Sons of the Oak: The Fifth Book of The Runelords

Sons of the Oak: The Fifth Book of The Runelords

by David Farland

NOOK BookFirst Edition (eBook - First Edition)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sons of the Oak 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Karlstar on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I think this book is a bit better than some of the previous books of the series. This is a bit less 'hack and slash' than the others, but still with plenty of conflict. The one odd thing with this series is that the main characters keep vanishing, one way or the other, getting replaced by new ones. In that way, its a bit like Modesitt's books, rather than a large multi-volume epic about one character. The world and the magic system are the theme, not the characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you liked his first series you will like this too
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The events of the story seem to happen at a rapid pace without really slowing down. At times though, it seemed a bit annoying. But, the action taking place in the book seems to propel the storyline to convey the sense of urgency that adds more depth to the reading experience.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Looking back over the storyline it was a great idea and I truly think had he given this one the treatment and development of the other books even if it took another 100 pages it could have been possibly the best book in the series. I enjoyed a great deal enough to want to read more still. Still I think it is worth at least 4 stars on my own scale.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
As with all of Farland's Runelords books, this one is action from page one until the end. New characters and adventures. As is Farland's style, he is again not afraid to kill someone off that you might think is essential. Give yourself time to read it because once you start, it takes all your strength to put it down! Great-great-great!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was pleasently shocked when I saw this book had came out the other day. It was only on a whim I looked for it since I had not heard of the 5th book being released yet. I truly enjoy the Runelord series and could not wait to read this new installment. I was shocked once again though when I completed it. This book has none of the carefully planned out storylines of the past 4 books. The introduction of the new characters is very shallow and you find yourself not even caring what happens to the majority of them. Some are even completely discarded with the main characters not even flinching at the loss. All in all I found myself very frustrated that no character like Gaborn emerged out of this novel. While his son was supposedly the new focus the story jumps around so much you do not feel for him as you did for Gaborn. All in all this novel felt rushed out the door lacking in the detail and emotion the Runelord books before this had. Disappointed would be a good rating for how this book left me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Farland does a pretty good job on the 5th book of the Runelords series. I enjoy his fantasy concept of endowments. The taking of endowments can make one powerful, but there's always a price to pay. The book reads well as it builds up to the characters fleeing to a remote island. Then there is a large time gap that Farland tries to summarize over a few pages. The lost years leaves a gap of character continuity that just doesn't flow very well. With that said I have to say I enjoy David Farlands writing and look forward to future Runelord books.
harstan More than 1 year ago
When Shadoath in her persona of the One True Master tried to put all life under her control, the One True World shattered into a thousand thosand worlds each a pale reflection of the glory of the One True World. Also lost is the master rune, but on one of the worlds is where the runelords exists the knowledge will be regained and the worlds will join together into one.------------- The torch-bearer, an immortal reborn as Fallion, the Earth King¿s son, doesn¿t know his true nature although his sire has some idea. When the Earth King dies, the country of Mystarria is attacked by its enemies. Fallion, his brother and some trusty allies escape and make their way to the docks to find a ship that will take them to Landsfallen which is what Fallion¿s father told them to do. Captain Stalker plans to ransom them to the pirate Shadoath but changes his mind when he comes to know and care for Fallion. However, a betrayal causes Fallion and his brother to be captured and only by using his latent powers of fire and have his allies discover where they are do they have a chance of escaping and going inland, giving Fallion a chance to grow into his powers.--------------- This is the fifth book of the Runelands with the action taking place eight years after the events of THE LAIR OF THE BONES. David Farland¿s latest work involves the next generation of warriors who must fight the forces of darkness in the form of locus, sentient parasites that attach themselves to people and control them, while bringing light into a world made better by the earth king. Fallion has the seeds of greatness within him but he must be wary of using his power in a dark manner otherwise he will be no better than the evil beings that want dominion over the world. SONS OF THE OAK is a great fantasy with complex and compelling characters.--------- Harriet Klausner