so maybe you can save yourself some time and just read that. I wish I had stopped there. It's okay if you have nothing else to read but, other than that, skip it. I sincerely hope her next one is better.
scoutlee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The story opens with Olivia Morrow learning she has weeks to live. Olivia is in her 80s and knows she has lived a good life. Knowing the end is near, there is a secret that she has been harboring for most of her adult life. Olivia is torn on whether to keep her family¿s secret or reveal the truth and the consequences that will inevitably follow.Monica Farrell is a successful pediatrician. Her current case centers around Sally, a sweet girl who has seen the inside of a hospital too many times in her short life. Dr. Farrell is at odds with the girl¿s mother, who casually leaves her daughter and doesn¿t show concern for her physical health.Monica is surprised when she receives a phone call from Olivia Morrow claiming to know her grandparents. Monica¿s father was adopted as a young boy and she doesn¿t know anything about his biological parents. Olivia asks her to meet with her so she can explain everything. Monica immediately agrees. When Monica shows up at Olivia¿s home the following evening, the unexpected happens.True to the author¿s style, The Shadow of Your Smile if full of characters. There¿s another storyline that runs parallel to Olivia and Monica that will collide with theirs by the end of the book. Greg and Peter Gannon are nephews of the infamous doctor Alex Gannon. Greg is on the board of directors of the Gannon Foundation and is heavily involved in insider trading. Peter is a Broadway producer who hasn¿t had much success. The two men are a disgrace to the Gannon name and all that Alex has stood for. When Peter is accused of a crime, the media frenzy puts an unwelcoming spotlight on the Gannon family.As Monica tries to figure out why Olivia called her, there¿s a hit man following her trying to stop her from finding out Olivia¿s secret. The plot moves quickly as the reader discovers the true identity of Monica¿s grandparents.
lgillingham on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Complicated story line and lots of inter-related characters.
readinggeek451 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A missing heir, financial shenanigans, hit men, dedicated doctors, and a very sick little girl add up to one of Clark's lesser novels.There is very little suspense and very few surprises. It's okay, but only okay.
nolak on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Dr. Monica Farrell is the daughter of an adopted man, who did not know who his real parents were. Olivia Morrow, who is about to die, knows the truth. As Monica and Olivia try to meet, forces are against them, but also there are several ways forming to bring the truth into the open. Monica has two men who are moving into her life, one she wants and one she doesn't. There are several stories woven together that eventually form the conclusion, as is typical of Mary Higgins Clark, but this one has more than most, so keep everyone else at bay as you read it or you will miss essential pieces that you will need to understand the story.
sharonmoe on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An interesting read, but not one of her best IMO. Once I got into it it was hard to put down. But still, too many characters and not enough real surprise.
suefernandez on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Typical MHC reading...which is good, quick, semi predictable. I enjoyed this a lot, and the super short chapters, in different character voices, keep you reading. As long as she writes, I'll be reading MHC.
Quiltinfun06 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I admit it. I have been a fan of Mary Higgins Clark for many, many years now. So it was a no brainer to pick up the newest tome ¿The Shadow of Your Smile¿. I have to also admit that I didn¿t like it at first and this surprised me. I usually pick it up and finish it within the first day. This wasn¿t happening. Why? I would have to say that while I did ultimately enjoy the read; it was a very predictable Mary Higgins Clark story. Could it be possible that I have outgrown her? Could be.This all being said, I will add that once I did get going it was a race to the finish. There was plenty of intrigue, a hint at romance, some twist and turns all ingredients for the Higgins Clark recipe. The characters included the solid citizens, the slightly leery and the full blown villain also her signature types.I might not run right out the next time and purchase the newest of her novels. I will, however, get it from the library and take it to the beach for the pure joy of a nonsense read.
marcejewels on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
From my blogMary Higgins Clark is my favourite author mainly because she is consistent and hasn't let me down yet. She found a formula that works for her and sticks to it. She gives you the intro, the story with the characters interacting so you start thinking who are the bad guys and then near the end you are reading so fast because you have to know who don't it or how they did it and there is always a little twist. At first I started thinking there are too many characters in this book but she gives you enough that you can keep track of them and begin thinking how do they relate to the suspense of the story. Monica was my favourite character and the story revolved around her. I find she always has a strong female character that comes across as genuine, someone you like. A major family secret from generations long ago and because of adopted grandparents Monica did not know her history, so was naive in thinking someone was after her and would do anything to keep the secret which included murder. I enjoyed how MaryHC showed that money don't make you happy, the glamorous and rich were definitely over their heads and miserable.
TomWheaton on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another good read from MHC. It's hard to believe that this prolific author can continue to write stories that capture the readers interest throught the book. A quick read with short chapters that jump back and forth between characters that tell the story and keep the reader turning the pages to find out what will happen next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love MHC
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
akc812 More than 1 year ago
Loved this book! I can't get enough of MHC! She definitely knows how to keep you reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago