Something's Knot Kosher (Quilting Mystery Series #4)

Something's Knot Kosher (Quilting Mystery Series #4)

by Mary Marks

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Something's Knot Kosher (Quilting Mystery Series #4) 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series is based on some quilting ladies who seem to get into and out of the most ridiculous scrapes. Of course, Martha is the one who drags everybody else along with her into adventures that somehow always end up with at least one dead body. So entertaining and so much fun to read!
InspirationalAngel531 More than 1 year ago
Title: Something's Knot Kosher - Quilting Mystery Book 4 Author: Mary Marks Publisher: Kensington Books Published: 6-28-2016 Pages: 288 Genre: Mystery, Thrillers & Suspense Sub-Genre: Crafts & Hobbies; Amateur Sleuths; Cozy Mystery; ISBN: 9781496701800 ASIN: B0165HUVWS Reviewed For NetGalley and Kensington Books Reviewer: DelAnne Rating: 4.75 Stars In "Something's Knot Kosher" we learn more about Birdie as she learns more about her husband Russell who was killed during a robbery. As they hit the road on a journey for answers they question whether or not Russell was an innocent bystander or targeted for murder. We also meet a new character whom I hope to learn more of in future books, Jazz. The characters are believable and fun to read about. The book has some humorous dialog and moves at a quick pace. You will not want to put it down. I would recommend reading the series from the beginning in order to better understand the dynamics of the ladies friendship. Although you could read it alone but might have a few moments of difficulty. The book is still well written and a fun read either way. My rating of "Something's Knot Kosher - Quilting Mystery Book 4" is 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Bosley More than 1 year ago
Love love love the series! So excited about the new characters, Jazz and Zsa Zsa, and thier addition to the ladies. Funs series...great action, super humor, solid quilting advice and information. The ladies always find unusual trouble. Easy read but never dull...laugh out loud at some of the comments and descriptions especially with the addition of Jazz! Cannot wait for the next book!!
TessT More than 1 year ago
Ms Marks has given us another enjoyable cozy. Poor Birdie lost her husband Russell in a bank robbery. The fact that Russell was leading a double life was known to Birdie and was accepted by her. Russell had always said that he wanted to be near his parents in Oregon, so Birdie talks Martha and Lucy into making a road trip of it and follow a hearse, with Russel's remains in it. Imagine 3 elderly ladies, a German Shepherd named Arthur, and a fairly new friend, Jazz, who was also a friend of Russell's, all in one car, following the hearse. Hippies, communes, dead husband, dead stranger who no one knew was riding along. This book has all of it and more. FTC Full Disclosure - A copy of this book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.
KrisAnderson_TAR More than 1 year ago
Something’s Knot Kosher by Mary Marks is the fourth book in A Quilting Mystery series. Martha Rose and her friends (Bertie Watson and Lucy Mondella) get together every Tuesday for a day of quilting in Encino, California for the last sixteen years. Bertie and her husband, Russell have been together for 50 years. Russell is at work at First Encino Bank when there is a robbery and he is shot (was it random or intentional). Bertie needs her friends help (and their comfort) planning Russell’s funeral. Bertie gets a call from the funeral home requesting her assistance. Someone else has shown up and wants input. Soon Jazz Fletcher (and his dog, Zsa Zsa) shows up on Bertie’s doorstep. Turns out there was more to Russell and Bertie’s life than anyone knew. Russell was gay but he kept it hidden because of his position at the bank. Bertie agrees to work with Jazz on Russell’s funeral. Russell had requested to be buried in McMinnville, Oregon (him home town). Normally the body would be flown to the city, but Birdie will not take an airplane or a train. So it is arranged that a driver will take them to McMinnville. The group will travel in a car behind the hearse (Lucy, Martha, and Jazz are going with her). They take along a red journal they had found in the house safe. It is written in code and Martha believes it is important. Before the group departs they find out that the robbery may not have been random (nor Russell’s death). And then someone tries to break into Bertie’s house. What is going on? During the trip someone attacks the car and they get run off the road. Unfortunately, the casket pops out of the back of the hearse and falls open. They rush over to find a stranger in the casket (Russell is in there as well). Who is this man and how did he get in the casket? Martha Rose is determined to get answers for her friend. Can Martha stitch together the clues? Something’s Knot Kosher was delightful. It was entertaining to read (I have to admit that I even laughed a few times). The book contains engaging characters (Jazz is a riot) and a complex mystery (my favorite type). I loved following the clues. Something’s Knot Kosher shows you really never know a person—not completely. Bertie and Russell’s past will certainly surprise you. I give Something’s Knot Kosher 4.5 out of 5 stars (since I was able to solve the mystery before I was halfway through the book). While Something’s Knot Kosher is the fourth book in the series, you can read as a stand-alone. The author did a good job of bringing the reader up-to-date without boring someone who has read the other books in the series. I look forward to reading the next book in A Quilting Mystery series. I received a complimentary copy of Something’s Knot Kosher in exchange for an honest and fair review.
weluvdopey More than 1 year ago
This is a great book; this is the fourth book in the A Quilting Mystery series written by Mary Marks. Funerals can be patchy affairs for Martha Rose and her close-knit circle of friends, especially in the case of a missing body. When Birdie Watson's husband Russell is killed during a bank robbery, Martha just wants to support her grieving friend. But en route to the burial plot in Oregon, Martha makes a harrowing discovery about the casket's contents, instead of Russell, she finds an unidentified man. This is a great book with a wonderful story and well developed characters. This book will keep you reading long into the night. This was such a great read and full of surprises. I am looking forward to reading the next book by this great author. A Review copy was provided to me in exchange for a fair and honest review. The free book held no determination on my personal review.
CozyMysteryLover1 More than 1 year ago
This book was wonderful. I love to read books with a craft theme. Although I don't quilt, I do enjoy reading about it. This book made me laugh, cry and giggle. The friendship and love that the ladies have for each other is deep and unconditional. In this book, Birdie is crushed with news that will change her life. It is a time to meet new friends and reconnect with old ones. As they travel, secrets are unleashed and the friends have quite a few wild adventures. You won't want to miss this great cozy mystery. I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my fair and honest review.