Soul Scorched (Dark Kings Series #6)

Soul Scorched (Dark Kings Series #6)

by Donna Grant

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Soul Scorched 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
GirlyGirlBookReviews More than 1 year ago
WOW! I am speechless! Just when you think you got it figured out Donna throws us for a loop! We discover something about a certain Dragon King that left me so mad at him! I about threw my kindle! I did have to stop reading for a minute to calm down!! lol! Everything we think we know of the Dragon Kings is changing. You are pulled in from the start and surrounded by the magic and mayhem, Donna writes so well. Darcy is a powerful Druid that left her home on Skye in search for something she hasn't yet found. Though leaving her home wasn't a hardship because she felt confined there. So she has made a life for herself in Edinburgh. Years ago she helped Ulrik unbind some of his dragon magic and that puts her on the Dragon Kings radar. They soon discover they are not the only ones that want her. The Dark want her dead. As they search for answers to give them an advantage in their war against the Dark Fae, Warrick is sent to get the information she holds at all costs. That is until he lays eyes on the beautiful Druid. She stirs all these new emotions in him and he will do whatever it takes to keep her safe. Darcy doesn’t know who to trust. All the people at Dreagan look at her as the enemy. Now realizing how evil Ulrik has been she doesn’t blame them. She helped release a terrible evil on the world. Warrick seems to see her differently, but she is unsure of how they can be more when all his friends look at her with distrust. Warrick doesn’t care what she did in the past, he knows she is not in league with their enemies. As more trouble brews, Warrick will have to do something he never dreamed he’d have to do. Protect her from one of their own. He may be too late to save her. My heart just aches for Rhi. I truly hope she gets some peace soon, but I have a feeling it’s going to get a whole lot worse for her before it gets better. There is so much going on in this book. The world as the Dragon Kings know it is going to change. Counting down the days until Passion Ignites!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ValerieStuckInBooks More than 1 year ago
One of the reasons I really NEED to read every one of these books is something that happens in THIS book. I'm addicted. I admit it. I want them all. I want to know how many there will be in the series. I want to know every King that gets a book. I want to know what happens with all the players. And this book just made that need worse. Darcy is Druid and her magic has caused some concern among the Kings. What, I cannot tell you. But it's enough to have Warrick going to watch over her. And she definitely needs protecting. The dark are out for her and they won't stop at anything until they have her. But protection detail turns into something more as War spends more time with Darcy. And these two together? Well, as with all of these books, they are HOT - scorching HOT. I didn't know Warrick before this book. The Kings sleep away centuries sometimes so I don't know how many there actually are. It's part of my issue - I really want to know when I'm going to find the overarching story finished. So many things are happening there. I want to know about Ry and that King that shall not be named. Oh and....yes I can't tell you about that. I just want to know it all. This series consumes me. I love the characters and the way they fall for each other. I love that the previous Kings and their mates are around. I love that Con is forever making me wonder. I want to know which King...aw, yes something else I can't tell you. But I love it all and just keep reading book after book. Have you started this series? If you love paranormal romance with a healthy side of yummy dragons, then you MUST.
BuckeyeAngel More than 1 year ago
Darcy is a druid from the Isle of Skye. Getting a feeling she is meant for more, she leaves and settles in Edinburgh. When the dragon kings find out she’s the one that helped their enemy get most of his magic back, they decide it’s time to move in and see whose side she’s on. For me, this was kind of a step backwards since I’ve already read most of the series and had somehow missed this one. It did give some pertinent early info on Ulrick and the beginnings of the ongoing ARC. Overall it was really good. As with all of this author’s books, I enjoyed the characters. I highly recommend. **I received an ARC of this story in exchange for an honest review
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WuaxbndlwtCwyyu xvx
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great series and makes you wanting more,
histgirl More than 1 year ago
Soul Scorched the sixth book in the Dark Kings series focuses on Jade Dragon King Warrick. Warrick is tasked alongside Thorne to watch, protect and gain information from a Druid named Darcy living in Edinburgh. Darcy is a powerful Druid who has the unique ability to touch Dragon Magic without dying. Her unique ability allowed her to unlock the bind the Dragon Kings had placed upon Ulrik giving him back part of his magic. Con fears she’s an enemy working for Ulrik who wants to destroy the Kings but Warrick thinks the Druid is an innocent caught up in a war she has little knowledge about. Con wants information from her and needs Warrick to get that information but the Dark Fae have set their sights on the Druid. Warrick will have to battle the Dark Fae, keep a watchful eye on Ulrik and ultimately go against Con’s orders so he can keep the Druid he’s falling for alive. The romance between Warrick and Darcy is intense and authentic. As with all the other couples in the Dark King series they have to overcome danger and a number of hurdles before they can find their way to one another. The romance is interesting but the most captivating part of the story is the build up toward the upcoming battle and showdown between Ulrik and Con. With war on the horizon the Kings are preparing for the inevitable. More Dragons have awoken in preparation and Ulrik has stepped up the dangerous game of revenge. On top of that the Dark Fae have begun to break the rules moving out of Ireland and into Scotland praying upon humans forcing the Kings out of the safety of Dreagan in order to protect humanity. The Dragon Kings are doing their best to keep their promise to protect humanity but their leader Con has become so wrapped up in focusing on Ulrik and his hatred for his former best friend that’s he started to alienate the other Kings and lose focus on the bigger picture. His heart has become darkened and he’s not the only one slowly turning from the light. Rhi has let her broken heart turn her toward making questionable decisions and it has her as well as the Dragon Kings wondering whose side she is on. I hope she finds her way back to the light but I fear that the only way that is going to happen is when Con finally wakes up and opens his heart to her and that isn’t looking like it will happen soon. Donna Grant has created an interesting series with plenty of characters and plot twists to keep readers engaged. Ulrik alone will keep you on your toes and with every twist you’ll find yourself wondering if he’s redeemable while secretly cheering him on despite his evil ways. I’m looking forward to reading book 7 and seeing how Thorn, the reckless warrior finds love on the battlefield. Copy provided for review. Reviewed by Joy for Crystal's Many Reviewers
DustymomCA More than 1 year ago
Wonderful series.
Hfowler More than 1 year ago
Donna Grant really knows how to tell a story. They are always filled with passion, tense emotional moments, heartache (that is always rectified), and adventure. Book 6 in the Dark Kings series is no different, it has all of those attributes and more. Warrick was a fun character, the loner who hated to talk to people, but is fascinated about all things human, opens up and finds that there is one person he does like to spend time with and talk to, Darcy. Darcy is a Druid who can touch Dragon Magic, and she releases some of Ulrics magic. Their story has a lot of passion, adventure, and a battle between the Dark and Warrick. I enjoyed this installment, as I do all of the others, though I think I would have to say that Rhys and Lily are still my favorite couple. Now I just have to wait for the next installment to be released :-(
Laibriabbi More than 1 year ago
Who can not love Donna Grant and the Kings!!! I have been hook on Donna since. I picked up a phantom book from my book shelf and have been hooked since. I don't think I can pick a favorite dragon or warrior! Love them all
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dragon series is wonderful but why do Con and Rai always get the short end of the straw. They are you favorite characters they need to be together need their book or books soon
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Donna Grant has done it again, Amazing story about the life of a Druid and a Dragon King. I cried when Darcy finally realized she lost her magic after Ulrik tried to kill her and Con saved her. I still have not figured out who Rhi's Dragon king was. Looking forward to the next book, maybe I will be closer to finding out who the Dragon King is.
LindaTownsend More than 1 year ago
It is obvious that the series is building up to something huge. I hope my heart can take it! The Dragon King's gaze turned to her. Darcy watched him standing in the glow of the streetlight, completely mesmerized by the dragon tat that ran from the King's right shoulder, under his armpit, and down his side to the top of his right thigh. The dragon's head was at the front of the man's shoulder and had his mouth open as if on a roar. He was rearing with his wings up and out. It was his long tail that stopped at the King's thigh. The King glistened with sweat that made his muscles gleam in the light. Darcy had the absurd notion to run her hands all over his body, learning the feel of his hard muscles and warm skin. Linda's Thoughts: SOUL SCORCHED by Donna Grant was an exciting, solid installment in Donna's hot Dark Kings series. I honestly can't get enough of her sexy Scottish dragons! This was the story of Warrick, a Dragon King, and Darcy, a Druid from the Isle of Skye. I liked them both. I strongly recommend that the Dark Kings series be read in order as there are several ongoing storylines within the series. That said, Donna does include needed historical info so, if you are a newbie, you won't be completely lost if you were to pick this book up first. The romantic relationship and the primary danger plot are fully contained within this novel, so if you are determined to read SOUL SCORCHED as a standalone, feel free. If you do, I bet you'll be intrigued and resolve to go back and catch up with the series. As the story opens, the Dragon Kings have discovered that a Druid named Darcy helped Ulrik regain some of his magical powers. Con sends Warrick and Thorn, a newly awakened King, to protect and convince her to come to Dreagan as Con wants to interrogate her. Warrick finds her just in time as the Dark Fae have staked their claim to her. There were so many twists in SOUL SCORCHED! I muttered "what the heck" and "how can that be?" too many times to count while reading it. While it wasn't one of my favorites in the series, it was still very enjoyable and I wouldn't have missed reading it for the world. I love how the Dragon Kings are being mated even if it wasn't their intention. They are dropping like flies. My full review is posted at Reading Between The Wines Book Club. Please check it out there. 3 1/2 Wine Glasses!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the kings
gaele More than 1 year ago
A newcomer to this series, I found that Donna Grant made it reasonably easy for me to slide into the story and become enamored with the characters and their world. I am planning on reading this series in order, and have grabbed the books to start in my next free reading time. But – who could dislike dragons? Darcy is a Druid, and gifted with plenty of magic. She’s moved from home to Edinburgh and opened a small shop where she reads palms and Tarot. Always curious about the limits of her own magical powers, and since agreeing to help Ulrick regain some of his magic. She isn’t fully believing his story, knowing that there are always multiple sides in every tale, but her neutrality is threatened by the Dark Fae and Ulrick who wants more from her. This brings her to Warrick’s attention: he was possibly the most perfect watcher. Amused by humans and their lives, nearly everything amuses him about Darcy: her heart, her determination and her charm. She is determined to remain neutral, even as the revelations come one after another: the dark side is infiltrating Scotland (and the world) and long-dormant dragon kings are being awakened, and it seems that no-one is uninterested in Darcy. What a curious mix of plot lines, stories, tales and legends, with the epic battle for dark or light (and all the shades in between), not to mention the threats to Darcy’s life and magic. Shifting alliances, points of view and secrets revealed with answers to long-standing questions all kept me reading along, sorting the information in my mind to remember when the questions appear. More twists add sharp changes in direction and tone, and everyone’s motives are brought into question. And if that wasn’t enough: the heat between Darcy and Warrick is built to fever pitch, and it seems that Warrick, with his determination to remain an ‘observer’ is the most surprised of all. Their interactions are steamy and emotional, the wonder at the sit uation and then the true connection shines through and gets stronger every page. I still wanted to see more of Ulrick and his real intentions and desires, and I have to say that Constantine was not a favorite. But, they are dragons: each distinct in personality and intrigued me to know more. Fans of the series are sure to find this a wonderful installment: I can say that it solidified my desire to start from the beginning and not miss a single moment! I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
Under_The_Covers_BookBlog More than 1 year ago
3.5 Stars Reviewed by Annie and posted at Under The Covers Book Blog Donna Grant continues with SOUL SCORCHED the sixth book in the Dragon Kings series. With the heroine, Darcy born on the Isle of Skye, she possesses some extraordinary gifts. But her gift of fortune-telling has made her special because only she can unlock the secrets of a Dragon King. More on the sweeter side, Darcy is a little more subtle I think compared to the other heroines in the series. She is kindhearted and intelligent, which makes her admirable in my eyes. However I don’t think I connected with her as much as I have with the others for some reason. I think this is mainly due to the fact that Grant takes a slightly different approach in this book. While the writing and plotting is still excellent, she pulls back on the action and suspense in the beginning and opts for building that up as the story progresses instead of throwing the reader straight into the heart of the fire. That being said, I still very much enjoyed it. I feel the same way with Warrick. Grant made him desirable and sexy but it’s more of a slow burn rather than a full blast of a dragon’s fire. Because he feels partly responsible for the trouble that Darcy finds herself in with the Dark Fae, he wishes to protect her and that kind of proximity will only lead to more trouble of a different kind. While Grant always comes up with new and inventive ways to build on her Dragon Kings world, you can always count on her to deliver some enchanting characters and sizzling chemistry!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fabulous author.
cscott4_25 More than 1 year ago
Donna Grant has yet to put out a book I haven't loved. I love the Dark King series!! Soul Scorched is another great addition. Loved Darcy and Warrick!!
BooksnKisses More than 1 year ago
NUMBER OF HEARTS: 5 REVIEW: Amazing!!!! Soul Scorched takes us back into the world of the Dragon Kings. And of course thing can just go right for them right now. At every turn they are battling the Dark Fae, Urlik and each other. The events in Night Blaze (if you haven’t read I will try to keep spoiler free) had you thinking that things were getting ready to turn maybe for the better. But in Soul Scorched everything takes a huge nose dive. Friends can’t be trusted, enemy can and not everyone is what they seem. I will say I had a little bit of anxiety (okay a lot) while reading this book. There is so much going on. The Kings are all over the place. We get a cameo from the Warriors (which only makes things more tense) and of course... We get a few bread crumbs surrounding Rhi and her Dragon King. So many things are turned upside down in this book. UUUGGGGG!!! I wish that I could just poof into Ms. Grant’s brain and see the whole story, but sadly I don’t have that power. But until then keep reading..... Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Donna Grant, St. Martin’s & NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This review is my own opinion and not a paid review.