Snow Garden

Snow Garden

by Christopher Rice

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Snow Garden 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 86 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really only bought Christopher Rice's books because he was the son of Anne Rice but once I read A Density of Souls I really liked his style of writing. In The Snow Garden the story was a bit confusing with too much stuff going on. It had me flipping back often to see if I overlooked something. The first half of the book kinda bored me but then the story got fast paced and exciting. Your judgement of the characters change completely when you see them in a different light. I still think I might have missed something key and I wish I coud discuss it with someone but noone I know read it... Definitely reccommend to everyone.
micayla More than 1 year ago
Christopher Rice hasn't failed me yet with his thrillers. I read Snow Garden because I loved A Density of Souls and couldn't get enough of his style. Snow Garden was full of twists that left the reader hooked. I was a little disappointed with the end but overall a great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I plodded through 180 pages of awkward writing, whiny, dysfunctional characters, and glacially paced plot before tossing this novel into my recycle bin. I found that the constant hints to something awful in each character's past irksome and an ineffective method to hold the reader's attention. On the bright side, having spend $7 and change on this paperpack, I will not be tempted to purchase this author's work in hardcover.
joeltallman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not another academic gay-themed mystery-thriller that bounces back and forth in time! Why, yes, it is. It's creepy and well-done, too.
daddyofattyo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not a bad story written badly. It felt like a story was written and then gone over and spruced up with flourishes of language or description here and there that just seemed out of place. I was much more pleased with A Density of Souls. I might still reserve judgement on Christiopher Rice until I read his third book.
babydraco on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I first reviewed this for my college newspaper on the National Day of Silence a couple of years ago. It has some of the same flaws his other two books do, but I think these are just issues that will resolve themselves in the future. I really do like that Rice is not afraid to satorize contemporary, young gay culture. There's a particularly amusing description of a teenage party that was so spot on. He also describes college life well. So well in fact that for awhile, I sworn the fictional campus in the novel was one that's near me in real life (okay, this is also partly because the RL college is famous for looking just like something out of a book or movie). Older authors often slip up when talking about contemporary colleges or high schools. I'm not really sure what purpose the on campus cult had, but maybe I need to read it again. I know he doesn't take the same view of the Cathars that I do, and that is a bit...eh. One of my favorite things about Christopher Rice is that he can write women *really* well. There was a moment in "A Density of Souls" that had me going "only someone who's been a teenage girl could know how that feels". His main protagonist is an extremely unreliable narrator, it turns out. I won't spoil it for you, but it's fascinating how he makes that work.
melancholycat on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was definitely a page-turner, completely hooked throughout. I did find it a bit confusing in parts since Rice through in so many twists. The ending was both unexpected and a little rushed in my opinion. Honestly the best way to describe the last hundred pages or so would be as a roller coaster - a lot happens really quickly and then it's over and you're left shaking your head wishing that there had been just a little more; such as, what happened to Mitchell, Dr. Eberman, and the undercover detective? Overall a good book, though.
Waianuhea on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
He's a good writer as far as light fiction goes. I like that there's always a gay character(s) in his books (okay, the 2 I've read) and that's not overplayed. Like it's *gasp* normal? Yes, it is!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book.
brjunkie More than 1 year ago
My favorite of all of Christopher Rice's novels!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
melancholycat More than 1 year ago
This book was definitely a page-turner, completely hooked throughout. I did find it a bit confusing in parts since Rice through in so many twists. The ending was both unexpected and a little rushed in my opinion. Honestly the best way to describe the last hundred pages or so would be as a roller coaster - a lot happens really quickly and then it's over and you're left shaking your head wishing that there had been just a little more; such as, what happened to Mitchell, Dr. Eberman, and the undercover detective? Overall a good book, though.