A Soldier's Duty

A Soldier's Duty

by Jean Johnson

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Soldier's Duty 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 72 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
On the Planet Sanctuary lives fifteen years old powerful psychic Ia, who is able to slip in and out of the time stream at will. However, she also has uncontrollable visions. One of them is of invaders destroying the Milky Way galaxy leaving no one alive. All streams lead to this occurring except for one remote possibility. If she takes the steps she will possibly prevent the pandemic catastrophe. Her first stop is enlisting in the Terran United Planets military Space Force, which she does when she turns eighteen. Knowing what the future will be, she has to insure some events happen in a certain way. She is an extemporary recruit; the best in her class performing extraordinary deeds like tracking down a criminal from her peers who went AWOL after stunning the rest of the class and the sergeants. After graduation, Ia is assigned to the spaceship Liu Ji where she is made a corporal. Ia proves to be a great soldier saving lives, rescuing a ship from pirates and going the extra kilometer to keep her crew mates safe from a criminal consortium. Readers who enjoy the Valor Military Space Opera series by Tanya Huff will want to read this epic. Ia is the glue that holds the exciting story line together as a soldier performing her duty yet with an agenda caused by her precog powers that has her trying to prevention the cataclysm from occurring though if it happens it will not be in her lifetime. She understands the true credo of A Soldier's Duty as she is an example of courage and honor performing selfless service to keep people safe. Jean Johnson had created a brilliant space opera that will have readers eagerly turning the pages until they reach the end and will eagerly await the next book in this enthralling series. Harriet Klausner
mobius98277 More than 1 year ago
This book has a few well used ideas, and a couple of new ones thrown in for spice. Long time science fiction fans will see echos of past masters, such as Robert Heinlein and his discipline controled mech suited warriors. However, instead of being a re-tread of Starship Troopers, Ms. Johnson combines a multitude of species, organizations and enemies into a strong convincing story about one exceptional soldier. People who are a fan of the Kris Longknife series, Elizabeth Moon, or David Webber will find a new author to follow here. The story is polished and flows smoothly from chapter to chapter, the only slow points being exposition on Ia's abilities. As the series progresses I believe that those slow points will also become polished and more flowing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ia is a wonderfully developed character that leads the reader through a diverse universe that is well described, and even more interesting. The universe is at war for its survival, but most of its citizens are unaware of the danger. Ia takes us with her on her fight to save the universe and the majority of souls within it, while she tries to explain why she has done thing the way she has. I enjoyed this book so much that I have read and reread it frequently during the past year and am eagerly awaiting the next book in the series. I will be very disappointed if this book does not win a number of Science Fiction awards.
travelerCP More than 1 year ago
Great Idea, good plot. Love her characters. Definitely get the next in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Waiting impatiently for the next book this one was unusual, but the surprises made it that much better.
momotwdb More than 1 year ago
Jean Johnson really knows how to intrique a reader. This story brings out the every day struggles of a solider doing the right thing for the greater good of the whole and the emotions that make us who we are as individuals. I can't wait for the next book in the series.
Nightmry More than 1 year ago
If you can see the future and it is horrible, what would you give up in order to prevent it? That is the question Ia, the main character in the story has to answer. With only one slim chance to forestall future events, she joins the Space Marines. I loved this book. I could not put it down. "A Soldier's Duty" really caught my attention and held it throughout the story. Can't wait for the next one.
Tech_Guy More than 1 year ago
After I finished this book I immediately went looking for the next. No next book yet. Darn! A good story I enjoyed it very much.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
love Jean Johnsons books. and this is one of her best.. each chapter is a complete book..initsself.. can't wait for the next in this series I've already preordered it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an excellent series opener. I can't wait for the next book!
Eurisko More than 1 year ago
This is an original story. Loved it and can't wait for more.
brewbooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Space opera in the tradition of Robert Heinlein - but quite well done. Johnson has done a good job of capturing a future where precognition may be possible. There where a few battle scenes that were a little far-fetched but overall, the author has formed a believable future. I put aside other books I was reading to finish this, had to see how it ended and I'm looking forward to the next book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I came into this book not really sure what to expect, but was very pleasantly suprised not being able to stop reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you enjoy futuristic military stories with kick-ass, strong female leads, excellent writing and a strong plot line, you might want to check this out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Safoo More than 1 year ago
Good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BuckRogers2000 More than 1 year ago
It was O.K.
Reading4funJL More than 1 year ago
I do enjoy a good military sci-fi novel, especially as part of a series. Compared to the Vatta, Honor Harrington, and Valor series this one is in the same league, but is definitely a bit deeper. The premise is unique enough that I was able to get into it, but for some reason everyone of the other characters, with the exception of the chaplain, seems flat to me. Maybe that's why I just couldn't give this five starts. The battle scenes are decent, and the author definitely does a good job of describing basic training and the military attitudes. Overall a good investment. The next two books are more mystical and the third book really makes you wonder when book four is coming.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago