Shatter

Shatter

by Erin McCarthy

NOOK Book(eBook)

$5.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Shatter: (Intermix) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 57 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series but this book was a struggle for me. I am very much the opposite of Kylie so I found her perspective to be needy, whiny, and oh so very annoying. That alone killed the book for me. I also missed the Mann family. Kylie did interact with Tyler and the boys some but I missed them!!! I hope this series continues but maybe giving Rory and Taylor and Jessica and Riley more books. The epilogue was nice....
Lexi_13 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Jessica and Jonathan are funny and frustrating at the same time.  There were times when I wanted to smack both of them for being stupid and there were times I was laughing like crazy because of the stuff they say or do. If you've read anything by Erin McCarthy before then you know that you won't be disappointed with Shatter. The chemistry between Jess and Jonathan is undeniable and Erin writes her stories in a way that make you feel what they feel. This is definitely a must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this whole series hope there is nmore to come
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I expected so much more. They moved back and forth so many times I often got confused who was talking. Then they talked like junior high kids. I honestly had a hard time getting through this book, and I Love to read..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have thorouhly enjoyed all 4books in this series. Drawn in by intetesting, strong characters & great story lines. Hot. Sexy. Romantic.
Kristas_Dust_Jacket More than 1 year ago
Kylie's story in Shatter is the last of the four college BFFs' to tell, and it feels like her story has been a long time coming. We had the impression from book one that her relationship with her boyfriend wasn't everything it should be. He seemed like a total douchebag, and after book three in the series, that was confirmed. It's a shame that it had to happy to Kylie - the "happy" one of the group. I really, really wanted her to get her HEA just like the other three girls had. And, she found it in Jonathon. Kylie wasn't quite as skilled at the academics, especially when it came to the sciences. Add to that the fact that her chem prof is super slimy, and Kylie realizes she will need extra help to pass the class. Enter tatted tutor Jonathon. One study session together leads to one amazing night together, which leads to a lifelong attachment when Kylie finds out she's pregnant. Jonathon was absolutely incredible. It takes a special kind of man to step up and accept responsibility for a child he makes, especially when he barely knows the mother. Although Jonathon and Kylie don't promise each other anything from the beginning beyond being responsible for the life they created together, I liked that Jonathon opened himself up to the possibility, after his initial freak out. And, yeah. He might be pretty near perfect, but when Kylie breaks the news to him, he doesn't respond well. I was actually glad about that. It was a very real, organic response, and it made him just this side of perfect. For Kylie's part, she accepts responsibility immediately and starts adjusting her plans to accommodate a child. She tells Jonathon about her pregnancy immediately - major props for that. I can't tell you what a huge pet peeve it is of mine when characters in books find out they're pregnant and then delay telling the father, or even contemplate keeping it from him. I loved that she broke the news to Jonathon immediately, and she didn't let him walk all over her and get emotional when he freaked out. Poor Kylie. I mean, she's still trying to come to grips with the fact that one of her best friends slept with her boyfriend when this happens. Jonathon ended up being a very good friend to her first and foremost. He protected her, he listened to her, and he became committed to taking care of her. Unfortunately, Kylie gets a little too hung up on whether Jonathon was being that way with her because he truly cared about her or because he felt like he owed it to her to hang out with her and take care of her because of the baby. And, I get why. Especially after she falls in love with him. As if this wasn't enough drama for these two, Kylie and Jonathon are both dealing with exes, Kylie still has to fix her grades, she has to deal with Jonathon's horrible father, and then something awful happens to just confuse and complicate matters even more. Shatter was a very emotional book. Although Kylie and Jonathon have a very easy, comfortable relationship, the subject matter was pretty intense, and halfway through the book when you're hit with the "big, bad event," the whole story takes a different turn. It made me so sad and I just wanted everything to work out quickly so that everyone could be happy again. One of the best parts of Shatter was the epilogue. Since this is the final True Believers book, the epilogue gives us one final glimpse at all four couples before we have to say goodbye. They all come together for Jessica and Riley's wedding, and that takes place many months after the end of Jonathon's and Kylie's story. I love that final look at all the couples and that Erin McCarthy gave readers a chance to say goodbye to them. I nearly binge read the whole series at once. I enjoyed all the books so much, and am sad that it's finally come to an end. I'm looking forward to the next awesome new adult read from Erin McCarthy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down. It has everything, romance, drama, self decovery. Two people from to different worlds coming together, to find that one special love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AlwaysYAatHeart1 More than 1 year ago
I have thoroughly enjoyed the True Believers series by Erin McCarthy and the characters from the series are the type that just hold a special place in your memory and in your heart.  Shatter is the fourth book in the series and is Kylie's story.  We met Rory and Tyler in True (loved them both so much), then we have Jessica and Riley's story in Sweet (these two are my favorites from the series).  In Believe, we read Robin and Phenoix's story, which also sets the stage for Kylie's story.  Kylie is angry, hurt, and just brokenhearted after the events that occur in Believe.  She feels betrayed by boyfriend, and by her best friend, someone she trusted.  She doesn't want to be around her friends, and she especially doesn't want to be around her ex.  On top of that she is having a hard time in Chemistry and needs to be tutored.  What she didn't count on was her attraction to said tutor and his hotness factor.  She thought she was fed up with men, but there is something about Jonathan Kadisch that just draws her in, and it is obvious that the tutor and the student have major chemistry going on that has nothing to do with Chemistry class.  After a night of unbelievable passion, what they both assumed was just a one-time hook-up, Kylie finds herself pregnant. Jonathan knows all about dead-beat dads and he is determined to do the right thing by his child.  Jonathan decides to help Kylie and support her and his child through the pregnancy, despite his kind of being a jerk when he first found out.   Both of them decide to avoid any hint of a relationship between them, which is easier said that done.  When things go from bad to worse.......some tough decisions are made, and there is a whole world of drama, love, passion, and pain that these two go through.  The question is where will they both be when they finally come out on the other side? While all of the characters in the books in the True Believers series undergo some very tough situations, I think Kylie's may have been the hardest, and my heart broke for her.  She was put through the ringer more than once, and suffered so much pain in the midst of it.  Jonathan was a really great guy.  He had his moments of being kind of a jerk, but he more than made up for them.  He was a hot, sexy, and kind of a nerd, and though it seems he and Kylie don't have much in common, other than chemistry and said pregnancy after chemistry, they find that there is so much to each of them, their relationship, and what the future holds.  We also get to see the other characters from the  series, which is something I just loved.  The dynamic between them all adds so much to the story.  There is also a wonderful epilogue that ties things together beautifully.  I thoroughly enjoyed Shatter and would most definitely recommend it, and the entire True Believers series to anyone who loves contemporary romance. This series is New Adult at it's  best, beautifully written, romantic, heartfelt, sexy, and fun.  Check it out. 
Under_The_Covers_BookBlog More than 1 year ago
4.5 Stars ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog  This series has been a shock to me.  Why?  Because in theory this isn’t really my thing.  But it’s a testament on how much I do like Erin McCarthy’s writing that she can make me love these stories.  And I absolutely adored SHATTER. I wasn’t sure how much I was going to enjoy Kylie’s story and I kept putting off reading the book.  She just didn’t strike me as a strong heroine.  And there’s nothing I hate more.  She got a rough deal when she found out her boyfriend had slept with a friend and then kept trying to pursue a relationship with said friend.  Yeah, needless to say he’s a douche. While Kylie doesn’t start out in the best of mind frames, throughout this book she manages to get out of her comfort zone and show a lot of character growth.  And at the same time, she finds the right boy to bring her happiness.  And is not the type she’s been attracted to in the past. She’s the social butterfly type, she doesn’t like being alone or being quiet.  She’s always gone for jocks.  Then she meets Jonathon aka Darwin.  Her chemistry tutor.  Her hot chemistry tutor.  He has the brains, the tats AND the glasses.  Their chemistry is there right off the bat and they are comfortable with each other from the very beginning.  I loved that.  And when life throws all these big hurdles at them, they face them the best they can. A feel good romance that I had to devour in one sitting and left me grinning in the end.  Even when times got tough, I was rooting for these two.  This is hands down my favorite book in the series. *ARC provided by publisher
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank you. Now, which clans are against us?
Donna59 More than 1 year ago
I loved this Series of books, I very mush enjoyed this one as well.
Justpeachy1 More than 1 year ago
Erin McCarthy's True Believers series wraps up with book four, Shatter. Readers have followed this group of friends from their first days at college to their graduation. McCarthy shines in the latest book, by wringing the emotions from her readers, taking them on a journey not into outer space or the paranormal but an adventure in real life. What happens when things get complicated, sticky, and altogether messy. New Adult readers will find Kylie and Jonathon's story a bit different from the previous books in the series and yet connected to the characters and stories that have made this series great. A wonderful conclusion to a very intimate and moving series! What I liked: There are so many things to like about this series! Readers who have followed the series, have met a group of friends that go through thick and thin together. They weather a ton of storms from bad relationships to unexpected babies and through it all they have stuck together, grown and matured. When I first started reading new adult books that was what I was afraid would be missing: maturity and strong story lines that were more than just typical romance novels, but I was once again wrong. Erin McCarthy's True Believer series has allowed readers to have that excited feeling about beginning life, but it has also shown so much wisdom and understanding about how real life is. It isn't all unicorns and rainbows and I think that's what makes this series so realistic. Shatter is the fourth and final book in this amazing series and in my humble opinion the best of the bunch. Kylie has been a character throughout the series who has kind of had things easy. She has always been optimistic and full of energy, but in Shatter she is recovering from betrayal. Her boyfriend slept with her best friend and her world has literally been rocked to the core. She is questioning so many things about herself and her insecurities are on the surface. I loved the fact that McCarthy didn't try to trivialize how devastating something like this can be for a young woman. I understood Kylie's struggles, her loneliness, even her suffering grades. To top it all off, she has a one night stand that changes her life forever. She was a great character, though a bit needy at times and I think young women will really be able to relate to her. McCarthy did an excellent job with this character. Then you have Jonathon, aka Darwin. He isn't your typical new adult hero. He doesn't even fit the profile that McCarthy has established for the series. He's a geek, a genius, a chemistry nerd. Albeit a very sexy, tattooed geek, but certainly not an alpha male lead. I loved that McCarthy decided to switch it up with this character and show readers that the hero doesn't have to be a bad boy, he can be a smart boy, or even a very emotional boy. He was amazing! I loved everything about this character, from his endearing sense of responsibility to his issues connecting to Kylie. I was rooting for these two from the beginning. One night may have changed their lives, but it is the growth and maturity of both characters throughout the book, that is amazing to watch develop. McCarthy doesn't give readers a typical boy meets girl romance here. There are a lot of other factors that both stand between these two characters and bring them closer. I was happy to get a romance that wasn't just about chemistry (no pun intended) but about life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
reececo331 More than 1 year ago
Shattered is a realistic look at unexpected pregnancy.  But college is harder in some ways than not. I like how the book takes into effect that pregnancy is not the end of all things. I like the adult way that they looked at the relationship between unexpected parents.   The characters struggles are realistic understandable .The dynamics of their relationship is remarkable in its simplicity and truth.  I liked  the fact that love  was far stronger than the difficulties.This is and is a well recommended book for this reason. A contribution to the True Series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Several plot twists that I really enjoyed
Shanrock19 More than 1 year ago
I really love this series, but I didn't love this one as much as I love the other books in the series. It's not because it's not good writing, or the characters are bad, but I just don't really enjoy books about accidental pregnancies. That's the main reason I didn't connect with this book, and although it was dealt with nicely in this book; I still don't enjoy the topic. I really like that there are glimpses of the previous characters from the earlier books in the series, and still really like McCarthy's writing. I'm sure there will be plenty of readers who don't mind the storyline because the book is still a good one. I really liked Jon and Kylie, and they were really good together; very sweet. I would recommend to anyone who would like to read this book, to definitely read the previous books in the series. The series as a whole is really good, and I love McCarthy's books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tessciela More than 1 year ago
This book was an excellent way to end the True Beliver Series. Jonathan was my favorite character out of them all. I loved his tenderness towards Jessica and that made this story for me.
christalvp More than 1 year ago
I loved this conclusion to the True Believers Series! Kylie Warner has been betrayed by her boyfriend, who slept with one of her best friends, who was also a roommate. In order to distance herself from the pain, Kylie has moved into an apartment by herself. She is not recovering well, and this normally upbeat, people loving girl is in a very bad place. On top of that, she is failing chemistry. A tutoring session with genius Jonathon "Darwin" Kadisch leads to a passionate encounter and a pregnancy. Even though he doesn't think he wants a relationship with Kylie, Jonathon steps up and is there for her. As the two spend time together, the chemistry between them flares, and they start to care about one another.  I thought that Kylie and Jonathon were both wonderful characters. Kylie is a very sweet, likable girl, and Jonathon was swoon-worthy. He tried very hard to be responsible and there for Kylie. I loved the two of them together, and enjoyed the steamy scenes between the two of them. The storyline kept my interest and I was very satisfied with the conclusion to the book and series, although I will miss these characters!
monie1278 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. I loved that Jonathan and Kylie form such a strong bond even with the unexpected pregnancy. I really enjoyed the series. I truly recommend reading this whole series.
HollieR1 More than 1 year ago
This book is from the True Believers series and has lots of heart and feels. Going through her daily life, but her heart is broken and her life is in pieces. Until a fateful tutoring session with Jonathon/ Darwin. I loved seeing the other people in this series and seeing how their lives have progressed since the very first book. And Kylie and Jonathon/Darwin are such a great couple. Darwin stole my heart with his awesome nerdness.
Kristaj0607 More than 1 year ago
Kylie world was shattered when her boyfriend cheated on her with one of friends. Now that she knows about the cheating and her life is in turmoil. She doesn’t feel comfortable in her previous home and she doesn’t feel comfortable around her friends.  She just needs to get her school back on track. So Kylie speaks to one of her Instructors and they give her a recommendation for a tutor for her chemistry class so she can pass her final. When Kylie goes to meet Jonathan at the coffee house for tutoring she has no idea who she is going to meet.  When Jonathan and Kylie spend one very intimate night together they never expect to end up getting pregnant. This story is amazing story telling of the struggles that young couples go through. There is amazing twist and turns in this book as they move through many hurdles with the assistance of there friends and family.  I was really sucked into this book and didn’t want to put it down. I highly recommend this book to readers who have read the previous book in this series due to we get to see more about some of our favorite characters. I received this review as and ARC from NETGALLEY AND FROM THE AUTHOR. 
evilqueen21 More than 1 year ago
To briefly sum up Shatter- We follow Kylie who while still reeling from her good-friend-sleeping-with-her-boyfriend betrayal, has a one night fling with her smart and sexy as all get out chemistry tutor Jonathon which then results in a baby surprise. Oh MY!! Yeah, that happens! And in true McCarthy fashion it's written and carried out in a realistic narrative. Kylie and Jonathon struggle to come to terms with their predicament and each other in a very believable way. I appreciated that while there wasn't another huge shocker thrown in just to angst up the story for the reader, that instead we got a plot that flowed nicely, allowing us to connect into the characters emotions easily. I liked that Kylie was an instantly relatable character with a sweet personality and especially loved her close relationship with her mother. As for Jonathon, I've always been a huge fan of geek/nerd boys and this is one of the very few books I've ever come across to give them the attention they deserve and oh how McCarthy delivered! *happy sigh* In the end TRUE, book one of the True Believers still remains my favorite of the series but Shatter definitely does not disappoint!!