Sleeping Beauties

Sleeping Beauties

Audiobook(CD - Unabridged)

$59.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sleeping Beauties: A Novel 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 96 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm guessing this was 90% Owen & 10% Stephen. Very hard to read at times & I can't stress enough that I read to get away from the real world....especially politics. I don't care about your politics; write an entertaining book! I don't know if I will buy another Stephen King book. It was bad enough to pay $17 for an e-book & it got a lot worse when you could tell right away that it was not a Stephen King novel!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a constant reader of King's I'm annoyed and insulted by this book. Page 24: I have to force myself to stop reading. I should have known by the synopsis what the agenda is here. Also, nepotism sucks.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoy reading Stephen King books, but I read to get away.from politics. Hate Trump....Love Trump...just keep your personal opinions out of yourbooks.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the last King book I will ever buy. This makes me sad because I have collected his books for most of my life. This books was nothing but an excuse to shove his politics down your throat. The story premise started out great but quickly dissolved into a metaphor for all that Mr. King thinks is wrong with our country. Two stars because he still tells a good story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Underwhelming to say the least! I was expecting so much better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. What is tragic is how ignorant so many readers are; demanding entertainment without social commentary. Art, literature, film--these are not produced in a vacuum. Since the dawn of writing things happen in context. We simply have to improve our educational system, or we will continue to produce people angry that they were asked to think about serious issues, and voting for a vile reality show star as if he were a statesman worthy of our highest office.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very hard to follow....don't know how much dad contributed to the book but it's definately not written by him. I'm not fond of Owen's writing style, as this is my first time reading him and may be my last. Also, if you're expecting another Joe Hill, you'll be disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very disappointing book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm not a credible reviewer when it comes to Stephen King. I've devoured all his books and watched all his movies. His creative mind captivates me...I credit him for helping me to back off traditional decisions during my career and allowing more creative responses and ideas play at work. I'm always amazed how I can totally visualize his stories in my head yet when it comes to explaining the book to others, I sound like a crazy person. King's stories are not predictable - I impatiently wait for the next book, as I have for over 40 years.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
King's talent for character development seems to have LEFT him in this novel
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A remarkable portrayal of 1950s rural America. Oh wait, this novel preposterously takes place in the current day where men call women "skirts" and 1990s tennis player Monica Seles anachronistically is still grunting her ground strokes. King and son's extraordinarily patronizing view of women too helpless and meek to function aside the oppressive and predatory version of the authors' contemporary Western male is not, alas, parody. In brutal contrast to King's simplifying demonization of Western culture as systemically oppressing and abusing females en masse in servitude and submission, hundreds of millions of real women, on this and not King's version of earth, suffer under the sanctioned oppression of Sharia or other actual patriarchal and disempowering male societies. After pondering for days as to how such a gifted and often wise writer could produce such nonsense, I arrived at a theory; that Mr. King wrote this while in the throes of severe PTSD after watching his Dark Tower masterpiece mangled beyond all recognition and realizing he had eliminated any possibility of his magnum opus ever being properly adapted to film. Or another theory: that he wrote purposefully his worst novel by far to distract from cinema's worst ever adaption.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read almost all of stephen kings books. Sorry to say skimmed through this one just to get it done. Too much verbage, just really slow moving. Don't recommend it.
TeresaKS More than 1 year ago
I was really put off by the price tag on this book....$16.99 for an ebook that's 650ish pages! But being a Stephen King fanatic, I paid the price. I don't know that I will be doing that again. I love, love, love Stephen King but hated this book. If you're reading the reviews before purchasing, pass on this one. Normally I can't put his books down, but this one was so boring and lacking that I had difficulty finishing it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've been reading King's books for years, couldn't put them down. This one, kept putting it down. Didnt hold my interest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Classic King. You cheer for the hero and the villain. Then, you get confused about who the villain really is. Everyone is good and bad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I expected so much more. Had to work to finish it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The only reason Stephen King's name on it to help Owen. Owen is not like his brother Joe Hill and it shows with Sleeping Beauties. It was boring and overlong.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down, as usual.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If I wanted his political opinion I'd to go his social media - goodness knows he's aired it all out there enough! I expected so much better from him and it will be a long time before I pick up another one of his books, if ever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loads of characters with believable thoughts and feelings, woven together in a way to make the supernatural believable as well. The struggle between good and evil, right and wrong, and men and women in this book will draw you in, break your heart,and wish the novel wouldn't end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Had a slow start for me but i was all in by page 50!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Here's another King book that takes the reader on an adventure that is fantastically scary in its realism in the human emotion.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Wrapped with a touch of the supernatural, the sometimes grim and dirty reality anchors this novel. The cast is a bit unwieldy at first and seems overwhelmingly huge as you try to keep them straight. However, the authors gradually make it possible to know each character so well that you no longer have any confusion about who is who. There's no bright and shiny happily ever after in this marriage of the supernatural with a compelling drama. So long as you can accept that, dig in to a book that can entertain as well as make you think.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Brilliant+as+expected%21+
Bridgett Deem Nelson 7 months ago
Back in the spring of 2016, Stephen King came to Charleston, WV, as part of his book tour for End of Watch. As soon as the tickets went on sale, I was on-line grabbing a couple. Lo and behold, I got second row seats for my husband and me...and we had a great time. SK is a hoot...and pretty damn raunchy in the absolute best way. We laughed through his entire speech. He shared with the audience that day that his next book, which he was writing with his son, Owen, was set in West Virginia. I was so stoked. I've been reading King novels since I devoured Pet Semetary at age 8 (I'm now 42). This past March, I finally started reading Sleeping Beauties. It's now well into May and I only just finished. This book was a struggle for me. It was very reminiscent, to me, of Under The Dome, in that they both cover the thoughts and actions of an entire town. The only difference? Under The Dome started with an interesting premise. Sleeping Beauties? Not so much. There were just so many characters; so many, in fact, that they were still being introduced 600 pages into the book. It was overkill. Thankfully, I didn't have too many issues keeping people straight...partially because of the "Cast of Characters" notes at the beginning of the book, but also because King is very adept at keeping his stories linear and clean. Unfortunately, linear and clean doesn't necessarily equate to an entertaining read. The book is smart, and, as a woman, I truly appreciated the message. Unfortunately, the story got lost in that overpowering message. Worth reading, I think, but nowhere near my top 20 King novels.