Shutout

Shutout

by Brendan Halpin

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.49 $9.99 Save 15% Current price is $8.49, Original price is $9.99. You Save 15%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Shutout 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Imagine trying to "fit in" in the first year of high school when you are an astonishing height of 5"11 (as a girl), you lost your mother at the age of 2, you didn't make the varsity soccer team(but your best friend did), and your best friend and you are in a fight over if true friendship or popularity is more important. That is basically, in a few words, the life of Amanda Conant.  Amanda and Lena had been best friends ever since they could imagine, and on the soccer field they were "the unstoppable pair". They practically lived at each others houses and were inseparable. This all changed when Amanda suddenly developed aching heel pains and was diagnosed with Sever's Disease. Lena was still a tremendous soccer player that could charge down the field in a few seconds, but Amanda however, had to stumble to get over to the goal to try to play goalie. When Lena makes the cut for varsity and Amanda doesn't, their friendship takes a downward toll. Amanda feels herself being shut out of popular Lena's life more and more everyday. When Amanda feels as if her whole life is over, Lena and her whole varsity team make some bad choices and end up suspended from the champion state soccer game. Will Lena and Amanda make up? Will Amanda get the chance to play in the champion state game? These questions and more will be answered in the novel Shutout by Brendan Halpin.  Brendan Halpin's novel about long lost friendship and soccer, is filled with suspense and twists and turns that make you never want to put the book down. This book is very relatable to soccer fans and adrenaline filled during some intense soccer matches. The novel is geared towards realistic and sports fiction fans, but is a good read for anyone. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book ever!
Ed Izzett More than 1 year ago
Shutout is a good book for ages 12-15. Summary: Amanda and Lena have been best friends forever, and have ruled the soccer field since. Entering their freshmen year of high school, both trying out for the soccer team. Amanda made junior, Lena made varsity. Lena soon finds popularity more satisfying than having a true best friend, and soon leaves Amanda alone, who must face betrayal and jealousy. I loved this book, except for the ending. Lena had walked into the locker room after one of Amanda's games and said sorry, but didn't say why she was sorry, so it's like she didn't even care. Then she started crying about her popular boyfriend who had pretty much started their fight, had broken up with her. This led me to believe that Lena just apologized because she had noone else to cry to.
Shanon.sval5976 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"Shutout" is about a girl named Amanda. Amanda and her bestfriend sign up the the high school soccer team. Lena, her bestfriend made varsity and Amanda didn't. Sadly, becuase she has Sever's disease. She ends up being goalie for the JV soccer team. Before, Amanda had Sever's disease, her and Amanda played soccer like pros and played offense together. They made tons of goals. Amanda was shocked that she didn't make varsity. Soon, Her friend, Lena finds new friend. Lena doesn't have any classes with Amanda. She didn't have a bestfriend anymore. Lena gets mad at Amanda after a while. Soon, they make-up and become friends again.I liked this book because i love soccer. I recommend this book to others who like soccer. It can relate to a lot of people who didn't make a varsity team.
ragulto101 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Amanda and her best friend Lena, the Twin Towers of their soccer team, the most valuable players -- that is until their freshman year rolled around and Lena made varsity while Amanda only made the JV team. Things slowly changed whether she(Amanda) liked it or not. Their "long lasting friendship" was tested as the two girls begin to live their lives farther and farther apart; Lena becoming Miss Popularity, not only laughing along and partying with the upperclassmen but with a hot sophomore soccer star at her side and Amanda making new friends, becoming an awesome goal keeper, and using yoga to calm her nerves and also to make an attempt at curing her heel pain.What I loved most about this book is the fact that I saw myself in Amanda. Being the goal keeper rather than a forward but loving - and being awesome - at my new position, having friendship problems with my "Twin Tower" friend, and finding hope beneath all the crap. This was a great read. I found myself finishing this book in one sitting, looking back into the character's adventures and comparing them with my own. Thumbs up!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very entertaining book:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pretty good. But there could have been more details. 3 or 4 stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It would be a lot better if it was about softball not soccer... just sayin...
Cindy Nunez More than 1 year ago
I browed this book at the library and loved it . It teaches of betrayle but that you'll always find someone else .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hay maddie