So Silver Bright (Theatre Illuminata Series #3)

So Silver Bright (Theatre Illuminata Series #3)

by Lisa Mantchev

Hardcover

$11.04 $16.99 Save 35% Current price is $11.04, Original price is $16.99. You Save 35%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

So Silver Bright 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 39 reviews.
wordforteens More than 1 year ago
When I finish a really good book, I'm left with an utterly soul crushing bittersweet feeling. I feel great because, you know, it was a great book! Brilliant character development and an awesome plot and amazing characters and everything that makes me happy. But then I realize that the stories of the characters are over, and that I won't be able to read about them anymore - well, anything new about them - and I get sad. This is how I felt at the end of So Silver Bright. I read the first book in the series in 2009, back where my reviews were barely a paragraph long and I had no idea what I was doing. I've become so much picker since then about what I read, and yet this series is still utterly fantastic. The characters are stellar, the plot keeps me hanging on the edge of my seat, and I'd give anything to live in a world where word-magic is real. I could go about a lot of things in this book. I'd ramble about the plot, but I want you to discover the twists and turns for yourself. I'd rave about the world, but I've already given you a tidbit about word-magic, so I'll leave the rest of the wonders of the world up to you, the reader, who has yet to discover it. But I will give you some reasons I love the characters. Let's start with one important thing: this series has a love triangle, and I love it. (Well, I love Ariel, and Nate's cool, I guess.) It's handled so bloody brilliantly, and the ending to it is so perfectly poignant and sweet and - just - gah. I don't want to spoil it for you, but I was both really happy and mildly depressed. Kind of like how Bertie felt, I imagine. And Bertie! Oh, Bertie, who loves two men equally; Bertie, who within the first ten pages of the book, reiterates how much she hates the stereotypical damsel-in-distress and refuses to be coddled and protected from every little thing just because the men love her. Bertie, who kicks ass and takes titlesnames. Bertie, who protects her friends with everything she has in her. And her friends! I could go on about all of them for paragraphs, but I'll stick to the fairies, and I'll just say this: they give me food lust. ALL the food lust.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was great! The imaginative qualities and the way everythinng was explained made this book the icong on the cake for the series. Lisa Manchev had me laughing and crying. Make sure to read "Eyes Like Stars" followed by "Perchance To Dream" BEFORE you read this book. Everything will be better explained if you read the other books first.
AshAngel More than 1 year ago
Lisa Mantchev does an amazing job with this series! Her chracters are realistic and overall amazing. On top of this, the book has amazing artwork to go with an awesome book.
krau0098 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the final book in the Theatre Illuminata series by Lisa Mantchev. I received am advanced reading copy of this book for review in exchange for participating in the Silver So Bright cover reveal earlier this year. It was a good conclusion to the series. The book is beautifully written and creative, I enjoyed how the series was wrapped up.Bertie is recovering from her run-in with the sea witch Sedna and meeting her father. Her father takes off leaving her abandoned. Now Bertie is stuck in a horrible situation; Sedna is still after her and Bertie still hasn't been able to fulfill her promise to her mother, Ophelia, that she will bring her father back to the Theatre. As if this isn't enough Bertie recieves an inviation to perform in front of the Queen that cannot be refused. Bertie has a lot to do; and through it all she will have to finally make a decision about who she will choose as her companion...will in be the steadfast pirate Nate or will it be the magical and mysterious wind spirit Aeriel.The writing in this book is beautiful, magical, and glittering. This is a book to be savored slowly, and while that makes it a tough read a points, for the most part it is very beautiful and magical. There is a lot that happens in this book, a lot of adventure, some action, and some emotional turmoil. Our favorite characters are all here; with the addition of a couple more. In this book we get to meet a beautiful Queen who ages from birth to death each day, a herb witch who wants ideas of children as payment, and we get to spend more time with Bertie's father. We finally learn the history between Bertie's father, Ophelia, and Sedna. We also get to watch Bertie struggle between her love for Aeriel and Nate and see her finally make a decision.The plot moves along as a wonderfully fast clip, as I said a lot happens here. The world is incredibly creative and we see more of this world in this book than in any of the previous. So many magical and fantastic things happen; you just never knew what would happen next.I only have a couple small complaints. The first is that, like the other books, you have to read every word and really pay attention to follow what is going on. That's not necessarily bad, but it makes the book a harder and slower read; the language in the book just doesn't flow as naturally as it could. The second complaint is at points I still had some trouble picturing exactly what was happening. I think this is because some of the things that happen are so fantastical and so complicated, that it is just hard for the reader to really picture the world in detail.Overall I enjoyed this book. It was an excellent ending to an incredibly beautiful and creative series. If you love a creative fantasy with adventure and a touch of romance check this series out. I will be keeping an eye open to see what Mantchev writes next.
GRgenius on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
We've a love triangle to navigate that is thrown into even greater chaos by the sea witch out to end wreak her revenge on the one that tried to do her in. The stakes are high for one and all...but the true colors of the ever chameleon like Bertie will be on display by books end. Oh Bertie. Your fellow players act their parts in your play of plays complete with hilarious antics, banter and pie eating episodes...but the true thread of your costume is laid bare when it comes to your happily ever after. Your heart gets you in more trouble than it seems worth at times and yet you try, try again to set things right. The best part? With each failed attempt, you learn something new about the plot you are trying to interpret as well as yourself. The Mistress of Revels, the Queen of the Forrest, the Teller of Tales...all fancy wrappings for who you truly are....Beatrice Shakespeare Smith; a force to be reckoned with, with or without mask, glitter and bows. All those prizes worth winning are more often than not hard fought for and whilst your audience may wish you a peaceful journey, the treasure of your triumph is that much sweeter when viewing all you came through along the way. So brava Bertie, cast and crew (and Ms. Mantchev, for without your brilliant mind we would've never met this colorful band of merry makers)! Would I recommend this book to you fair readers? Well now, that simply depends on you, now doesn't it? Do you like enchanting writing that taps into your imagination and sets free the theater-esque persona hidden within? Do you like adventures of the sword AND the heart? Do you like mischief and mayhem and sweet treats of all varieties? Do you like butterflies in the pit of your stomach and an ever changing array of hair and wardrobe changes, each more magnificent than the last? If you answered yes to any or all, then I suggest you seek thee out a bookstore post haste and begin (or continue, as the case may be) your journey beyond the cover.
ABookwormsHaven on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The curtain has risen for the final act of the tale of Beatrice Shakespeare Smith and the rest of the players along for the ride with her on her journey to not only find her father, but find herself. We have been with Beatrice for two acts now and her quest to reunite her family comes to a dramatic close in So Silver Bright. I have loved both the previous books in the series, Eyes Like Stars and Perchance to Dream and do not think that you could read So Silver Bright without reading either one of them. The reason being, we pick right back up where with left off in Perchance to Dream and there are too many back stories that are woven into the current plot from previous books. I fear a new reader to this series would find themselves lost and in need of information gained from the first two books.I find myself almost at a loss for words for describing how I feel about this book. It is like a work of art with the rich details and the beautiful language I could easily get lost in. Beatrice¿s world revolves around Shakespeare quite frequently and this book flows almost like one of his plays would. It is impossible to read the book quickly, because if you do, you will miss a vital clue or character development. Lisa has written a story that forces you to slow down and soak in every detail of the fascinating world she has created.As for the love triangle in this book, it is the one and only time I have not had a problem with there being two male love interests. Bertie has formed friendships with both Nate and Ariel and her heart yearns for both of them for different reasons. She is on the path to self-discovery and both of the men fill different places in her heart. It is not until she discovers who she truly is and what she wants out of life that she can choose one of them to stay by her side. I have gone back and forth between Ariel and Nate throughout the books and never quite knew which one I was hoping would win out. While reading So Silver Bright though, my heart went out to Nate with his ability to love so fully and his generous personality. He does not want to control Bertie or tell her what to do, he just wants to stand next to her wherever she goes and be her partner. I admired him for finally easing up on Bertie and that is what kept me in his corner in this book. Ariel is still a great guy, but his heart is torn between Bertie and his freedom from everything. I also did not like the fact that he always seemed to abandon her when she needed him most. I was hoping he might come around, but Ariel lost me in this book and I was not sure where his love of freedom would lead him. You are going to have to read the book to find out the answer to that though, and the answer to who ends up with Bertie as well. ;)As always, the fairies supply and abundance of comic relief in tense situations and had me laughing out loud on multiple occasions. They are bottomless pits for sugar, constantly bickering with each other over everything, but they love Bertie fiercely and their undying loyalty for her was admirable. These stories would not be complete without these crazy fairies flying around in search of sweets and telling jokes. I love that Lisa has written such fantastic secondary characters that not only add an interesting element to the story, but are also very memorable and lovable. While that is true of all the secondary characters in this novel, the fairies just happen to be my personal favorite.By the time we come to the climax of the story I was just as emotionally drained as Bertie was and found my eyes welling up with tears as her fate unraveled. Lisa concluded all the events so beautifully; I could not help but get attached to every character and invested my whole heart into their stories. Overall, this series is just fantastic and by far one of my favorite in the young adult world. I have never seen a world like the one Lisa has created and I am sorry to see it come to a close, but ¿all good things, must come to an end¿ and Lis
alaiel.kreuz on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Bertie is not ready to fight Sedna again, not so soon, and when an invitation to attend a party in the Royal Castle arrives she and her company quickly decide to attend. They might not be so thrill about meeting the Queen (from whom they've heard a lot of things... and not all of them so good) but they are eager to lose Sedna.After a few disappears they finally arrive to the castle where they perform for the Queen in exchange of a wish: Bertie can get what her heart desires most. And she surely knows what she wants: to reunite her family.But not even the Queen's power can grant her that wish... But she can, at least, offer her all the missing pieces of her parent's story. And without knowing what's coming her way Bertie begins a travel through time to discover all the secrets behind the masks... all the plots that had changed her life and threatens her happiness.And, at some point, a deal made with a herb-seller to ensure protection is going to change Bertie's future even if she doesn't know it. Is she ready to face what is coming for her?Is the Théâtre ready for the final battle?Personal opinion:I can say a lot of things about this book, about how it made me feel, how it made me smile and how it made my cry but all the words would not be enough to summon and explain how much I enjoy it and how sad I am now that I've finished this series.First of all, I don't know if you have been between two loves and know, for sure, that you could be very happy with both guys... but we can't have both of them, right? Bertie can't do that either and it breaks her heart every time she thinks about choosing one of them.At the end she chooses one, even if she doesn't know it. And I cried, I did. What can I say? I was cheering for both of them because the way they love her is just so sweet and tender...So, if you are going to pick up this series and read the three books make sure to have a box of tissues next to you.Despite the bittersweet ending the book was amazing, all the questions were answered and everything had an explanation. The ending came fast with a final twist that knocked my world and I'm sure Bertie's too.And, as always, Lisa Mantchev's writing was exquisite and marvelous... a good plot needs a good writer, and a good heroine needs a good storyteller, Lisa was both.
TheLiteraryPhoenix More than 1 year ago
I have mixed feelings about this book. On one hand, the faeries continue to be delightful, and the dialogue in the novel is witty and fun as ever. On the other hand, the story was all over the place. I had a really difficult time following the plot, and figuring out exactly what Bertie was trying to do in this one. There were so many loose ends that it seems like the author was trying to tidy up, that she kept switching directions and it got confusing at times. All and all, this was delightful to read, but I had a hard time focusing. It does not rate is high is the previous two books in the trilogy, but I'm glad I finished it. Honestly? The faeries themselves made the read worthwhile! :-) Few books make me laugh as often as this trilogy has!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The last review I posted sounded really unintelligent, so i just want to apologize for that, and I wanted to say that this is an amazing book and I loved every second if it! If you havent done so already you need to read Eyes Like Stars and Perchance to Dream! If you dont, this book may not make very much sense, because Lisa Manchez doesnt reiterate what happens in the first two books very much.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Granddaughet age 15 read and raved about all three book in this series. Purchased them for other grand-daughter she read all 3 books in a little over a week. she just could not put them down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I realy love the first two, and this book is the most touching by far! What a choice for poor Berty! My only problem? NO MORE BOOKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
cupcakes4eva More than 1 year ago
you definitely have to read this book if you've read the other two! although i did have problems following the story in Perchance to Dream, i had no problems while reading So Silver Bright. this last installment in the Theatre Illuminata Series was a perfect ending... when I finished the book, I was surprised that I missed Bertie and Nate and the rest of the cast so much. I started this book feeling that I had to finish this series- it was a simple trilogy, after all. i had to read the last book. however, i found myself late at night devouring this book bit by bit. all of Bertie's questions were answered and i was so delighted with the outcome of So Silver Bright! Bertie grew up a lot in the last book in this series... i was so proud of her! i was also very happy with her decision between Nate and Ariel... this book was awesome! you really should read this book if you've read Eyes Like Stars and Perchance to Dream- and if you haven't? get your hands on these books now! i've been thinking about rereading the first two books because i didn't understand them very well... maybe because i was younger reading them? i don't know. but trust me, So Silver Bright blared through my mind... it was so magical! goodbye Bertie & Company, i'll miss you dearly!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Alaiel_Kreuz More than 1 year ago
Bertie is not ready to fight Sedna again, not so soon, and when an invitation to attend a party in the Royal Castle arrives she and her company quickly decide to attend. They might not be so thrill about meeting the Queen (from whom they've heard a lot of things... and not all of them so good) but they are eager to lose Sedna. After a few disappears they finally arrive to the castle where they perform for the Queen in exchange of a wish: Bertie can get what her heart desires most. And she surely knows what she wants: to reunite her family. But not even the Queen's power can grant her that wish... But she can, at least, offer her all the missing pieces of her parent's story. And without knowing what's coming her way Bertie begins a travel through time to discover all the secrets behind the masks... all the plots that had changed her life and threatens her happiness. And, at some point, a deal made with a herb-seller to ensure protection is going to change Bertie's future even if she doesn't know it. Is she ready to face what is coming for her? Is the Théâtre ready for the final battle? Personal opinion: I can say a lot of things about this book, about how it made me feel, how it made me smile and how it made my cry but all the words would not be enough to summon and explain how much I enjoy it and how sad I am now that I've finished this series. First of all, I don't know if you have been between two loves and know, for sure, that you could be very happy with both guys... but we can't have both of them, right? Bertie can't do that either and it breaks her heart every time she thinks about choosing one of them. At the end she chooses one, even if she doesn't know it. And I cried, I did. What can I say? I was cheering for both of them because the way they love her is just so sweet and tender... So, if you are going to pick up this series and read the three books make sure to have a box of tissues next to you. Despite the bittersweet ending the book was amazing, all the questions were answered and everything had an explanation. The ending came fast with a final twist that knocked my world and I'm sure Bertie's too. And, as always, Lisa Mantchev's writing was exquisite and marvelous... a good plot needs a good writer, and a good heroine needs a good storyteller, Lisa was both.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago