Song of the Lion (Leaphorn, Chee and Manuelito Series #3)

Song of the Lion (Leaphorn, Chee and Manuelito Series #3)

by Anne Hillerman

Hardcover

$25.19 $27.99 Save 10% Current price is $25.19, Original price is $27.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Song of the Lion 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was so sad when I heard your Dad died because I loved his books but after I found out you were going to continue with Chee and Leaphorn I couldn't wait to read the first one and I was elated that you wrote so much like your Dad and I felt like we would hopefully read MORE of your writings. Please keep up the great work....I miss him! You didn't miss a beat! Love reading &learning so much about the Native American culture. Thank you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anne's has written another great story!! I've read them all. I was so thrilled to see her Dad's wonderful characters continue on. Love seeing things from Bernie 's perspective. Please keep them coming Anne.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all 3 of Ms Hillerman's books and loved each one. I'm so glad she continued her father's legacy. Read all his books too. Keep Navajoland and it's inhabitants coming. Thanks for writing such wonderful books. (And thanks, Mr. Hillerman, for your skilled writings and equally skilled daughter. I'm sure you're smiling down on her.)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Outstanding
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I adored her dad's books and read them all. She is doing an amazing job of keeping them alive, but in a fresh, new way. I have read all her books and you should too!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anne does a wonderful job of keeping her father's wonderful characters alive in our minds and hearts. Yet she adds her own special touches of herself. Song of the Lion is a very enjoyable read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anne Hillerman is an excellent writer and she continues in her father's tradition. This is a good read. Anne is meticulous with descriptions and sensitive to the Indian culture of the Southwest. Her novels have the same compelling characters as did those of her father. Recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved Tony Hillerman's stories and am so thankful that Anne has continued on with her father's characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As with the other she has written, Anne Hillerman gives us a great story along the lines of her late father. With more of a womens view moth from the author and characters. Follow along and try and figure out who did the deed. A great read.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Well+written+by+Ann%2C+I+think.++I+thought+Joe+Leaphorn%2C+Jim+Chee+and+Bernie+Manuelito+were+lost+to+me+-+Forever%21+++Now%2C+Ann%27s+Found+them%2C+just+As+they+Always+Were%2C+just+the+way+her+Dad+portrayed+them%2C+I%27m+the+Same+Way%2C+he+did.++Funny%2C+but+a+Peacefulness+came+over+me%2C+readying%2C+Ann%2C+just+like+it+did%2C+when+I+read+his+books%21++YOU+HAVE+%22THE+GIFT%22%2C+just+like+he+did%2C++Thank+YOU%2C+So+MUCH+for+YOUR+Books.+....
Anonymous 8 months ago
She writes just like her father
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great book by Anne Hillerman. Good plot and excellent execution.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for more Bernie adventures!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In her father's footsteps
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is such fun to read about Leaphorn and Chee again. I could be friends with Bernice(sp). There is a spiritual thread throughout these stories, very appealinng.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Disappointing plot and execution.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story, wonderful descriptons of New Mexico. I almost felt like I was there. I could feel a shadow of her father there. Anne Hillerman, however has her own style and I hope to read more by her. Her characters are fully fleshed and I care about what happens to them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent. Great plot with wonderful history background
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this mystery. It is a quick read !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fair insight into Native American culture
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Liked the ending best
tedfeit0 More than 1 year ago
Anne Hillerman continues to demonstrate she is a solid author in her own right, albeit using the characters developed by her late father, Tony, in the series featuring Jim Chee, Bernadette Manuelito and Joe Leaphorn. And by expanding Bernie’s role, she has added her own stamp on the series, which began in 1970, and in which this is her third novel. The action begins when a bomb explodes, destroying a BMW belonging to a local hero who is mediating a hearing on a proposed resort on Navajo land adjacent to the Grand Canyon. A young man is killed while sitting in the car. The owner is playing in an alumni-student basketball game, and Jim Chee is assigned to be his bodyguard, driving him to the hearing and watching over him. The plot develops in unexpected ways and as it unfolds, Bernie gets to play a deeper role than that of a bystander. She takes over uncovering the real reason for the explosion, enlisting the assistance of Leaphorn, who still suffers from a bullet wound in his brain, but recalls an earlier incident, which helps Bernie resolve the case. Common to the series are the descriptions of the arid Navajo country, the rituals, myths and customs of the people so well-done by Tony Hillerman and now continued on an equal footing by his daughter. Her plotting is similarly on a par with the series’ founder. And by introducing an environmental issue in the plot, she has brought the series up to date, while maintaining the integrity of the basic story and its characters. Recommended.
tedfeit0 More than 1 year ago
Anne Hillerman continues to demonstrate she is a solid author in her own right, albeit using the characters developed by her late father, Tony, in the series featuring Jim Chee, Bernadette Manuelito and Joe Leaphorn. And by expanding Bernie’s role, she has added her own stamp on the series, which began in 1970, and in which this is her third novel. The action begins when a bomb explodes, destroying a BMW belonging to a local hero who is mediating a hearing on a proposed resort on Navajo land adjacent to the Grand Canyon. A young man is killed while sitting in the car. The owner is playing in an alumni-student basketball game, and Jim Chee is assigned to be his bodyguard, driving him to the hearing and watching over him. The plot develops in unexpected ways and as it unfolds, Bernie gets to play a deeper role than that of a bystander. She takes over uncovering the real reason for the explosion, enlisting the assistance of Leaphorn, who still suffers from a bullet wound in his brain, but recalls an earlier incident, which helps Bernie resolve the case. Common to the series are the descriptions of the arid Navajo country, the rituals, myths and customs of the people so well-done by Tony Hillerman and now continued on an equal footing by his daughter. Her plotting is similarly on a par with the series’ founder. And by introducing an environmental issue in the plot, she has brought the series up to date, while maintaining the integrity of the basic story and its characters. Recommended.
pipeandslippers More than 1 year ago
While a nice story it moves at a very slow pace and requires some patience.