Sister Mine

Sister Mine

by Tawni O'Dell

Paperback(Reprint)

$16.00 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sister Mine 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She is a fabulous writer! It is so engrossing. She writes in a way to make you feel as though you are part of the coal mining community! her love of the coal miners and their families shows!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I agree with one of the reviews here. I just finished Sister Mine and do not think it was near as good as her 1st 2 novels, Coal Run and BackRaods. The perspective about life as a coal miner was well written, but the story line and main characters lacked 'something' that she usually has in her other books. I didn't feel as connected to the heroine and the sister lacked character as well. I couldn't relate with either character. The ending was boring and I was left with a feeling of disappointment after the time invested in reading. I kept going, only because I truly love this author's prior works and was hoping it would turn-around, but it didn't.
indygo88 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I very much like Tawni O'Dell's writing style. It's a nice combination of drama & humor. However, I didn't enjoy this one as much as her earlier "Coal Run". This one, like her previous, takes place in a coal-mining town in Pennsylvania. But this one went just maybe a tad bit over the top for me. If you were to merge Joshilyn Jackson & Carl Hiaasen's writing, you might end up with something like this. While I don't think this is her best work, O'Dell is one of those authors I definitely like to keep my eye out for & I look forward to future novels.
Ma1in on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of my favourite books of last year. Great language and characters and fast-paced. I got both angry and heart-warmed and didn't want it to end. Hard to describe a book I like so much, but I definetely definetely recommend it!
womansheart on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A Lot Like a *Lifetime Channel* TV dramaI do like Tawni O'Dell's writing, her sharp characters and her humor. However, there was just too much sexuality in this one that seemed seemed somewhat gratuitous and therefore off-putting. It was not easy to read about some of the events in the lives of the two sisters, both during their childhood and in their current experiences. The stress, poverty and difficulties of the lives of the men and women in this small Pennsylvania town were very harsh. All of the characters are survivors with a capital "S".While deciding the tags to give this book, I felt that the tags themselves revealed much about the book, in and of themselves. They don't give you the actual story, but they do give you the basic information for a good idea of what the book is about.Here's my tags: siblings, sisters, private adoption, family violence, violence against children, graphic sex, small towns, coal mines, coal miners, social class issues, children born out of wedlock, neglected children, single mothers, casual sex, deprivation in infancy, orphaned children, alcoholism & heavy drinkingPoverty and dangerous working conditions exist both in the USA and many, many other countries in the world. Many families lives are lived this way. Children are and have to be resilient to survive many things while growing up. My heart went out to these characters time and time again for many reasons which I consider to be damning to all of us as human beings. Lots of things do not work, period. There is an awful lot of lying by the characters in this book, some done to protect other people and some to help the liar survive. While the resolution is a good one for most of the characters there is no hint of ...and everyone lived happily ever after. If you are interested in an entertaining book, that is well written, and has dialogue which is often laugh out loud funny while being rooted in the gritty reality of many everyday working class lives, this one is for you. I give it Three Stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GailCooke More than 1 year ago
Readers of Back Roads (an Oprah pick) and Coal Run well know that Tawni O'Dell is an author who grabs you from the get-go and doesn't let go until the final word. She does it again with Sister Mine. Who could stop listening after hearing: 'I drive a cab in a town where no one needs a cab but plenty of people need rides. I've been paid with casseroles, lip gloss, plumbing advice, beer, prayers for my immortal soul, and promises to mow my yard, but this is the first time I've ever been offered something living.' Those words are spoken by Shae-Lynn Penrose, a former Washington, D.C. police woman who has returned to the town where she grew up - not easily, we might add. She was a young single mother who had to care for an infant, protect herself from an abusive father, and tend to an arbitrary sister, Shannon. Now, she's 40 and back in Jolly Mount, a dot on the map in Pennsylvania coal country. When Shae-Lynn left Jolly Mount for Washington she had all she could do to look after her son. There was no choice but to leave Shannon with their father. Two years later the girl disappeared. At this point in time, so many years later, Shae-Lynn believes her sister is dead - that is until she reappears. Shannon is 18 years older, quite pregnant, and being pursued by a motley group including a Russian thug, a lawyer, and an eastern housewife. Without the reappearance of her younger sister and the retinue she brings, Shae-Lynn already has a lot on her plate. Some two years earlier five of her miner friends had been trapped below ground for four days. Although time has past the effects of this near tragedy have not. Then, of course, there's a love interest - or is there? Tawni O'Dell tells a great story with a cast headed by a spunky pink Stetson wearing heroine. Don't miss it! - Gail Cooke
Guest More than 1 year ago
This novel was way too long and prone to tangents that led me to wonder if the author had forgot the story line all together. I read Tawni O'Dells two other books: Back Roads and Coal Run and loved them from start to finish. This novel had a boring and predictable ending that I could have done a better job writing. I am sorry to say this was not her best work but I pray she can pull off another novel that is more candid than corny .